DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ arguments, filed 10/31/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – New by Amendment
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Regarding Formula (I), the broader range is recite at claim 1, Formula (I)(v): “the total carbon content of the compound is in the range of 10 to 19”. The narrower range is the range required by structural elements in the claim. By the Examiner’s reading of limitations (i)-(iv) of Formula (I), the fewest number of carbon atoms the compound may have is 17.
Regarding Formula (II), the broader range is recite as “the total carbon content of the compound is in the range of 10 to 19”. The narrower range is the range required by structural elements in the claim. By the Examiner’s reading of the limitations of Formula (II), the fewest number of carbon atoms the compound may have is 12.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the purpose of examination, the minimum carbon count will be interpreted as being limited by the structural elements (i.e., 17 for Formula (I) and 12 for Formula (II)) and the maximum carbon count will be interpreted as being limited by 19, as explicitly recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Previous
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saha et al. (WO 2019/036663 A1, publication date 02/21/2019; cited in IDS 08/07/2023).
Regarding instant claim 1 (Formula (I)), 2 and 5, Saha discloses a compound that has a biobased content between 10 and 100% according to ASTM-D6866 (i.e., instant claim 5) [p. 17, lines 27-33], with the formula (R1-A)b-(CHx)a-(CHR2)m-(C(R4Rs) )n-(CHR3)o-(CHy )c-(A-R1')d [p. 3, line 16]. Saha discloses that “b” may be 1 or 2, “a” may be 0, “m” may be 1, “n” may be 1, “o” may be 1, “c” may be 0, “d” may be 1 and R4-5 may be H [p. 3, lines 17-23]. Accordingly, Saha discloses the formula (R1-A)b-(CHR2)-(CH2)-(CHR3)-(A-R1') wherein R1-3 may be alkyl groups having 1 to 18 carbon atoms (i.e., instant claim 2), R1 and R1’ may be the same and A is independently an unsaturated furan ring, a partially saturated furan ring or a saturated furan ring [p. 3, lines 26-30]. Finally, Saha discloses the total carbon content is in the range of 20 to 62 [p. 3, lines 32-33].
The disclosure of the prior art formula does not anticipate the instant claims because it does not have a total carbon count between 10 and 19.
However, the MPEP 2144.05 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.
“Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.).”
In the present case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the structures of the prior art to have the same properties as structures recited by Formula (I), because they only differ by 1 carbon atom. Accordingly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Furthermore, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at, at the time of filling, to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results by following the teachings of Saha. MPEP 2143 and 2144.06(I). Therefore it, would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the compound described above to have a bio-based carbon content in the range of 30 to 100%, as instantly claimed (i.e., instant claim 5).
Regarding instant claims 1 (Formula (II)) and 3, Saha discloses a compound that has a biobased content between 10 and 100% according to ASTM-D6866 [p. 17, lines 27-33] with the formula (R1-A)b-(CHx)a-(CHR2)m-(C(R4R5) )n-(CHR3)o-(CHy )c-(A-R1')d [p. 3, line 16]. Saha discloses that “b” may be 1, “a” may be 0, “m” may be 4, “n” may be 1, “o” may be 4, “c” may be 0, “d” may be 1 and R1, R1’, R2, R3 and R4 may be H [p. 3, lines 17-23]. Accordingly, Saha discloses the formula (A)-(CH2)4-(CHR5)-(CH2)4-(A) wherein R5 is an alkyl group having 1 to 18 carbons and A is independently an unsaturated furan ring or a saturated furan ring [p. 3, lines 15-35].
The disclosure of the prior art formula does not anticipate the instant claims because it does not have a total carbon count between 10 and 19.
However, the MPEP 2144.05 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.
“Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.).”
In the present case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the structures of the prior art to have the same properties as structures recited by Formula (II) in claim 1 and right most structure recited in claim 3, because they differ by only 1 carbon atom. Accordingly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for the structures.
Furthermore, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at, at the time of filling, to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results by following the teachings of Saha. MPEP 2143 and 2144.06(I). Therefore it, would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the compound described above to have a bio-based carbon content in the range of 30 to 100%, as instantly claimed.
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, and 4, Saha also discloses a compound with the formula (R1-A)b-(CHx)a-(CHR2)m-(C(R4R5) )n-(CHR3)o-(CHy )c-(A-R1')d, wherein “m” is 0, “b” is 2, “a” is 1, “o” is 1 and “c” is 0. [p. 3, lines 17 and 22]. This yields the formula (R1-A)2-(CH)-(CR4R5)-(CHR3)-(A-R1'), wherein R1, R1’, R4 and R5 may be H, R3 may be an alkyl group having 1-18 carbon atoms and A is independently an unsaturated furan ring, a partially saturated furan ring or a saturated furan ring [p. 3, lines 24-29].
While the formula of the prior art encompasses structures of Formula I and instant claim 4, it does not anticipate the instant claims as it does not specifically disclose the overlapping structures were synthesized.
However, given the disclosure of the overlapping general structure, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at, at the time of filling, to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results by following the teachings of Saha to synthesize compounds of the instantly claimed Formula I. MPEP 2143 and 2144.06(I). Therefore it, would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have synthesized (A)2-(CH)-(CH2)-(CHR3)-(A) wherein R3 may be alkyl groups having 1 to 18 carbon atoms, and A is independently an unsaturated furan ring or a saturated furan ring.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-24 of copending Application No. 2022/0025287 A1 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a bio-based compound [claim 13; instant claim 5] with the same formula [claim 1; instant claims 1-4]. For example, when R1 is a linear alkyl group with 10 to 12 carbons, R3 is a linear alkyl group with 8 to 10 carbon, R2 is an alkyl group having 5 or 6 carbons and R4 is a hydrogen [claim 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have made an instantly claimed compound because the claims of ‘287 disclose it. MPEP 2143
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, 13, 23, 33, 34, 36-40, 42-45 of copending Application No. 2021/0040055 A1 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a bio-based compound with overlapping structures [claim 1]. For example, the formula of claim 1, (R1-A)b-(CHx)a-(CHR2)m-(C(R4Rs) )n-(CHR3)o-(CHy )c-(A-R1')d, wherein “b” may be 1 or 2, “a” may be 0, “m” may be 1, “n” may be 1, “o” may be 1, “c” may be 0, “d” may be 1 and R4-5 may be H. This yields the formula (R1-A)b-(CHR2)-(CH2)-(CHR3)-(A-R1') wherein R1-3 may be alkyl groups having 1 to 18 carbon atoms (i.e., instant claim 2), R1 and R1’ may be the same and A is independently an unsaturated furan ring, a partially saturated furan ring or a saturated furan ring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have made an instantly claimed compound because the claims of ‘055 disclose it. MPEP 2143
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
1) Applicant argues the instant claims would not have been obvious over Saha because “Saha discloses processes for the preparation of compounds having a total carbon content in the range of 20 to 62 (e.g., see Abstract of Saha)” and that “[t]here is no disclosure in Saha that the processes disclosed therein could or should be used to produce compounds having a total carbon content in the range of 10 to 19” (see Remarks at page 16, lines 6-9).
This argument is not found to be persuasive. MPEP 2144.05 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.
“Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.).”
As discussed above the structures of Saha and the instant claims only differ by 1 carbon atom. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected such compounds to have the same properties. Therefore, a case of prima facie obviousness exists.
2) Applicant argues the instant claims would not have been obvious over Saha because the “compounds of claim 4 possess complex branched structures that are not suggested nor captured by the above formulas” (see Remarks, p. 16, penultimate paragraph)
This argument is not found to be persuasive. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants assertion that claim 4 possess complex branched structures that are not suggested nor captured by Saha. The structures of claim 4 were rejected because Saha teaches “the formula (R1-A)2-(CH)-(CR4R5)-(CHR3)-(A-R1'), wherein R1, R1’, R4 and R5 may be H, R3 may be an alkyl group having 1-18 carbon atoms and A is independently an unsaturated furan ring, a partially saturated furan ring or a saturated furan ring [p. 3, lines 24-29]” (see rejection of claims 1, 2 and 4 at page 11 of this office action and pages 13-14 of the office action mailed 08/26/2025). The examiner is interpreting the two (R1-A) groups to be bound to the adjacent CH in the bolded section of the formula. Support for this can be found in the disclosure of the generic structure on page three of Saha. The bolded group, (R1-A)2-(CH), in the above formula comes from the bolded section of Formula I disclosed by Saha [p. 3]:
(R1-A)b-(CHx)a-(CHR2)m-(C(R4R5) )n-(CHR3)o-(CHy )c-(A-R1')d
Saha discloses that “each of x and y is independently 1 or 2, dependent upon the values of a-d” [p. 3, lines 20-21]. For the value of “x” (i.e., number of H atoms) to depend on “a-d” (i.e., “b”; number of (R1-A) groups), then each (R1-A) must be bound to the CHx group. This is distinct from an interpretation where each (R1-A) group is bound to another (R1-A) group (e.g., where (R1-A)2(CHx) is (R1-A)-(R1-A)-(CHx)) because in this interpretation “x” cannot be dependent on “a-d” as it does not depend in “b”. Therefore, the formula taught by Saha and discussed above and in the rejections of claim 4 is, for example:
Wherein the “formula (R1-A)2-(CH)-(CR4R5)-(CHR3)-(A-R1'), wherein R1, R1’, R4 and R5 may be H, R3 may be an alkyl group having 1-18 carbon atoms and A is independently … or a saturated furan ring” [p. 3, lines 24-29] (see rejection of claims 1, 2 and 4 at page 11 of this office action and pages 13-14 of the office action mailed 08/26/2025).
The above structure, taught by Saha as discussed in the rejection of claim 4, reads on structures recited in Formula I of instant claim 1 and structures recited in instant claim 4. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that claim 4 possess complex branched structures that are not suggested nor captured by Saha because the instant claims and Saha both define the R group (R1 in instant claim 4) as alkyl groups having 1 to 18 carbon atom(s), which includes a methyl group.
3) Applicant requests the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are found allowable.
The double patenting rejections stand as the instant claims continue to read on the copending claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.T.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612