DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 4/03/2026. Claims 1, 13 and 27 have been
amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13, 15-17, 19-21, 23, 27 and 29 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 4/03/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/03/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 8-15), filed on 4/03/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of
claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (Seok et al.) are applied in the current rejection.
Regarding remarks in page 11, for independent claims 1, applicant asserts that Asterjadhi does not teach or suggest the technical feature of "indicating, in response to setting an identification information bit of a corresponding basic channel bandwidth as a first value, to send a second message frame associated with the first message frame with zero power at the corresponding basic channel bandwidth,".
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Asterjadhi et al. (US 2020/0015219 Al) discloses (FIG. 4A shows an example of a control element format 400-a that supports a 320 MHz operating bandwidth. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield in accordance with the IEEE 802.11ax or 802.11be amendments to the 802.11 set of standards. An AP may signal one or more NDP frames (known as null packets) to STAs on the managed BSS, including STA. STA may process null packets received from AP and determine a CQI indication for sub-channels of the operating bandwidth, Asterjadhi: Fig.4A ~ Fig.5B, [0076], [0087], [0143], [0149]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13, 15-17, 20-21, 23, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (US 2020/0015219 Al, hereinafter “Asterjadhi”) in view of NOH et al. (US 2022/0030604 Al, hereinafter “Noh”) and in further view of SEOK et al. (US 2019/0215037 Al, hereinafter “Seok”).
Regarding claim 1, Asterjadhi discloses:
A communication method, the method performed by an access point (AP), comprising (the access point supporting communication on one or more sub-channels of the operating bandwidth of the station, Asterjadhi: [0027]):
determining a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises identification information bits configured to indicate each basic channel bandwidth in a 320 MHz channel bandwidth (an EHT-supported operating-bandwidth allocation of 320 MHz. Configuration of the extensions to the channel bitmap for supported granularity in EHT environments may be based on the one or more bit indications within a target wake time (TWT) field or EHT operation element of the TWT element format 700-a. The bitmap for non-EHT supported STAs (for example, HE STAs) served by the AP on the BSS would maintain the legacy meaning as defined by IEEE 802 .11. the per-channel network allocation vector (NAV) check may include a carrier sensing mechanism for each 20 MHz allocation of the operating bandwidth, Asterjadhi: [0105], [0134], [0140]),
sending the first message frame (an AP may transmit a trigger frame to one or more STAs, including an STA to coordinate uplink transmission. The trigger frame may be formatted to include one or more subfields spanning a sequence of bits. The one or more subfields of the trigger frame include information such as a payload length, bandwidth, RU allocation, and modulation scheme, as well as one or more request indications for reporting by the receiving STA, Asterjadhi: [0095], [0115], [0128]); and
indicating, in response to setting an identification information bit of a corresponding basic channel bandwidth as a first value, to send a second message frame associated with the first message frame with zero power at the corresponding basic channel bandwidth (FIG. 4A shows an example of a control element format 400-a that supports a 320 MHz operating bandwidth. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield in accordance with the IEEE 802.11ax or 802.11be amendments to the 802.11 set of standards. An AP may signal one or more NDP frames (known as null packets) to STAs on the managed BSS, including STA. STA may process null packets received from AP and determine a CQI indication for sub-channels of the operating bandwidth, Asterjadhi: Fig.4A ~ Fig.5B, [0076], [0087], [0143], [0149]);
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
a number of the identification information bits is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth is 20 MHz;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noh teaches:
a number of the identification information bits is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth is 20 MHz (HE STAs receive a STA information subfield in which the length of STA information subfield is four bytes. When the size of the STA information field is consistent in size, contents in the partial bandwidth information subfield could be differently interpreted by EHT or beyond EHT STAs. For example, the minimum RU size could be 20 MHz and/or the partial bandwidth information subfield could include a disallowed subchannel bitmap. Depending on the size, remaining parts of the partial bandwidth information subfield could be reserved, Noh: [0149]-[0150]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi in view of Noh in order to further modify the number of the identification information bits which is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth which is 20 MHz from the teachings of Noh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because AP/STAs may have chances to exchange different types of frames efficiently and quickly to support multi-user transmissions (Noh: [0153]).
Yet, Asterjadhi in view of Noh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the corresponding basic channel bandwidth corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seok teaches:
wherein the corresponding basic channel bandwidth corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth (For 5 GHz and 6 GHz, the potential new spectrum will likely include multi-80 MHz Basic Service Set (BSS) operations that include contiguous 320 MHz. NDPA format for NDP sounding for preamble punctured PPDU, in accordance with aspects of the present technology, is shown. The STA information field can include an 11bit AID11 subfield, a 14bit partial bandwidth information subfield, a 2 bit feedback type and Ng subfield, a 1 bit disambiguation subfield, a one bit codebook size subfield, and a 3 bit Nc subfield. For a 20 MHz bandwidth of a HE NDPA frame, the 26-tone RU 1 can be encoded as 0 and the 26-tone RU 9 can be encoded as 8. Values 9-127 can be reserved, Seok: Fig. 9A-9B, [0027], [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi and Noh in view of Seok in order to further modify the corresponding basic channel bandwidth which corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth from the teachings of Seok.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because an Access Point (AP) can send a Null Data Packet Acknowledgment (NDPA) followed by a NDP to a station (STA) (Seok: [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 1, wherein all the identification information bits are comprised in a station information subfield of the first message frame (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field form may vary in subfield values or in subfield formatting based on supported functionality at the STA, known as a control field variant, Asterjadhi: Fig. 5A, [0087], [0094], [0102]-[0103]).
Regarding claim 4, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 3, wherein the station information subfield comprises an associated identifier (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield, Asterjadhi: [0076]-[0077]),
wherein the identification information bits and the associated identifier are all set in a frame of a MAC frame of the first message frame (The trigger frame may be formatted to include a sequence of one or more subfields, which may be included in a MAC header, Asterjadhi: Fig. 9-10, [0115], [0120]).
Regarding claim 5, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 1, wherein a first portion of the identification information bits is comprised in a station information subfield of the first message frame (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield. The common information field may be formatted to include one or more subfields, including an UL BW subfield spanning 2 bits. By signaling the encoding within the common information field, the encoding scheme may apply to the entire trigger frame, Asterjadhi: [0076]-[0077], [0116]-[0117]),
Asterjadhi in view of Seok does not explicitly disclose:
and a second portion of the identification information bits is comprised in a signaling field of the first message frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noh teaches:
and a second portion of the identification information bits is comprised in a signaling field of the first message frame (a PHY version field is set to EHT, then all the information in the U-SIG corresponds to an EHT TB PPDU with EHT preamble, Noh: [0170], [0176], [0183]-[0184]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi and Seok in view of Noh in order to further modify a second portion of the identification information bits is comprised in a signaling field of the first message frame from the teachings of Noh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because this type of transmission can permit a comparatively smaller number of different TB PPDU versions (Noh: [0176]).
Regarding claim 8, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 4, wherein determining the first message frame comprises (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield, Asterjadhi: [0076]-[0077]):
Asterjadhi in view of Seok does not explicitly disclose:
setting the associated identifier as a third value,
wherein the third value is a value which can be parsed by a first device receiving the first message frame, wherein the first device cannot support the bandwidth larger than 160 MHz.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noh teaches:
setting the associated identifier as a third value (there are several possible new rules, such as consistent tone spacing between different amendment STAs and preamble design considerations (especially for RU allocation positions and symbol alignment between 80 MHz segments/160 MHz segments depending on the STAs capable bandwidth), Noh: [0127]),
wherein the third value is a value which can be parsed by a first device receiving the first message frame, wherein the first device cannot support the bandwidth larger than 160 MHz (since IEEE 802.llax STAs capable of 80/160 MHz operation need to decode the preamble on a primary 20 MHz first to get important control information (e.g., bandwidth information) from signal fields to decode the remaining portion of the PPDU, these STAs are likely to stay at least within a primary 80 MHz subchannel, Noh: [0125], [0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi and Seok in view of Noh in order to further modify setting the associated identifier as a third value wherein the third value is a value which can be parsed by a first device receiving the first message frame, wherein the first device cannot support the bandwidth larger than 160 MHz from the teachings of Noh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because HE STAs can decode and properly interpret corresponding portions of the aggregated PPDU without error but will not be able to properly interpret other EHT or beyond EHT features of the PPDU (Noh: [0127]).
Regarding claim 9, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 8, wherein only a portion of the identification information bits is parsed by the first device (Transmissions to and from STAs and APs may include control information within a header that is transmitted prior to data transmissions. The information provided in a header is used by a receiving device to decode the subsequent data, Asterjadhi: [0067]);
wherein the portion of the identification information bits corresponds to a low 160 MHz channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth (system may be configured to support a first primary channel associated with the upper 160 MHz of the bandwidth and a second primary channel associated with the lower 160 MHz of the bandwidth, Asterjadhi: [0135]):
Regarding claim 11, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 8, wherein all the identification information bits are parsed by a second device receiving the first message frame, wherein the second device can support a maximum bandwidth of 320 MHz (FIG. 13 shows an example of a process flow for communications between an AP and an STA that supports a 320 MHz operating bandwidth, Asterjadhi: Fig. 13, [0137], [0173]).
Regarding claim 13, Asterjadhi discloses:
A communication method, the method performed by a station, comprising (A method of wireless communication at a station, Asterjadhi: [0008]):
receiving a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises identification information bits configured to indicate each basic channel bandwidth in a 320 MHz channel bandwidth (the STA may receive and process the trigger frame. Based on the processing, the STA may determine one or more request indications for reporting and identify an operating mode for an operating bandwidth of the STA. Based on operability enhancements associated with an identified operating mode (for example, EHT capability), the STA may determine a value for one or more parameters. an EHT-supported operating-bandwidth allocation of 320 MHz, Configuration of the extensions to the channel bitmap for supported granularity in EHT environments may be based on the one or more bit indications within a target wake time (TWT) field or EHT operation element of the TWT element format 700-a. The bitmap for non-EHT supported STAs (for example, HE STAs) served by the AP on the BSS would maintain the legacy meaning as defined by IEEE 802 .11. the per-channel network allocation vector (NAV) check may include a carrier sensing mechanism for each 20 MHz allocation of the operating bandwidth, Asterjadhi: [0096], [0105], [0134], [0140]),
receiving, in response to setting an identification information bit of a corresponding basic channel bandwidth as a first value, a second message frame which is associated with the first message frame and sent with zero power at the corresponding basic channel bandwidth (FIG. 4A shows an example of a control element format 400-a that supports a 320 MHz operating bandwidth. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield, An AP may signal one or more NDP frames (known as null packets) to STAs on the managed BSS, including STA. STA may process null packets received from AP and determine a CQI indication for sub-channels of the operating bandwidth, Asterjadhi: Fig.4A - Fig.5B, [0076], [0087], [0143], [0149])).
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
a number of the identification information bits is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth is 20 MHz; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noh teaches:
a number of the identification information bits is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth is 20 MHz (HE STAs receive a STA information subfield in which the length of STA information subfield is four bytes. When the size of the STA information field is consistent in size, contents in the partial bandwidth information subfield could be differently interpreted by EHT or beyond EHT STAs. For example, the minimum RU size could be 20 MHz and/or the partial bandwidth information subfield could include a disallowed subchannel bitmap. Depending on the size, remaining parts of the partial bandwidth information subfield could be reserved, Noh: [0149]-[0150]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi in view of Noh in order to further modify the number of the identification information bits which is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth which is 20 MHz from the teachings of Noh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because AP/STAs may have chances to exchange different types of frames efficiently and quickly to support multi-user transmissions (Noh: [0153]).
Yet, Asterjadhi in view of Noh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the corresponding basic channel bandwidth corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seok teaches:
wherein the corresponding basic channel bandwidth corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth (For 5 GHz and 6 GHz, the potential new spectrum will likely include multi-80 MHz Basic Service Set (BSS) operations that include contiguous 320 MHz. NDPA format for NDP sounding for preamble punctured PPDU, in accordance with aspects of the present technology, is shown. The STA information field can include an 11bit AID11 subfield, a 14bit partial bandwidth information subfield, a 2 bit feedback type and Ng subfield, a 1 bit disambiguation subfield, a one bit codebook size subfield, and a 3 bit Nc subfield. For a 20 MHz bandwidth of a HE NDPA frame, the 26-tone RU 1 can be encoded as 0 and the 26-tone RU 9 can be encoded as 8. Values 9-127 can be reserved, Seok: Fig. 9A-9B, [0027], [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi and Noh in view of Seok in order to further modify the corresponding basic channel bandwidth which corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth from the teachings of Seok.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because an Access Point (AP) can send a Null Data Packet Acknowledgment (NDPA) followed by a NDP to a station (STA) (Seok: [0043]).
Regarding claim 15, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 13, wherein all the identification information bits are comprised in a station information subfield of the first message frame (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field form may vary in subfield values or in subfield formatting based on supported functionality at the STA, known as a control field variant, Asterjadhi: Fig. 5A, [0087], [0094], [0102]-[0103]).
Regarding claim 16, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 15, wherein the station information subfield comprises an associated identifier (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield, Asterjadhi: [0076]-[0077]),
wherein the identification information bits and the associated identifier are all set in a frame body portion of a MAC frame of the first message frame (The trigger frame may be formatted to include a sequence of one or more subfields, which may be included in a MAC header, Asterjadhi: Fig. 9-10, [0115], [0120]).
Regarding claim 17, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 13, wherein a first portion of the identification information bits is comprised in a station information subfield of the first message frame (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield. The common information field may be formatted to include one or more subfields, including an UL BW subfield spanning 2 bits. By signaling the encoding within the common information field, the encoding scheme may apply to the entire trigger frame, Asterjadhi: [0076]-[0077], [0116]-[0117]),
Asterjadhi in view of Seok does not explicitly disclose:
and a second portion of the identification information bits is comprised in a signaling field of the first message frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noh teaches:
and a second portion of the identification information bits is comprised in a signaling field of the first message frame (a PHY version field is set to EHT, then all the information in the U-SIG corresponds to an EHT TB PPDU with EHT preamble, Noh: [0170], [0176], [0183]-[0184]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi and Seok in view of Noh in order to further modify a second portion of the identification information bits is comprised in a signaling field of the first message frame from the teachings of Noh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because this type of transmission can permit a comparatively smaller number of different TB PPDU versions (Noh: [0176]).
Regarding claim 20, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 16 above.
Asterjadhi in view of Seok does not explicitly disclose:
making, in response to setting the associated identifier as a third value, a first device which receives the first message frame parse the first message frame, wherein the first device cannot support a bandwidth larger than 160 MHz.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noh teaches:
making, in response to setting the associated identifier as a third value, a first device which receives the first message frame parse the first message frame, wherein the first device cannot support a bandwidth larger than 160 MHz (since IEEE 802.llax STAs capable of 80/160 MHz operation need to decode the preamble on a primary 20 MHz first to get important control information (e.g., bandwidth information) from signal fields to decode the remaining portion of the PPDU, these STAs are likely to stay at least within a primary 80 MHz subchannel, Noh: [0125], [0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi and Seok in view of Noh in order to further modify making, in response to setting the associated identifier as a third value, a first device which receives the first message frame parse the first message frame, wherein the first device cannot support a bandwidth larger than 160 MHz from the teachings of Noh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because HE STAs can decode and properly interpret corresponding portions of the aggregated PPDU without error but will not be able to properly interpret other EHT or beyond EHT features of the PPDU (Noh: [0127]).
Regarding claim 21, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 20, the communication method further comprising:
parsing, by the first device, a portion of the identification information bits only, to obtain information of the channel bandwidth indicated by the portion (STA may identify at least one field in an operating mode control subfield of the control transmission as indicating the channel bandwidth for the station based on the identified operating bandwidth of the station, Asterjadhi: [0217-[0219]]):
Regarding claim 23, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 20, the communication method further comprising:
parsing, by a second device which receives the first message frame, all the identification information bits, to obtain information of the channel bandwidth indicated by the identification information bits (STA may identify at least one field in an operating mode control subfield of the control transmission as indicating the channel bandwidth for the station based on the identified operating bandwidth of the station, Asterjadhi: [0217-[0219]),
wherein the second device can support a maximum bandwidth of 320 MHz (FIG. 13 shows an example of a process flow for communications between an AP and an STA that supports a 320 MHz operating bandwidth, Asterjadhi: Fig. 13, [0137], [0173]).
Regarding claim 27, Asterjadhi discloses:
An electronic device, comprising:
a memory storing processor-executable computer programs (The AP includes a processor, a memory, at least one transceiver and at least one antenna. The memory also can store processor- or computer-executable software code containing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform various functions, Asterjadhi: [0068]-[0069]); and
one or more processors; wherein the one or more processors, when collectively executing the processor executable computer programs, cause the electronic device (The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to identify an operating mode, Asterjadhi: [0009]):
determine a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises identification information bits configured to indicate each basic channel bandwidth in a 320 MHz channel bandwidth (an EHT-supported operating-bandwidth allocation of 320 MHz, one or more bit fields of the 8 bit channel bitmap may represent a subchannel allocation of 20 MHz. the per-channel network allocation vector (NAV) check may include a carrier sensing mechanism for each 20 MHz allocation of the operating bandwidth (for example, for a 320 MHz bandwidth, 16 NAV checks would be supported for each 20 MHz allocation), Asterjadhi: [0105], [0134], [0140]),
send the first message frame (an AP may transmit a trigger frame to one or more STAs, including an STA to coordinate uplink transmission. The trigger frame may be formatted to include one or more subfields spanning a sequence of bits. The one or more subfields of the trigger frame include information such as a payload length, bandwidth, RU allocation, and modulation scheme, as well as one or more request indications for reporting by the receiving STA, Asterjadhi: [0095], [0115], [0128]); and
indicate, in response to setting an identification information bit of a corresponding basic channel bandwidth as a first value, to send a second message frame associated with the first message frame with zero power at the corresponding basic channel bandwidth (FIG. 4A shows an example of a control element format 400-a that supports a 320 MHz operating bandwidth. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield, An AP may signal one or more NDP frames (known as null packets) to STAs on the managed BSS, including STA. STA may process null packets received from AP and determine a CQI indication for sub-channels of the operating bandwidth, Asterjadhi: Fig.4A - Fig.5B, [0076], [0087], [0143], [0149]));
Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose:
a number of the identification information bits is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth is 20 MHz;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noh teaches:
a number of the identification information bits is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth is 20 MHz (HE STAs receive a STA information subfield in which the length of STA information subfield is four bytes. When the size of the STA information field is consistent in size, contents in the partial bandwidth information subfield could be differently interpreted by EHT or beyond EHT STAs. For example, the minimum RU size could be 20 MHz and/or the partial bandwidth information subfield could include a disallowed subchannel bitmap. Depending on the size, remaining parts of the partial bandwidth information subfield could be reserved, Noh: [0149]-[0150]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi in view of Noh in order to further modify the number of the identification information bits which is 16, and the each basic channel bandwidth which is 20 MHz from the teachings of Noh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because AP/STAs may have chances to exchange different types of frames efficiently and quickly to support multi-user transmissions (Noh: [0153]).
Yet, Asterjadhi in view of Noh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the corresponding basic channel bandwidth corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seok teaches:
wherein the corresponding basic channel bandwidth corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth (For 5 GHz and 6 GHz, the potential new spectrum will likely include multi-80 MHz Basic Service Set (BSS) operations that include contiguous 320 MHz. NDPA format for NDP sounding for preamble punctured PPDU, in accordance with aspects of the present technology, is shown. The STA information field can include an 11bit AID11 subfield, a 14bit partial bandwidth information subfield, a 2 bit feedback type and Ng subfield, a 1 bit disambiguation subfield, a one bit codebook size subfield, and a 3 bit Nc subfield. For a 20 MHz bandwidth of a HE NDPA frame, the 26-tone RU 1 can be encoded as 0 and the 26-tone RU 9 can be encoded as 8. Values 9-127 can be reserved, Seok: Fig. 9A-9B, [0027], [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi and Noh in view of Seok in order to further modify the corresponding basic channel bandwidth which corresponds to a basic channel bandwidth for sending the second message frame among the each basic channel bandwidth in the 320 MHz channel bandwidth from the teachings of Seok.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because an Access Point (AP) can send a Null Data Packet Acknowledgment (NDPA) followed by a NDP to a station (STA) (Seok: [0043]).
Regarding claim 29, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
An electronic device, comprising a memory, a processor and computer programs stored in the memory and running on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the computer programs, the method according to claim 13 is implemented (The STA includes a processor, a memory, at least one transceiver and at least one antenna. The memory also can store processor- or computer-executable software code containing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein for wireless communication, Asterjadhi: [0072]-[0069]); and
one or more processors; wherein the one or more processors, when collectively executing the processor-executable computer programs, cause the electronic device to perform the method according to claim 13 (The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to identify an operating mode, Asterjadhi: [0009]).
Claims 6-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok
in view of PARK et al. (US 2021/0392647 Al, hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 6, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 5, wherein the station information subfield comprises an associated identifier (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield, Asterjadhi: [0076]-[0077]),
Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first portion of the identification information bits, the second portion of the identification information bits, and the associated identifier are all set in a physical layer preamble portion of the first message frame.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the first portion of the identification information bits, the second portion of the identification information bits, and the associated identifier are all set in a physical layer preamble portion of the first message frame (The PPDU header may include a PHY header and a PHY preamble and the PSDU (alternatively, MPDU) may include the frame or indicate the frame (alternatively, an information unit of the MAC layer) or be a data unit indicating the frame. Park: [0104]-[0105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok in view of Park in order to further modify the first portion of the identification information bits, the second portion of the identification information bits, and the associated identifier are all set in a physical layer preamble portion of the first message frame from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the control field improved according to the present disclosure includes a first control field including control information required to interpret the PPDU and a second control field including control information for demodulate the data field of the PPDU (Park: [0136]).
Regarding claim 7, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 4, wherein determining the first message frame comprises (the control element format may be implemented by an STA supporting EHT functionality, for extensions to reporting indications associated with one or more control subfield formats of a control field form. The control field may contain a sequence of one or more control subfields (for example, as part of an A-Control subfield) in which each control subfield contains a control identification (ID) subfield and control information subfield, Asterjadhi: [0076]-[0077]):
wherein the first device cannot support a bandwidth larger than 160 MHz (Extensions may include modifications to existing rules, structures, or signaling implemented for legacy systems, for example supporting 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 80+80 MHz, or 160 MHz operating modes, to support EHT environments (such as 160+160 MHz or 320 MHz operating modes), Asterjadhi: [0052]).
Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok does not explicitly disclose:
setting the associated identifier as a second value,
wherein the second value is a value which cannot be parsed by a first device receiving the first message frame,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
setting the associated identifier as a second value (A Frame Control field shown in FIG. 9 may include information related to a version of the MAC protocol and other additional control information, and a Duration field may include time information for configuring a NAV or information related to an identifier (e.g., AID) of the user equipment, Park: Fig.9, [0118]),
wherein the second value is a value which cannot be parsed by a first device receiving the first message frame (A plurality of RUs designated as a single STA are now allowed in the user-specific field. Therefore, signaling that allows an STA to decode its own data is transmitted only in one user field, Park: [0149]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok in view of Park in order to further modify setting the associated identifier as a second value wherein the second value is a value which cannot be parsed by a first device receiving the first message frame from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the control field improved according to the present disclosure includes a first control field including control information required to interpret the PPDU and a second control field including control information for demodulate the data field of the PPDU (Park: [0136]).
Regarding claim 19, Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 16 above.
Asterjadhi further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 16, the communication method further comprising:
wherein the first device cannot support a bandwidth larger than 160 MHz (Extensions may include modifications to existing rules, structures, or signaling implemented for legacy systems, for example supporting 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 80+80 MHz, or 160 MHz operating modes, to support EHT environments (such as 160+160 MHz or 320 MHz operating modes), Asterjadhi: [0052]):
Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok does not explicitly disclose:
making, in response to setting the associated identifier as a second value, a first device which receives the first message frame abandon to parse the first message frame,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
making, in response to setting the associated identifier as a second value, a first device which receives the first message frame abandon to parse the first message frame (A plurality of RUs designated as a single STA are now allowed in the user-specific field. Therefore, signaling that allows an STA to decode its own data is transmitted only in one user field, Park: [0149]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi-Noh-Seok in view of Park in order to further modify making, in response to setting the associated identifier as a second value, a first device which receives the first message frame abandon to parse the first message frame from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the control field improved according to the present disclosure includes a first control field including control information required to interpret the PPDU and a second control field including control information for demodulate the data field of the PPDU (Park: [0136]).
Conclusion
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467