DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
The response filed on 9/25/26 to the restriction requirement of 3/26/26 has been received. Applicant has elected “SEQ ID NO: 83” as the elected species, identified by every disclosed amino acid sequence of a single fusion protein. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP 818.03(a)).
The elected species is free of the prior art.
Claims 1-56 are pending.
Claims 5-11, 13-16, 21, 22, 25-27, 30, 32, and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner under 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1-4, 12, 17-20, 23, 24, 28, 29, 31, 33, and 35-56 are currently under consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to for an apparent typographical issue. It appears the word “claim” prior to “eukaryotic” is out of place and should be deleted. Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 42 is rejected because it is unclear how, or if, the text within parentheses following the terms “poxvirus” and “paramyxovirus” limits the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 54-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating or delaying progression of a tau disease in a subject comprising administering an effective amount of a fusion protein comprising a J domain and a tau-binding domain, does not reasonably provide enablement for “preventing” a tau disease in a subject comprising administering an effective amount of a fusion protein comprising a J domain and a tau-binding domain. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to perform the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required are summarized in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (BPAI 1986). They include the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in the art, the amount of direction or guidance disclosed in the specification, the presence or absence of working examples, the predictability or unpredictability of the art, the breadth of the claims, and the quantity of experimentation which would be required in order to practice the invention as claimed.
The instant claims are drawn to treating, delaying the progression of, or “preventing” a tau disease in a subject comprising administering an effective amount of a fusion protein comprising a J domain and a tau-binding domain. This includes prophylactic prevention of just any tau disease, such as Alzheimer’s, comprising administering a fusion protein comprising a J domain and a tau-binding domain.
This invention is in a class of invention which the CAFC has characterized as "the unpredictable arts such as chemistry and biology". Mycogen Plant Sci., Inc. v. Monsanto Co., 243 F.3d 1316, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2001).
The specification prophetically discloses treating a tau disease, such as Alzheimer’s, by administering a fusion protein comprising a J domain and a tau-binding domain. Based on the prior art of Hishiya et al (Nature Scientific Reports, 2017, 8531: 1-13; 8/1/23 IDS), which teaches fusion proteins targeting a j domain to a target protein enhance folding of the target protein (Abstract and Figure 2, in particular), Hishiya et al teaching protein folding issues underlie diseases such as Alzheimers’s (page 9, in particular), and Mroczko et al (International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2019, 20(4661): 1-26; 8/1/23 IDS) indicating a toxic influence of Tau in the Alzheimer’s brain appears to be due to misfolding of Tau (page 14, in particular). The prior art does not teach or suggest administering a fusion protein comprising a J domain and a tau-binding domain would prevent any tau disease.
Reasonable guidance with respect to preventing any disease relies on quantitative analysis from defined populations which have been successfully pre-screened and are predisposed to the disease. This type of data might be derived from widespread genetic analysis, clusters, or family histories. The essential element towards the validation of a preventive therapeutic is the ability to test the drug on subjects monitored in advance of clinical disease and link those results with subsequent histological confirmation of the presence or absence of disease. This irrefutable link between antecedent drug and subsequent knowledge of the prevention of the disease is the essence of a valid preventive agent.
One cannot extrapolate the teachings of the specification to the scope of the claims because the claims are broadly drawn to treating, delaying the progression of, or “preventing” a tau disease in a subject comprising administering an effective amount of a fusion protein comprising a J domain and a tau-binding domain, and Applicant has not enabled said method because it would require undue experimentation to determine which (if any) fusion proteins comprising a J domain and a tau-binding domain prevent a tau disease in order to perform the method as broadly (and unpredictably) claimed.
In view of the teachings above and the lack of guidance, workable examples and or exemplification in the specification, it would require undue experimentation by one of skill in the art to determine with any predictability, that the method would function as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, 17-20, 28, 29, 31, 33, 35-41, and 45-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hishiya et al (Nature Scientific Reports, 2017, 8531: 1-13; 8/1/23 IDS) in view of Mroczko et al (International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2019, 20(4661): 1-26; 8/1/23 IDS) and Chu et al (Cell Chemical Biology, 2016, 23: 453-461).
Hishiya et al teaches fusion proteins comprising a j domain and a targeting domain that targets the j domain to a target protein (same as “DNAJ-X-T”) enhances folding of the target protein, along with a signal sequence known to target the ER (Abstract, Figure 2, and Plasmid preparation at pages 11-12, in particular) and that protein folding issues underlie diseases such as Alzheimers’s (page 9, in particular). Hishiya et al further illustrates the fusion proteins function by entering the ER from outside the ER (cytoplasm) to bind the target protein and facilitate protein folding (Figure 2a, in particular). Hishiya et al teaches the fusion proteins are generated by expressing DNA expression vectors encoding the fusion proteins (which results in expressing RNA encoding the fusion proteins) in host cells (pages 11-12, in particular).
Hishiya et al does not specifically teach a fusion protein comprising a targeting domain that targets Tau. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Mroczko et al and Chu et al.
Mroczko et al indicates a toxic influence of Tau in the Alzheimer’s brain appears to be due to misfolding of Tau (page 14, in particular).
Chu et al teaches fusion proteins targeting Tau comprising a cell penetrating peptide to enter a cell and peptide targeting domains that target Tau (page 454 and Table 1, in particular). Chu et al further teaches the peptide targeting domains target Tau include one with a KD of about .40 mM (right column on page 454, in particular). The peptide targeting domains that target Tau of Chu et al are targeting reagents comprise epitopes. Chu et al further teaches administering the peptides to subjects in compositions comprising the carrier “saline solution” (left column on page 459, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a combined method of treating a subject with Alzheimer’s comprising expressing in host cells a DNA vector encoding an ER-targeted fusion protein of Hishiya et al comprising a human j domain with a targeting domain that targets the J domain linked via a linker to a target protein wherein the target protein is Tau and administering an effective amount of the fusion protein to a subject with Alzheimer’s to enhance folding of targeted Tau and reduce aggregation and/or cytotoxicity from misfolded Tau, wherein the fusion protein comprises one or any combination of Tau targeting domains of Chu et al (including one with a KD of about .40 mM) as targeting domain(s) and comprises a cell-penetrating peptide of Chu et al, to generate a fusion protein that would penetrate cells of a subject with Alzheimer’s to cross cytosol and reach ER because Hishiya et al teaches fusion proteins targeting a j domain to a target protein enhance folding of the target protein (Abstract and Figure 2, in particular), Hishiya et al teaching protein folding issues underlie diseases such as Alzheimers’s (page 9, in particular), Mroczko et al indicates a toxic influence of Tau in the Alzheimer’s brain appears to be due to misfolding of Tau (page 14, in particular), and Chu et al teaches fusion proteins targeting Tau comprising a cell penetrating peptide to enter a cell and peptide targeting domains that target Tau - including one with a KD of about .40 mM ( (page 454 and Table 1, in particular). This is an example of both (i) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable result and (ii) some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the combined method wherein the fusion protein is administered intravenously in a pharmaceutical solutions comprising saline carrier of Chu et al because saline is routinely used by one of the skill in the art as a carrier for intravenous administration.
Regarding instant claim 40, DNA encoding linker of the fusion protein comprises “at least one modified nucleic acid”, as the nucleic acid sequences encoding the linker are not nucleic acid sequences of endogenous J protein – and claim 40 does not limit, as compared to what, the recited “modified” nucleic acid is “modified.”
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 17-20, 28, 29, 31, 33, and 35-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hishiya et al (Nature Scientific Reports, 2017, 8531: 1-13; 8/1/23 IDS) in view of Mroczko et al (International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2019, 20(4661): 1-26; 8/1/23 IDS) and Chu et al (Cell Chemical Biology, 2016, 23: 453-461) as applied to claims 1-4, 12, 17-20, 28, 29, 31, 33, 35-41, and 45-56 above, and further in view of Rosenberg et al (Human Gene Therapy and Clinical Development, 2018, 29(1): 24-47).
Teachings of Hishiya et al, Mroczko et al, and Chu et al are discussed above.
Hishiya et al, Mroczko et al, and Chu et al do not specifically teach viral vectors comprising polynucleotides encoding the fusion proteins of the combined method. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Rosenberg et al.
Rosenberg et al teaches viral vectors comprising AAVrh.10 capsid to deliver therapeutic polypeptides to the CNS of subjects with Alzheimer’s (Abstract, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the combined method wherein the fusion proteins of the combined method are administered to the subjects using viral vectors comprising AAVrh.10 capsid pf Rpsemberg et al because Rosenberg et al teaches viral vectors comprising AAVrh.10 capsid to deliver therapeutic polypeptides to the CNS (known site of Tau plaques) of subjects with Alzheimer’s (Abstract, in particular). This is an example of (i) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, (ii) applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable result, and (iii) some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Objections
Claims 23-24 are objected to for being dependent upon rejected claims.
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN E AEDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642