DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Request for Continued Examination filed on 12 January 2026.
Claims 6 & 10 have been amended.
Claims 1-5 have been canceled.
Claims 6-12 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haraski US Patent Application US 2016/0232786 A1, hereinafter Harasaki in view of Yoshihiro et al.JP 3374800 B2, hereafter Yoshihiro.
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, Harasaki219 teaches A traveling vehicle system comprising: a travel path including a branching portion and on which a traveling vehicle travels in one direction (see at least Harasaki P0008: A travelling vehicle system according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention is a travelling vehicle system including a predetermined one-way travelling route; a plurality of travelling vehicles that travel along the travelling route; and a controller that allocates a travelling command to each of the travelling vehicles.); a plurality of traveling vehicles to travel along the travel path and to deliver an article to and from a placement portion provided along the travel path (see at least Harasaki P0008: a plurality of travelling vehicles that travel along the travelling route.); and a traveling vehicle controller configured or programmed to cause the traveling vehicles to travel in accordance with a travel route searched for based on a conveyance command to convey the article to a destination included in the conveyance command (see at least Harasaki P0008: a controller that allocates a travelling command to each of the travelling vehicles. P0036: The vehicle body controller 53 is configured or programmed to control travelling of the travelling vehicle 5 based on a conveyance command transmitted from the system controller 3.); the traveling vehicle controller is configured or programmed to include: a communicator to transmit the conveyance command; an alternative target searcher to search, when the travel route of a first traveling vehicle as the traveling vehicle allocated with the conveyance command has been changed to another travel route for conveying the article to the destination included in the conveyance command, (see at least Harasaki P0037: The system controller 3 is configured or programmed to control the travelling vehicle 5. The system controller 3 has an allocation function to allocate a conveyance command to each of a plurality of travelling vehicles 5. This conveyance command includes a command concerning travelling and a command concerning a loading position and an unloading position.); a second traveling vehicle as the traveling vehicle capable of arriving at the destination included in the conveyance command in a shorter time than the first traveling vehicle out of the traveling vehicles not conveying an article (see at least Harasaki P0018: In a travelling vehicle system according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, when a plurality of routes are extracted, the route searching portion may select the route having a shortest distance from the start point to the end point.); and an alternative controller configured or programmed to (see at least Harasaki P0038: the system controller 3 is provided with an input 31, a display 32, a communicator 33, and a controller 40. The input 31 preferably is, for example, a keyboard, a mouse, or the like, and in which a variety of operations and a variety of set values are inputted by a user.).
when the travel route of a first traveling vehicle as the traveling vehicle allocated with the conveyance command has been changed to another travel route for conveying the article to the destination included in the conveyance command (see at least Harasaki P0045: When the other empty travelling vehicle is not present in the route searched by the route searching portion 43, the travelling command allocation portion 44 allocates to the one empty travelling vehicle a travelling command to move to the one waiting point along the route. Further, when the other empty travelling vehicle waiting at the other waiting point is present in the route searched by the route searching portion 43, the travelling command allocation portion 44 allocates to the other empty travelling vehicle the travelling command to move to the one waiting point, and also allocates to the one empty travelling vehicle the travelling command to move to the other waiting point, which will become empty by movement of the other empty travelling vehicle).
Harasaki does not disclose the following, however Yoshihiro does teach
reallocate the conveyance command from the first traveling vehicle to the second traveling vehicle when the second traveling vehicle has been identified by the alternative target searcher, wherein the communicator transmit the reallocated conveyance command to the second traveling vehicle and not to the first traveling vehicle (translated Yoshihiro para. 0015: “In addition, in a case where the pick-up command is being executed but the pick-up is not yet executed, there is no article in the unmanned transport vehicle 4. Therefore, in this case, the transport instruction in question may be reassigned from the AGV 4 in which the abnormality has occurred to another AGV without waiting for recovery.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to [combine/modify] the method of Yoshihiro with the technique of Harasaki to increase the integrity and speed of the system such that when an abnormality is detected the automated guidance system can immediately re-assign the command without waiting. Therefore, the design incentives of increased speed and integrity provided a reason to make an adaptation, and the invention resulted from application of the prior knowledge in a predictable manner.
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Harasaki and Yoshihiro teaches the limitations of claim 6 and wherein the alternative target searcher is operable to periodically search for the second traveling vehicle (see at least Harasaki P0012: In a travelling vehicle system according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the detection portion preferably detects the presence or absence of the empty travelling vehicle at preset setting time intervals.).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, Harasaki teaches A traveling vehicle system comprising: a travel path including a branching portion and on which a traveling vehicle travels in one direction; (see at least Harasaki P0008: A travelling vehicle system according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention is a travelling vehicle system including a predetermined one-way travelling route; a plurality of travelling vehicles that travel along the travelling route; and a controller that allocates a travelling command to each of the travelling vehicles.); a plurality of traveling vehicles to travel along the travel path and to deliver an article to and from a placement portion provided along the travel path; (see at least Harasaki P0008: a plurality of travelling vehicles that travel along the travelling route.); and a traveling vehicle controller configured or programmed to cause the traveling vehicles to travel in accordance with a travel route searched for based on a conveyance command to convey the article to a destination included in the conveyance command; (see at least Harasaki P0008: a controller that allocates a travelling command to each of the travelling vehicles. P0036: The vehicle body controller 53 is configured or programmed to control travelling of the travelling vehicle 5 based on a conveyance command transmitted from the system controller 3.); he traveling vehicle controller is configured or programmed to include: a communicator to transmit the conveyance command; an alternative target searcher to search, when the travel route of a first traveling vehicle as the traveling vehicle allocated with the conveyance command has been changed to another travel route for conveying the article to the destination included in the conveyance command, (see at least Harasaki P0037: The system controller 3 is configured or programmed to control the travelling vehicle 5. The system controller 3 has an allocation function to allocate a conveyance command to each of a plurality of travelling vehicles 5. This conveyance command includes a command concerning travelling and a command concerning a loading position and an unloading position.); a second traveling vehicle as the traveling vehicle capable of arriving at the destination included in the conveyance command in a shorter time than the first traveling vehicle out of the traveling vehicles not conveying an article; (see at least Harasaki P0018: In a travelling vehicle system according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, when a plurality of routes are extracted, the route searching portion may select the route having a shortest distance from the start point to the end point.); and an alternative controller configured or programmed to (see at least Harasaki P0038: the system controller 3 is provided with an input 31, a display 32, a communicator 33, and a controller 40. The input 31 preferably is, for example, a keyboard, a mouse, or the like, and in which a variety of operations and a variety of set values are inputted by a user.).
Harasaki does not disclose the following, however Yoshihiro does teach
reallocate the conveyance command from the first traveling vehicle to the second traveling vehicle when the second traveling vehicle has been identified by the alternative target searcher, wherein the communicator transmits the reallocated conveyance command to the second traveling vehicle and not to the first traveling vehicle; and transmitting the reallocated conveyance command to the second traveling vehicle and not to the first traveling vehicle (translated Yoshihiro para. 0015: “In addition, in a case where the pick-up command is being executed but the pick-up is not yet executed, there is no article in the unmanned transport vehicle 4. Therefore, in this case, the transport instruction in question may be reassigned from the AGV 4 in which the abnormality has occurred to another AGV without waiting for recovery.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to [combine/modify] the method of Yoshihiro with the technique of Harasaki to increase the integrity and speed of the system such that when an abnormality is detected the automated guidance system can immediately re-assign the command without waiting. Therefore, the design incentives of increased speed and integrity provided a reason to make an adaptation, and the invention resulted from application of the prior knowledge in a predictable manner.
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harasaki in view of Yoshihiro and in view of patent publication US 2019/0318950 A1, hereinafter Takahara.
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Harasaki and Yoshihiro teaches the limitations of Claim 6. Harasaki and Yoshihiro do not teach wherein the traveling vehicle controller is configured or programmed to include a block controller to execute block control blocking entry of the first traveling vehicle into the branching portion when travel on one route included in the travel route of the first traveling vehicle is not permitted at the branching portion and block avoidance control releasing the block control by causing the first traveling vehicle to travel on another route when the block control is being executed; and the alternative target searcher is operable to determine that the travel route of the first traveling vehicle has been changed when the block avoidance control has been executed. However,
Takahara does teaches wherein the traveling vehicle controller is configured or programmed to include a block controller to execute block control blocking entry of the first traveling vehicle into the branching portion when travel on one route included in the travel route of the first traveling vehicle is not permitted at the branching portion (see at least Takahara Fig. 4 Element S5: Determine not to permit passage and P0123: the determiner 31 determines to permit the passage permission request under the above conditions, it is possible to control the travelling vehicle V such that the travelling vehicle V not permitted to pass exists immediately before the travelling vehicle V determined to be given the passage permission), and block avoidance control releasing the block control by causing the first traveling vehicle to travel on another route when the block control is being executed (see at least Takahara Figs. 4, 8A, and 8B demonstrating the vehicle control request process and vehicle V1 blocked from direction D1 and P0086: After NO in Step S7 and Step S5 described above, as illustrated in FIG. 8B, the travelling vehicle V1 passes through the blocking area BA1 in the direction D2); and the alternative target searcher is operable to determine that the travel route of the first traveling vehicle has been changed when the block avoidance control has been executed (see at least Takahara Fig. 8B showing the cancellation information table populated with the vehicle V1 status change).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harasaki and Yoshihiro to incorporate the method of Takahara in the same field of invention to manage path blocking control for the advantage of managing intersection traffic in a shortened processing time (see at least Takahara P0004 and P0007).
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Harasaki219, Harasaki681, and Takahara teaches the limitations of claim 7 and wherein the alternative target searcher periodically searches for the second traveling vehicle (see at least Harasaki P0012: In a travelling vehicle system according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the detection portion preferably detects the presence or absence of the empty travelling vehicle at preset setting time intervals.).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Harasaki in view of Yoshihiro and in further view of Takahara and in further view of patent publication US 2009/0000505 A1, hereinafter Shimamura.
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Harasaki ,Yoshihiro, and Takahara teaches the limitations of claim 7. Takahara teaches wherein the traveling vehicle is operable to repeatedly transmit an entry permission request for the one route to the block controller on an upstream side of the branching portion (see at least Takahara P0087: the determiner 31 repeatedly determines whether or not to give the passage permission in response to each request for the permission to pass through the blocking area BA of the branching section), and enter the other route when receiving the entry permission order from the block controller (see at least Takahara Figs. 4, 8A, and 8B demonstrating the vehicle control request process and vehicle V1 blocked from direction D1 and P0086: After NO in Step S7 and Step S5 described above, as illustrated in FIG. 8B, the travelling vehicle V1 passes through the blocking area BA1 in the direction D2 the examiner interprets D2 as an example of the other route); and the alternative target searcher determines that the travel route of the first traveling vehicle has been changed when the block controller has transmitted the entry permission order for the other route(see at least Takahara Fig. 8B showing the cancellation information table populated with the vehicle V1 status change after V1 travels in the direction D2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harasaki and Yoshihiro incorporate the method of Takahara in the same field of invention to manage path blocking control for the advantage of managing intersection traffic in a shortened processing time (see at least Takahara P0004 and P0007).
The combination of Harasaki ,Yoshihiro, and Takahara do not explicitly teach transmitting an entry permission request for the other route after a certain time of not receiving the permission order. However, Shimamura teaches transmit an entry permission request for the other route when not receiving an entry permission order for a certain time from a start of the transmission of the entry permission request (see at least Shimamura Fig. 4 transportation instructions flow chart: assignment possible? No -> Wait time? Excess of limit -> Request vehicle allocation the examiner interprets vehicle allocation as an example of a request for another route than the previously requested transportation instructions).
The combination of Harasaki ,Yoshihiro, and Takahara conveys requests and instructions between vehicles and the controller. Shimamura teaches a request system between a “logic bay” controller and a system controller.
It would have involved a simple substitution of controllers for one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the request system of Shimamura’s “logic bay” into the individual vehicle controllers of Takahara to issue a new request when a wait time has been exceeded in order to avoid wait times and execute a system’s transportation instructions most efficiently (see at least Shimamura P0003 and P0004).
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, the combination or Harasaki ,Yoshihiro, and Takahara, and Shimamura teaches the limitations of claim 8 and wherein the alternative target searcher periodically searches for the second traveling vehicle (see at least Harasaki P0012: In a travelling vehicle system according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the detection portion preferably detects the presence or absence of the empty travelling vehicle at preset setting time intervals.).
Conclusion
Related References
The related art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5467945 A by Kubota teaches a one-rail system for train movement with blocking controls.
US 20220384229 A1 by Kitamura teaches a vehicle transport system to optimize article deliver (see especially P0080 regarding unpermitted passage).
EP 3718852 A2 by Thyagarajan teaches a train travel optimization system with rerouting functionalities to reoptimize and re-plan based on changed priorities or no longer feasible travel (see at least P0059).
US 2017/0008700 A1 by Wada teaches a multi-functionality transport system with supplied-electric and battery-operated devices that work together and whose interchange can be updated as tracks change (see at least P0045).
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664