DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 11-5-25 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11-5-25.
Claim Objections
The numbering in claim 1 should use “a)”, “b)”, “c)” or i), ii), iii) instead of 1, 2, 3 for ease of reference so as not to be confused with claim 1, 2, 3….
The abbreviation of NF-κB RE in claim 1 should be spelled out before being abbreviated.
The phrase “the step of preparing [ ]by inserting” in step 1 of claim 1 can be more simply written as ---inserting an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding nuclear factor kappa light chain enhancer response element (NF-κB RE) and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a marker protein into a targeting vector---. Applicants did not insert an entire “reporter gene” including its promoter and 3’ elements; they just inserted the coding sequence.
The phrases “the step of preparing [ ]by inserting” in steps 2-5 of claim 1 can be more simply written as above.
The method of claim 1 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 1. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses neomycin but not NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato.
The phrase “locus of X over P1” in claim 2 can be deleted because the structures/function of “loxP” sites were well-known. Just use “loxP” sites.
Claim 2 item c) should clearly refer to ---the nucleotide sequence encoding NF-κB RE---.
It is unclear how/whether the sequences encoding luciferase and tdTomato in items e) and g) of claim 2 are the reporter genes in claim 1 (although applicants do not teach putting the whole luciferase and tdTomato genes including their promoters and 3’ elements into the targeting vector).
Claim 8 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 1. It requires mating the mouse of claim 1 with a Cre mouse, but it does not set forth any function of that mating, any change in the genetic makeup of the mouse, or any function that is lost or imparted to the mouse. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene encoding Cre from the mating. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene AND an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding Cre. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter or have a new configuration after recombination. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses Cre, NF-κB RE, luciferase and tdTomato.
Claim 9 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 8. It requires the mouse expresses Cre “in certain cells or tissues”, but it does not set forth any function of that mating, any change in the genetic makeup of the mouse, or any function that is lost or imparted to the mouse. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene encoding Cre from the mating. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene AND an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding Cre operably linked to a tissue specific promoter. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter or have a new configuration after recombination. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses Cre, NF-κB RE, luciferase and tdTomato or that expression of luciferase is only in specific tissues as a result of a tissue specific promoter driving expression of Cre.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification lacks written description for making the mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals as required in claim 1.
Claim 1 is drawn to a method for preparing a mouse model for bio-imaging of inflammatory signals comprising the following steps:[AltContent: rect]
1) a step of preparing a targeting vector by inserting a gene cassette including a nucleotide sequence encoding NF-KB RE (nuclear factor kappa-light-chain-enhancer of activated B cells response element) and a reporter gene into a mouse ROSA26 locus;
2) a step of preparing a mouse embryonic stem cell clone by inserting the targeting vector prepared in step 1) into mouse embryonic stem cells;
3) a step of inserting the mouse embryonic stem cell clone prepared in step 2) into the blastocyst isolated from a wild-type mouse;
4) a step of implanting the blastocyst into which the clone of step 3) is inserted into the uterus of a surrogate mouse; and
5) a step of preparing a heterozygous mouse by mating the mouse born from the surrogate mouse of step 4) with a wild-type mouse.
The method of claim 1 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 1. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses neomycin but not NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato. The structures/functions of the mouse obtained in claim 1 (despite making a vector and putting into a mouse ES cell) are extremely broad because the vector may not integrate, because wild-type mice can be used for bioimaging of inflammatory signals, and because genetically modified mice that are different that those made by applicants can be used for bioimaging of inflammatory signals.
Zhu (React. Oxyg. Species, Apex 2017, Vol. 4, No. 12, pg 382-388) taught bioluminescence imaging in a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises NF κB activation-luciferase coding sequences inserted into its genome.
Lee (KR 20200108159) taught inserting a coding sequence of interest into the Rosa26 gene.
The specification teaches “targeting vector constructed by inserting a tissue-specific NF-xB (nuclear factor kappa-light- chain-enhancer of activated B cells) reporter cassette into the mouse ROSA26 gene” (pg 6; Fig. 1A). The “LSL cassette” within the targeting vector is a polyA “transcription stop” flanked by loxP sites.
The reporter cassette is in Fig. 1B:
Fig. 1C shows the final ROSA26 gene:
Neomycin is expressed in the mouse ES cells, but NF-κB RE, luciferase, and tdTomato are not expressed because of the “LSL” polyA “transcription stop”. The ES cells were cloned, inserted into a blastocyst, implanted into a surrogate such that offspring were born (pg 16, 1st and 2nd full paragraphs; pg 16-17 “Confirmation of mouse gene by Southern blotting”.
The paragraph bridging pg 17-18 teaches: “Since the mouse for bio-imaging of inflammatory signals prepared in Example < 1-1 > contains a stop codon marked by a loxP site on the gene cassette structure, the mouse can express luciferase according to the activity of NF-KB, an inflammation-related factor, only when the stop codon is removed by mating with a mouse expressing Cre recombinase”.
The mice of example 1 were crossed with a mouse expressing Cre under the control of a lysozyme 2 (Lyz2) promoter which is specific for myeloid cells (pg 18, lines 4-8).
Inflammation was specifically induced using PSA in one ear of mice obtained after crossing and luciferase was specifically expressed in the specific ear (which resulted in removal of the LSL cassette and expression of NF-κB RE, luciferase, and tdTomato) (pg 18, 2.2). Colitis was induced using DSS in the mice and luciferase was strongly expressed in the large intestine (pg 19, 2.3). Macrophages from bone marrow were differentiated in vitro and expressed luciferase (pg 19, last para). Macrophages treated with LPS and optionally BAY 11-7082 (an NF-κB inhibitor), and luciferase expression was determined to be suppressed by the addition of BAY 11-7082 (pg 20-21, 2.4).
Example 3 (pg 21) describes crossing the mice with mice expressing “Cre recombinase specifically in hepatocytes”. Albumin-Cre mice that specifically express Cre in hepatocytes were well-known (Postic, J. Biol. Chem., 1999, Vol. 274, No. 1, pg 305-315). Pg 21-22, section 3.2, describes inducing hepatitis in mice obtained from the cross using LPS and D-gal. Luciferase was detected specifically in liver of the mice (pg 22).
The specification does not correlate the intricate transgene specifically inserted into the ROSA26 gene to any other configuration as broadly encompassed by claim 1 or 7. Nor does it correlate the mouse that expresses neomycin but not NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato to any expression of any transgene as broadly encompassed by claim 1.
It is unclear how/whether the sequences encoding luciferase and tdTomato in items e) and g) of claim 2 are the reporter genes in claim 1. Applicants do not teach putting the whole luciferase and tdTomato genes including their promoters and 3’ elements into the targeting vector, so the concept in claim 2 lacks written description.
Claim 7 is drawn to a mouse model for bioimaging made by the method of claim 1. The mouse model “for bio-imaging of inflammatory signals” in claim 7 is a product-by-process dependent upon claim 1. Claim 7 does not require the final mouse has any genetic modification of any gene, i.e. a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an endogenous Rosa26 gene comprising an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and a nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter protein (see Fig. 1A and 1B).
Claim 8 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 1. It requires mating the mouse of claim 1 with a Cre mouse, but it does not set forth any function of that mating, any change in the genetic makeup of the mouse, or any function that is lost or imparted to the mouse. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene encoding Cre from the mating. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene AND an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding Cre. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter or have a new configuration after recombination. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses Cre, NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato or that luciferase are expressed. Much clarification will be required, but those mice after recombination in claim 8 have different structures and functions that those obtained in claim 7. Therefore, the mice in claim 8 lack written description as broadly claimed.
Claim 9 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 8. It requires the mouse expresses Cre “in certain cells or tissues”, but it does not set forth any function of that mating, any change in the genetic makeup of the mouse, or any function that is lost or imparted to the mouse. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene encoding Cre from the mating. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene AND an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding Cre operably linked to a tissue specific promoter. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter or have a new configuration after recombination. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses Cre, NF-κB RE, luciferase and tdTomato or that expression of luciferase is only in specific tissues as a result of a tissue specific promoter driving expression of Cre. Much clarification will be required, but those mice after recombination in claim 9 each have different structures and functions than each other. Therefore, the mice in claim 9 lack written description as broadly claimed.
Enablement
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of making a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence comprising from 5’ to 3’: a ubiquitous promoter, a stop cassette, a nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE, a nucleic acid sequence encoding a marker protein operably linked to a minimal TA promoter, and a nucleic acid sequence encoding a neomycin operably linked to a promoter, wherein the mouse expresses neomycin but not NF-κB RE or the marker protein, does not reasonably provide enablement for claim 1 or 7 as broadly written. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make/use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The specification does not enable making/using the mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals as required in claim 1.
Claim 1 is recited above and is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 1. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses neomycin but not NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato. The structures/functions of the mouse obtained in claim 1 (despite making a vector and putting into a mouse ES cell) are extremely broad because the vector may not integrate, because wild-type mice can be used for bioimaging of inflammatory signals, and because genetically modified mice that are different that those made by applicants can be used for bioimaging of inflammatory signals.
Zhu (React. Oxyg. Species, Apex 2017, Vol. 4, No. 12, pg 382-388) taught bioluminescence imaging in a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises NF κB activation-luciferase coding sequences inserted into its genome.
Lee (KR 20200108159) taught inserting a coding sequence of interest into the Rosa26 gene.
The specification teaches “targeting vector constructed by inserting a tissue-specific NF-xB (nuclear factor kappa-light- chain-enhancer of activated B cells) reporter cassette into the mouse ROSA26 gene” (pg 6; Fig. 1A). The “LSL cassette” within the targeting vector is a polyA “transcription stop” flanked by loxP sites (see Fig. 1A above).
The reporter cassette is in Fig. 1B (see above). Fig. 1C shows the final ROSA26 gene (see above). Neomycin is expressed in the mouse ES cells, but NF-κB RE, luciferase, and tdTomato are not expressed because of the “LSL” polyA “transcription stop”. The ES cells were cloned, inserted into a blastocyst, implanted into a surrogate such that offspring were born (pg 16, 1st and 2nd full paragraphs; pg 16-17 “Confirmation of mouse gene by Southern blotting”.
The paragraph bridging pg 17-18 teaches: “Since the mouse for bio-imaging of inflammatory signals prepared in Example < 1-1 > contains a stop codon marked by a loxP site on the gene cassette structure, the mouse can express luciferase according to the activity of NF-KB, an inflammation-related factor, only when the stop codon is removed by mating with a mouse expressing Cre recombinase”.
The mice of example 1 were crossed with a mouse expressing Cre under the control of a lysozyme 2 (Lyz2) promoter which is specific for myeloid cells (pg 18, lines 4-8).
Inflammation was specifically induced using PSA in one ear of mice obtained after crossing and luciferase was specifically expressed in the specific ear (which resulted in removal of the LSL cassette and expression of NF-κB RE, luciferase, and tdTomato) (pg 18, 2.2). Colitis was induced using DSS in the mice and luciferase was strongly expressed in the large intestine (pg 19, 2.3). Macrophages from bone marrow were differentiated in vitro and expressed luciferase (pg 19, last para). Macrophages treated with LPS and optionally BAY 11-7082 (an NF-κB inhibitor), and luciferase expression was determined to be suppressed by the addition of BAY 11-7082 (pg 20-21, 2.4).
Example 3 (pg 21) describes crossing the mice with mice expressing “Cre recombinase specifically in hepatocytes”. Albumin-Cre mice that specifically express Cre in hepatocytes were well-known (Postic, J. Biol. Chem., 1999, Vol. 274, No. 1, pg 305-315). Pg 21-22, section 3.2, describes inducing hepatitis in mice obtained from the cross using LPS and D-gal. Luciferase was detected specifically in liver of the mice (pg 22).
The specification does not correlate the intricate transgene specifically inserted into the ROSA26 gene to any other configuration as broadly encompassed by claim 1 or 7. Nor does it correlate the mouse that expresses neomycin but not NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato to any expression of any transgene as broadly encompassed by claim 1.
It is unclear how/whether the sequences encoding luciferase and tdTomato in items e) and g) of claim 2 are the reporter genes in claim 1. Applicants do not teach putting the whole luciferase and tdTomato genes including their promoters and 3’ elements into the targeting vector, so the concept in claim 2 lacks written description.
Claim 7 is drawn to a mouse model for bioimaging made by the method of claim 1. The mouse model “for bio-imaging of inflammatory signals” in claim 7 is a product-by-process dependent upon claim 1. Claim 7 does not require the final mouse has any genetic modification of any gene, i.e. a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an endogenous Rosa26 gene comprising an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and a nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter protein (see Fig. 1A and 1B).
Claim 8 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 1. It requires mating the mouse of claim 1 with a Cre mouse, but it does not set forth any function of that mating, any change in the genetic makeup of the mouse, or any function that is lost or imparted to the mouse. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene encoding Cre from the mating. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene AND an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding Cre. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter or have a new configuration after recombination. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses Cre, NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato or that luciferase are expressed. Much clarification will be required, but those mice after recombination in claim 8 have different structures and functions that those obtained in claim 7.
Claim 9 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 8. It requires the mouse expresses Cre “in certain cells or tissues”, but it does not set forth any function of that mating, any change in the genetic makeup of the mouse, or any function that is lost or imparted to the mouse. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene encoding Cre from the mating. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene AND an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding Cre operably linked to a tissue specific promoter. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter or have a new configuration after recombination. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that expresses Cre, NF-κB RE, luciferase and tdTomato or that expression of luciferase is only in specific tissues as a result of a tissue specific promoter driving expression of Cre. Much clarification will be required, but those mice after recombination in claim 9 each have different structures and functions than each other.
Given the lack of guidance in the specification taken with the art at the time of filing, it would have required those of skill undue experimentation to determine how to make/use the mice as broadly encompassed by claims 1-9.
Indefiniteness
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is missing essential elements, steps, and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 1. Claim 1 is missing obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene. It missing the fact that the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene. It missing the fact that the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter. It missing the fact that the genetically modified mouse expresses neomycin but not NF-κB RE or the reporter genes.
The metes and bounds of an ROSA26 “locus” in claim 2 are unclear. First, “locus” is singular, and “loci” is plural (Wikipedia definition of “locus”, 2023; National Human Genome Res. Institute definition of “locus”, 2023). Second, locus (singular) is a position in space or an address on a chromosome. Third, the specification does not define a ROSA26 “locus” (singular) as a ROSA26 gene (which must have a plurality of nucleotides) or as a plurality of nucleotides encoding a ROSA26 protein. Fourth, the specification is limited to replacing a plurality of endogenous nucleotides (at a plurality of contiguous “loci” (plural)) with a plurality of exogenous nucleotides. The specification does teach the exogenous nucleotides are present at a single locus, position, or address on the chromosome as claimed. Replacing pluralities of nucleotides is not replacing a nucleotide at a single locus as claimed. Fifth, the concept claimed does not accurately set forth the genetic modification because the addresses and positions of the human and endogenous ROSA26 nucleotides may change because of differences in the length of the exogenous and endogenous proteins and coding sequences. Accordingly, use of “ROSA26 locus” makes the claim unclear.
The mouse of claim 7 is missing essential elements for the “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” obtained by the method of claim 1. Claim 7 is missing the fact that the mouse is genetically modified mouse and has a genome comprising an exogenous transgene. It missing the fact that the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene. It missing the fact that the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE or the reporter gene are operably linked to a promoter. It missing the fact that the genetically modified mouse expresses neomycin but not NF-κB RE, luciferase, and tdTomato. It is missing the fact that it is capable of recombination allowing expression of NF-κB RE, luciferase, and tdTomato.
In particular, claim 8 is missing essential elements for the “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 1. It requires mating the mouse of claim 1 with a Cre mouse, but it does not set forth any function of that mating, any change in the genetic makeup of the mouse, or any function that is lost or imparted to the mouse. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene encoding Cre from the mating. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene AND an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding Cre. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato are operably linked to a promoter or have a new configuration after recombination. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that has the LSL cassette removed or that it expresses Cre, NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato.
Claim 9 is missing steps and reagents for obtaining a “mouse model for bioimaging of inflammatory signals” as required in claim 8. It requires the mouse expresses Cre “in certain cells or tissues”, but it does not set forth any function of that mating, any change in the genetic makeup of the mouse, or any function that is lost or imparted to the mouse. The claim does not require obtaining a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an exogenous transgene encoding Cre from the mating. It does not require the mouse has a genome comprising a replacement of an endogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding ROSA26 with an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter gene AND an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding Cre operably linked to a tissue specific promoter. It does not require the exogenous sequences encoding NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato are operably linked to a promoter or have a new configuration after recombination. It does not result in a genetically modified mouse that has the LSL cassette removed or that it expresses Cre, NF-κB RE, luciferase, or tdTomato in specific tissues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Zhu (React. Oxyg. Species, Apex 2017, Vol. 4, No. 12, pg 382-388).
Claim 7 is drawn to a mouse model for bioimaging made by the method of claim 1. The mouse model “for bio-imaging of inflammatory signals” in claim 7 is a product-by-process dependent upon claim 1. Claim 7 does not require the final mouse has any genetic modification of any gene, i.e. a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an endogenous Rosa26 gene comprising an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and a nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter protein (see Fig. 1A and 1B). Claim 1 does not impart any specific structures or functions into the mouse. Therefore, claim 1 is extremely broad and encompasses any mouse capable of bioimaging of inflammatory signals because none of the transgenes in steps 1-5 necessarily remain.
Zhu taught bioluminescence imaging in a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises NF κB activation-luciferase coding sequences inserted into its genome. This is all that is required to meet the structural and functional limitations of the mouse in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (React. Oxyg. Species, Apex 2017, Vol. 4, No. 12, pg 382-388) in view of Lee (KR 20200108159).
Claim 7 is drawn to a mouse model for bioimaging made by the method of claim 1. The mouse model “for bio-imaging of inflammatory signals” in claim 7 is a product-by-process dependent upon claim 1. Claim 7 does not require the final mouse has any genetic modification of any gene, i.e. a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises an endogenous Rosa26 gene comprising an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF-κB RE and a nucleic acid sequence encoding a reporter protein (see Fig. 1A and 1B). Claim 1 does not impart any specific structures or functions into the mouse. Therefore, claim 1 is extremely broad and encompasses any mouse capable of bioimaging of inflammatory signals because none of the transgenes in steps 1-5 necessarily remain.
Zhu taught bioluminescence imaging in a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprises NF κB activation-luciferase coding sequences inserted into its genome.
Zhu did not teach inserting the NF-κB-luciferase sequence into the ROSA26 gene as encompassed by claim 7.
However, Lee taught inserting coding sequences into the ROSA26 gene (Examples).
Thus, it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make a genetically modified mouse whose genome comprised an exogenous nucleic acid sequence encoding NF κB activation-luciferase coding sequences as described by Zhu and inserting them into the ROSA26 gene as described by Lee. Those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to insert the sequence into the ROSA26 gene because it is a “safe harbor”. This is all that is required to meet the structural and functional limitations of the mouse in claim 7.
Thus, Applicants' claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael C. Wilson who can normally be reached at the office on Monday through Friday from 9:30 am to 6:00 pm at 571-272-0738.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
The official fax number for this Group is (571) 273-8300.
Michael C. Wilson
/MICHAEL C WILSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638
Those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to insert the transgene into the Rosa26 gene because it is a “safe-harbor” for transgenes.