DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amended Claims 1 and 4, canceled Claims 2, 3, 7, and 10, and withdrawn Claim 12 in the response filed on 7/6/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11, and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11804601 (“Chen et al.”) in view of US Pub. No. 20160149205 (“Theivanayagam et al.”) and US Pub. No. 20140096375 (“Hampel et al.”).
Chen et al. discloses an electrode comprising a blend of lithium manganese iron phosphate and lithium oxide of transition metals.
Chen et al. does disclose the electrode having a porosity of less than 40% and a current collector undergoing chemical pickling to obtain a hallowing rate of less than 10%.
Theivanayagam et al. teaches an electrode having a porosity of 15-60% and comprising a current collector formed by a metal strip and two faces, in which at least one of the faces is coated with a composition of electrochemically active materials (Abstract, [0013], and [0060]), said composition comprising a blend of a lithium metal phosphate compound of LiaMnbFecDdPO4 and lithium metal oxide compound of LiaCobMnc(M)dNi1-(b-c+d)O2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electrode with a low porosity as claimed to achieve an electrode with a high density of active materials [0060].
Hampel et al. teaches a 15 to 25 μm thick current collector that has undergone chemical pickling of at least one of the faces thereof (Abstract and [0012]). The pickling rate is set in such a way that the removed thickness is less than 1 μm, in particular less than 0.5 μm or preferably 0.01 to 0.1 μm [0010]. Therefore, Hampel et al. teaches a hallowing rate that overlaps with the claimed range of less than 10%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a current collector undergo chemical pickling with a hallowing rate of less than 10% in order to degrease the current collector and produce a current collector with much better electrical and mechanical properties ([0011] and [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 recite a lithium manganese iron phosphate having the following formula: LixMn1-y-zFeyMzPO4, with 2/3≤1-y-z≤0.9, 0.05≤y≤0.5, and 0≤z≤0.2. That is, the concentration of Mn is dependent on the concentrations of Fe and M, such that increase Fe and/or M directly decreases the Mn fraction. Therefore, the full claimed ranges of Fe and M cannot be satisfied while simultaneously maintaining the specified Mn content of 2/3 to 0.9, making some compositions within the stated ranges mathematically impossible (e.g. y=0.5 and z=0, Mn is 0.5, which will not meet the Mn range of 2/3 to 0.9).
Further clarification and/or correction is required in the next response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20140138591 (“Yoon et al.”), in view of US Pub. No. 20160149205 (“Theivanayagam et al.”), and in view of US Pub. No. 20140096375 (“Hampel et al.”).
With regards to Claims 1, 4, and 8, Yoon et al. teaches an electrode having a porosity of 10-90 vol % and comprising a current collector formed by a metal strip and two faces, in which at least one of the faces is coated with a composition of electrochemically active materials ([0156] and [0157]), said composition comprising:
from 90% to 99% by weight of lithium manganese iron phosphate relative to the total weight of all the electrochemically active materials of the composition, said lithium manganese iron phosphate having the following formula: LiaFe1-x-yMnxDy(PO4)z, wherein 1.0<a≤1.10, 0<x≤0.5, 0≤y≤0.10, 1.0<z≤1.10 and D is selected from the group consisting of Co, Ni, V, Nb, and combinations thereof (e.g. Li1.000Fe0.460Mn0.500Co0.040PO4 [0061]), (Abstract, [0053], [0061], [0062], [0064], [0067], and [0077]) and
from 1 to 10% by weight of lithium oxide of transition metals relative to the total weight of all the electrochemically active materials of the composition, said lithium oxide having the following formula: Li1±δNipCoqAl(1-p-q)O2, where 0<δ<0.1, p≥0.3, and q≤0.5 ([0062], [0064], [0077], [0144], [0145], and [0147]).
Yoon et al. does not teach its lithium manganese iron phosphate having a Mn content from 2/3 to 0.9, and its current collector undergoing chemical pickling to at least one the faces thereof.
Theivanayagam et al. teaches an electrode comprising lithium manganese iron phosphate having the following formula: LiaMnbFecDdPO4, wherein a is a number from 0.85 to 1.15, b is from 0.51 to 0.95, c is from 0.05 to 0.49, d is from 0.000 to 0.1, and D is one or more of Mg, Al, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Zr, Nb, and Mo ([0041]-[0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Mn content to be 2/3 to 0.9 in order to improve cycle life with desirable voltage discharge profiles [0051].
Hampel et al. teaches a 15 to 25 μm thick current collector that has undergone chemical pickling of at least one of the faces thereof (Abstract and [0012]). The pickling rate is set in such a way that the removed thickness is less than 1 μm, in particular less than 0.5 μm or preferably 0.01 to 0.1 μm [0010]. Therefore, Hampel et al. teaches a hallowing rate that overlaps with the claimed range of less than 10%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Yoon et al.’s current collector undergo chemical pickling with a hallowing rate of less than 10% in order to degrease the current collector and produce a current collector with much better electrical and mechanical properties ([0011] and [0018]).
With regards to Claim 5, Yoon et al. teaches the current collector is a strip made of aluminum or aluminum alloy [0156].
With regards to Claim 6, Yoon et al. teaches the current collector is coated on both faces with said composition of electrochemically active materials [0156].
With regards to Claim 9, Yoon et al. teaches a method of depositing the active material composition on a current collector by preparing a paste comprising the active material composition. The amount of active material is typically loaded at about 10-20 mg/cm2 [0157]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
With regards to Claims 11 and 13, Yoon et al. teaches the current collector is solid, and therefore should not have a through hole [0156].
With regards to Claims 14 and 15, Yoon et al. teaches a lithium-ion type electrochemical cell comprising the at least one electrode ([0005] and [0007]).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160149205 (“Theivanayagam et al.”), in view of US Pub. No. 20140138591 (“Yoon et al.”), and in view of US Pub. No. 20140096375 (“Hampel et al.”).
With regards to Claims 1, 4, and 8, Theivanayagam et al. teaches an electrode having a porosity of 15-60% and comprising a current collector formed by a metal strip and two faces, in which at least one of the faces is coated with a composition of electrochemically active materials (Abstract, [0013], and [0060]), said composition comprising:
Lithium metal phosphate having the following formula: LiaMnbFecDdPO4, wherein a is a number from 0.85 to 1.15, b is from 0.51 to 0.95, c is from 0.05 to 0.49, d is from 0.000 to 0.1, and D is one or more of Mg, Al, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Zr, Nb, and Mo ([0041]-[0050]), and
Lithium metal oxide having the following formula: LiaCobMnc(M)dNi1-(b-c+d)O2, wherein (M) is preferably Al, a is greater than 0 to 1.2, b is 0.1 to 0.5, c is 0.05 to 0.4, d is 0 to 0.4, and b+c+d is 0.15 to 0.5 ([0030] and [0031]).
While Theivanayagam et al. teaches any useful amount to mix the lithium metal phosphate and lithium metal oxide may be used [0040], Theivanayagam et al. does not explicitly teach from 90% to 99% by weight of lithium metal phosphate and from 1 to 10% by weight of a lithium metal oxide relative to a total weight of all the electrochemically active materials of the composition. Theivanayagam et al. does not teach its current collector undergoing chemical pickling to at least one the faces thereof.
Yoon et al. teaches an electrode having a porosity of 10-90 vol % and comprising a current collector formed by a metal strip and two faces, in which at least one of the faces is coated with a composition of electrochemically active materials ([0156] and [0157]), said composition comprising: from 90% to 99% by weight of lithium manganese iron phosphate LiaFe1-x-yMnxDy(PO4)z, and from 1 to 10% by weight of lithium oxide of transition metals Li1±δNipCoqAl(1-p-q)O2 relative to a total weight of all the electrochemically active materials of the composition (Abstract, [0053], [0061], [0062], [0064], [0067], [0077], [0144], [0145], and [0147]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a weight ratio of Theivanayagam et al.’s lithium metal phosphate to lithium metal oxide be 90:10 to 99:1 in order to achieve desirable electrochemical performance characteristics, such as high energy density and capacity [0087].
Hampel et al. teaches a 15 to 25 μm thick current collector that has undergone chemical pickling of at least one of the faces thereof (Abstract and [0012]). The pickling rate is set in such a way that the removed thickness is less than 1 μm, in particular less than 0.5 μm or preferably 0.01 to 0.1 μm [0010]. Therefore, Hampel et al. teaches a hallowing rate that overlaps with the claimed range of less than 10%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Theivanayagam et al.’s current collector undergo chemical pickling with a hallowing rate of less than 10% in order to degrease the current collector and produce a current collector with much better electrical and mechanical properties ([0011] and [0018]).
With regards to Claim 5, Theivanayagam et al. teaches the current collector is a strip made of aluminum or aluminum alloy [0056].
With regards to Claim 6, Theivanayagam et al. teaches the current collector is coated on both faces with said composition of electrochemically active materials [0013].
With regards to Claim 9, Theivanayagam et al. teaches its electrode having a density of about 3 g/cc of the composition of active materials ([0075] and Table 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
With regards to Claims 11 and 13, Theivanayagam et al. teaches the current collector is solid, and therefore should not have a through hole [0056].
With regards to Claims 14 and 15, Theivanayagam et al. teaches a lithium-ion type electrochemical cell comprising the at least one electrode (Abstract and [0001]).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160149205 (“Theivanayagam et al.”), in view of US Pub. No. 20150270544 (“Yoshida et al.”), and in view of US Pub. No. 20140096375 (“Hampel et al.”).
With regards to Claims 1, 4, and 8, Theivanayagam et al. teaches an electrode having a porosity of 15-60% and comprising a current collector formed by a metal strip and two faces, in which at least one of the faces is coated with a composition of electrochemically active materials (Abstract, [0013], and [0060]), said composition comprising:
Lithium metal phosphate having the following formula: LiaMnbFecDdPO4, wherein a is a number from 0.85 to 1.15, b is from 0.51 to 0.95, c is from 0.05 to 0.49, d is from 0.000 to 0.1, and D is one or more of Mg, Al, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Zr, Nb, and Mo ([0041]-[0050]), and
Lithium metal oxide having the following formula: LiaCobMnc(M)dNi1-(b-c+d)O2, wherein (M) is preferably Al, a is greater than 0 to 1.2, b is 0.1 to 0.5, c is 0.05 to 0.4, d is 0 to 0.4, and b+c+d is 0.15 to 0.5 ([0030] and [0031]).
While Theivanayagam et al. teaches any useful amount to mix the lithium metal phosphate and lithium metal oxide may be used [0040], Theivanayagam et al. does not explicitly teach from 90% to 99% by weight of lithium metal phosphate and from 1 to 10% by weight of a lithium metal oxide relative to a total weight of all the electrochemically active materials of the composition. Theivanayagam et al. does not teach its current collector undergoing chemical pickling to at least one the faces thereof.
Yoshida et al. teaches an electrode comprising a blend of a lithium manganese iron phosphate compound of LiαFeβM1-βXO4-γZy including LMFP (LiFe0.2Mn0.8PO4) ([0047], [0058], and Table 1) blended with a lithium oxide of transition metals compound of LiγM’zO2 including NMC (LiNi0.5Mn0.3Co0.2O2) ([0047], [0064]-[0067], and Table 2). Yoshida et al. teaches the amount of NMC is 40% or less [0069], so it follows that the balance of LMFP is 60% or more, which overlaps the claimed range of greater than 90% to 99% by weight of lithium manganese iron phosphate. Examiner notes that product claims with numerical ranges which overlap prior art ranges were held to have been obvious under 35 USC 103. In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974); In re Fields 134 USPQ 242 (CCPA 1962); In re Nehrenberg 126 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1960). Also see MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Theivanayagam et al.’s lithium metal phosphate be from 90% to 99% by weight and lithium metal oxide be from 1 to 10% by weight in order to achieve desirable cycle characteristics [0069].
Hampel et al. teaches a 15 to 25 μm thick current collector that has undergone chemical pickling of at least one of the faces thereof (Abstract and [0012]). The pickling rate is set in such a way that the removed thickness is less than 1 μm, in particular less than 0.5 μm or preferably 0.01 to 0.1 μm [0010]. Therefore, Hampel et al. teaches a hallowing rate that overlaps with the claimed range of less than 10%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Theivanayagam et al.’s current collector undergo chemical pickling with a hallowing rate of less than 10% in order to degrease the current collector and produce a current collector with much better electrical and mechanical properties ([0011] and [0018]).
With regards to Claim 5, Theivanayagam et al. teaches the current collector is a strip made of aluminum or aluminum alloy [0056].
With regards to Claim 6, Theivanayagam et al. teaches the current collector is coated on both faces with said composition of electrochemically active materials [0013].
With regards to Claim 9, Theivanayagam et al. teaches its electrode having a density of about 3 g/cc of the composition of active materials ([0075] and Table 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
With regards to Claims 11 and 13, Theivanayagam et al. teaches the current collector is solid, and therefore should not have a through hole [0056].
With regards to Claims 14 and 15, Theivanayagam et al. teaches a lithium-ion type electrochemical cell comprising the at least one electrode (Abstract and [0001]).
Conclusion
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785