Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 3, 2025 has been entered. Claims 11-16 and 18-26 are pending in this application. Claims 11-12, 15-, and 19-20 have been amended. Claim 17 has been cancelled. Claims 25-26 are new. Applicant’s arguments and amendments to the claims have overcome all objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed July 2, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed November 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant presents no arguments as to whether the prior art made of record teaches the amended claims. The amended and new claims have been rejected under the same prior art presented in the Non-Final Rejection filed July 2, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16, 18-21, 23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Schmidt et al. (US 6322275 B1), hereafter Schmidt.
Regarding claim 11, Schmidt teaches a sensor device for a motor vehicle (col. 1 lines 5-7, “The present invention relates to a device for mounting a distance sensor, in particular a proximity radar device, on a motor vehicle.“), comprising:
at least one retaining frame, further comprising at least one fixing mechanism configured to fix the retaining frame immovably on at least one component of the motor vehicle relative to the at least one component (col. 2 lines 63-67, “Housing 3 of distance sensor 1 is secured to a support 2 by screws 9, 10, 11. On its side facing away from distance sensor 1, support 2 has catching or locking elements 7 with which it snaps into correspondingly shaped accommodations on the body of a motor vehicle.”),
at least one first orienting unit configured to orient the retaining frame during fixing in a first orientation, wherein the at least one first orienting unit comprises at least three contact points at which the retaining frame bears with contact against the at least one component and/or a further component of the motor vehicle in a fixed arrangement (col. 3 lines 4-48, “As FIG. 2 shows, protuberance 8 forms a limit stop 12, with which protuberance 8 abuts against a corresponding body part of the motor vehicle. In addition to catch hooks 7, support 2 can be screwed to the body of the motor vehicle through bore hole 23 of protuberance 8. When applying the mounting device to different motor vehicles, catch hooks 7 and protuberance 8 can be redesigned, if applicable. They form, as it were, an adapter for various types of motor vehicles. Preferably, support 2 is always designed in the same manner on its side facing distance sensor 1. On this side, distance sensor 1 is screwed on using screws 9, 10, 11. Screws 9, 10, 11 engage in screw-in areas 13 of support 2. […] Screwing screw 10 in and out causes distance sensor 1 to tilt with respect to support 2 in the orthogonal direction about an axis which runs through suspension points 9 and 11. Thus, the mounting device of the present invention offers the possibility of adjusting distance sensor 1 or its housing 3 in two directions that are vertical relative to each other. Nevertheless, distance sensor 1 is always securely connected to a body part of the motor vehicle via support 2.”; Examiner is construing the support 2 and screw 10 as part of a first orienting unit, where the two catching elements 7 and protuberance 8 constitute three contact points), and
at least one sensor configured to be inserted into the retaining frame and fixed immovably therein relative to the retaining frame (col. 2 lines 63-67, “Housing 3 of distance sensor 1 is secured to a support 2 by screws 9, 10, 11. On its side facing away from distance sensor 1, support 2 has catching or locking elements 7 with which it snaps into correspondingly shaped accommodations on the body of a motor vehicle.”),
wherein the sensor comprises, transversely to a sensor attachment direction in which the sensor is inserted into the retaining frame, a cross-section which is designed so that it corresponds to and complements an opening of the retaining frame (col. 3 lines 40-48, “Screwing screw 10 in and out causes distance sensor 1 to tilt with respect to support 2 in the orthogonal direction about an axis which runs through suspension points 9 and 11. Thus, the mounting device of the present invention offers the possibility of adjusting distance sensor 1 or its housing 3 in two directions that are vertical relative to each other. Nevertheless, distance sensor 1 is always securely connected to a body part of the motor vehicle via support 2.”; Figs. 1-2, sensor 1 must be attached a vertical axis relative to the device as shown, and sensor 1 is movably adjusted on a plane orthogonal to said axis, where a cross-section defined by said plane of the sensor assembly including its housing is designed to correspond to and complement the retaining frame).
Regarding claim 12, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11,
wherein the fixing mechanism comprises at least one projection on the retaining frame configured to be fixed in or on a socket of the at least one component of the motor vehicle, and configured to form a rear grip with respect to a first attachment direction (col. 3 lines 4-10, “As FIG. 2 shows, protuberance 8 forms a limit stop 12, with which protuberance 8 abuts against a corresponding body part of the motor vehicle. In addition to catch hooks 7, support 2 can be screwed to the body of the motor vehicle through bore hole 23 of protuberance 8.”)
Regarding claim 13, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11,
wherein the fixing mechanism comprises a socket of the retaining frame configured to be fixed to at least one projection on the at least one component of the motor vehicle, and configured to form a rear grip with respect to a first attachment direction (col. 3 lines 4-10, “As FIG. 2 shows, protuberance 8 forms a limit stop 12, with which protuberance 8 abuts against a corresponding body part of the motor vehicle. In addition to catch hooks 7, support 2 can be screwed to the body of the motor vehicle through bore hole 23 of protuberance 8.”)
Regarding claim 14, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11,
wherein the first orienting unit is an element of the fixing mechanism and/or in that the first orienting unit and the fixing mechanism comprise at least one identical common part (col. 3 lines 41-48, “Screwing screw 10 in and out causes distance sensor 1 to tilt with respect to support 2 in the orthogonal direction about an axis which runs through suspension points 9 and 11. Thus, the mounting device of the present invention offers the possibility of adjusting distance sensor 1 or its housing 3 in two directions that are vertical relative to each other. Nevertheless, distance sensor 1 is always securely connected to a body part of the motor vehicle via support 2.”; Fig. 1, Examiner is construing the screw 10 as belonging to a fixing mechanism and first orienting unit).
Regarding claim 15, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11,
wherein the fixing mechanism comprises at least one screw-shaped or bolt-shaped fixing device configured to fix the retaining frame on the at least one component of the motor vehicle or the further component of the motor vehicle (col. 2 lines 63-67, “Housing 3 of distance sensor 1 is secured to a support 2 by screws 9, 10, 11. On its side facing away from distance sensor 1, support 2 has catching or locking elements 7 with which it snaps into correspondingly shaped accommodations on the body of a motor vehicle.”; col. 3 lines 28-32, “As FIG. 4 shows, because of their L-shaped arrangement, screws 9, 10, 1I form a three-point bearing arrangement. Screws 10 and 11 form two moveable bearings, and screw 9 forms a fixed bearing.”; Examiner is construing the screw 9 of Schmidt as part of the fixing mechanism).
Regarding claim 16, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11, further comprising:
at least one second orienting unit configured to bear the sensor in an attached arrangement with contact against the retaining frame at at least three contact points (col. 3 lines 28-32, “As FIG. 4 shows, because of their L-shaped arrangement, screws 9, 10, 11 form a three-point bearing arrangement. Screws 10 and 11 form two moveable bearings, and screw 9 forms a fixed bearing.”; Examiner is construing the screw 11 as a second orienting unit).
Regarding claim 18, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11, further comprising:
at least one coupling mechanism configured to immovably fix the sensor relative to the retaining frame without the use of tools (Fig. 1, clip connections 6 and screws 9, 10, and 11).
Regarding claim 19, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 18,
wherein the at least one coupling mechanism comprises at least one projection on the retaining frame configured to be fixed in or on a socket of the sensor, forming a rear grip with respect to the sensor attachment direction (Figs. 1 and 2, screws 9, 10, and 11 are socket-attached projections of the support 2, forming a rear grip relative to the vertical attachment direction of the sensor and housing; Fig. 5, screw is attachable from both ends to the sensor housing and the support).
Regarding claim 20, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 18,
wherein the at least one coupling mechanism comprises at least one projection on the sensor configured to be fixed in or on a socket of the retaining frame, forming a rear grip with respect to the sensor attachment direction (Figs. 1 and 2, screws 9, 10, and 11 are socket-attached projections of the support 2, forming a rear grip relative to the vertical attachment direction of the sensor and housing; Fig. 5, screw is attachable from both ends to the sensor housing and the support).
Regarding claim 21, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 18,
wherein the coupling mechanism comprises a second orienting unit (col. 3 lines 28-32, “As FIG. 4 shows, because of their L-shaped arrangement, screws 9, 10, 11 form a three-point bearing arrangement. Screws 10 and 11 form two moveable bearings, and screw 9 forms a fixed bearing.”; Examiner is construing the screw 11 as a second orienting unit).
Regarding claim 23, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11,
wherein the sensor comprises a radar sensor (col. 1 lines 4-6, “The present invention relates to a device for mounting a distance sensor, in particular a proximity radar device, on a motor vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 25, Schmidt teaches a sensor device for a motor vehicle, comprising:
at least one retaining frame, further comprising at least one fixing mechanism configured to fix the retaining frame immovably on at least one component of the motor vehicle relative to the at least one component (col. 2 lines 63-67, “Housing 3 of distance sensor 1 is secured to a support 2 by screws 9, 10, 11. On its side facing away from distance sensor 1, support 2 has catching or locking elements 7 with which it snaps into correspondingly shaped accommodations on the body of a motor vehicle.”),
at least one first orienting unit configured to orient the retaining frame during fixing in a first orientation, wherein the at least one first orienting unit comprises at least three contact points at which the retaining frame bears with contact against the at least one component and/or a further component of the motor vehicle in a fixed arrangement (col. 3 lines 4-48, “As FIG. 2 shows, protuberance 8 forms a limit stop 12, with which protuberance 8 abuts against a corresponding body part of the motor vehicle. In addition to catch hooks 7, support 2 can be screwed to the body of the motor vehicle through bore hole 23 of protuberance 8. When applying the mounting device to different motor vehicles, catch hooks 7 and protuberance 8 can be redesigned, if applicable. They form, as it were, an adapter for various types of motor vehicles. Preferably, support 2 is always designed in the same manner on its side facing distance sensor 1. On this side, distance sensor 1 is screwed on using screws 9, 10, 11. Screws 9, 10, 11 engage in screw-in areas 13 of support 2. […] Screwing screw 10 in and out causes distance sensor 1 to tilt with respect to support 2 in the orthogonal direction about an axis which runs through suspension points 9 and 11. Thus, the mounting device of the present invention offers the possibility of adjusting distance sensor 1 or its housing 3 in two directions that are vertical relative to each other. Nevertheless, distance sensor 1 is always securely connected to a body part of the motor vehicle via support 2.”; Examiner is construing the support 2 and screw 10 as part of a first orienting unit, where the two catching elements 7 and protuberance 8 constitute three contact points), and
at least one sensor configured to be inserted into the retaining frame and fixed immovably therein relative to the retaining frame (col. 2 lines 63-67, “Housing 3 of distance sensor 1 is secured to a support 2 by screws 9, 10, 11. On its side facing away from distance sensor 1, support 2 has catching or locking elements 7 with which it snaps into correspondingly shaped accommodations on the body of a motor vehicle.”),
wherein the at least one coupling mechanism comprises at least one projection on the retaining frame configured to be fixed in or on a socket of the sensor, forming a rear grip with respect to a sensor attachment direction in which the at least one sensor is inserted into the retaining frame (Figs. 1 and 2, screws 9, 10, and 11 are socket-attached projections of the support 2, forming a rear grip relative to the vertical attachment direction of the sensor and housing; Fig. 5, screw is attachable from both ends to the sensor housing and the support).
Regarding claim 26, Schmidt teaches a sensor device for a motor vehicle, comprising:
at least one retaining frame, further comprising at least one fixing mechanism configured to fix the retaining frame immovably on at least one component of the motor vehicle relative to the at least one component (col. 2 lines 63-67, “Housing 3 of distance sensor 1 is secured to a support 2 by screws 9, 10, 11. On its side facing away from distance sensor 1, support 2 has catching or locking elements 7 with which it snaps into correspondingly shaped accommodations on the body of a motor vehicle.”),
at least one first orienting unit configured to orient the retaining frame during fixing in a first orientation, wherein the at least one first orienting unit comprises at least three contact points at which the retaining frame bears with contact against the at least one component and/or a further component of the motor vehicle in a fixed arrangement (col. 3 lines 4-48, “As FIG. 2 shows, protuberance 8 forms a limit stop 12, with which protuberance 8 abuts against a corresponding body part of the motor vehicle. In addition to catch hooks 7, support 2 can be screwed to the body of the motor vehicle through bore hole 23 of protuberance 8. When applying the mounting device to different motor vehicles, catch hooks 7 and protuberance 8 can be redesigned, if applicable. They form, as it were, an adapter for various types of motor vehicles. Preferably, support 2 is always designed in the same manner on its side facing distance sensor 1. On this side, distance sensor 1 is screwed on using screws 9, 10, 11. Screws 9, 10, 11 engage in screw-in areas 13 of support 2. […] Screwing screw 10 in and out causes distance sensor 1 to tilt with respect to support 2 in the orthogonal direction about an axis which runs through suspension points 9 and 11. Thus, the mounting device of the present invention offers the possibility of adjusting distance sensor 1 or its housing 3 in two directions that are vertical relative to each other. Nevertheless, distance sensor 1 is always securely connected to a body part of the motor vehicle via support 2.”; Examiner is construing the support 2 and screw 10 as part of a first orienting unit, where the two catching elements 7 and protuberance 8 constitute three contact points), and
at least one sensor configured to be inserted into the retaining frame and fixed immovably therein relative to the retaining frame (col. 2 lines 63-67, “Housing 3 of distance sensor 1 is secured to a support 2 by screws 9, 10, 11. On its side facing away from distance sensor 1, support 2 has catching or locking elements 7 with which it snaps into correspondingly shaped accommodations on the body of a motor vehicle.”),
wherein the at least one coupling mechanism comprises at least one projection on the at least one sensor configured to be fixed in or on a socket of the retaining frame, forming a rear grip with respect to a sensor attachment direction in which the at least one sensor is inserted into the retaining frame (Figs. 1 and 2, screws 9, 10, and 11 are socket-attached projections of the support 2, forming a rear grip relative to the vertical attachment direction of the sensor and housing; Fig. 5, screw is attachable from both ends to the sensor housing and the support).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt in view of Kim et al. (US 20200062277 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 22, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11, but fails to teach
wherein the at least one component of the motor vehicle comprises a diffuser lens or a headlight housing.
However, Kim teaches
wherein the at least one component of the motor vehicle comprises a diffuser lens or a headlight housing (para. 67, “For example, the image sensor 1 may be mounted to the front part [a hood and headlights, etc.] of the host vehicle 100 and detect a front area of the host vehicle 100.”)
Schmidt and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicular radar systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt with the teachings of Kim with the motivation of mounting the sensor assembly such that it is facing the direction of travel.
Regarding claim 24, Schmidt teaches the sensor device according to claim 11, but fails to teach
wherein the sensor comprises a distance control sensor.
However, Kim teaches
wherein the sensor comprises a distance control sensor (para. 105, “The ADAS module may be the implementation of a module by various driver assist systems, and the driver assist systems may include, for example, a Smart Parking Assistance System [SPAS], a Blind Spot Detection [BSD] system, an Adaptive Cruise Control [ACC] system, a Lane Departure Warning System [LDWS], a Lane Keeping Assist System [LKAS], and Lane Change Assist System [LCAS]. However, the present disclosure is not limited thereto.”; Fig. 3, sensors 1 and 2 are involved in BSD, LKAS and ASCC systems).
Schmidt and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicular radar systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt with the teachings of Kim with the motivation of being able to utilize detections to inform an automatic driving assistance system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC K HODAC/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 /VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648