DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fortusini et al. (US 10564354 B2).
Re claim 1, Fortusini et al. discloses an optical circuit board (fig. 2B) comprising: a wiring board (124; col. 8, lines 62-64); and an optical waveguide (70), wherein the wiring board has comprises a first region (front end 36) on which a silicon photonics device (OE-IC 210 includes both photonic and electronic components) is to be mounted (via 90B, 99, 90T, 262 and 132), a second region (back end 38), a cavity (32) interposed between the first region (36) and the second region (38), and a first conductor layer (90) in the second region, the first region and the second region are located on a surface of the wiring board (124), the optical waveguide (70) is located on the first conductor layer (90) in the second region and comprises a cladding and a core surrounded by the cladding (col. 12, lines 53-67), and the first conductor layer (90) comprises a portion (60) protruding toward the first region (36) above the cavity (32).
Re claim 2, Fortusini et al. discloses the optical circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the wiring board comprises an insulating layer containing a plurality of particles of inorganic filler (air) and the plurality of particles of the inorganic filler are exposed from an inner surface of the cavity (fig. 2B; col. 12, lines 38-39).
Re claim 6, Fortusini et al. discloses a method of manufacturing the optical circuit board according to claim 1, the method comprising: forming the cavity (32) in the wiring board (124) using an excimer laser (col. 5, lines 53-58).
Re claim 7, Fortusini et al. discloses an electronic component mounting structure comprising: the optical circuit board described in claim 1; the silicon photonics device (210); and an electronic component (2nd 210; fig. 3A), wherein the silicon photonics device comprises a silicon waveguide (250) and is electrically connected (via 90B, 99, 90T, 262 and 132) to the optical circuit board in the first region (36), and the silicon waveguide faces the core of the optical waveguide (fig. 2B; col. 9, lines 46-50).
Re claim 8, Fortusini et al. discloses the optical circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the cavity (32) is recessed toward the second region (fig. 2B).
Re claim 9, Fortusini et al. discloses the optical circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the first conductor layer (90) is inclined toward a bottom portion of the cavity above the cavity (32; fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortusini et al.
Re claim 3, Fortusini et al. discloses the optical circuit board according to claim 2, but fails to teach wherein 20 or more of the plurality of particles of the inorganic filler having a particle size of from 0.1 µm to 1 µm per 5 µm2 are exposed at the inner surface of the cavity.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cavity of Fortusini et al. filled as the claimed range since such modification would have been an obvious design variation, well within the ordinary skill in the art, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use to control the optical properties of the insulating layer of the wiring board. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 146.
Re claim 4, Fortusini et al. discloses the optical circuit board according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of particles of the inorganic filler (air) are exposed from a wall surface of the cavity (fig. 2B).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortusini et al. in view of Takahashi et al. (DE 69733115 T2).
Re claim 5, Fortusini et al. discloses the optical circuit board according to claim 1, but fails to teach the wiring board comprises a second conductor layer at a bottom portion of the cavity.
However, having a second conductor layer (102, 103) at a bottom portion of the cavity (109) is well-known in the art as evidenced by Takahashi et al. (fig. 1A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a conductor layer at a bottom portion of Fortusini et al.’s cavity since such modification would have been an obvious design variation, well within the ordinary skill in the art, for an intended use to provide an electromagnetic shield.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kitaoka et al. (US 6327289 B1) discloses a submount having a cavity interposed between an optical waveguide and a laser (fig. 4B).
Brusberg et al. (US 20210271037 A1) discloses an optical-electrical substrate having a cavity interposed between an optical waveguide and a laser (fig. 18).
白土 洋次 (JP 5444975 B2) discloses an opto-electric hybrid board having a cavity interposed between an optical waveguide and a laser, and a conductive layer protrudes above the cavity (fig. 7).
Hochberg et al. (US 10598876 B2) discloses a fiber support having a cavity interposed between an optical waveguide and a PIC, wherein the end surface of the PIC waveguide faces the end surface of the optical waveguide (fig. 3).
Choi (US 11852877 B2) discloses a waveguide disposed on a conductive layer (fig. 7).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874