DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on December 17, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 17, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4, “the cellulose comprises” should read “the cellulose-based polymer comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al. (US 2008/0053467) in view of McHugh et al. (US 2008/0029112).
Regarding claims 1-2, Taniguchi discloses a woven fabric filter ([0111]: the form of the cigarette filter material is not particularly limited to a specific one, and may be, for example, any one of a fibrous form, a capillaceous form, a woven fabric form, a nonwoven fabric form, a tow-like form, a sheet form and a particulate form (or a particulate), depending on the form of the substrate), the woven fabric filter comprising:
a sheet fiber ([0052]: the preferred substrate may be in the form of a filter rod formed from a fiber [or a filter (a filter substrate) having a rod formed from a fiber), wherein the sheet comprises:
a cellulose-based polymer ([0092]: examples of a humectant may include ... a cellulose derivative [for example, a cellulose ether, e.g., a hydroxyalkyl cellulose (such as hydroxyethyl cellulose or hydroxypropyl cellulose), a hydroxyl group-containing cellulose derivative (e.g., an alkyl-hydroxyalkyl cellulose such as ethylhydroxyethyl cellulose), a carboxyalkyl cellulose (such as carboxymethyl cellulose), and an alkyl cellulose (such as ethyl cellulose), reading over the cellulose-based polymer of claims 1 and 2); the cellulose-based polymer is in an amount of 20% wt% to 60 wt% ([0093]: In the case of using the humectant, the content of the humectant may be, for example, about 0.1 to 100 parts by weight (i.e., about 0.01 wt% to about 100 wt% ) , preferably about 0.5 to 50 parts by weight (i.e., about 1 wt% to about 99 wt% by calculation), and more preferably about 2 to 30 parts by weight (i.e., about 6 wt% to about 94 wt% by calculation) (for example, about 4 to 20 parts by weight (i.e., about 17 wt% to about 83 wt%)), relative to 100 parts by weight of the substrate; reading over the claimed cellulose-based polymer wt% of claim 2);
a plasticizer ([0110]: the cigarette filter material may further contain other component(s), for example a plasticizer (e.g., triacetin), an inorganic fine powder (e.g., kaolin, talc, diatomaceous earth, quartz, calcium carbonate, barium sulfate, titanium oxide, and alumina), a heat stabilizer (e.g., a salt of an alkali or alkaline earth metal), a coloring agent, a whitening agent, an oil, a retention aid for paper, a sizing agent, an adsorbent (e.g., an activated carbon), a biodegradation or photodecomposition accelerator (e.g., an anatase-type titanium oxide), and a natural polymer or a derivative thereof (e.g., a cellulose powder). These other components may be used singly or in combination.); reading over the plasticizer of claim 1.
Taniguchi does not explicitly disclose a flavored sheet fiber and flavoring material (claim 1).
McHugh, directed to fibrous elements impregnated with additives such as flavorants useful as a filter in a smoking article, teaches a flavored sheet fiber (Abstract; [0014]: a fibrous element useful as a filter in a smoking article is prepared by impregnating fibers with an additive such as a flavorant, flavorant enhancer or scavenger; [0016] the terms “fiber,” “fiber element,” and “fiber matrix” are intended to encompass monofilaments such as single strands elongated alone one axis, bundles of monofilaments including combinations of monofilaments similar in length, as well as fabrics in the form of woven, braided, non-woven or spun structures or any other fibrous structure conventionally used in the construction of cigarette filters.), and a flavoring material ([0031]: Typical examples of flavorants (reads over a flavoring material) include natural and synthetic materials which augment the minty, camphoraceous, spicy, peppery, fruity, flowery, woody, green, or other tobacco flavor and aroma notes. Other flavorants contemplated for use include naturally occurring or synthetic flavorants such as citrus oils, tobacco extracts, wine, rum, honey, vanilla, molasses, maple syrup, chocolate, menthol, vanillin, licorice, anethole, anise, cocoa, cocoa and chocolate by-products, eugenol, clove oil, and other generally accepted flavorant filter additives; reading over a flavor material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi by including flavor impregnated fibers (reads over a flavored sheet fiber) with a flavor material as taught by McHugh because Taniguchi and McHugh are both directed to woven fabrics and Taniguchi is silent to a sheet fiber flavored with a flavoring material. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to look to McHugh for a known and suitable flavored fibrous structure as McHugh teaches a fibrous element useful as a filter in a smoking article impregnating fibers is prepared by impregnating fibers with a flavorant additive (i.e., a flavoring material) ([0014]).
Claim 1 is a product by process claim. Product by process claims are evaluated for the structure the process imparts on the product. The process limitation “a fiber obtained by cutting a flavored sheet” does not add patentable details to the invention, as no structural characteristics are in association with the process in the specification. In the instant case, the process of modified Taniguchi results in a flavored sheet fiber. There is no evidence that the recited process imparts any additional structure on the resulting flavored sheet fiber structure that is not already present or substantially similar to that of modified Taniguchi for the above reason.
Regarding claim 7, Taniguchi discloses the fiber (for example, the cellulose ester fiber) constituting the substrate, the fiber diameter may be, for example, about 0.01 µm to about 100 µm (about 1.0E-5 mm to about 0.1 mm) which reads on the claimed diameter range.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al. (US 2008/0053467) in view of McHugh et al. (US 2008/0029112) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ergle et al. (US 20090038629).
Regarding claim 3, Taniguchi discloses a common plasticizer (e.g., triacetin) as previously discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Taniguchi does not explicitly disclose at least one of the plasticizers selected from the claimed group.
Ergle, directed to a flavored sheet for smoking articles (Abstract; [0013]), teaches that the sheet comprises a cellulose-based polymer (carboxymethyl cellulose), a plasticizer (propylene glycol; reading over at least one selected from the claimed group listing), and a flavoring material (menthol) ([0077]; Table 1); the plasticizer is in an amount of 1 wt% to 20 wt% in the flavored sheet ([0077], Table 1 teaches that the plasticizer is in an amount of 5-45 wt%. The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the sheet of Taniguchi to include propylene glycol in an amount of 5-45 wt% as taught by Ergle because modified Taniguchi is directed to a flavored sheet of cigarette filter material and Ergle is directed to a flavored sheet for use in smoking articles. Taniguchi is silent to the exact amount of plasticizer and one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prior art for a known and suitable plasticizer.
Regarding claim 4, modified Taniguchi does not explicitly disclose an amount of flavor material.
Ergle teaches that the flavoring material is in an amount of 10 wt% to 50 wt% in the flavored sheet ([0077], Table 1 discloses that the flavoring material is in an amount of 30 wt%, which reads on the claimed range). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the sheet of modified Taniguchi to include the flavoring material in an amount of 30 wt% as taught by Ergle because modified Taniguchi is directed to a flavored sheet of cigarette filter material and Ergle is directed to flavored sheets for use in smoking articles. Modified Taniguchi is silent to the exact amount of flavor material and one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prior art for a known and suitable flavor material.
Regarding claim 5, modified Taniguchi does not explicitly disclose the flavored sheet thickness.
Ergle teaches the flavored sheet has a thickness from about 2 mil to about 5 mil (about 0.0508 mm to about 0.127 mm) ([0046]) which reads on the claimed range). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the sheet of modified Taniguchi to make the sheet have a thickness of about 2 mil to about 5 mil as taught by Ergle because modified Taniguchi is directed to a flavored a sheet of cigarette filter material and Ergle is directed to flavored sheets for use in smoking articles. Modified Taniguchi is silent to the thickness of the flavored sheet and one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prior art for a known and suitable flavored sheet thickness.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al. (US 2008/0053467) in view of McHugh et al. (US 2008/0029112) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rousseau et al. (US 20200253268 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Taniguchi is silent to a tensile strength of the flavored sheet.
Rousseau, directed to a flavored sheet (wrapping material 100; [0015]; [0097]) comprising a cellulose-based polymer ([0022]), a plasticizer (humectant) ([0021]) and a flavoring material ([0015]; [0043]), teaches that flavored sheets for use in tubes should have a tensile strength of 1.0 kgf/ 15 mm or greater ([0008] teaches a tensile strength 1,000cN/15mm or greater; [0013] teaches a tensile strength of 1000cN/15mm or greater).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Taniguchi by making the flavored sheet with a tensile strength of 1.0 kgf/ 15 mm or greater as taught by Rousseau because modified Taniguchi is directed to a flavored a sheet of cigarette filter material and Rousseau is directed to a flavored sheet. Modified Taniguchi is silent to the tensile strength of the flavored sheet and one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prior art for a known and suitable tensile strength for cigarette filter flavored sheet and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/RONNIE KIRBY JORDAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747