DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/02/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: Claim 1: “…the circuit network is configured to simulate one of a charging over-current condition or a discharging over-current condition at the voltage detector…”
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the applicant has amended the claim with New Matter, wherein there is no support in the original specification for the claim language, “the circuit network is configured to simulate one of a charging over-current condition or a discharging over-current condition at the voltage detector…” The Specification does not explicitly disclose wherein a circuit network “simulates” nor a “voltage detector” to detect a voltage from the shunt resistor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitamoto (US 20170365997).
Regarding claim 1, Kitamoto teaches a battery management apparatus (shown in figure 1) comprising:
a shunt resistor connected to a battery (figure 1 item 7 shows a shunt resistor item 7 connected to a battery item 6); and
a circuit network connected to the shunt resistor and configured to output a first output value and a second output value to a voltage detector (figure 2 shows a circuit network item 3 defined in paragraph [0020] as an overcurrent protection circuit. Shunt resistor item 7 outputs a first value V1 and a second output value V2 to a voltage detector, interpreted as an amplifier item 41. Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein the amplifier detects voltages by amplifying the voltages V1 and V2),
wherein the circuit network is configured to: simulate one of a charging over-current condition or a discharging over-current condition at the voltage detector based on a difference between the first output value and the second output value corresponding to a magnitude of a voltage applied to the shunt resistor when charging over-current or discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor (figure 2 and paragraph [0032] discloses wherein the circuit network includes a through-current simulation circuit item 45. As disclosed in paragraph [0024] the amplifier uses a difference from the output values of the shunt resistor, V1 and V2, and outputs V3. Paragraph [0030] discloses that failure may be determined from the V3 output. Paragraph [0032] The through-current simulation circuit simulates an over-current value by forcing the amplifier 41 to output a V3 voltage higher than a reference voltage. Paragraphs [0031]-[0034] discloses wherein the voltage values are used to determine whether the overcurrent protection circuit is operating normally).
Kitamoto figure 2 shows an overcurrent simulation circuit
Regarding claim 2, Kitamoto teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuit network is configured to output the first output value and the second output value to the voltage detector while there is no charging over-current or discharging over-current flowing through the shunt resistor (paragraph [0032] discloses wherein the through-current simulation circuit is configured to generate in a simulated manner, a state in which the through-current flows. Thus, no actual overcurrent is flowing during this period).
Regarding claim 5, Kitamoto teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, further comprising the voltage detector, wherein the voltage detector is configured to receive the first output value and the second output value and to determine whether the charging over-current or the discharging over- current flows in the shunt resistor (figure 2 shows a voltage detector, interpreted as an amplifier item 41 which is configured to receive a first output value V1 and a second output value and V2 from the shunt resistor).
Regarding claim 6, Kitamoto teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 5, wherein the circuitry comprises: an amplifier configured to receive and amplify the first output value and the second output value (figure 2 shows a voltage detector, interpreted as an amplifier item 41 which is configured to receive a first output value V1 and a second output value and V2 from the shunt resistor);
a comparator configured to compare an output of the amplifier with a reference value (figure 2 shows a comparator item 42 configured to compare the output of amplifier 41 with a reference value VA); and
a controller configured to determine whether the charging over-current or the discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor, based on at least one of the output of the amplifier or an output of the comparator (paragraph [0035] discloses wherein the output is provided to a controller, control apparatus item 4 to determine whether the over-current flows).
Regarding claim 7, Kitamoto teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuit network comprises a plurality of resistors and a plurality of switches, and the plurality of switches comprise at least one of a negative-positive-negative (NPN)-type bipolar junction transistor (BJT), a positive-negative-positive (PNP)-type BJT, or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field- effect transistor (MOSFET) (figures 1 and 2 show a plurality of resistors, items R1, R2 and R3 and a plurality switches items 71 and 51. Paragraph [0027] discloses wherein switch item 51 is an n-channel type FET).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kitamoto (US 20170365997) in view of Yugou (US 20090295329).
Regarding claim 3, Kitamoto teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first output value is equal to a difference between the magnitude of the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the charging over-current flows in the shunt resistor and a voltage of the battery, and wherein the second output value is equal to the voltage of the battery.
Yugou teaches wherein the first output value is equal to a difference between the magnitude of the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the charging over-current flows in the shunt resistor and a voltage of the battery, and wherein the second output value is equal to the voltage of the battery (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein a first output value is determined as a voltage is generated that corresponds from the voltage flowing the battery and a second output value is determined as a voltage from a shunt resistor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kitamoto reference with the charging system of the Yugou reference so that the shunt resistor voltage and battery voltage can be detected with high accuracy.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Yugou reference in paragraph [0041] wherein the voltages are detected with high accuracy.
Yugou figure 1 shows a battery management system with a shunt resistor item 7
Regarding claim 4, Kitamoto teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first output value is equal to the voltage of the battery and the second output value is equal to a difference between the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor and the voltage of the battery.
Yugou teaches the first output value is equal to the voltage of the battery and the second output value is equal to a difference between the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor and the voltage of the battery (Paragraphs [0030]- [0031] teaches wherein the battery modules are charged/discharged at the same current and detected in by the same components. Paragraph [0041] teaches wherein a first output value is determined as a voltage is generated that corresponds from the voltage flowing the battery and a second output value is determined as a voltage from a shunt resistor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kitamoto reference with the charging system of the Yugou reference so that the shunt resistor voltage and battery voltage can be detected with high accuracy.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Yugou reference in paragraph [0041] wherein the voltages are detected with high accuracy.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takai (US 20220170990) in view of Kitamoto (US 20170365997).
Regarding claim 8, Takai a battery management apparatus (figure 8 item 25 defined in [0035] as a control board) comprising:
a shunt resistor connected to a battery and positioned on a charging/discharging path of the battery between a first node and a third node (figure 8 item 28 a shunt resistor. [0036] discloses a charging and discharging current flows through the shunt resistor 28);
a first resistor connected to the shunt resistor at the first node (figure 8 resistor connected to 354);
a second resistor connected to the first resistor at a second node (figure 8 resistor item 371);
a third resistor connected to the shunt resistor at the third node (figure 8 resistor connected to 354 ;
a fourth resistor connected to the third resistor at a fourth node;
a first switch connected in series between the second resistor and ground (figure 8 item 372 [0072] defined as a switch between the second resistor 371 and the ground 373);
a second switch connected in series between the fourth resistor and ground (figure 8 switch item 372 connected in series with resistor 371 and ground 373); and
a voltage detector configured to receive a voltage of the second node and a voltage of the fourth node and to determine whether over-current flows in the shunt resistor based on the received voltages (paragraph [0024] teaches wherein the battery management device includes an overcurrent detection unit that detects an overcurrent flowing through the shunt resistor).
Takai does not explicitly teach a circuit network connected to the shunt resistor and configured to simulate one of a charging over-current condition or a discharging over-current condition at the shunt resistor, wherein the circuit network includes: a voltage detector configured to receive a voltage of the second node and a voltage of the fourth node and to detect the simulation of the charging over-current condition or discharging over-current condition at the shunt resistor by the circuit network based on the received voltages.
Kitamoto teaches a circuit network connected to the shunt resistor and configured to simulate one of a charging over-current condition or a discharging over-current condition at the shunt resistor (figure 2 shows a circuit network item 3 defined in paragraph [0020] as an overcurrent protection circuit. Shunt resistor item 7 outputs a first value V1 and a second output value V2 to a voltage detector, interpreted as an amplifier item 41. Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein the amplifier detects voltages by amplifying the voltages V1 and V2. Paragraph [0032] The through-current simulation circuit simulates an over-current value by forcing the amplifier 41 to output a V3 voltage higher than a reference voltage.)
wherein the circuit network includes: a voltage detector configured to receive a voltage of the second node and a voltage of the fourth node and to detect the simulation of the charging over-current condition or discharging over-current condition at the shunt resistor by the circuit network based on the received voltages (Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein the amplifier detects voltages by amplifying the voltages V1 and V2. Paragraphs [0031]-[0034] discloses wherein the voltage values are used to determine whether the overcurrent protection circuit is operating normally).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Takai reference with the overcurrent protection system of the Kitamoto reference so that failure within the overcurrent protection circuit can be detected and prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kitamoto reference in paragraph [0005] wherein protecting the overcurrent protection circuit is taught.
Takai figure 8 shows a battery management apparatus with a shunt resistor item 28
Regarding claim 9, Takai teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 8, wherein the determination unit comprises:
an amplifier configured to receive the voltage of the second node and the voltage of the fourth node and to amplify a difference therebetween (figure 8 item 351 [0045] defined as a differential amplifier circuit which receives the voltage of the second node and the fourth node amplifies a difference therebetween) ;
a comparator configured to compare an output of the amplifier with a reference value (figure 8 item 352 [0045] discloses a comparator which compares an output of the amplifier) and
a controller configured to determine whether a charging over-current or a discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor, based on at least one of the output of the amplifier or an output of the comparator (figure 8 item 31 defined in [0046] as a control unit which determines an overcurrent values).
Regarding claim 10, Shibuya the battery management apparatus of claim 9,
wherein the controller is configured to control the first switch and the second switch (paragraph [0070] teaches wherein switches 372 are controlled by the control unit 31);
wherein controlling the first switch and the second switch comprises: closing the first switch and opening the second switch to detect the charging over-current, and closing the second switch and opening the first switch to detect the discharging over-current (paragraphs [0065] and [0075] teaches wherein the switch 372 and 345 are opened and closed in response to detecting an overcurrent).
Regarding claim 11, Shibuya the battery management apparatus of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to open both the first switch and the second switch in response to the battery being charged or discharged (paragraphs [0065] and [0075] teaches wherein the switch 372 and 345 are opened and closed in response to detecting the current and detecting an overcurrent).
Regarding claim 12, Takai teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a relay connected to the shunt resistor (shown in figures 4 and 8 defined in [0036] as a relay),
wherein the relay is controlled by a control signal of the controller (paragraph [0037] wherein the control unit 31 is connected to the current breaking unit, relay 4 and controls the operation of the current breaking unit, relay 4), and the controller is configured to open the relay in response to the first switch or the second switch being closed (paragraph [0046] teaches wherein the switch is operated when an overcurrent is detected. (paragraphs [0065] and [0075] teaches wherein the switch 372 and 345 are opened and closed in response to detecting the current and detecting an overcurrent, thus in response an overcurrent is detected, all the switches, including relay item 4 and switches 372 and 345 are operated) .
Regarding claim 13, Takai teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first switch and the second switch comprise at least one of a positive-negative-positive (PNP)-type bipolar junction transistor (BJT), a negative-positive-negative (NPN)-type BJT, or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET).
Kitamoto teaches wherein the first switch and the second switch comprise at least one of a positive-negative-positive (PNP)-type bipolar junction transistor (BJT), a negative-positive-negative (NPN)-type BJT, or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (figures 1 and 2 show a plurality of resistors, items R1, R2 and R3 and a plurality switches items 71 and 51. Paragraph [0027] discloses wherein switch item 51 is an n-channel type FET).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Takai reference with the overcurrent protection system of the Kitamoto reference so that failure within the overcurrent protection circuit can be detected and prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kitamoto reference in paragraph [0005] wherein protecting the overcurrent protection circuit is taught.
Regarding claim 14, Takai teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 8, wherein respective resistances of the first resistor and the second resistor are such that a difference between a magnitude of a voltage of the second node and a magnitude of the voltage of the battery corresponds to a magnitude of a voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the over-current flows during charging of the battery, and wherein respective resistances of the third resistor and the fourth resistor are such that a difference between a magnitude of a voltage of the fourth node and the magnitude of the voltage of the battery corresponds to a magnitude of the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the over-current flows during discharging of the battery (paragraph [0024] teaches wherein the battery management device includes an overcurrent detection unit that detects an overcurrent flowing through the shunt resistor).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks, filed 07/02/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 – 14 under Shibuya have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kitamoto.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 11772512 B2 Vehicle Power Supply System Hashimoto; Makoto Et Al.
Us 20130181807 A1 Current-Sensing Resistor Hetzler; Ullrich
Us 20140347067 A1 Fault Detection Device For Inverter System Hirono; Daisuke
Us 20230307925 A1 Management Device Ishii; Yohei Et Al.
Us 20200381929 A1 Battery Protective Circuit Jin; Kyongpil
Us 20220069607 A1 Battery Overcharging Prevention Device Jeong; Soo Jeong Et Al.
Us 20170365997 A1 Overcurrent Protection Circuit Kitamoto; Hiroshi Et Al.
Us 11933853 B2 Battery Management System Kim; Seulkirom
Us 20100244847 A1 Battery Monitoring System Kudo; Akihiko Et Al.
Us 20150256070 A1 Switch Relay Device Lee; Won Ho Et Al.
Us 20210384560 A1 Protection Circuit For Battery Management System Li; Yue Et Al.
Us 20080090133 A1 Battery Management System Lim; Gye-Jong Et Al.
Us 20220274619 A1 In-Vehicle Notification Device Matsuda; Takashi Et Al.
Us 20030001544 A1 Battery Power Source Device Nakanishi, Toshiaki
Us 20130200700 A1 Battery Module Ohkura; Kazumi Et Al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859