The amendments and response filed on May 04, 2026 are received.
Claim 37 is canceled by Applicant. Claims 1-13 and 16-19 were previously canceled.
New claim 38 is added.
Claims 14, 15, 20-36 and 38 are pending in this application, claims 24-36 are withdrawn from further consideration (See Restriction/Election below), and claims 14, 15, 20-23 and 38 are pending in this application and are being examined.
Restriction/Election:
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 14, 15, 20-23 and 38, in the reply filed on 05/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions (Groups II, , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/04/2026.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 15, 20-23 and 38 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14, part (iv), recites the limitation "the plant-sourced microbes from the tea" in claim 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because, the preceding parts of claim 14 do no recite plant-sourced microbes.
Suggestion to obviate the rejection: provide antecedent basis.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 15 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merill et al. (Merill, R., Hoberecht, K., McKeon, J. 1998. Organic teas from compost and Manures. Organic Farming Research Foundation. P.O. Box 440 Santa Cruz, California 95061, Abstract and p. 1-48).
Claim Interpretation: In claim 14 the phrase “for the high density culture of bacteria” is not given patentable weight because it occurs in preamble and further because the body of the claim describes complete process steps.
Regarding claim 14, Merill et al. disclose a method of preparing a medium for the high density culture of bacteria comprising the steps of: i) combining a pre-processed organic slurry of plant material with a sterile diluent to make a tea slurry, wherein the tea slurry comprises a liquid tea component; ii) allowing nutrients to effuse out of the pre-processed organic slurry into the liquid tea component of the tea slurry; iii) harvesting the liquid tea from the tea slurry (passive tea extraction, soak-in water method, feedstock left to soak in water, left to soak, .. drain out the liquid) (See for example, p. 4 paragraph 1.2.1. -Continued on p. 5); iv) eliminating the plant-sourced microbes from the tea to make a sterile growth infusion (sterilized or micron filtered tea) (See for example, p. 8 1st paragraph), wherein a medium for the high density culture of bacteria comprises the sterile growth infusion (organic teas concentrate the beneficial microbes and is an inoculum for beneficial microbes) (See for example, p. 8 4th paragraph).
Regarding claims 15, Merill et al. disclose the plant sourced microbes are eliminated using micro-filtration or pasteurization (sterilized or micron filtered tea) (See for example, p. 8 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Merill et al. disclose the plant sourced microbes are eliminated by autoclaving (sterilized tea) (See for example, p. 8 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 21, Merill et al. disclose the pre-processed organic slurry of plant material comprise agricultural byproducts (agricultural byproducts) (agricultural waste and composts, etc.) (See for example, p. 2 Table 1, 2nd paragraph, and p. 8 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 22, Merill et al. disclose the agricultural byproduct is plant waste or compost (organic tea, agricultural waste and composts, etc.) (See for example, p. 2 Table 1, 2nd paragraph, and p. 8 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 23, Merill et al. teach agricultural byproduct is from the beverage or food industry (organic tea) (See for example, p. 1 paragraph 1.1).
Merill et al. therefore anticipate the claimed method.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15, 20-23 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merill et al. (Merill, R., Hoberecht, K., McKeon, J. 1998. Organic teas from compost and Manures. Organic Farming Research Foundation. P.O. Box 440 Santa Cruz, California 95061, Abstract and p. 1-48) as applied to claims 14, 15 and 20-23 above, and further in view of Susantikarn et al. (International Food Research Journal, 2016, 23(3): 1327-1331).
The teachings of Merill et al. with respect to the limitations of claims 14, 15 and 20-23 were discussed above in detail.
Merill et al. teach do not teach drying the liquid tea to produce a soluble powder (claim 38).
However, before the effective filing dated of the invention, Susantikarn et al. teach a drying technique for producing dried soluble tea powder (soluble tea powder produced by spray drying, and spray drying is a well-established method and widely used technique to produce powders from liquid) (See for example, p. 1327 “Introduction” left-hand column and right-hand column “Sample preparation” – Continued on p. 1328 left-hand column 1st paragraph).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been capable of applying a known drying technique taught by the prior art to dry the liquid tea produced by the method of the Merill et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in drying the liquid tea and producing a soluble powder.
Conclusion(s):
No claims(s) is allowed at this time.
/KADE ARIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651