DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 04/25/2023 has been received and entered. Claims 1-28 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2023, 10/01/2024 and 10/07/2025 was filed and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bulk”, “anti-reflective nanostructure”, “midpoint”, “mask” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 14, 21-22 and 27-28, it is unclear and confusing what is meant by “bulk” and “anti-reflective nanostructures”. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the claimed of “bulk” meaning of peaks over a substrate and claimed “anti-reflective nanostructures” for a structure with an anti-reflection function over the peaks in the anti-reflective article.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-16, 21-22 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submitted prior art, Miyahara et al., US 2012/0229906 A1.
Claim 1 is anticipated by Miyahara et al. figures 1-2 and accompanying text which discloses an anti-reflective article 1 comprising:
. a substrate 10 comprising a surface (upper surface of 10) and a bulk 21
. an arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures 20 along the surface of the substrate 10, each anti-reflective nanostructure of the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures being supported by the bulk of the substrate (figs 1-2), each anti-reflective nanostructure of the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructure tapering from the bulk of the substrate to define a respective peak 21 (figs 1-2)
. wherein at least some of the anti-reflective nanostructures of the arrangement of anti- reflective nanostructures are linked with an adjacent anti-reflective nanostructure of the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures via a respective interconnection (where the bottom of peak is), the respective interconnections being in addition to the bulk of the substrate supporting the anti-reflective nanostructures (figs 1-2)
. wherein the respective interconnections are disposed at or above a midpoint (point in the mid-way of 20 and 21) between the peaks of the anti-reflective nanostructures and the bulk of the substrate (figs 1-2).
Re claim 2, wherein the substrate comprises the respective interconnections (figs 1-2).
Re claim 3, wherein the interconnections are provided by a portion of the substrate between the adjacent anti-reflective nanostructures of the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures (figs 1-2).
Re claims 4 and 21, wherein the portion of the substrate would define a saddle-shaped section of the surface (saddle-shaped formed by a cut-section along the substrate surface).
Re claims 8 and 22, wherein a filling/distribution material 30 across the substrate disposed in cavities defined by the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures such that each interconnection is provided by a respective portion of the filling (fig. 2).
Re claims 9 and 25-26, further comprising a continuous film 30 extending across the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures such that the continuous film provides the interconnections between the peaks of the anti-reflective nanostructures (fig 2).
Re claims 10-11, wherein the arrangement anti-reflective nanostructures is configured such that the peaks of each pair of adjacent anti-reflective nanostructures in the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures are spaced apart by a distance smaller than a wavelength of light incident upon the anti-reflective article ([0054]).
Re claim 11, wherein the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures establishes an effective index of refraction for light incident upon the anti-reflective article, and each anti-reflective nanostructure of the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures is configured such that the effective index of refraction exhibits a continuous gradient from the respective peak of the anti-reflective nanostructure to a base of the anti- reflective nanostructure (fig. 5, [0114]).
Re claim 12, wherein the substrate comprises a base substrate 10 and a layer 20 supported by the base substrate; and the layer comprises the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures (figs 1-2).
Re claim 13, wherein the surface of the substrate inherently having a shaped for defining the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures.
Re claims 14-16, Miyahara et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above, and further disclose a height at which adjacent anti-reflective nanostructures of the arrangement of anti-reflective nanostructures (height of 20) are linked by an interconnection varies across the substrate, and wherein at least some of the interconnections are disposed at a position equidistant between the peaks of the anti-reflective nanostructures and the bulk of the substrate (figs 1-2).
Re claims 27 and 28, Miyahara et al. further disclose a method of fabricating the claimed anti-reflective of the same including steps of forming a mask ([0017]-[0019]), etching through opening of the mask ([0021]) to form the claimed tapered anti-reflect structure as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 17-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s submitted prior art, Miyahara et al., US 2012/0229906 A1, in view of Yamada et al., US 2017/0309364 A1.
Re claims 5-6, 17-20 and 23, Miyahara et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for a distribution of nanoparticles disposed across the surface of the substrate such that each interconnection is provided by a respective subset of the distribution of nanoparticles. Yamada et al. disclose nanoparticles with different size disposing across the surface of the substrate such that each interconnection is provided by a respective subset of the distribution of nanoparticles (figs 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ nanoparticles over the Miyahara et al. anti-reflective article, as show by Yamada et al., to prevent deterioration of the quality due to optical defects such as a moire pattern (Yamada et al., [0049]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUNG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871