DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/033508 filed on 4/24/2023. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, directed to an apparatus for manufacturing a unit cell as recited in claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding to claim 1: Examiner interprets the limitation of “the inside and outside” in line 10 as the inside and outside of the upper block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding to claims 2-4: the limitation of “a predetermined temperature” is unclear as it can be interpreted as (i) the predetermined temperature as recited in claim 1; or (ii) a different predetermined temperature from the predetermined temperature in claim 1. For compact prosecutions, Examiner considers interpretation (i) as the predetermined temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al. (US 20020124949 A1) in view of Segawa (JP 2013179035 A). The English translation of JP 2013179035 A is used as attached.
Regarding to claim 1: Fukuda et al. disclose a method and apparatus for attaching a pouch-shaped separator to an electrode plate of a battery (par. 3). The apparatus cuts separators (2) (equivalent to a lower separator and an upper separator) between sets of adjacent electrode plates (1) (equivalent to electrodes) adjacent to each other in a process of manufacturing the battery (par. 19-22, fig. 1), in which the electrode plates (1) are stacked between the separators (2) (fig. 1). The apparatus comprises:
a lower block disposed under the lower separator (2) (see fig. below); and
a heating plate (11) (equivalent to an upper block) (par. 20, fig. 1) (the heating plate (11) is vertically aligned with the lower block above the upper separator (2) in fig. 1); and
a cutting protrusion (12) (equivalent to a cutter) (par. 20, fig. 1) integrated into the heating plate (11),
wherein the heating plate (11) moves to press the separators (2) to a surface of the lower block (par. 26, fig. 1), wherein the heating plate (11) is heated (equivalent to heated to a predetermined temperature) to perform bonding (equivalent to thermally fused) and cutting in one process (par. 20-22, 26-27, fig. 1), and wherein the cutting protrusion (12) from the heating plate (11) performs cutting at a bonded portion (3) (equivalent to the location at which the separators are pressed) (par. 21, fig. 3).
Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose the lower separator and the upper separator continuously move in a longitudinal direction; and the electrodes are stacked on the upper separator. However, Segawa discloses a method and an apparatus for manufacturing a non-bipolar battery (par. 1). The apparatus comprises a first electrode roll (222) suppling a first electrode substrate (221) (par. 37, fig. 5); a first separator roll (214) suppling a first separator substrate (211) (equivalent to the upper separator) (par. 36, fig. 5); a second electrode roll (242) supplying a second electrode substrate (241) (par. 41, fig. 5); and a second separator roll (234) suppling a second separator substrate (231) (equivalent to the lower separator) (par. 40, fig. 5). The separator substrates (211, 231) move in a longitudinal direction (fig. 5). The apparatus further comprises a first continuous body (212) in which a negative electrode (20) is held by a first separator substrate (211) (par. 35, fig. 6); and a second continuous body (232) in which a positive electrode (40) is held by a second separator substrate (231) (par. 35, fig. 6). The first continuous body (212) and the second continuous body (232) form a sub-assembly unit (51) (par. 35, fig. 6). The sub-assembly unit (51) is formed by stacking a first electrode, a first separator (31), a second electrode, and a second separator (32) in the non-bipolar battery (par. 22, fig. 3(A)) (equivalent to the electrodes are stacked between the lower separator and the upper separator and on the upper separator, respectively). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the moving direction (the longitudinal direction of the separator substrates (211, 231) of Segawa and the stacking order of electrodes and separators of Segawa in the apparatus of Fukuda et al. because Segawa teaches the apparatus of Segawa can improve productivity when manufacturing non-bipolar batteries (par. 10).
Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose a cutter is accessible to the inside and outside of the upper block. However, Segawa further disclose the apparatus comprising a separator cutting blade (1251) (equivalent to a cutter) (par. 80, fig. 15 (A)). The separator cutting blade (1251) can be heated to a predetermined temperature (par. 85). The separator cutting blade (1251) is attached to a holding member (1258) via a biasing member (1257) (par. 86). The biasing member (1257) can be a spring (par. 86). The separator cutting blade (1251) sits inside a pressing members (1253) (the holding member (1258) and the pressing members (1253) are equivalent to the upper block) when not cutting the separator substrates (1211, 1231) (par. 98), and is pushed out when cutting the separator substrates (1211, 1231) (equivalent to a cutter is accessible to the inside and outside of the upper block) (par. 94). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the separator cutting blade (1251) which can access inside and outside of the holding member (1258) of Segawa as the cutting protrusion (12) of Fukuda et al. because Segawa teaches this design can make a smooth and reliable cutting (par. 94).
Regarding to claim 2: Fukuda et al. disclose the heating plate (11) (equivalent to an upper block) is heated to a predetermined temperature to perform bonding (equivalent to thermally fused) and cutting in one process (par. 20-22, 26-27, fig. 1). Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose the lower block is heated to a predetermined temperature; and the upper block is not heated when the lower block is heated to the predetermined temperature. However, Fukuda et al. teaches various changes and modifications can be done on the apparatus (par. 35). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lower block heated to the predetermined temperature and the upper block not heated because one would have a reasonable expectation for success of performing bonding and cutting in one process.
Regarding to claim 3: Fukuda et al. disclose the heating plate (11) (equivalent to an upper block) is heated to a predetermined temperature to perform bonding (equivalent to thermally fused) and cutting in one process (par. 20-22, 26-27, fig. 1). Fukuda et al. are silent on the lower block is not heated when the upper block is heated to the predetermined temperature. However, Fukuda et al. teaches various changes and modifications can be done on the apparatus (par. 35). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lower block not heated because one would have a reasonable expectation for success of performing bonding and cutting in one process.
Regarding to claim 4: Fukuda et al. disclose the heating plate (11) (equivalent to an upper block) is heated to a predetermined temperature to perform bonding (equivalent to thermally fused) and cutting in one process (par. 20-22, 26-27, fig. 1). Fukuda et al. are silent on the lower block is heated when the upper block is heated to the predetermined temperature. However, Fukuda et al. teaches various changes and modifications can be done on the apparatus (par. 35). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lower block heated to the predetermined temperature when the upper block is heated because one would have a reasonable expectation for success of performing bonding and cutting in one process.
Regarding to claim 5: Fukuda et al. disclose the heated heating plate (11) moves to press the separators (2) (par. 26, fig. 1) (equivalent to the pressing of the lower and the upper separators is performed by the upper block) and perform bonding and cutting in one process (par. 20-22, 26-27, fig. 1). The cutting protrusion (12) from the heating plate (11) performs cutting at a bonded portion (3) (equivalent the point at which the thermal fusion is performed) (par. 21, fig. 3).
Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose after a predetermined time elapses, the cutter protrudes. However, Segawa discloses a method and an apparatus for manufacturing a non-bipolar battery (par. 1). The apparatus comprises a separator cutting blade (1251) (equivalent to a cutter) (par. 80, fig. 15 (A)). The separator cutting blade (1251) is attached to a holding member (1258) via a biasing member (1257) (par. 86). The biasing member (1257) can be a spring (par. 86). When the holding member (1258) moves forward (par. 93), the base ends of a pair of pressing pieces (1255) are pushed to press the separator substrates (1211, 1231) (par. 93). The separator cutting blade (1251) is then pushed out from the initial position and cut separator substrates (1211, 1231) (equivalent to after a predetermined time elapses, the cutter protrudes) (par. 94, fig. 15 (A)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the separator cutting blade (1251) pushed out after pressing pieces (1255) pressing the separator substrates (1211, 1231) of Segawa as the cutting protrusion (12) of Fukuda et al. because Segawa teaches this design can make a smooth and reliable cutting (par. 94).
Regarding to claim 7: Fukuda et al. disclose a method and apparatus for attaching a pouch-shaped separator to an electrode plate of a battery (par. 3) as described in paragraph 4 above. Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose the cutter is maintained in a state of being accommodated so as not to protrude from the upper block by elasticity of a spring, and wherein when the upper block presses the separators to the lower block, the cutter protrudes. However, Segawa discloses a method and an apparatus for manufacturing a non-bipolar battery (par. 1). The apparatus comprises a separator cutting blade (1251) (equivalent to a cutter) (par. 80, fig. 15 (A)). The separator cutting blade (1251) can be heated to a predetermined temperature (par. 85). The separator cutting blade (1251) is attached to a holding member (1258) via a biasing member (1257) (par. 86). The biasing member (1257) can be a spring (par. 86). The separator cutting blade (1251) sits inside a pressing members (1253) (the holding member (1258) and the pressing members (1253) are equivalent to the upper block) when not cutting the separator substrates (1211, 1231) (par. 98) (equivalent to that the cutter is maintained in a state of being accommodated so as not to protrude from the upper block by elasticity of a spring ). When the holding member (1258) (equivalent to the upper block) moves forward (par. 93), the base ends of a pair of pressing pieces (1255) are pushed to press the separator substrates (1211, 1231) against a receiving plate (1209) (equivalent to the lower block) (par. 78, 93, fig. 15(A)). The separator cutting blade (1251) is then pushed out (equivalent to protruding) from the initial position and cut separator substrates (1211, 1231). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the separator cutting blade (1251), which can be accommodated to protrude when cutting, of Segawa as the cutting protrusion (12) of Fukuda et al. because Segawa teaches this design can make a smooth and reliable cutting (par. 94).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al. (US 20020124949 A1) in view of Segawa (JP 2013179035 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morisato et al. (JP 2016007669 A) . The English translation of JP 2016007669 A is used as attached.
Regarding to claim 6: Fukuda et al. disclose a method and apparatus for attaching a pouch-shaped separator to an electrode plate of a battery (par. 3) as described in paragraph 4 above. Fukuda et al. fail to explicitly disclose a groove is formed in a top surface of the lower block to accommodate the cutter and thereby avoid contact between the cutter and the lower block when the cutter protrudes from the upper block. However, Morisato et al. disclose an apparatus and a method for cutting a thin substrate (par. 1), e.g., a separator substrate used in a secondary battery (par. 2). The apparatus comprises a cutting member (110) (equivalent to the cutter) which pushes a separator substrate (60) into a recess (170b) (equivalent to a groove) of a mounting member (170) (equivalent to the lower block) (par. 59) (The cutting member (110) is accommodated in the recess (170b) and does not contact with the mounting member (170) in fig. 5 (D)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the recess (170b) of Morisato et al. into the lower block of Fukuda et al. because Morisato et al. teaches this apparatus can cut a thin separator and delay deterioration of the heating element (par. 1, 2, 5).
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717