Response to Arguments
Applicant’s representative filed arguments on 07/22/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 has been considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of ZHANG and KIM does not teach the determining the at least one first packet based on first and second progress information, including the claimed maximum and minimum PDCP sequence numbers, and further argues that KIM concerns only UE-side receiving-state variable and cannot properly be combined with ZHANG.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
First, ZHANG teaches source-side and target-side progress information used to control packet forwarding during handover. ZHANG [0211] discloses that the source node sends status indication information to the target node, wherein the status indication information identifies a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and source PDCP sequence numbers. ZHANG [0212] further discloses that the status indication information may include the GTP-U sequence number and source PDCP sequence number of the latest data packet sent by the source node during handover. ZHANG [0214] and [0219] additionally disclose identifying a packet not received by the terminal and sequentially forwarding data beginning with the first packet not received. These disclosures teach source-side transmission and delivery progress corresponding to the claimed first progress information.
ZHANG [0233]-[0234] further disclose that the target node determines whether to instruct the source node to stop data forwarding based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node. In particular, ZHANG [0234] discloses that the target node may possess packets in its buffer and identifies the first packet to be sent by the target node. Thus, the target node’s cached or sending status reflects target-side transmission progress corresponding to the claimed second progress information.
Second, ZHANG teaches the claimed minimum PDCP SN in the sending buffer of the second network device. ZHANG [0234] discloses the target node’s buffered packets and first packet to be sent, while [0231] discloses retransmission using a mapping between GTP-U SNs and source PDCP SNs. ZHANG [0197] and [0254] further disclose retransmission beginning with the packet having the smallest PDCP SN. Collectively, these disclosures teach the minimum PDCP SN at the target-node transmission boundary.
Third, KIM teaches PDCP sequence-number transmission progress corresponding to the claimed maximum PDCP SN. KIM [0266] discloses Last_Submitted_PDCP_RX_SN and Maximum_PDCP_SN, while [0264] discloses Next_PDCP_TX_SN, identifying the PDCP SN of the next data to be transmitted by a transmitting PDCP entity. KIM [0345] and [0352] further disclose assigning PDCP SNs and separately processing data for source eNB and target eNB bearer paths. KIM [0362]-[0363] disclose using stored transmitted data and sequence-number information during handover, and [0367] discloses retransmission beginning with the first unsuccessfully delivered data in ascending PDCP-SN or COUNT order.
Thus, KIM in not limited to receiving side operation, but teaches transmitting side PDCP SN assignment and progress management.
Fourth, ZHANG teaches determining packets based on both progress information. ZHANG [0212], [0214] and [0219] disclose the source side forwarding boundary. Accordingly, ZHANG teaches determining which packets are forwarded or retransmitted based on both source side and target side progress.
Fifth, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply KIM’s PDCP sequence-number progress management to ZHANG’s handover-forwarding procedure.
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/22/2026, pages 13-14, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that KIM concerns receiving-side operation and therefore cannot properly be combined with ZHANG, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
ZHANG teaches source-side and target-side progress information for packet forwarding during handover, while KIM teaches PDCP sequence-number management, including transmitting-side PDCP sequence-number assignment and transmission progress. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying KIM’s known PDCP sequence-number management technique to ZHANG’s handover forwarding procedure would have improved packet forwarding and retransmission during handover.
Therefore, as shown above the combination ZHANG and KIM also teaches the limitation of independent claims 10 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,5,9-10,12,14 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 2023/0039646 A1; hereinafter "ZHANG"), in view of KIM et al. (US 2024/0381443 A1; hereinafter “KIM”).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a data transmission method (FIG. 4), comprising:
acquiring, by a first network device (FIG. 4 Source node), at least one first packet of a first service ([0070] the forwarded data packets may be data buffered by the source node and/or new data obtained from a core-network node, [0254] perform data retransmission from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet),
wherein the at least one first packet ([0254] at least one first data packet) is determined based on first progress information ([0211] status information) of sending the first service by the first network device ([0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and includes a packet not received by the terminal before handover, [0219] if the source node obtains the receiving status information of the terminal, the source node sequentially forwards data starting from the 1st piece of data not received) and
second progress information ([0234] a sending status of the target node) of sending the first service by a second network device (FIG. 4 Target node) ([0234] Based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node. If the target node receives the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 and has the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 in its buffer, the target node indicates the source node to stop data forwarding),
the first network device is a network device accessed by a terminal device before network handover ([0049] handover of a terminal from the source node to the target node, [0068] when the source node determines to send a handover command to the terminal), and the second network device is a network device accessed by the terminal device after the network handover ([0049] handover of a terminal from the source node to the target node);
sending, by the first network device, the at least one first packet to the second network device ([0070] receiving data packets forwarded by the source node in an order of the GTP-U sequence numbers of the N data packets, where the forwarded data packets may be data buffered by the source node and/or new data obtained from a core-network node, [0077] the source node sequentially forwards the data packets with GTP-U SN=2/PDCP SN=2 and GTP-U SN=6/PDCP SN=6 to the target node), wherein the at least one packet is a packet to be sent by the second network device to the terminal device ([0049] the target node performs data retransmission towards the terminal (in FIG. 4 step 6) based on the mapping relationship, so as to reduce data loss for the terminal during handover, [0090] the target node retransmits multicast data by using a specific HARQ process);
wherein the acquiring, by the first network device, the at least one first packet comprises ([0070], [0254]):
acquiring, by a first network device, first progress information of sending the first service by the first network device ([0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and includes a packet not received by the terminal before handover),
receiving, by the first network device, second progress information of sending the first service by the second network device ([0234] Based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node. If the target node receives the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 and has the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 in its buffer, the target node indicates the source node to stop data forwarding),
wherein the second progress information comprises: a minimum PDCP SN of a packet in a sending buffer of the second network device ([0197] receiving data packets that are retransmitted based on the mapping relationship from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet, [0254] based on the mapping relationship, perform data retransmission from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet);
acquiring, by the first network device, the at least one first packet based on the first progress information and the second progress information ([0077] discloses determining packet forwarding based on delivery status at the source node (first progress information), [0234] discloses determining forwarding behavior based on cached/sending status at the target node (second progress information), thereby determining and acquiring packets based on both progress information).
However, ZHANG does not teach wherein the first progress information comprises: a maximum packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) sequence number (SN) of a packet having been sent to the terminal device by the first network device.
In an analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the first progress information comprises: a maximum packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) sequence number (SN) of a packet having been sent to the terminal device by the first network device ([0266] indicates a PDCP sequence number corresponding to the last data (PDCP SDU) delivered from the receiving PDCP layer device to the upper layer device. The window parameter is set to a first constant value (Maximum_PDCP_SN) when the PDCP layer device is established, [0264] further discloses Next_PDCP_TX_SN, which identifies, in a transmitting PDCP layer device, the PDCP sequence number of the next PDCP SDU to be transmitted, [0345], [0352] and [0362]-[0367] further disclose transmitting PDCP functions that assign PDCP sequence numbers and perform transmission and retransmission based on PDCP sequence-number information during handover).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window parameter as taught by KIM within the parameters of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support a service having no data interruption with an improved system network (KIM [0010]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of ZHANG and KIM, specifically ZHANG teaches sending, by the first network device, the first progress information of sending the first service to the second network device ([0211] In FIG. 4 Step 3, the source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers of N data packets and source PDCP sequence numbers).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of ZHANG and KIM, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the acquiring, by the first network device, the at least one first packet comprises ([0219] the source node sequentially forwards data starting from the 1.sup.st piece of data that the terminal has not received):
acquiring, by the first network device, the first progress information of sending the first service by the first network device ([0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and source PDCP sequence numbers, [0219] if the source node obtains the receiving status information of the terminal, the source node sequentially forwards data);
receiving, by the first network device, the second progress information of sending the first service by the second network device ([0233] In FIG. 4 step 7, the target node indicates the source node to stop data forwarding, [0234] based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node);
acquiring, by the first network device, the at least one first packet based on the first progress information and the second progress information ([0077] discloses determining packet forwarding based on delivery status at the source node (first progress information), [0234] discloses determining forwarding behavior based on cached/sending status at the target node (second progress information), thereby determining and acquiring packets based on both progress information).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of ZHANG and KIM, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the sending, by the first network device, the first progress information of sending the first service to the second network device comprises ([0211] In FIG. 4 Step 3, the source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers of N data packets and source PDCP sequence numbers):
sending, by the first network device, the first progress information of sending the first service to the second network device via a handover request message ([0202] In FIG. 4 Step 1: The source node sends a handover request message to the target node, [0211] where the source node sends status indication information to the target node, the status indication information being used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and source PDCP sequence numbers, and including a packet not received by the terminal before handover. This status indication information reflects the progress of sending the first service and is transmitted to the second network device through the handover request message).
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG teaches a data transmission apparatus (FIG. 8 the network-side device 1300), comprising: a memory (FIG. 8 a memory 1303), a transceiver (FIG. 8 a transceiver 1302) and a processor (FIG. 8 a processor 1301): wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program ([0327] a program or an instruction stored in the memory);
the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor ([0368] the transceiver 1302 includes a transmitter and a receiver, and provides a unit for communicating with various other apparatuses);
the processor, by executing the computer program, is configured to ([0362] The processor 1301 is configured to read a program in the memory 1303 to perform):
acquire at least one first packet ([0254] at least one first data packet) of a first service ([0070] the forwarded data packets may be data buffered by the source node and/or new data obtained from a core-network node, [0254] perform data retransmission from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet),
wherein the at least one first packet ([0254] at least one first data packet) is determined based on first progress information ([0211] status information) of sending the first service by a first network device ([0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and includes a packet not received by the terminal before handover, [0219] if the source node obtains the receiving status information of the terminal, the source node sequentially forwards data starting from the 1st piece of data not received) and second progress information ([0234] a sending status of the target node) of sending the first service by a second network device (FIG. 4 Target node) ([0234] Based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node. If the target node receives the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 and has the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 in its buffer, the target node indicates the source node to stop data forwarding),
the first network device is a network device accessed by a terminal device before network handover ([0049] handover of a terminal from the source node to the target node, [0068] when the source node determines to send a handover command to the terminal), and the second network device is a network device accessed by the terminal device after the network handover ([0049] handover of a terminal from the source node to the target node); and
send the at least one first packet to the second network device ([0070] receiving data packets forwarded by the source node in an order of the GTP-U sequence numbers of the N data packets, where the forwarded data packets may be data buffered by the source node and/or new data obtained from a core-network node, [0077] the source node sequentially forwards the data packets with GTP-U SN=2/PDCP SN=2 and GTP-U SN=6/PDCP SN=6 to the target node),
wherein the at least one packet is a packet to be sent by the second network device to the terminal device ([0049] the target node performs data retransmission towards the terminal (in FIG. 4 step 6) based on the mapping relationship, so as to reduce data loss for the terminal during handover, [0090] the target node retransmits multicast data by using a specific HARQ process);
wherein the processor (FIG. 8 a processor 1301) is configured to:
acquire first progress information of sending the first service by the first network device ([0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and includes a packet not received by the terminal before handover);
receive second progress information of sending the first service by the second network device ([0234] Based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node. If the target node receives the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 and has the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 in its buffer, the target node indicates the source node to stop data forwarding),
wherein the second progress information comprises: a minimum PDCP SN of a packet in a sending buffer of the second network device ([0197] receiving data packets that are retransmitted based on the mapping relationship from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet, [0254] based on the mapping relationship, perform data retransmission from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet);
acquiring, by the first network device, the at least one first packet based on the first progress information and the second progress information ([0077] discloses determining packet forwarding based on delivery status at the source node (first progress information), [0234] discloses determining forwarding behavior based on cached/sending status at the target node (second progress information), thereby determining and acquiring packets based on both progress information).
However, ZHANG does not teach wherein the first progress information comprises: a maximum packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) sequence number (SN) of a packet having been sent to the terminal device by the first network device.
In an analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the first progress information comprises: a maximum packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) sequence number (SN) of a packet having been sent to the terminal device by the first network device ([0266] indicates a PDCP sequence number corresponding to the last data (PDCP SDU) delivered from the receiving PDCP layer device to the upper layer device. The window parameter is set to a first constant value (Maximum_PDCP_SN) when the PDCP layer device is established, [0264] further discloses Next_PDCP_TX_SN, which identifies, in a transmitting PDCP layer device, the PDCP sequence number of the next PDCP SDU to be transmitted, [0345], [0352] and [0362]-[0367] further disclose transmitting PDCP functions that assign PDCP sequence numbers and perform transmission and retransmission based on PDCP sequence-number information during handover).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window parameter as taught by KIM within the parameters of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support a service having no data interruption with an improved system network (KIM [0010]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of ZHANG and KIM, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 8 a processor 1301) is further configured to send the first progress information of sending the first service to the second network device ([0211] In FIG. 4 Step 3, the source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers of N data packets and source PDCP sequence numbers).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of ZHANG and KIM, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 8 a processor 1301) is configured to:
acquire the first progress information of sending the first service by the first network device ([0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and source PDCP sequence numbers, [0219] if the source node obtains the receiving status information of the terminal, the source node sequentially forwards data);
receive the second progress information of sending the first service by the second network device ([0233] In FIG. 4 step 7, the target node indicates the source node to stop data forwarding, [0234] based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node);
acquire the at least one first packet based on the first progress information and the second progress information ([0077] discloses determining packet forwarding based on delivery status at the source node (first progress information), [0234] discloses determining forwarding behavior based on cached/sending status at the target node (second progress information), thereby determining and acquiring packets based on both progress information).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of ZHANG and KIM, specifically ZHANG teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 8 a processor 1301) is configured to: send the first progress information to the second network device via a handover request message ([0202] In FIG. 4 Step 1: The source node sends a handover request message to the target node, [0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and source PDCP sequence numbers).
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0027] a readable storage medium), wherein the computer-readable storage medium has a computer-executable instruction stored thereon ([0027] an instruction is stored in the readable storage medium), and when the computer-executable instruction is executed by a processor ([0027] When the instruction is executed by a processor, the steps of the method are implemented), the processor execute steps of:
acquiring at least one first packet of a first service ([0070] the forwarded data packets may be data buffered by the source node and/or new data obtained from a core-network node, [0254] perform data retransmission from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet), wherein the at least one first packet is determined based on first progress information ([0211] status information) of sending the first service by a first network device ([0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and includes a packet not received by the terminal before handover, [0219] if the source node obtains the receiving status information of the terminal, the source node sequentially forwards data starting from the 1st piece of data not received) and second progress information ([0234] a sending status of the target node) of sending the first service by a second network device (FIG. 4 Target node) ([0234] Based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node. If the target node receives the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 and has the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 in its buffer, the target node indicates the source node to stop data forwarding),
the first network device is a network device accessed by a terminal device before network handover ([0049] handover of a terminal from the source node to the target node, [0068] when the source node determines to send a handover command to the terminal), and the second network device is a network device accessed by the terminal device after the network handover ([0049] handover of a terminal from the source node to the target node); and
sending the at least one first packet to the second network device ([0070] receiving data packets forwarded by the source node in an order of the GTP-U sequence numbers of the N data packets, where the forwarded data packets may be data buffered by the source node and/or new data obtained from a core-network node, [0077] the source node sequentially forwards the data packets with GTP-U SN=2/PDCP SN=2 and GTP-U SN=6/PDCP SN=6 to the target node),
wherein the at least one packet is a packet to be sent by the second network device to the terminal device ([0049] the target node performs data retransmission towards the terminal (in FIG. 4 step 6) based on the mapping relationship, so as to reduce data loss for the terminal during handover, [0090] the target node retransmits multicast data by using a specific HARQ process);
wherein when the computer-executable instruction is executed by the processor ([0027] When the instruction is executed by a processor, the steps of the method are implemented), the processor further execute steps of:
acquiring, by the first network device, the first progress information of sending the first service by the first network device ([0211] The source node sends status indication information to the target node, where the status indication information is used to indicate a mapping relationship between GTP-U sequence numbers and includes a packet not received by the terminal before handover);
receiving, by the first network device, the second progress information of sending the first service by the second network device ([0234] Based on a cached data status or a sending status of the target node. If the target node receives the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 and has the data packet corresponding to GTP-U SN=5 in its buffer, the target node indicates the source node to stop data forwarding),
wherein the second progress information comprises: a minimum PDCP SN of a packet in a sending buffer of the second network device ([0197] receiving data packets that are retransmitted based on the mapping relationship from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet, [0254] based on the mapping relationship, perform data retransmission from a first data packet with a smallest PDCP sequence number in the at least one first data packet);
acquiring, by the first network device, the at least one first packet based on the first progress information and the second progress information ([0077] discloses determining packet forwarding based on delivery status at the source node (first progress information), [0234] discloses determining forwarding behavior based on cached/sending status at the target node (second progress information), thereby determining and acquiring packets based on both progress information).
However, ZHANG does not teach wherein the first progress information comprises: a maximum packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) sequence number (SN) of a packet having been sent to the terminal device by the first network device.
In an analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the first progress information comprises: a maximum packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) sequence number (SN) of a packet having been sent to the terminal device by the first network device ([0266] indicates a PDCP sequence number corresponding to the last data (PDCP SDU) delivered from the receiving PDCP layer device to the upper layer device. The window parameter is set to a first constant value (Maximum_PDCP_SN) when the PDCP layer device is established, [0264] further discloses Next_PDCP_TX_SN, which identifies, in a transmitting PDCP layer device, the PDCP sequence number of the next PDCP SDU to be transmitted, [0345], [0352] and [0362]-[0367] further disclose transmitting PDCP functions that assign PDCP sequence numbers and perform transmission and retransmission based on PDCP sequence-number information during handover).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window parameter as taught by KIM within the parameters of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support a service having no data interruption with an improved system network (KIM [0010]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of ZHANG and KIM, specifically KIM teaches wherein the at least one first packet comprises: a packet whose PDCP SN is between the first progress information and the second progress information ([0266] defines a lower boundary of PDCP sequence numbers based on delivery progress, [0265] defines an upper boundary based on reception progress, [0276] discloses that only data within a window defined by such boundaries in processed, thereby comprising packets whose PDCP SN is between the first and second progress information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window parameter as taught by KIM within the parameters of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support a service having no data interruption with an improved system network (KIM [0010]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of ZHANG and KIM, specifically KIM teaches wherein the at least one first packet comprises: a packet whose PDCP SN is between the first progress information and the second progress information ([0266] defines a lower boundary of PDCP sequence numbers based on delivery progress, [0265] defines an upper boundary based on reception progress, [0276] discloses that only data within a window defined by such boundaries in processed, thereby comprising packets whose PDCP SN is between the first and second progress information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the window parameter as taught by KIM within the parameters of ZHANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support a service having no data interruption with an improved system network (KIM [0010]).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG, in view of KIM, and further in view of CHANG et al. (US 2022/0303840 A1; hereinafter “CHANG”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of ZHANG and KIM does not teach wherein the at least one first packet comprises: a packet having not been successfully sent by the first network device but having been successfully sent by the second network device before the first network device sends a handover request message to the second network device.
In an analogous art, CHANG teaches wherein the at least one first packet comprises: a packet having not been successfully sent by the first network device but having been successfully sent by the second network device before the first network device sends a handover request message to the second network device ([0045] If a handover is determined, then the source base station triggers a handover preparation procedure to transmit a handover request message to a target base station, [0084] For a DRB mapped to an RLC acknowledge mode (AM), the PDCP layer performs, starting from the first PDCP SDU that has not been confirmed to be successfully delivered, retransmission of all PDCP SDUs in ascending order of count values associated therewith prior to step S105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a handover as taught by CHANG within the parameters of ZHANG and KIM. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the loss of data packets and the packet loss rate during a handover procedure with enhanced LTE/NR system (CHANG [0078]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of ZHANG, KIM and CHANG, specifically CHANG teaches wherein the at least one first packet comprises: a packet having not been successfully sent by the first network device but having been successfully sent by the second network device before the first network device sends a handover request message to the second network device ([0045] If a handover is determined, then the source base station triggers a handover preparation procedure to transmit a handover request message to a target base station, [0084] For a DRB mapped to an RLC acknowledge mode (AM), the PDCP layer performs, starting from the first PDCP SDU that has not been confirmed to be successfully delivered, retransmission of all PDCP SDUs in ascending order of count values associated therewith prior to step S105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a handover as taught by CHANG within the parameters of ZHANG and KIM. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the loss of data packets and the packet loss rate during a handover procedure with enhanced LTE/NR system (CHANG [0078]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2015/0326456 A1 (Dudda et al.) discloses providing feedback between network nodes in a wireless communications network.
US 2018/0262950 A1 (MALKAMÄKI et al.) discloses PDCP Status Reports (or Status PDUs), which are exchanged between a UE and eNB.
US 2021/0084536 A1 (Chou et al.) discloses Load Balancing Optimization (LBO) and Mobility Robustness Optimization (MRO).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413