DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments filed 2/3/2026 have been entered.
The outstanding rejections under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn in view of the amendments filed 2/3/2026. The claims are now recited the aspect ratio of the excipients.
Claims 1-12, 14-28 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2009/020198 (‘198), English translation by Google is also provided, in view of Handbook of Pharmaceutical Handbook, 2009, 6th Ed, pages 129-133, 364-369, herein after referred as Handbook and Horio et al., International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 473 (2014) 572-578.
‘198 teaches the herein claimed compound (see page 6 second compound on the third row). ‘198 teaches a genus of compounds including the herein claimed compounds as suitable in treating human papillomavirus infection (see English translation page 3/21, line 21). ‘198 teaches the pharmaceutical dosage forms the compounds can be formulated as tablet or suppository (see English translation page 7/21, line 28-29). ‘198 teaches polysorbate 80 can be used as the surfactants (see English translation page 7/21, line 40). ‘198 teaches crystalline cellulose and other hydroxyalkyl cellulose (see page 7/21, lines 40-41).
‘198 does not expressly the shape of the cellulose to have the herein claimed aspect ratio of 1.8 or above. ‘198 does not expressly teach the method of making the composition.
Handbook teaches that microcrystalline cellulose can be used binder/diluent for tablets. And have approximate column-like shape (see page 130). Handbook teaches lactose hydrate has approximately round shape and it is commonly used as diluent in tablets (see page 365-366 for example, especially section 7).
Horio et al. teaches the aspect ratio of the microcrystalline cellulose in commercial grade, in which the aspect ratio for all of the different types of microcrystalline cellulose is 1.8 or above (see page 574, Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at employ lactose hydrate and microcrystalline cellulose in making the composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ lactose hydrate and microcrystalline cellulose in making the composition. The examiner notes that both excipients are known to be useful in formulating tablets. In addition, they are suitable with the herein claimed compounds. The microcrystalline cellulose is well-known to have the aspect ratio of 1.8 or above. Incorporating them into the composition would be reasonably expected to be successful.
As for the void recited in the claims, the examiner notes that when the microcrystalline cellulose is elongated and the other excipients are spherical, space (or void) would be inevitbably created when they are mixed together. Furthermore, the simply mixing the granules and the making a solid core and then coating it with the coating materials is routinely perform by one of ordinary skill in the art. And hence, a simply mixing is obvious as being within the purview of skilled artisan, especially when the herein claimed excipients are well-known to be compatible with the active compound.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12, 14-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 37-43, 45-54, 56-70, 72-79 of copending Application No. 17/605,747 (‘747) (reference application) in view of ‘198. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘747 teaches the composition with the herein claimed active agent, the same crystalline cellulose with the same aspect ratio and the weight ratio (see for example claim 37). ‘747 teaches the coating of the composition and also the method of preparing the composition (see claim 38 and 64).
‘747 does not expressly teach the method of treating human papillomavirus infection.
‘198 teaches the use of the herein claimed agent for treating human papillomavirus infection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the composition of ‘747 to treat human papillomavirus infection.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the composition of ‘747 to treat human papillomavirus infection since the herein claimed compounds are well-known to be effective in treating human papillomavirus infection. Employing the composition containing the same compounds to treat human papillomavirus would be reasonably expected to be useful.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/3/2026 averring the presence of unexpected benefits of the shape of the excipients, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner notes that tt is applicant’s burden to demonstrate unexpected results over the prior art. See MPEP 716.02, also 716.02 (a) - (g). Furthermore, the unexpected results should be demonstrated with evidence that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). Moreover, evidence as to any unexpected benefits must be "clear and convincing" In re Lohr, 137 USPQ 548 (CCPA 1963), and be of a scope reasonably commensurate with the scope of the subject matter claimed, In re Linder, 173 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1972). In the instant case, the specification does not disclose any evidence or data comparing the shape of the crystalline cellulose particles and its effect on the pharmacokinetic and stability of the composition. It is not clear how the shape of the excipients would be critical to the invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627