DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shibuya (US 6140928)
Regarding claim 1, Shibya teaches a battery management apparatus (figure 1 defined as a battery capacity measuring device) comprising:
a shunt resistor connected to a battery (figure 1 shunt resistor item 2 is connected to a battery item 1); and
a voltage generator configured to generate a first output value and a second output value, wherein a difference between the first output value and the second output value corresponds to a magnitude of the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when charging over-current or discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor (column 7 lines 53 – column 8 lines 1 – 5 wherein a voltage generator is defined as a current measuring circuit that measures the voltage across the shunt resistor and generates an output, or applies an analog measurement output. Figure 3 column 9 lines 56 – column 4 wherein a first output value, a first shunt resistor voltage +IN, and a second output value, a second shunt resistor voltage -IN is input to a current measuring unit 10. Column 10 lines 31 – 43 teaches wherein a difference between the first and second output is determined as the values voltage across the shunt resistor 2, +IN and -IN, are input into a differential amplifier. Column 10 lines 44 – 60 teaches wherein this difference is determined as the magnitude of the voltage across the shunt resistor. Column 9 lines 1 – 23 teaches wherein as a charging or discharging current is flowing through the shunt resistor 2, it is determined if an overcurrent is detected by the +IN and -IN values).
Shibuya figure 1 shows a battery management system with a shunt resistor item 2 connected to a battery item 1.
Regarding claim 2, Shibuya teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the voltage generator is configured to generate the first output value and the second output value in a state of the battery management apparatus where the charging over-current or the discharging over-current does not flow in the shunt resistor (figure 3 shows wherein a voltage generator, interpreted as a current measuring unit generates a first output value, item +IN and a second input value, item -IN. The current measuring unit is interpreted as a state of the battery management apparatus as it determines whether there is an charging over-current or discharging overcurrent. Column 11 lines 30 teaches wherein the voltage across the shunt resistor is turned off when an overcurrent value is measured).
Regarding claim 5, Shibuya teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, further comprising circuitry configured to receive the first output value and the second output value and to determine whether the charging over-current or the discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor (figure 3 shows wherein a voltage generator, interpreted as a current measuring unit generates a first output value, item +IN and a second input value, item -IN. The current measuring unit is interpreted as a state of the battery management apparatus as it determines whether there is an charging over-current or discharging overcurrent. Column 9 lines 1 – 23 teaches wherein the voltage is measured across the shunt resistor and the value is used to determine if there is a charging over-current or a discharging over-current).
Regarding claim 6, Shibuya the battery management apparatus of claim 5, wherein the circuitry comprises:
an amplifier configured to receive and amplify the first output value and the second output value (figure 3 shows operational amplifiers items 11 and 12 which receive and amplify the first and second output values, items +IN and -IN. Figure 4 shows operational amplifiers 21a and 21b which receive and amplify the first and second output values +IN and -IN);
a comparator configured to compare an output of the amplifier with a reference value (figure 4 shows a comparator 22a connected with the output of amplifier 21a); and
a controller configured to determine whether the charging over-current or the discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor, based on at least one of the output of the amplifier or an output of the comparator (column 15 lines 26-35] teaches wherein overcurrent detections are output to the microcontroller item 5).
Regarding claim 7, Shibuya teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the voltage generator comprises a plurality of resistors and a plurality of switches, and the plurality of switches comprise at least one of a negative-positive-negative (NPN)-type bipolar junction transistor (BJT), a positive-negative-positive (PNP)-type BJT, or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (figures 3 – 5 show a plurality of resistors, a plurality of switches used with the voltage generator, defined as the components within Integrated circuit item 6. Column 7 lines 53 – column 8 line 5 discloses wherein Field Effect Transistors (FETs) may be used within the system).
Claims 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takai (US 20220170990).
Regarding claim 8, Takai a battery management apparatus (figure 8 item 25 defined in [0035] as a control board) comprising:
a shunt resistor connected to a battery and positioned on a charging/discharging path of the battery between a first node and a third node (figure 8 item 28 a shunt resistor. [0036] discloses a charging and discharging current flows through the shunt resistor 28);
a first resistor connected to the shunt resistor at the first node (figure 8 resistor connected to 354);
a second resistor connected to the first resistor at a second node (figure 8 resistor item 371);
a third resistor connected to the shunt resistor at the third node (figure 8 resistor connected to 354 ;
a fourth resistor connected to the third resistor at a fourth node;
a first switch connected in series between the second resistor and ground (figure 8 item 372 [0072] defined as a switch between the second resistor 371 and the ground 373);
a second switch connected in series between the fourth resistor and ground (figure 8 switch item 372 connected in series with resistor 371 and ground 373); and
circuitry configured to receive a voltage of the second node and a voltage of the fourth node and to determine whether over-current flows in the shunt resistor based on the received voltages (paragraph [0024] teaches wherein the battery management device includes an overcurrent detection unit that detects an overcurrent flowing through the shunt resistor).
Takai figure 8 shows a battery management apparatus with a shunt resistor item 28
Regarding claim 9, Takai teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 8, wherein the determination unit comprises:
an amplifier configured to receive the voltage of the second node and the voltage of the fourth node and to amplify a difference therebetween (figure 8 item 351 [0045] defined as a differential amplifier circuit which receives the voltage of the second node and the fourth node amplifies a difference therebetween) ;
a comparator configured to compare an output of the amplifier with a reference value (figure 8 item 352 [0045] discloses a comparator which compares an output of the amplifier) and
a controller configured to determine whether a charging over-current or a discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor, based on at least one of the output of the amplifier or an output of the comparator (figure 8 item 31 defined in [0046] as a control unit which determines an overcurrent values).
Regarding claim 10, Shibuya the battery management apparatus of claim 9,
wherein the controller is configured to control the first switch and the second switch (paragraph [0070] teaches wherein switches 372 are controlled by the control unit 31);
wherein controlling the first switch and the second switch comprises: closing the first switch and opening the second switch to detect the charging over-current, and closing the second switch and opening the first switch to detect the discharging over-current (paragraphs [0065] and [0075] teaches wherein the switch 372 and 345 are opened and closed in response to detecting an overcurrent).
Regarding claim 11, Shibuya the battery management apparatus of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to open both the first switch and the second switch in response to the battery being charged or discharged (paragraphs [0065] and [0075] teaches wherein the switch 372 and 345 are opened and closed in response to detecting the current and detecting an overcurrent).
Regarding claim 12, Takai teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a relay connected to the shunt resistor (shown in figures 4 and 8 defined in [0036] as a relay),
wherein the relay is controlled by a control signal of the controller (paragraph [0037] wherein the control unit 31 is connected to the current breaking unit, relay 4 and controls the operation of the current breaking unit, relay 4), and the controller is configured to open the relay in response to the first switch or the second switch being closed (paragraph [0046] teaches wherein the switch is operated when an overcurrent is detected. (paragraphs [0065] and [0075] teaches wherein the switch 372 and 345 are opened and closed in response to detecting the current and detecting an overcurrent, thus in response an overcurrent is detected, all the switches, including relay item 4 and switches 372 and 345 are operated) .
Regarding claim 14, Takai teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 8, wherein respective resistances of the first resistor and the second resistor are such that a difference between a magnitude of a voltage of the second node and a magnitude of the voltage of the battery corresponds to a magnitude of a voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the over-current flows during charging of the battery, and wherein respective resistances of the third resistor and the fourth resistor are such that a difference between a magnitude of a voltage of the fourth node and the magnitude of the voltage of the battery corresponds to a magnitude of the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the over-current flows during discharging of the battery (paragraph [0024] teaches wherein the battery management device includes an overcurrent detection unit that detects an overcurrent flowing through the shunt resistor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya (US 6140928) in view of Yugou (US 20090295329).
Regarding claim 3, Shibuya teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first output value is equal to a difference between the magnitude of the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the charging over-current flows in the shunt resistor and a voltage of the battery, and wherein the second output value is equal to the voltage of the battery.
Yugou teaches wherein the first output value is equal to a difference between the magnitude of the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the charging over-current flows in the shunt resistor and a voltage of the battery, and wherein the second output value is equal to the voltage of the battery (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein a first output value is determined as a voltage is generated that corresponds from the voltage flowing the battery and a second output value is determined as a voltage from a shunt resistor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Shibuya reference with the charging system of the Yugou reference so that the shunt resistor voltage and battery voltage can be detected with high accuracy.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Yugou reference in paragraph [0041] wherein the voltages are detected with high accuracy.
Yugou figure 1 shows a battery management system with a shunt resistor item 7
Regarding claim 4, Shibuya teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first output value is equal to the voltage of the battery and the second output value is equal to a difference between the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor and the voltage of the battery.
Yugou teaches the first output value is equal to the voltage of the battery and the second output value is equal to a difference between the voltage applied to the shunt resistor when the discharging over-current flows in the shunt resistor and the voltage of the battery (Paragraphs [0030]- [0031] teaches wherein the battery modules are charged/discharged at the same current and detected in by the same components. Paragraph [0041] teaches wherein a first output value is determined as a voltage is generated that corresponds from the voltage flowing the battery and a second output value is determined as a voltage from a shunt resistor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Shibuya reference with the charging system of the Yugou reference so that the shunt resistor voltage and battery voltage can be detected with high accuracy.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Yugou reference in paragraph [0041] wherein the voltages are detected with high accuracy.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Takai (US 20220170990) in view of Shibuya (US 6140928)
Regarding claim 13, Takai teaches the battery management apparatus of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first switch and the second switch comprise at least one of a positive-negative-positive (PNP)-type bipolar junction transistor (BJT), a negative-positive-negative (NPN)-type BJT, or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET).
Shibuya teaches wherein the first switch and the second switch comprise at least one of a positive-negative-positive (PNP)-type bipolar junction transistor (BJT), a negative-positive-negative (NPN)-type BJT, or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) figures 3 – 5 show a plurality of resistors, a plurality of switches used with the voltage generator, defined as the components within Integrated circuit item 6. Column 7 lines 53 – column 8 line 5 discloses wherein Field Effect Transistors (FETs) may be used within the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Takai reference with the charging system of the Shibuya reference to provide a power saving current measuring circuit, capable of measuring charging and discharging currents of a secondary battery with high accuracy.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Shibuya reference in column 2 lines 39 - 43 wherein the a power saving current measurement is provided.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 11772512 B2 Vehicle Power Supply System Hashimoto; Makoto Et Al.
Us 20130181807 A1 Current-Sensing Resistor Hetzler; Ullrich
Us 20140347067 A1 Fault Detection Device For Inverter System Hirono; Daisuke
Us 20230307925 A1 Management Device Ishii; Yohei Et Al.
Us 20200381929 A1 Battery Protective Circuit Jin; Kyongpil
Us 20220069607 A1 Battery Overcharging Prevention Device Jeong; Soo Jeong Et Al.
Us 20170365997 A1 Overcurrent Protection Circuit Kitamoto; Hiroshi Et Al.
Us 11933853 B2 Battery Management System Kim; Seulkirom
Us 20100244847 A1 Battery Monitoring System Kudo; Akihiko Et Al.
Us 20150256070 A1 Switch Relay Device Lee; Won Ho Et Al.
Us 20210384560 A1 Protection Circuit For Battery Management System Li; Yue Et Al.
Us 20080090133 A1 Battery Management System Lim; Gye-Jong Et Al.
Us 20220274619 A1 In-Vehicle Notification Device Matsuda; Takashi Et Al.
Us 20030001544 A1 Battery Power Source Device Nakanishi, Toshiaki
Us 20130200700 A1 Battery Module Ohkura; Kazumi Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859