DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 4, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BAILEY (US 2016/0360787).
Bailey teaches an aerosol generation device comprising a power system comprising a first supercapacitor module (16) and a second supercapacitor module (18); and a controller (26), wherein the controller is configured to: control a power flow of the first supercapacitor module to power a heater associated with the aerosol generation device (para. 0028); and control a power flow of the second supercapacitor module to charge the first supercapacitor module (para. 0029 “A super capacitor auto balancing”).
Regarding claim 5, Bailey teaches the power flow of the first supercapacitor module is a pulse width modulated power flow (para. 0015, 0026) comprising one or more pulse width modulation cycles each having an on period and an off period; and wherein the controller is further configured to: control the power flow of the second supercapacitor module to charge the first supercapacitor module during the pulse width modulation cycle off period (para. 0029, claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAILEY (US 2016/0360787) in view of FERNANDO et al. (US 2009/0230117).
Bailey teaches an aerosol generation device comprising a power system comprising a first supercapacitor module (16) and a second supercapacitor module (18); and a controller (26), wherein the controller is configured to: control a power flow of the first supercapacitor module to power a heater associated with the aerosol generation device (para. 0028); and control a power flow of the second supercapacitor module to charge the first supercapacitor module (para. 0029).
Fernando teaches an aerosol generation device comprising a power system comprising a first supercapacitor module and a second supercapacitor module (abstract); and a controller (111 in figure 1, 215 in figure 2), wherein the controller is configured to control a power flow of the first supercapacitor module to power a heater associated with the aerosol generation device (para. 0055, 0058). Fernando teaches an embodiment where an electrical connection (207 in figure 2) for a charging component comprising a battery module (205), and wherein the power system does not comprise a battery (figure 2) and an embodiment where the power system does comprise a battery (figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the aerosol generation device of Bailey to comprise an electrical connection for a charging component comprising a battery module and the power system does not comprise a battery because although Bailey teaches that the power system comprises a battery (14 in figure 1), Fernando teaches that an electrical connection for a charging component and an external battery is a known equivalent of a power system that comprises a battery (see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Fernando teaches the first supercapacitor module and second supercapacitor module are connected in parallel (para. 0013), and the power system further comprises a first switching (S4 in figure 4) means connected between the first supercapacitor module and the second supercapacitor module, and a second switching means (S5) configured to be arranged between the first supercapacitor module and the heater, wherein the second switching means is configured to be controlled by the controller to control a power flow from the first supercapacitor module to the heater (para. 0062).
Regarding claim 10, Fernando teaches the aerosol generation device charging component is a charging case configured to accommodate the aerosol generation device (para. 0014), and to charge the second supercapacitor module when connected to the aerosol generation device (para. 0014).
Regarding claim 11, Fernando teaches the aerosol generation device charging component comprises a battery module configured to provide charge to the power system of the aerosol generation device (para. 0014).
Regarding claim 12, Fernando teaches a system comprising the aerosol generation device connectable to the aerosol generation device, wherein the aerosol generation device charging component is a charging case configured to accommodate the aerosol generation device, and to charge the second supercapacitor module when connected to the aerosol generation device (para. 0014).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAILEY (US 2016/0360787) in view of SUR et al (US 2017/0112191).
Bailey teaches an aerosol generation device comprising a power system comprising a first supercapacitor module (16) and a second supercapacitor module (18); and a controller (26), wherein the controller is configured to: control a power flow of the first supercapacitor module to power a heater associated with the aerosol generation device (para. 0028); and control a power flow of the second supercapacitor module to charge the first supercapacitor module (para. 0029). Bailey teaches the first supercapacitor module comprises at least one supercapacitor (16).
Sur teaches an aerosol generation device comprising a power system comprising a first supercapacitor module and a second supercapacitor module (para. 0069); and a controller (102), wherein the controller is configured to control a power flow of the first supercapacitor module to power a heater associated with the aerosol generation device (abstract). Sur teaches that the supercapacitor is hybrid capacitor (para. 0069). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use hybrid supercapacitors as the supercapacitors of Bailey because Sur teaches hybrid capacitors such as the LIC generally have features of a battery (high voltage and high energy density), and have a longer lifetime and cycle life as compared to other options, and is more environmentally friendly (para. 0070).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAILEY (US 2016/0360787) in view of LEE (US 2020/0329776).
Bailey teaches an aerosol generation device comprising a power system comprising a first supercapacitor module (16) and a second supercapacitor module (18); and a controller (26), wherein the controller is configured to: control a power flow of the first supercapacitor module to power a heater associated with the aerosol generation device (para. 0028); and control a power flow of the second supercapacitor module to charge the first supercapacitor module (para. 0029).
Lee teaches an aerosol generation device comprising a power system (11) and a controller (12) having a pulse width modulator (para. 0126-0127). Lee teaches the power system is operable in a float mode, wherein in the float mode the controller is configured to control the first supercapacitor module to apply the pulse width modulated power flow to the heater with a first duty cycle regime to maintain the heater substantially at an aerosol generation temperature (para. 0105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to operate the power system of Bailey in a float mode because Bailey teaches the power flow of the first supercapacitor module is a pulse width modulated power flow (para. 0015, 0026).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the power system is operable in a pre-heating mode, wherein in the pre-heating mode the controller is configured to control the first supercapacitor module to apply the pulse width modulated power flow to the heater with a second duty cycle regime, different to the first duty cycle regime, during the pre-heating mode before the float mode to heat the heater to the aerosol generation temperature (para. 0105).
Regarding claim 8, figures 8A-8C show the first duty cycle regime comprises one or more pulse width modulation cycles with a first duty cycle ratio D1; wherein the second duty cycle regime comprises one or more pulse width modulation cycles with a second duty cycle ratio D2;wherein D2 = D1 x K, where K is a coefficient that is ≥1 (para. 0105).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the power system is operable in a post-float mode, wherein in the post-float mode the controller is configured to: disable the power flow to the heater following the float mode for a remaining time period in the aerosolization session (para. 0151). Bailey teaches the controller is configured to control the second energy storage module to charge the first energy storage module para. 0029 “A super capacitor auto balancing”).
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741