DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 12/8/2025, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 9 and 15 being independent. Claims 1, 3-5, 8-12, 14, 15 and 17-19 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or added. This Action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/11/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the objection for minor informalities of claims 10 and 18 and the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of the claims, Applicant’s argument filed 12/08/2025 has been fully considered and is persuasive. This objection and rejection are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to for minor informalities and require the following or other appropriate correction:
In claim 3, line 3, “migration of the IOB node” should be amended, as follows: “migration of the IAB node”, in order to correct an apparent typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0239755), hereafter Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, et al (WO 2021/051313), hereafter Liu ‘313.
Note: The equivalent citations from US Provisional Application# 63/044,043, to which US PG Publication 2023/0239755 has priority, are shown in the rejection in Italics, next to their corresponding citations from the US PG Publication.
Regarding claim 1, Teyeb teaches
a method in a source donor for supporting inter-donor migration of an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node from the source donor to a target donor
([0095] (Pg. 18, lines 4-7) The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the distributed unit (DU) of the migrating IAB node),
the source donor and the target donor corresponding to respective nodes of a radio access network (RAN), when a user equipment (UE) is in communication with the RAN via the IAB-node
([0096] The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the DU of the migrating IAB node and the target donor CU uses the information to initiate the F1-setup procedure with the DU of the IAB node, after the IAB-MT is handed over to it.
[0098] Receiving the configuration information from a source IAB donor CU comprises receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message at the IAB node MT),
the method comprising:
transmitting, to the target donor, a handover request message related to the IAB-node, the handover request message including Transport Network Layer information that includes a Transport Layer Address for the IAB-node
([0095] (Pg. 18, lines 4-7) The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the distributed unit (DU) of the migrating IAB node (e.g., served cells, transport layer addresses, etc.));
receiving, from the target donor, a handover request acknowledge message including an RRC reconfiguration message related to the inter-donor migration of the IAB-node
([0151] (Pg. 19, lines 29-33) Included in the handover command (i.e., RRCReconfiguration containing a reconfiguration with sync) for the IAB-MT. The information along with reconfiguration message, are generated by the target CU
[0152] (Pg. 19, lines 34 through Pg. 20, line 1) Alternatively, the target CU may provide it to the source CU in one of the following ways: 1) inside the HANDOVER REQUEST ACK message);
providing the RRC reconfiguration message to the IAB-node
([0152] (Pg. 20, lines 4 and 5) The source CU then can send this information in an F1-AP message to the distributed unit (DU) of the IAB node).
Teyeb does not teach
a handover request acknowledge message including data forwarding information; and
transmitting downlink data for the UE to the target donor, for forwarding to the UE
via the IAB-node.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘313 teaches
a handover request acknowledge message including data forwarding information
(Pg. 21, 8th Paragraph Step 301: The target IAB donor CU-CP sends a Handover Request Acknowledge (Handover Request Acknowledge) message to the source IAB donor CU-CP
Pg. 21, 10th Paragraph The target IAB donor CU-CP can use the Handover Request Acknowledge message to forward the forwarding tunnel identification information allocated by the target IAB donor CU-UP for the UE and the IAB node MT on the Xn interface to the source IAB donor CU- CP); and
transmitting downlink data for the UE to the target donor, for forwarding to the UE
via the IAB-node
(Pg. 24, 4th Paragraph In order to ensure the lossless data reception of the UE, the source IAB donor CU-UP needs to forward these UE data to the target IAB donor CU-UP through the forwarding tunnel, and the target IAB The donor CU-UP is further sent to the UE. Specifically, after step 309, the source IAB donor CU-UP can establish a GTP forwarding tunnel from the source IAB donor CU-UP to the target IAB donor CU-UP for the different bearers of the UE in step 305, and then to the target IAB donor CU-UP. UP forwards UE data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘313’s teaching of forwarding data to a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of having the source IAB donor send information of the handover IAB node to the target IAB donor during the handover preparation process, in order to help the target IAB donor allocate new configuration information for the handover IAB node (see Pg. 30, 8th Paragraph through Pg. 31, 1st Paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Teyeb teaches
A method in a target donor for supporting inter-donor migration of an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node from a source donor to the target donor
([0095] (Pg. 18, lines 4-7) The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the distributed unit (DU) of the migrating IAB node),
the source donor and the target donor corresponding to respective nodes of a radio access network (RAN), when a user equipment (UE) is in communication with the RAN via the IAB-node
([0096] The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the DU of the migrating IAB node and the target donor CU uses the information to initiate the F1-setup procedure with the DU of the IAB node, after the IAB-MT is handed over to it.
[0098] Receiving the configuration information from a source IAB donor CU comprises receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message at the IAB node MT),
the method comprising:
receiving, from the source donor, a handover request message related to the IAB-node, the handover request message including Transport Network Layer information that includes a Transport Layer Address for the IAB-node
([0095] (Pg. 18, lines 4-7) The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the distributed unit (DU) of the migrating IAB node (e.g., served cells, transport layer addresses, etc.));
transmitting, to the source donor, a handover request acknowledge message including an RRC reconfiguration message related to the inter-donor migration of the IAB-node
([0151] (Pg. 19, lines 29-33) Included in the handover command (i.e., RRCReconfiguration containing a reconfiguration with sync) for the IAB-MT. The information along with reconfiguration message, are generated by the target CU
[0152] (Pg. 19, lines 34 through Pg. 20, line 1) Alternatively, the target CU may provide it to the source CU in one of the following ways: 1) inside the HANDOVER REQUEST ACK message).
Teyeb does not teach
a handover request acknowledge message including data forwarding information; and
receiving, from the source donor, downlink data for the UE; and
transmitting the downlink data to the UE via the IAB-node
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘313 teaches
a handover request acknowledge message including data forwarding information
(Pg. 21, 8th Paragraph Step 301 Step 301: The target IAB donor CU-CP sends a Handover Request Acknowledge (Handover Request Acknowledge) message to the source IAB donor CU-CP
Pg. 21, 10th Paragraph The target IAB donor CU-CP can use the Handover Request Acknowledge message to forward the forwarding tunnel identification information allocated by the target IAB donor CU-UP for the UE and the IAB node MT on the Xn interface to the source IAB donor CU- CP); and
receiving, from the source donor, downlink data for the UE
(Pg. 24, 4th Paragraph In order to ensure the lossless data reception of the UE, the source IAB donor CU-UP needs to forward these UE data to the target IAB donor CU-UP through the forwarding tunnel); and
transmitting the downlink data to the UE via the IAB-node
(Pg. 24, 4th Paragraph The donor CU-UP is further sent to the UE. Specifically, after step 309, the source IAB donor CU-UP can establish a GTP forwarding tunnel from the source IAB donor CU-UP to the target IAB donor CU-UP for the different bearers of the UE in step 305, and then to the target IAB donor CU-UP. UP forwards UE data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘313’s teaching of forwarding data to a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of having the source IAB donor send information of the handover IAB node to the target IAB donor during the handover preparation process, in order to help the target IAB donor allocate new configuration information for the handover IAB node (see Pg. 30, 8th Paragraph through Pg. 31, 1st Paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Teyeb teaches
a source donor in an integrated access backhaul (IAB) topology of a radio access network (RAN), the source donor configured to support inter-donor migration of an IAB node from the source donor to a target donor
([0095] (Pg. 18, lines 4-7) The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the distributed unit (DU) of the migrating IAB node),
the source donor and the target donor corresponding to respective nodes of a radio access network (RAN), when a user equipment (UE) is in communication with the RAN via the IAB-node
([0096] The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the DU of the migrating IAB node and the target donor CU uses the information to initiate the F1-setup procedure with the DU of the IAB node, after the IAB-MT is handed over to it.
[0098] Receiving the configuration information from a source IAB donor CU comprises receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message at the IAB node MT):
transmit, to the target donor, a handover request message related to the IAB-
node, the handover request message including Transport Network Layer information that includes a Transport Layer Address for the IAB-node
([0095] (Pg. 18, lines 4-7) The source donor CU provides the target donor CU with information about the distributed unit (DU) of the migrating IAB node (e.g., served cells, transport layer addresses, etc.));
receive, from the target donor, a handover request acknowledge message including an RRC reconfiguration message related to the inter-donor migration of the IAB-node
([0151] (Pg. 19, lines 29-33) Included in the handover command (i.e., RRCReconfiguration containing a reconfiguration with sync) for the IAB-MT. The information along with reconfiguration message, are generated by the target CU
[0152] (Pg. 19, lines 34 through Pg. 20, line 1) Alternatively, the target CU may provide it to the source CU in one of the following ways: 1) inside the HANDOVER REQUEST ACK message);
provide the RRC reconfiguration message to the IAB-node
([0152] (Pg. 20, lines 4 and 5) The source CU then can send this information in an F1-AP message to the distributed unit (DU) of the IAB node).
Teyeb does not teach
a handover request acknowledge message including data forwarding information; and
transmit downlink data for the UE to the target donor, for forwarding to the UE
via the IAB-node.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘313 teaches
a handover request acknowledge message including data forwarding information
(Pg. 21, 8th Paragraph Step 301: The target IAB donor CU-CP sends a Handover Request Acknowledge (Handover Request Acknowledge) message to the source IAB donor CU-CP
Pg. 21, 10th Paragraph The target IAB donor CU-CP can use the Handover Request Acknowledge message to forward the forwarding tunnel identification information allocated by the target IAB donor CU-UP for the UE and the IAB node MT on the Xn interface to the source IAB donor CU- CP); and
transmit downlink data for the UE to the target donor, for forwarding to the UE
via the IAB-node
(Pg. 24, 4th Paragraph In order to ensure the lossless data reception of the UE, the source IAB donor CU-UP needs to forward these UE data to the target IAB donor CU-UP through the forwarding tunnel, and the target IAB The donor CU-UP is further sent to the UE. Specifically, after step 309, the source IAB donor CU-UP can establish a GTP forwarding tunnel from the source IAB donor CU-UP to the target IAB donor CU-UP for the different bearers of the UE in step 305, and then to the target IAB donor CU-UP. UP forwards UE data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘313’s teaching of forwarding data to a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of having the source IAB donor send information of the handover IAB node to the target IAB donor during the handover preparation process, in order to help the target IAB donor allocate new configuration information for the handover IAB node (see Pg. 30, 8th Paragraph through Pg. 31, 1st Paragraph).
Claims 2-5, 7, 8, 10-12 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0276322), hereafter Liu ‘322.
Note: As explained in [0238] of Liu ‘322, FIG. 5 includes a process of switching an IAB node 5 from an IAB donor CU 1 to an IAB donor CU 2. (steps 61 to 623). Therefore, hereafter, IAB donor CU 1 will be referred to as IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor), and IAB donor CU 2 will be referred to as IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor).
Regarding claim 2, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the method of claim 1.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach further comprising:
receiving, from the target donor, uplink data from the UE, for forwarding to a core network (CN).
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘322 teaches
further comprising:
receiving, from the target donor, uplink data from the UE, for forwarding to a core network (CN)
([0296] After the reconfiguration, an uplink from the UE to
the core network is enabled. Next, a path switching process of the core network is performed. At this time, uplink data transmission is performed between the UE under the IAB node 5 and the core network. Then, the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) indicates the IAB donor CU 1 to release the UE context about the UE under the IAB node 5, and updates the route information of the IAB donor CU 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the method of claim 1.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach further comprising:
receiving, from the target donor, a UE configuration related to the inter-donor migration of the IOB node; and
providing the UE configuration to the UE prior to providing the RRC reconfiguration message to the IAB-node.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘322 teaches
further comprising:
receiving, from the target donor, a UE configuration related to the inter-donor migration of the IOB node
([0256] At this time, the migration of the IAB node 5 has been completed, and the migration of the UE under the IAB node 5 will be performed from Step 617
[0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)
(configuration used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration is received from the CU 2/Target donor)); and
providing the UE configuration to the UE prior to providing the RRC reconfiguration message to the IAB-node
([0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)
[0258] Step 618: the IAB node 5 forwards the RRC configuration in Step 617 (UE configuration – see [0257] to the UE under the IAB node 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Liu ’322 discloses the claimed invention except for the UE configuration to the UE is provided after providing the IAB-node configuration to the IAB-node. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the UE configuration to the UE prior to providing the IAB-node configuration to the IAB-node, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 4, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, teaches the method of claim 3.
Liu ‘322 further teaches
wherein:
providing the UE configuration includes:
transmitting, to the UE via the IAB-node, a first RRC reconfiguration message to reconfigure a radio connection between the UE and the RAN, the first RRC reconfiguration message including the UE configuration information, and receiving, from the UE via the UE via the IAB-node, an indication that the UE has reconfigured the radio connection in accordance with the first command
([0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)
[0258] Step 618: the IAB node 5 forwards the RRC configuration in Step 617 to the UE under the IAB node 5
[0259] Step 619: the UE under the IAB node 5 performs the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor), and transmits RRC reconfiguration complete to the IAB node 5 after the reconfiguration); and
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message provided to the IAB-node is a second RRC reconfiguration message
([0246] Step 68: the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor) transmits downlink (DL) RRC transfer to the IAB node 3, and the downlink RRC transfer carries an RRC reconfiguration indicator (obtained in Step 67)
[0247] Step 69: the IAB node 3 parses the information carried in the DL RRC transfer, and transmits the RRC reconfiguration message carried in the DL RRC transfer to the MT for the IAB node 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, teaches the method of claim 3.
Liu ‘322 further teaches
wherein:
providing the RRC reconfiguration message to the IAB-node occurs prior to providing the UE configuration to the UE
([0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)
[0258] Step 618: the IAB node 5 forwards the RRC configuration in Step 617 (UE configuration – see [0257] to the UE under the IAB node 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a
signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the method of claim 1.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach
wherein:
the handover request message and the handover request acknowledge message are associated with a first handover procedure;
the method further comprising:
performing a second handover procedure related to the UE
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘322 teaches
wherein:
the handover request message and the handover request acknowledge message are associated with a first handover procedure
([0245] Step 67: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits an Xn handover request ACK to the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor), and the Xn handover request ACK carries an RRC reconfiguration message of the IAB node 5 (migrating node));
the method further comprising:
performing a second handover procedure related to the UE
(Fig. 7 describes another handover in steps 71 to 725 for handover of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art,
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the method of claim 1.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach
further comprising:
prior to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, transmitting, to the target donor, one or more of:
(i) a first source access stratum (AS) configuration for the IAB-node,
(ii) a second source AS configuration for the UE,
(iii) transport layer information for the UE,
(iv) a UE context for the UE, or
(v) a UE context for the IAB-node
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘322 teaches
further comprising:
prior to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message, transmitting, to the target donor, one or more of:
(i) a first source access stratum (AS) configuration for the IAB-node,
(ii) a second source AS configuration for the UE,
(iii) transport layer information for the UE,
(iv) a UE context for the UE
([0241] Step 63 (prior to Step 67, where the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor) receives the reconfiguration message of the IAB node 5 (migrating node): IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor) transmits an Xn handover request to the CU 2 (Target IAB Donor), which carries a UE context list), or
(v) a UE context for the IAB-node
([0241] Step 63 (prior to Step 67, where the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor) receives the reconfiguration message of the IAB node 5 (migrating node): IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor) transmits an Xn handover request to the CU 2 (Target IAB Donor), which carries a UE context list that includes context information of the IAB node 5 (migrating node)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the method of claim 9.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach further comprising:
transmitting a UE configuration related to the inter-donor migration of the IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘322 teaches
further comprising:
transmitting a UE configuration related to the inter-donor migration of the IAB node
([0256] At this time, the migration of the IAB node 5 has been completed, and the migration of the UE under the IAB node 5 will be performed from Step 617
[0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)
(configuration used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration transmitted through source)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, teaches the method of claim 10.
Liu ‘322 further teaches including:
transmitting the UE configuration to the source donor prior to providing the RRC reconfiguration message to the source donor
([0245] Step 67: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits an Xn handover request ACK to the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor), and the Xn handover request ACK carries an RRC reconfiguration message of the IAB node 5 (migrating node)
[0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ’322, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, teaches the method of claim 10.
Liu ‘322 further teaches
including:
transmitting the RRC reconfiguration message to the source donor prior to providing the UE configuration to the source donor
([0245] Step 67: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits an Xn handover request ACK to the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor), and the Xn handover request ACK carries an RRC reconfiguration message of the IAB node 5 (migrating node)
[0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ’322, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a
signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the source donor of claim 15.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach
further configured to:
receive, from the target donor, uplink data from the UE, for forwarding to a core network (CN).
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘322 teaches
further configured to:
receive, from the target donor, uplink data from the UE, for forwarding to a core network (CN)
([0296] After the reconfiguration, an uplink from the UE to the core network is enabled. Next, a path switching process of the core network is performed. At this time, uplink data transmission is performed between the UE under the IAB node 5 and the core network. Then, the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) indicates the IAB donor CU 1 to release the UE context about the UE under the IAB node 5, and updates the route information of the IAB donor CU 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the source donor of claim 15.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach
further configured to:
receive, from the target donor, a UE configuration related to the inter-donor migration of the UE node; and
provide the UE configuration to the UE prior to providing the RRC reconfiguration message to the IAB-node
In the same field of endeavor, Liu ‘322 teaches
further configured to:
receive, from the target donor, a UE configuration related to the inter-donor migration of the UE node
([0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)
(configuration used to indicate the UE to perform the
RRC reconfiguration is received from the CU 2/Target donor)); and
provide the UE configuration to the UE prior to providing the RRC reconfiguration message to the IAB-node
([0246] Step 68: the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor) transmits downlink (DL) RRC transfer to the IAB node 3, which carries an RRC reconfiguration indicator (obtained in Step 67)
[0247] Step 69: the IAB node 3 parses the information carried in the DL RRC transfer, and transmits the RRC reconfiguration message (carries an RRC reconfiguration message of the IAB node 5 (migrating node) – see [0245]) carried in the DL RRC transfer to the MT for the IAB node 5 (migrating node)
[0258] Step 618: the IAB node 5 forwards the RRC configuration in Step 617 (UE configuration – see [0257] to the UE under the IAB node 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Liu ’322 discloses the claimed invention except for the UE configuration to the UE is provided after providing the IAB-node configuration to the IAB-node. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the UE configuration to the UE prior to providing the IAB-node configuration to the IAB-node, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 18, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, teaches the source donor of claim 17.
Liu ‘322 further teaches
wherein to provide the UE configuration, the source donor is configured to:
transmit, to the UE via the IAB-node, a first RRC reconfiguration to reconfigure a radio connection between the UE and the RAN, the first RRC reconfiguration message including the UE configuration information, and receive, from the UE via the UE via the IAB-node, an indication that the UE has reconfigured the radio connection in accordance with the first command
([0257] Step 617: the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor) transmits a UE context modification request carrying RRC configuration to the IAB node 5 through the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor). Here, the RRC configuration is used to indicate the UE to perform the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor)
[0258] Step 618: the IAB node 5 forwards the RRC configuration in Step 617 to the UE under the IAB node 5
[0259] Step 619: the UE under the IAB node 5 performs the RRC reconfiguration through the IAB donor CU 2 (Target IAB Donor), and transmits RRC reconfiguration complete to the IAB node 5 after the reconfiguration); and
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message provided to the IAB-node is a second RRC reconfiguration message
([0246] Step 68: the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor) transmits downlink (DL) RRC transfer to the IAB node 3, and the downlink RRC transfer carries an RRC reconfiguration indicator (obtained in Step 67)
[0247] Step 69: the IAB node 3 parses the information carried in the DL RRC transfer, and transmits the RRC reconfiguration message carried in the DL RRC transfer to the MT for the IAB node 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu
‘322, teaches the source donor of claim 17.
Liu ‘322 further teaches
wherein to provide the UE configuration, the source donor is configured to:
provide the RRC reconfiguration message to the IAB-node occurs prior to providing the UE configuration to the UE
([0246] Step 68: the IAB donor CU 1 (Source IAB Donor) transmits downlink (DL) RRC transfer to the IAB node 3, which carries an RRC reconfiguration indicator (obtained in Step 67)
[0247] Step 69: the IAB node 3 parses the information carried in the DL RRC transfer, and transmits the RRC reconfiguration message (carries an RRC reconfiguration message of the IAB node 5 (migrating node) – see [0245]) carried in the DL RRC transfer to the MT for the IAB node 5 (migrating node)
[0258] Step 618: the IAB node 5 forwards the RRC configuration in Step 617 (UE configuration – see [0257] to the UE under the IAB node 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Liu ‘322, which includes migrating to a target IAB donor, to include Liu ‘322’s teaching of forwarding data to a core network from a UE by using a target IAB donor, for the benefit of simplifying a signaling process of switching an IAB node (see [0004]).
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, and further in view of Wang, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0124546), hereafter Wang.
Regarding claim 6, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the method of claim 1.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach
further comprising:
applying, to the downlink data, a security key shared with the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches
further comprising:
applying, to the downlink data, a security key shared with the UE
([0604] Message may include configuration information used by the user terminal to receive the data packet and may include configuration information that may be the new security key information used by the user terminal after the node migrates in the network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating an IAB node, to include Wang’s teaching of migrating an IAB node, for the benefit of having the user use the security key to process the received data packet (see [0604]).
Regarding claim 13, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the method of claim 9.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach further comprising:
applying, to the downlink data, a security key shared with the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches further comprising:
applying, to the downlink data, a security key shared with the UE
([0604] Message may include configuration information used by the user terminal to receive the data packet and may include configuration information that may be the new security key information used by the user terminal after the node migrates in the network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating an IAB node, to include Wang’s teaching of migrating an IAB node, for the benefit of having the user use the security key to process the received data packet (see [0604]).
Regarding claim 20, Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, teaches the source donor of claim 15.
Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, does not teach
further configured to:
apply to the downlink data, a security key shared with the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches
further configured to:
apply to the downlink data, a security key shared with the UE
([0604] Message may include configuration information used by the user terminal to receive the data packet and may include configuration information that may be the new security key information used by the user
terminal after the node migrates in the network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Teyeb, in view of Liu ‘313, which includes migrating an IAB node, to include Wang’s teaching of migrating an IAB node, for the benefit of having the user use the security key to process the received data packet (see [0604]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koziol, et al (US PG Publication 2021/0274404), hereafter Koziol, teaches a conditional handover procedure is executed for a mobile terminal part of the integrated access backhaul node toward a distributed unit of a next hop integrated access backhaul node or a donor node.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E. DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642