DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 6/24/2026 was received. Claims 1-4 were amended. Claims 8-15 were withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention on claims 2-4 are withdrawn because Applicant amended claims 2-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al. (US 20020124949 A1) in view of Segawa (JP 2013179035 A) on claims 1-5, 7 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al. (US 20020124949 A1) in view of Segawa (JP 2013179035 A) and Morisato et al. (JP 2016007669 A) on claim 6 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1.
Claims 1-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minagata et al. (US 20210210788 A1) in view of Fukuda et al. (US 20020124949 A1) and Segawa (JP 2013179035 A).
Regarding to claim 1: Minagata et al. disclose an electric storage device and a method of manufacturing an electrode unit having electrode sheets enveloped by a separator (par. 2). A separator enveloping device (100) (equivalent to an apparatus) (par. 95, fig. 14) for manufacturing the electric storage device (equivalent to a unit cell), which cuts a second separator (56) (equivalent to a lower separator) and a first separator (55) (equivalent to an upper separator) between sets of adjacent positive electrode sheets (30) (equivalent to electrodes) adjacent to each other in a process of manufacturing the electric storage device in which the second separator (56) and the first separator (55) continuously move in a longitudinal direction and the positive electrode sheets (30) are stacked between the second separator (56) and the first separator (55) (par. 95-98, fig. 14), the separator enveloping device (100) comprising:
a second fuser roller (108b) (equivalent to lower block) disposed under the second separator (56) (par. 99, fig. 14, 17); and
a first fuser roller (108a) (equivalent to an upper block) vertically aligned with the second fuser roller (108b) above the first separator (55), the first fuser roller (108) having a peripheral edge portion that is configured to be spaced apart from the second fuser roller (108b) when the first separator (55) and the second separator (56) are pressed (fig. 17), the peripheral edge portion having an arc shape (fig. 17) configured to form a connection part in the first separator (55) having an arc shape extending from a flat part of the first separator (55) to a flat part of the second separator (56) (par. 104, see fig. below); and
wherein a heating protrusion (216) of the first fuser roller (108) presses and welds both separators (55 and 56) (par. 104, fig. 14, 16) (equivalent to the upper block is heated to a predetermined temperature so that pressed points of the separators are thermally fused).
Minagata et al. fail to explicitly disclose the upper block having a central flat portion, a cutter received in the upper block, the upper block descending to press the lower and the upper separators to a surface of the lower block, and the cutter protruding from the upper block to perform cutting at points at which the separators are pressed. However, Fukuda et al. disclose a method and apparatus for attaching a pouch-shaped separator to an electrode plate of a battery (par. 3). The apparatus comprises:
a lower block disposed under the lower separator (2) (see fig. below); and
a heating plate (11) (equivalent to an upper block) (par. 20, fig. 1) (the heating plate (11) is vertically aligned with the lower block above the upper separator (2) in fig. 1); and
a cutting protrusion (12) (equivalent to a cutter and a central flat portion of the upper block) (par. 20, fig. 1) integrated into the heating plate (11),
wherein the heating plate (11) moves to press the separators (2) to a surface of the lower block (par. 26, fig. 1) (equivalent to the upper block descending to press the lower and the upper separators to a surface of the lower block), and
wherein the cutting protrusion (12) from the heating plate (11) performs cutting at a bonded portion (3) (equivalent to the location at which the separators are pressed) (par. 21, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the cutting protrusion (12), the descending movement of the heating plate (11), and the cutting performance of Fukuda et al. into the first fuser roller (108a) of Minagata et al. because Fukuda et al. teach that this method can minimize short circuiting and reduce manufacturing cost (par. 34).
Minagata et al. and Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose the electrodes are stacked on the upper separator. However, Segawa discloses a method and an apparatus for manufacturing a non-bipolar battery (par. 1). The apparatus comprises a first electrode roll (222) suppling a first electrode substrate (221) (par. 37, fig. 5); a first separator roll (214) suppling a first separator substrate (211) (equivalent to the upper separator) (par. 36, fig. 5); a second electrode roll (242) supplying a second electrode substrate (241) (par. 41, fig. 5); and a second separator roll (234) suppling a second separator substrate (231) (equivalent to the lower separator) (par. 40, fig. 5). The separator substrates (211, 231) move in a longitudinal direction (fig. 5). The apparatus further comprises a first continuous body (212) in which a negative electrode (20) is held by a first separator substrate (211) (par. 35, fig. 6); and a second continuous body (232) in which a positive electrode (40) is held by a second separator substrate (231) (par. 35, fig. 6). The first continuous body (212) and the second continuous body (232) form a sub-assembly unit (51) (par. 35, fig. 6). The sub-assembly unit (51) is formed by stacking a first electrode, a first separator (31), a second electrode, and a second separator (32) in the non-bipolar battery (par. 22, fig. 3(A)) (equivalent to the electrodes are stacked between the lower separator and the upper separator and on the upper separator, respectively). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the stacking order of electrodes and separators of Segawa in the apparatus of Minagata et al. because Segawa teaches the apparatus of Segawa can improve productivity when manufacturing non-bipolar batteries (par. 10).
Minagata et al. and Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose a cutter is accessible to the inside and outside of the upper block. However, Segawa further disclose the apparatus comprising a separator cutting blade (1251) (equivalent to a cutter) (par. 80, fig. 15 (A)). The separator cutting blade (1251) can be heated to a predetermined temperature (par. 85). The separator cutting blade (1251) is attached to a holding member (1258) via a biasing member (1257) (par. 86). The biasing member (1257) can be a spring (par. 86). The separator cutting blade (1251) sits inside a pressing members (1253) (the holding member (1258) and the pressing members (1253) are equivalent to the upper block) when not cutting the separator substrates (1211, 1231) (par. 98), and is pushed out when cutting the separator substrates (1211, 1231) (equivalent to a cutter is accessible to the inside and outside of the upper block) (par. 94). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the separator cutting blade (1251) which can access inside and outside of the holding member (1258) of Segawa as the cutting protrusion (12) of Fukuda et al. which is already incorporated in the first fuser roller (108a) of Minagata et al. because Segawa teaches this design can make a smooth and reliable cutting (par. 94).
In addition, it is a matter of engineering design to arrange the peripheral edge portion of the upper block---- and the connection part of the separator in different ways (arc shape, rectangular shape, or slope shape), where the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected result, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding to claim 2: Minagata et al. disclose heating protrusion (216) of the first fuser roller (108) presses and welds both separators (55 and 56) (par. 104, fig. 14, 16) (equivalent to the upper block is heated to a predetermined temperature). Minagata et al. fail to explicitly disclose the lower block is heated to a predetermined temperature; and the upper block is not heated when the lower block is heated to the predetermined temperature. However, Minagata et al. teaches various changes and modifications can be done (par. 110). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lower block heated to the predetermined temperature and the upper block not heated because one would have a reasonable expectation for success of performing the welding process.
Regarding to claim 3: Minagata et al. disclose heating protrusion (216) of the first fuser roller (108) presses and welds both separators (55 and 56) (par. 104, fig. 14, 16) (equivalent to the upper block is heated to a predetermined temperature). Minagata et al. are silent on the lower block is not heated when the upper block is heated to the predetermined temperature. However, Minagata et al. teaches various changes and modifications can be done (par. 110). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lower block not heated because one would have a reasonable expectation for success of performing the welding process.
Regarding to claim 4: Minagata et al. disclose heating protrusion (216) of the first fuser roller (108) presses and welds both separators (55 and 56) (par. 104, fig. 14, 16) (equivalent to the upper block is heated to a predetermined temperature). Minagata et al. are silent on the lower block is heated when the upper block is heated to the predetermined temperature. However, Minagata et al. teaches various changes and modifications can be done (par. 110). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lower block heated to the predetermined temperature when the upper block is heated because one would have a reasonable expectation for success of performing the welding process.
Regarding to claim 5: Minagata et al. disclose the heating protrusion (216) of the first fuser roller (108) presses and welds both separators (55 and 56) (par. 104, fig. 14, 16) (equivalent to the pressing of the lower and the upper separators is performed by the upper block). Minagata et al. fail to explicitly disclose the cutter cuts the point at which the thermal fusion is performed. However, Fukuda et al. disclose the heated heating plate (11) moves to press the separators (2) (par. 26, fig. 1) and perform bonding and cutting in one process (par. 20-22, 26-27, fig. 1). The cutting protrusion (12) from the heating plate (11) performs cutting at a bonded portion (3) (equivalent the point at which the thermal fusion is performed) (par. 21, fig. 3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the cutting protrusion (12) of Fukuda et al. into the first fuser roller (108a) of Minagata et al. because Fukuda et al. teach that using this method can minimize short circuiting and reduce manufacturing cost (par. 34).
Minagata et al. and Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose after a predetermined time elapses, the cutter protrudes. However, Segawa discloses a method and an apparatus for manufacturing a non-bipolar battery (par. 1). The apparatus comprises a separator cutting blade (1251) (equivalent to a cutter) (par. 80, fig. 15 (A)). The separator cutting blade (1251) is attached to a holding member (1258) via a biasing member (1257) (par. 86). The biasing member (1257) can be a spring (par. 86). When the holding member (1258) moves forward (par. 93), the base ends of a pair of pressing pieces (1255) are pushed to press the separator substrates (1211, 1231) (par. 93). The separator cutting blade (1251) is then pushed out from the initial position and cut separator substrates (1211, 1231) (equivalent to after a predetermined time elapses, the cutter protrudes) (par. 94, fig. 15 (A)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the separator cutting blade (1251) pushed out after pressing pieces (1255) pressing the separator substrates (1211, 1231) of Segawa as the cutting protrusion (12) of Fukuda et al. which is already incorporated in the first fuser roller (108a) of Minagata et al. because Segawa teaches this design can make a smooth and reliable cutting (par. 94).
Regarding to claim 7: Minagata et al. in view of Fukuda et al. disclose an electric storage device and a method of manufacturing an electrode unit having electrode sheets enveloped by a separator as described above. Minagata et al. and Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose the cutter is maintained in a state of being accommodated so as not to protrude from the upper block by elasticity of a spring, and wherein when the upper block presses the separators to the lower block, the cutter protrudes. However, Segawa discloses a method and an apparatus for manufacturing a non-bipolar battery (par. 1). The apparatus comprises a separator cutting blade (1251) (equivalent to a cutter) (par. 80, fig. 15 (A)). The separator cutting blade (1251) can be heated to a predetermined temperature (par. 85). The separator cutting blade (1251) is attached to a holding member (1258) via a biasing member (1257) (par. 86). The biasing member (1257) can be a spring (par. 86). The separator cutting blade (1251) sits inside a pressing members (1253) (the holding member (1258) and the pressing members (1253) are equivalent to the upper block) when not cutting the separator substrates (1211, 1231) (par. 98) (equivalent to that the cutter is maintained in a state of being accommodated so as not to protrude from the upper block by elasticity of a spring). When the holding member (1258) (equivalent to the upper block) moves forward (par. 93), the base ends of a pair of pressing pieces (1255) are pushed to press the separator substrates (1211, 1231) against a receiving plate (1209) (equivalent to the lower block) (par. 78, 93, fig. 15(A)). The separator cutting blade (1251) is then pushed out (equivalent to protruding) from the initial position and cut separator substrates (1211, 1231). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the separator cutting blade (1251), which can be accommodated to protrude when cutting, of Segawa as the cutting protrusion (12) of Fukuda et al. which is already incorporated in the first fuser roller (108a) of Minagata et al. because Segawa teaches this design can make a smooth and reliable cutting (par. 94).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minagata et al. (US 20210210788 A1) in view of Fukuda et al. (US 20020124949 A1) and Segawa (JP 2013179035 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morisato et al. (JP 2016007669 A) .
Regarding to claim 6: Minagata et al. in view of Fukuda et al. and Segawa disclose an electric storage device and a method of manufacturing an electrode unit having electrode sheets enveloped by a separator as described in paragraph 4 above. Minagata et al., Fukuda et al., and Segawa fail to explicitly disclose a groove is formed in a top surface of the lower block to accommodate the cutter and thereby avoid contact between the cutter and the lower block when the cutter protrudes from the upper block. However, Morisato et al. disclose an apparatus and a method for cutting a thin substrate (par. 1), e.g., a separator substrate used in a secondary battery (par. 2). The apparatus comprises a cutting member (110) (equivalent to the cutter) which pushes a separator substrate (60) into a recess (170b) (equivalent to a groove) of a mounting member (170) (equivalent to the lower block) (par. 59) (The cutting member (110) is accommodated in the recess (170b) and does not contact with the mounting member (170) in fig. 5 (D)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the recess (170b) of Morisato et al. into the second fuser roller (108b) of Minagata et al. because Morisato et al. teaches this apparatus can cut a thin separator and delay deterioration of the heating element (par. 1, 2, 5).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
Fukuda and Segawa do not disclose the upper block having a peripheral edge portion that is configured to be spaced apart from the lower block when the upper and lower separators are pressed, the peripheral edge portion having an arc shape configured to form a connection part in the upper separator having an arc shape extending from a flat part of the upper separator to a flat part of the lower separator.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are moot. Newly cited reference, Minagata teaches a peripheral edge portion, and the peripheral edge portion having an arc shape configured to form a connection part as described in paragraph 4 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717