DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “detector module”, “transmission module”, “power source module”, in claims 1, 3, and 10.
Para 008, 022, and 039 teaches hardware structure for the modules mentioned above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Publication No. 2017/0281014 to Von Luehmann et al. in view of U. S. Publication No. 2019/0201691 to Poltorak.
Regarding Claim 1, Von teaches a wearable fNIRS brain imaging system, comprising: a light source-photoelectric detector module, a control and wireless transmission module, a power source module, and an upper computer, wherein the light source-photoelectric detector module further comprising at least one light source-photoelectric detector assembly, wherein each light source- photoelectric detector assembly further comprising a light source probe and a photoelectric detector (fig. 1, 2, 4a, para 033, 035, 038, teaches NIR imaging of the brain, with light source, detector, power source module), wherein the control and wireless transmission module adopts an ARM, DSP or FPGA as a main control chip (para 055 teaches an ARM chip), wherein the main control chip drives the light source-photoelectric detector module to operate and wirelessly transmits signals to the upper computer by means of a built- in WIFI or Bluetooth module (para 058 teaches a Bluetooth module), wherein the power supply module supplies power to the light source-photoelectric detector module and the control and wireless transmission module, wherein the upper computer receives the signal output by the control and wireless transmission module and performs signal processing and analysis (fig. 2 and claim 2 teaches wireless transmission of data for further processing).
Von teaches all of the above claimed limitations but does not expressly teach that the light source probe and the photoelectric detector are connected through a telescopic pull rod, wherein the telescopic pull rod is capable of horizontally and vertically rotating around the photoelectric detector, wherein the light source probe is capable of rotating in three directions around the telescopic pull rod, wherein the telescopic pull rod is provided with at least one limiting hole for adjusting the distance between the light source probe and the photoelectric detector.
Poltorak teaches adjusting means adjusting the distance between the light source and detector (figs. 43-47 teaches adjusting means for adjusting the distance between light source and detector using the band).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Von with a setup for adjusting distance between light source and detector as taught by Poltorak would result in varying the imaging parameters based on the patient, further more different adjusting means are obvious variants.
Regarding Claim 7, Von teaches that the light source-photoelectric detector assembly further comprising a light emitting diode, a telescopic pull rod and an avalanche photodiode (figs. 1, 2, 4a teaches light emitting diode; para 0133 teaches an avalanche photo diode).
Regarding Claim 8, Von teaches multiple light source probes, and multiple photoelectric detector (figs. 1, 2, and 4a teaches multiple light source and detectors).
Regarding Claim 10, Von teaches that the power supply module adopts a lithium battery to supply power (para 0050 teaches a Li-ion battery).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record are U. S. Publication No. 2017/0281014 to Von Luehmann et al. in view of U. S. Publication No. 20125/0134405 to Akbari et al.; U. S. Publication No. 2019/0201691 to Poltorak; U. S. Patent No. 9,946,344 to Ayaz et al. none of the prior art alone or in combination teaches “one end of the telescopic pull rod is connected to the casing of the photoelectric detector by means of the dual-shaft hinge, wherein an angle formed between the light source probe and the photoelectric detector is adjusted by means of the dual-shaft hinge, wherein another end of the telescopic pull rod is connected to the casing of the light source probe by means of the spherical hinge, and the light source probe emits light perpendicular to a user's head through the spherical hinge”.
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798