DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-26, 39 are canceled. Claims 27-36 are withdrawn. Claim 37, 38, 40, 41, 43, 44 are amended. Claims 37, 38, 40-46 are under consideration.
Drawings
2. (previous objection, maintained) The drawings are objected to:
Applicant contends: the drawings have been checked and drawings executed in color were not found, they are in black and white; the objection should be withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments are considered but found unpersuasive.
See the objection as recited in the previous Office Action.
Figure 2 refers to “red” in the specification (p. 8). Until clarification is provided as to the significance or insignificance of such a recitation with respect to the submitted drawings, the objection is maintained.
Claim Objections
3. (previous objection, withdrawn) Claim 40 was objected to because of informalities.
Applicant contends: the claim has been amended.
In view of applicant’s amendments, the objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. (previous rejection, withdrawn) Claims 37-46 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant contends: the claims have been amended.
In view of applicant’s amendments, the rejection is withdrawn.
5. (new, necessitated by amendment) Claims 37, 38, 40-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claims 37, 38, 40-46 as submitted 7/24/2026.
Claim 37 recites a method for the prevention or the treatment of a disease or a
disorder, comprising administering a peptide comprising a lipid binding amino acid sequence
(LBD) derived from filensin (BFSP1), or a functional variant or functional fragment thereof
capable of binding to a lipid to a subject in need thereof, wherein the LBD comprises an amino acid sequence selected from the sequences according to SEQ ID NOs: 1,3 and 130 and functional variants thereof, wherein the functional variant is capable of binding to a lipid and has a sequence that is at least 85% identical with SEQ ID NO: 1, 3 or 130, respectively. The claim recites “functional fragment thereof”, but such language is missing subsequently in “wherein the LBD comprises an amino acid sequence selected from the sequences according to SEQ ID NOs: 1,3 and 130 and functional variants thereof, wherein the functional variant is capable of binding to a lipid and has a sequence that is at least 85% identical with SEQ ID NO: 1, 3 or 130, respectively”. It is not clear if the functional fragment “has a sequence that is at least 85% identical with SEQ ID NO: 1, 3 or 130, respectively”.
6. (previous rejection, withdrawn as to canceled claim 39, maintained as to 37, 38, 40-46) Claims 37, 38, 40-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
See claims 37, 38, 40-46 as submitted 7/24/2026.
See also the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above.
Applicant contends: claim 37 has been amended.
Applicant’s arguments are considered but found unpersuasive.
See the rejection as recited in the previous Office Action. It is noted in view of applicant’s amendments that each of the claims is drawn, inherently or explicitly, to lipid binding amino acid sequences derived from filensin, BFSP1, functional variants or functional fragments thereof capable of binding to a lipid; amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 3 (elected species) and functional variants thereof, wherein the functional variant is capable of binding to a lipid and has a sequence that is at least 85% identical with SEQ ID NO: 3 (elected species). Thus, the claims are drawn to compositions comprising a genus of peptides comprising sequences derived from filensin (BFSP1) and functional variants or fragments thereof, wherein the functional variant is capable of binding to a lipid and has a sequence that is at least 85% identical with SEQ ID NO: 3 (elected species).
In the present case, the specification still teaches: construct comprising LBD, OD, and IM, an wherein LBD has a length of up to 150 amino acids (p. 1); including SEQ ID NO: 1 (hBFSP1 G434-T460)(p. 2); SEQ ID NO: 3; including oligomerization domains SEQ ID NO: 2 (p. 2); wherein functional variants or fragments are capable of binding of lipids (p. 5), including
wherein fragments are SEQ ID NOs: 1, 130, 3 (p. 6); as well as embodiments such as TFR123
(p. 14; used in Examples I-X).
However, it is still known in the art that protein structure determines protein function and
binding functions are unpredictable. As to BFSP1, a 230 amino acid stretch appeared to show 4
binding domains as evidenced by Quinlan et al. ("The interaction of BFSP and its proteolytically
derived fragments with cell membranes," ARVO Annual Meeting Abstract, Investigative
Opthalmology & Visual Science, Vol.57, 3074 (2016))(cited in the Restriction Action issued
2/13/2026). Quinlan et al. teaches: BFSP1 fragments; including sequences 434-665 containing 4
lipid binding domains; including 434-665 containing 4 lipid binding domains; including wherein
434-460 sequence is capable of binding directly to membranes and capable of targeting GFP.
While this 434-460 sequence is sufficient to partition tag to compartment, another mechanism likely exists for the other sequences. Thus, Quinlan et al. teaches that different sequences of BFSP1 apparently use different mechanisms, direct versus indirect.
Further, it is still known that even minor changes can alter function. For example, Rudikoff et al. ("Single amino acid substitution altering antigen-binding specificity," Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 79:1979-1983 (1982); previously cited) teaches: that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function (p. 1979). Further, Lucchese et al. ("How a single
amino acid change may alter the immunological information of a peptide," Frontiers in
Bioscience E4: 1843-1852 (2012); previously cited) teaches: a single amino acid change may alter the immunological information of a peptide (title).
Thus, while the specification as indicated above identifies TFR123 and SEQ ID NOs: 1,
2, 130, 3, in view of the breadth of the claims and the challenges known in the art, it does not
identify a representative sample of functional variants, wherein the functional variant is capable of binding to a lipid and has a sequence that is at least 85% identical with SEQ ID NO: 3 (elected species), especially in view of the breadth of the claims. Thus, the application does not identify a representative sample of functional variants within the breadth of the claimed genus.
There is no apparent common conserved structure to the different functional variants capable of binding to a lipid and having a sequence that is at least 85% identical with SEQ ID NO: 3 that distinguishes those that bind to lipids as compared to those that do not. There is therefore a high level of uncertainty as to which functional variants fall within the scope of the indicated genus.
Further, the specification has identified functional variants of at least 85% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3 only by function: capable of binding to a lipid. The specification does not provide a specific structure of functional variants of at least 85% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3 within the genus that correlates with the required function. Because there is no identification of structures common to each functional variant of at least 85% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3, nor sufficient representative examples by which such a structure may be determined, the application fails to provide sufficient written description support for the identified genus of functional variants, through identification of a structure and function.
While the functional variants are required to be capable of binding to lipids and have a sequence that is at least 85% identical with SEQ ID NO: 3, this is not alone sufficient structure to correlate with the function. This is because the mere presence of a variant of at least 85% identity with SEQ ID NO: 3 does not demonstrate that it would be able to bind to lipids.
For the reasons above, the application has not provided sufficient written description
support for the genus of functional variants identified in claims 37, 38, 40-46. The application therefore fails to provide adequate support for methods of using this genus of functional variants.
Response to Arguments
See the rejection above in view of applicant’s amendments. It is maintained that even in view of applicant's amendments, for SEQ ID NO: 3, for example, 85% identity of SEQ ID NO: 3 still reads on at least 25.5 amino acids of the entire sequence of 30 amino acids. Thus, up to 4 amino acids could still be substituted for any one of the canonical 20 amino acids which could still lead to unpredictable structure-function relationships, not to mention the cumulative effect of such substitutions. Applicant has not appeared to provide evidence to the contrary, rather arguments of counsel (See MPEP 716.01(c): The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965)).
The rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
7. (previous rejection, withdrawn as to canceled claim 39, maintained as to 37, 38, 40-46) Claims 37, 38, 40-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treatment including of SARS-CoV-2 infection, does not reasonably provide enablement for prevention of any disease or disorder. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
See claims 37, 38, 40-46 as submitted 7/24/2026.
Applicant contends: applicant disagrees; one of skill in the art would not require undue amount of experimentation; the LBD as defined is very short, which is an advantage with regards to eliciting immune response; the LBD is an excellent candidate for incorporation into a drug delivery system/immunization platform, which is suitable for treatment of a disease beyond SARS-CoV-2; the features enable a wider application; an OD provides structure stabilization, enhanced binding strength, multivalency and easier purification; C-terminal truncation of the OD could decrease oligomerization property; one of skill in the art would understand that bioactive agents can be bound to the LBD; the TFR123 peptide enables the immune system to recognize proteins or proteins parts which are not immunogenic; TFR123 is able to elicit a more effective immune response; one of ordinary skill in the art would find plausible an effect which can be generalized; one of ordinary skill in the art would not have to engage in undue experimentation.
Applicant’s arguments are considered but found unpersuasive.
See the rejection as recited in the previous Office Action.
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicant’s arguments, it is maintained as previously indicated that in making a determination as to whether an application has met the requirements for
enablement under 35 U.S.C. 112 P 1, the courts have put forth a series of factors. See, In re
Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, at 1404 (CAFC 1988). The factors considered include (1) the quantity
of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence
or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6)
the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims. Id. While it is not essential that every factor be examined in detail, those
factors deemed most relevant should be considered. In the present case, the factors deemed
relevant are those of the amount of direction and the working examples provided, that quantity of
experimentation necessary, and the breadth of the claims.
In view of the cited factors and the instant claims reciting “prevention”, which read on complete prophylaxis upon mere administration of peptide comprising lipid binding domain derived from filensin (BFSP1) as claimed, as well as prevention of “any” disease or disorder, and the limited teachings in the specification, it is maintained that the skilled artisan would be
required to conduct an undue amount of experimentation in order to use the claimed peptides
for preventing any disease. While the art teaches use of structural properties with BFSP1
and general therapeutic effect, such applications do not appear to apply directly to
prophylactic applications with respect to any disease or disorder.
In response applicant merely asserts that the LBD is a candidate for treatment platforms and associated alleged advantages of incorporation without addressing how such structures within the scope of the claims enable complete prophylaxis of any disease as claimed. Thus, it appears applicant has not appeared to provide evidence to bridge the significant gap between the limited teachings in the specification and the breadth of the claims as indicated, rather merely attorney argument (See MPEP 716.01(c): The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965).
The rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
8. (previous rejection, withdrawn as to canceled claim 39; maintained as to claims 37, 40-45) Claims) 37, 40-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fotin-Mleczek et al. (WO2017191274; previously cited).
See claims 37, 40-45 as submitted 7/24/2026.
Applicant contends: Fotin-Mleczek et al. is not a proper reference which has the necessary qualifying attributes; Fotin-Mleczek et al. is not enabling, does not provide credible information; Fotin-Mleczek et al. just lists proteins; filensin was not known at the time to have a therapeutic effect; Fotin-Mleczek et al. does not provide any possible therapeutic use; one of ordinary skill in the art would not consider Fotin-Mleczek et al. as teaching therapeutic effect.
Applicant’s arguments are considered but found unpersuasive.
See the rejection as recited in the previous Office Action. As to amended claim 44, it is noted that Fotin-Mleczek et al. already teaches use of fusion proteins comprising a therapeutic protein and another amino acid sequence (p. 16).
Response to Arguments
Turning to applicant’s arguments, it is noted that the rejection is in view of the instant claims. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Further, Fotin-Mleczek et al. is not so limited as applicant contends. Fotin-Mleczek et al. teaches as indicated: therapeutic proteins (p. 18); including SEQ ID NO: 1140 (human therapeutic protein BFSP1 (p. 20). Such a prior reference is considered to be enabling absent evidence provided to the contrary (See MPEP 2121: I. PRIOR ART IS PRESUMED TO BE OPERABLE/ENABLING: When the reference relied on expressly anticipates or makes obvious all of the elements of the claimed invention, the reference is presumed to be operable. Once such a reference is found, the burden is on applicant to rebut the presumption of operability. In re Sasse, 629 F.2d 675, 207 USPQ 107 (CCPA 1980). See also MPEP 716.07. See also In re Antor Media Corp., 689 F.3d 1282, 103 USPQ2d 1555 (Fed. Cir. 2012)).
Further, Fotin-Mleczek et al. is cited as prior art for all that it teaches or suggests (See MPEP 2121.01: II. 35 U.S.C. 103 REJECTIONS AND USE OF INOPERATIVE PRIOR ART: “Even if a reference discloses an inoperative device, it is prior art for all that it teaches.” Beckman Instruments v.LKB Produkter AB, 892 F.2d 1547, 1551, 13 USPQ2d 1301, 1304 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Therefore, “a non-enabling reference may qualify as prior art for the purpose of determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103.” Symbol Techs. Inc. v. Opticon Inc., 935 F.2d 1569, 1578, 19 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
In response, applicant has not appeared to provide evidence, rather merely attorney argument with respect to the reference (See MPEP 716.01(c): The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965).
The rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
9. (previous rejection, maintained) Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fotin-Mleczek et al. as applied to claims 37, 40-45 above, and further in view of Klein et al. ("Design and characterization of structured protein linkers with differing flexibilities," Protein Engineering, Design & Selection, Vol. 27, No. 10: 325-330 (2014); previously cited).
See claim 38 as submitted 7/24/2026.
Applicant contends: one of skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Klein et al. with Fotin-Mleczek et al.
Applicant’s arguments are considered but found unpersuasive.
See the rejection as recited in the previous Office Action.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Conclusion
10. No claims are allowed.
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M FRANCO G SALVOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672