DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101./
Claims 1-25 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-25 of co-pending Application No. 18/033698. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-12, 20 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kambe (JP 2019-046983 A).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kambe teaches that an inductor coil (1, Fig. 1; para 0018-0023), comprising:
a first component (2A, Fig. 3);
a second component (2B);
a length of conductor (4);
a heat sink (5, 6, formed the heat sink in Fig. 1; para 0018);
wherein, the first component is located adjacent to the second component;
wherein, a core (2) is formed from the first component and the second
component; wherein, a first part of the length (i.e. length of coil 4) of conductor is wound around at least the core to form a plurality of turns of conductor;
wherein, the heat sink comprises a thermally conductive material (see para
0018);
wherein, the heat sink comprises a first part (6) and a second part (5);
wherein, the first part of the heat sink has a first material (i.e. thermally
conductive resin; para 0018) and/or structural characteristic and the second part of the heat sink has a second material (i.e. iron) and/or structural characteristic different to the first material and/or structural characteristic; and
wherein, an inner surface (i.e. inner surface of 6 in Fig. 1) of the first part of the heat sink is in contact with an outer surface (i.e. outer surface of 4 in Fig. 1) of a part of the plurality of turns of conductor.
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Kambe teaches that the first material or structural characteristic comprises a magnetic permeability i.e. permeability of thermally conductive resin) and the second material or structural characteristic comprises a magnetic permeability (i.e. permeability of iron) greater than the magnetic permeability of the first part of the heat sink (it is known that iron has the highest permeability than any other materials).
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 1, Kambe teaches that first material or structural characteristic comprises a resistance (i.e. resistance of thermally conductive resin) or resistivity and the second material or structural characteristic comprises a resistance (ice, resistance of iron) or resistivity less than the resistance or resistivity of the first part of the heat sink (it is known that iron has lower resistance than insulating resin material).
Regarding Claim 8:
As applied to claim 1, Kambe teaches that the first part of the heat sink has a thickness (i.e. thickness of 6 in horizontal direction in fig. 1 ) an axial direction (i.e. horizontal direction in Fig. 1) of the core that is less than a thickness (i.e. thickness of 5 in horizontal direction in fig. 1 )of the second part of the heat sink in the axial direction of the core (construed from Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9:
As applied to claim 1, Kambe teaches that the first part of the heat sink comprises a plurality of slots (7 or 8; Fig. 7-8) or grooves.
Regarding Claim 10:
As applied to claim 9, Kambe teaches that the plurality of slots or grooves extend to the inner surface of the first part of the heat sink (see Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 11:
As applied to claim 9, Kambe teaches that the plurality of slots or grooves extend to a boundary between the first part of the heat sink and the second part of the heat sink (see Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 12:
As applied to claim 9, Kambe teaches that the plurality of slots or grooves each have a longitudinal axis (axis of 8 in Fig. 8) that intersects with a central axis (i.e. axis of the core 2 in Fig. 2) of the core.
Regarding Claim 20:
As applied to claim 1, Kambe teaches that the first part and second part of the heat sink extend substantially in a direction perpendicular to a central axis of the core (construed from Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 23:
Kambe teaches that an inductor coil (1, Fig. 1; para 0018-0023), comprising:
a first component (2A, Fig. 3);
a second component (2B);
a length of conductor (4);
a heat sink (5, 6, formed the heat sink in Fig. 1; para 0018);
wherein, the first component is located adjacent to the second component;
wherein, a core (2) is formed from the second component;
wherein, a first part of the length (i.e. length of coil 4) of conductor is wound
around at least the core to form a plurality of turns of conductor;
wherein, the heat sink comprises a thermally conductive material (see para
0018);
wherein, the heat sink comprises a first part (6) and a second part (5);
wherein, the first part of the heat sink has a first material i.e. thermally
conductive resin; para 0018) and/or structural characteristic and the second part of the heat sink has a second material (i.e. iron) and/or structural characteristic different to the first material and/or structural characteristic; and
wherein, an inner surface (i.e. inner surface of 6 in Fig. 1) of the first part of the heat sink is in contact with an outer surface (i.e. outer surface of 4 in Fig. 1) of a part of the plurality of turns of conductor.
Regarding Claim 24:
Kambe teaches that a method of cooling an inductor coil (1, Fig. 1; para 0018-0023), wherein the inductor coil comprises:
a first component (2A, Fig. 3); a second component (2B); a length of conductor (4); wherein, the first component is located adjacent to the second component; wherein, a core (2) is formed from the first component and the second component; wherein, a first part of the length (i.e. length of coil 4) of conductor is wound around at least the core to form a plurality of turns of conductor; and wherein the method comprises:
utilizing a heat sink (5, 6, formed the heat sink; para 0018), wherein, the heat sink comprises a thermally conductive material (see para 0018); wherein, the heat sink comprises a first part (6) and a second part (5); wherein, the first part of the heat sink has a first material (ice, thermally conductive resin; para 0018) and/or structural characteristic and the second part of the heat sink has a second material (i.e. iron) and/or structural characteristic different to the first material and/or structural characteristic; and
wherein, utilizing the heat sink comprises contacting an inner surface (i.e. inner surface of 6 in Fig. 1) of the first part of the heat sink is with an outer surface (i.e. outer surface of 4 in Fig. 1) of a part of the plurality of turns of conductor.
Regarding Claim 25:
Kambe teaches that a method of cooling an inductor coil (1, Fig. 1; para 0018-0023), wherein the inductor coil comprises:
a first component (2A, Fig. 3); a second component (2B); a length of conductor (4); wherein, the first component is located adjacent to the second component; wherein, a core (2) is formed from the second component; wherein, a first part of the length (i.e. length of coil 4) of conductor is wound around at least the core to form a plurality of turns of conductor; and wherein the method comprises:
utilizing a heat sink (5, 6, formed the heat sink; para 0018), wherein, the heat sink comprises a thermally conductive material (see para 0018); wherein, the heat sink comprises a first part (6) and a second part (5); wherein, the first part of the heat sink has a first material (ice, thermally conductive resin; para 0018) and/or structural characteristic and the second part of the heat sink has a second material (i.e. iron) and/or structural characteristic different to the first material and/or structural characteristic; and
wherein, utilizing the heat sink comprises contacting an inner surface (i.e. inner surface of 6 in Fig. 1) of the first part of the heat sink is with an outer surface (i.e. outer surface of 4 in Fig. 1) of a part of the plurality of turns of conductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambe in view of Tsuchida (US 20200194160 A1).
Regarding Claim 13:
As applied to claim 1, Kambe teaches that the second part of the heat sink except the
second part of the heat sink is configured to connect to a printed circuit board.
However, Tsuchida teaches that the second part (40) of the heat sink except the
second part of the heat sink is configured to connect to a printed circuit board (11, Fig.3; para 0035).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second part of the heat sink is configured to connect to a printed circuit board to provide a flexible base that mechanically supports and electrically connects components like resistors and chips.
Regarding Claim 14:
As applied to claim 1, Kambe teaches the heat sink except least one third part located on at opposite side of the second part of the heat sink to the first part of the heat sink, and wherein the at least one third part of the heat sink is configured to transfer heat away from the second part of the heat sink
However, Tsuchida teaches that the heat sink comprises at least one third part (43; para 0054) located on at opposite side of the second part of the heat sink to the first part of the heat sink, and wherein the at least one third part of the heat sink is configured to transfer heat away from the second part of the heat sink.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have least one third part located on at opposite side of the second part of the heat sink to the first part of the heat sink, and wherein the at least one third part of the heat sink is configured to transfer heat away from the second part of the heat sink which helps it move heat out of the system more quickly.
Regarding Claim 15:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Kambe teaches that a third part of the at least one third part the heat sink comprises a finned structured (construed from Tsuchida’s Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 19:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Kambe teaches the second part of the heat sink except the second part of the heat sink comprises one or more pins configured for mechanical alignment with a printed circuit board or for mechanical fixation to the printed circuit board.
However, Tsuchida teaches that the second part (40) of the heat sink comprises one or more pins (43) configured for mechanical alignment with a printed circuit board (11, Fig.3; para 0035) or for mechanical fixation to the printed circuit board
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second part of the heat sink comprises one or more pins configured for mechanical alignment with a printed circuit board or for mechanical fixation to the printed circuit board to provide a flexible base that mechanically supports and electrically connects components like resistors and chips.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 16-18 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 recites, a circumferential resistance of the first part of the heat sink is greater than a radial resistance of the first part of the heat sink, and wherein the circumferential resistance of the first part of the heat sink is greater than a radial resistance of the second part of the heat sink and is greater than a circumferential resistance of the second part of the heat sink.
Claim 16 recites, a third part of the at least one third part the heat sink comprises a connection terminal.
Claim 21 recites, a core portion of the first component is spaced from a core portion of the second component to form a gap in the core; wherein the first part of the length of conductor is wound around the core and the gap in the core; wherein an inner part of the conductor of two or more turns of the conductor located around the core are spaced from a central axis of the core by at least one first distance; and wherein an inner part of the conductor of one or more turns of the conductor located around the gap in the core is spaced from the central axis by at least one second distance greater than the at least one first distance.
Claim 22 recites, a core portion of the first component is spaced from a core portion of the second component to form a gap in the core; wherein a spacer is located in the gap in the core to form a gap around the core, wherein an outer surface of a portion of the spacer is located a distance from a central axis of the core that is greater than a distance from the central axis to an outer surface of the first component and an outer surface of the second component that form the core
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
,
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837