DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the unsaturated nitrile monomer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su (CN 104004471). As the CN document is not in English, citations are made to the attached translation.
Su provides an example where 100 g chloroprene rubber is added to 1.3 g dilauryl thiodipropionate and 1.3 g benzoyl peroxide, and 8 g zinc oxide (¶ 39). Dilauryl thiodipropionate has the structure has a molecular weight of 514.84 and has a thioether group. See instant specification, ¶ 71.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakabayashi (JP H07-145269). As the JP document is not in English, citations are made to the attached translation.
Nakabayashi teaches chloroprene rubber compositions (¶ 1) where chloroprene rubber is blended with a peroxide and an antioxidant (¶ 4). Nakabayashi teaches an example where 100 parts chloroprene rubber is blended with 1.5 parts organic peroxide (dicumyl peroxide) and 3 parts antioxidant where the antioxidant is dilauryl thiodipropionate (Table 1, ¶ 12, ¶ 18). Dilauryl thiodipropionate has the structure has a molecular weight of 514.84 and has a thioether group. See instant specification, ¶ 71. Nakabayashi teaches a co-crosslinking agent can be present which includes phenylene bismaleimide (¶ 8) where the co-crosslinking agent is present in an amount of 1-4 pbw (¶4). Nakabayashi teaches vulcanizing the rubber and forming sheet of the vulcanizate (¶ 14) which corresponds to the claimed molded body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 6,495,625).
Abe teaches a chloroprene rubber composition comprising a chloroprene rubber (abstract) and a plasticizer (col. 4, ln. 12-15) where the plasticizer may be Vulkanol OT, an ether/thioether plasticizer used in 25 pbw er 100 parts chloroprene rubber (Table 1, col. 4, ln. 30-49). Abe teaches a peroxide vulcanization agent may be added in an amount of 0.5-5 pbw (col. 4, ln. 8-11) or 3-15 pbw (col. 3, ln. 50-56). Abe teaches acrylonitrile can be polymerized with the chloroprene (col. 1, ln. 51-63). Abe teaches a vulcanization accelerator such as phenylenedimaleimide can be present in an amount of 0.5-5 pbw (col. 4, ln. 1-11) which meets the maleimide amount of claim 6. Abe teaches acetylene black can be present in amounts of 45 pbw (Table 1) and 10-70 pbw (col. 3, ln. 23-47). Abe teaches zinc powder can be present in an amount of 1-30 pbw or 2-20 pbw (col. 3, ln. 38-47). Abe teaches vulcanizing to form a vulcanizate and molded body (col. 4, ln. 50-67).
Abe does not provide an example using the peroxide vulcanization agent. However, it would have been obvious to use the peroxide vulcanization agent because Abe teaches to use it (col. 4, ln. 8-11) and because “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art…” Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764