DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In Applicant’s response dated March 4, 2026, Claims 1-4, 12, 17-20, and 23-24 are amended. Claim 11 is canceled. Claims 1-9, 12-14, 16-20 and 23-24 are pending and examined.
Status of Application
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections in the Office Action dated November 26, 2025; however, additional rejections are provided below.
With the significant indefiniteness of the additional 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections provided below, the Examiner has again attempted to interpret the claims to examine the instant invention as it relates to the prior art to advance prosecution. As with the previous rejections in the Office Action dated November 26, 2025, the rejections provided below required significant claim interpretations and are further modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to Claims 1-4, 12, 17-20, and 23-24 and cancellation of Claim 11. Due to the significant number of Applicant’s amendments listed below which were different from the Examiner’s interpretation applied in the previous rejection, the scope of the invention has changed. Thus, the Examiner had to reconsider the prior art for all that was taught. Further, with the clarity provided by amendments to claims 1, 20, and 23-24, a rejection over instant claim 1 with incorporated claim 11 and additional rejections over Chu in view of Introduction to New Materials are provided for claims 20 and 23-24 below.
Limitations not previously considered:
Claim 1, line 3 was amended to a “first” negative electrode, which is different from the interpretation applied by the Examiner in the recited Office Action, and line 5 was not modified as interpreted by the Examiner in the recited Office Action. Further, as described below, Claim 1 now requires limitation a or b and limitation a and b, which adds additional lack of clarity of the claimed invention.
Claim 2, lines 4-5 were amended differently from the Examiner’s interpretation applied in the recited Office Action.
Claim 3 was amended in line 2 to include a limitation “first” negative electrode, which was not previously considered.
Claim 4 is amended to include a limitation “a second” negative electrode in lines 2-3, which was not previously considered.
Claim 12 is amended to include a limitation “first” negative electrode in lines 3 and 4, which was not previously considered.
Claim 17 was amended to include the limitation “each of the first and second positive electrodes” in line 2, which was not previously considered.
Claim 18 is amended to include multiple new limitations in lines 2-7, which were not previously considered.
Claim 19 is amended to include the limitation “first” negative electrode in line 2 and “two or more first unit cells”, both of which were not previously considered.
Claim 20 is amended to include limitations “second” positive electrolyte in line 2, “second” solid electrolyte in lines 2-3, “second” positive electrodes in line 3, “second” positive electrode 5, “an outermost” positive electrode current collector in lines 5-6, and “the outermost” positive current collector in line 7.
Claim 23 lines 5-8 are amended to include limitations “an outermost second positive electrode and the second solid electrolyte that faces the outermost second positive electrode and an outermost second negative electrode, the unit stack comprising the second porous support layer, a positive electrode active material, and the second solid electrolyte, which were not previously considered.
Claim 24 lines 5-8 are amended to include limitations “an outermost second positive electrode and the second solid electrolyte that faces the outermost second positive electrode and an outermost second negative electrode, the unit stack comprising the second porous support layer, a positive electrode current collector, a positive electrode active material, and the second solid electrolyte”, which were not previously considered.
Claim Interpretation
Instant Claim 1 recites in lines 2-4 “a) two or more first unit cells…; or” and in lines 5-6 “b) two or more unit cells”. For purpose of compact prosecution, this is interpreted as the a) “two or more first unit cells” are not the same as the b) “two or more unit cells”.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 5 recites “on a surface opposite to the one surface the first porous support layer” which should be corrected to “on a surface opposite to the one surface of the first porous support layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12-14, 16-19, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent Claim 1 recites a bipolar all-solid battery including:
(a) two or more first unit cells each comprising a first positive electrode, a first solid electrolyte, and a first negative electrode being connected to each other in series, and a first porous support layer provided at an interface therebetween; or
(b) two or more unit cells each comprising a second positive electrode, a second solid electrolyte, and a second porous support layer being connected to each other in series,
wherein each of the first porous support layer and the second porous support layer is configured such that a thickness thereof is reduced when pressure is applied thereto and the thickness thereof is restored when the pressure is relieved, thereby adjusting stress in the all-solid- state battery.
The “or” in line 4 indicates that only a or b is required. However, claim 1 now also requires “each of the first porous support layer and the second porous support layer” in line 7. Therefore, both a and b are required. Because both a or b and a and b are required in the same claim, the instant invention of claim 1 lacks clarity, and is therefore indefinite. Further, claims 2-3, 8-9, 12-13, 16-19 require the limitations of a due to recited limitations or dependence. Claims 4-7, 12, 14, 17, 18, 20, 23, and 24 require the limitations of b due to recited limitations or dependence. Claims 17 and 18 require both a and b. Clarification of the invention of claim 1 is required. To advance prosecution, the Examiner has interpretated both limitations a and b to be required.
Claim 2 requires “the negative electrode” in line 1. Claim 2 depends on claim 1, which recites a first negative electrode in line 2. Either an additional negative electrode is claimed and the limitation has insufficient antecedent basis or “the negative electrode” of claim 2 should be corrected to “the first negative electrode”. For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted it as “the first negative electrode. Correction is required.
Claim 19 recites in line 4 “wherein the positive electrode of another of the two or more first unit cells”. Claim 19 depends on Claim 1, which recites a first positive electrode in line 2 and second positive electrode in line 5; therefore, it is unclear what positive electrode is claimed, which makes the claim indefinite. For purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted the claim limitation as “wherein the first positive electrode of another of the two or more first unit cells”.
Correction is required.
Claims 23 and 24 recite “the two or more second unit cells” in lines 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims, which makes the claims indefinite.
Claims 23 and 24 depend on claim 1, which does not recite two or more second unit cells. Applicant can correct the indefiniteness by amending claims 23 and 24 by deleting the term “second” or by amending claim 1, line 5 to “b) two or more second unit cells”, which would also make the Claim Interpretation applied above unnecessary.
Correction to claims 23 and 24, or alternatively claim 1, is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12-14, 16-20, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda US20110014520A1, as provided on the IDS dated July 29, 2025, in view of Jang US20200243838A1, as provided on the IDS dated July 29, 2025.
Regarding Claim 1, Ueda discloses a bipolar all-solid-state battery including:
two or more first unit cells each comprising a first positive electrode, a first solid electrolyte, and a first negative electrode being connected to each other in series and a first porous support layer is provided at an interface therebetween [Ueda 0055, 0094-0106 and throughout, Fig. 2, Ueda discloses a bipolar battery with at least two first unit cells connected in series comprising a negative electrode, and a positive electrode, and a separator 13 between them where the cells can be repeated as many times as needed for the required battery voltage with a separator 13 between each unit (bipolar electrode 12 with units 24, 25, 26) [Ueda 0055, see modified Fig. 2 below]. Ueda further discloses an embodiment where the separator can be a solid electrolyte 13 [0094-0106] where a porous base, as a support member, is impregnated with polymer electrolyte [0106]. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Ueda’s embodiment is that each layer 13 in Ueda’s bipolar battery is both a support member and a solid electrolyte where the porous support would be considered to be on both sides of each solid electrolyte. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ueda’s embodiment where separator 13 is a solid electrolyte with a porous support with Ueda’s bipolar battery for the predictable result of a bipolar battery with improved safety since there is no liquid junction or risk of liquid leakage [Ueda 0095, 0116, and throughout]. For clarity on how Ueda reads on the claim limitations, see modified Fig. 2 below showing the first unit cell and two or more first unit cells in Ueda’s bipolar battery using the repeating bipolar plate separated by layer 13 as taught [Ueda 0055]. Thus, the claimed two or more first unit cells is met by Ueda. If the specific configuration of the first unit cell is not met by Ueda, such configuration is obvious over Ueda by mere rearrangement of parts, duplication of parts, or omission of unnecessary parts. See MPEP 2144.04 II and VI.];
Figure 2a modified to show Ueda’s first unit cell
Figure 2a modified Ueda showing a bipolar battery with three first unit cells between two second unit cells
and (see interpretation due to indefiniteness above)
two or more unit cells each comprising a second positive electrode, a second solid electrolyte, and a second porous support layer being connected to each other in series [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, Ueda Fig. 2, see modified Fig. 2 above for two or more unit cells with the second positive electrode and a second solid electrolyte. As described above, Ueda further discloses an embodiment where the separator can be a solid electrolyte 13 [0094-0106] where a porous base, as a support member, is impregnated with polymer electrolyte [0106]. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Ueda’s embodiment is that each layer 13 in Ueda’s bipolar battery is both a support member and a solid electrolyte where the porous support would be considered to be on both sides of each solid electrolyte. As with (a), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ueda’s embodiment where separator 13 is a solid electrolyte with a porous support with Ueda’s bipolar battery for the predictable result of a bipolar battery with improved safety since there is no liquid junction or risk of liquid leakage [Ueda 0095, 0116, and throughout]. Thus, the claimed two or more unit cells is met by Ueda. If the specific configuration of the two or more unit cells is not met by Ueda, such configuration is obvious over Ueda by mere rearrangement of parts, duplication of parts, or omission of unnecessary parts. See MPEP 2144.04 II and VI.].
Modified Ueda is silent to wherein each of the first porous support layer and the second porous support layer is configured such that a thickness thereof is reduced when pressure is applied thereto and the thickness thereof is restored when the pressure is relieved, thereby adjusting stress in the all-solid-state battery. Jang discloses a battery with a negative electrode which is a lithium metal [Jang 0013 and throughout, Fig. 2] or a current collector having no active material layer [Jang 0077-0078] and a porous polymer elastic support [Jang 0064-0073 and throughout]. Jang discloses compression to provide good contact between the anode, the porous elastic support, and the cathode [Jang 0051-0052 and throughout] and the porous elastic polymer support has a recoverable elastic strain from 2% to 500% [Jang 0025-0028, 0049 and throughout] that is fully recovered when the load is released [Jang 0025-0028, 0076], which reads on the claimed configured such that a thickness thereof is reduced when pressure is applied thereto and the thickness thereof is restored when the pressure is relieved. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Jang’s teaching about fully recoverable and compressible porous supports in each unit cell in Ueda’s battery (see modified Fig. 2 above) by merely duplicating Jang’s porous supports, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B, and applying one to each of Ueda’s separators 13, which is a solid electrolyte with a first/second porous support as described above in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Jang’s teachings about the benefits of fully recoverable and compressible porous supports in Ueda’s battery by adding porous supports in each unit cell and first unit cell of Ueda’s battery and/or to substitute either of Jang’s disclosed negative electrodes with a porous support as described above in Ueda’s battery for the predictable result of a high capacity with high energy density battery [Jang 0002] with recoverable compressive elastic strain [Jang 0017, 0057], protecting the anode [Jang 0022] and providing an interface more conducive to uniform deposition of Li metal during battery charging [Jang 0028,0057], with the additional benefit of a battery where the porous elastic support layer can accommodated the changes in thickness due to the dissolution and redepositing of lithium during charging to support good electrical contact between the battery layers [Jang 0028, 0144, 0150].
Regarding Claim 2, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein
the first [See 112b interpretation above.] negative electrode of one of the two or more first unit cells is disposed on one surface of the first porous support layer [Ueda throughout, Fig. 2, See modified Figs. in claim 1 above and below for clarity], and
wherein the first positive electrode of another of the two or more first unit cells is disposed on a surface opposite to the one surface of [Examiner edit, see above] the first porous support layer[Ueda throughout, Fig. 2, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Ueda is the positive electrode layers 20/21 are on the opposite side of the first porous support layer 13 in the upper unit cell.].
Figure 2a modified showing Ueda as claimed in claim 2
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1. Ueda is silent to wherein the first negative electrode is a lithium metal or a current collector having no active material layer. Jang discloses battery with a negative electrode which is a lithium metal [Jang 0013 and throughout, Fig. 2] and further discloses where the negative electrode can be a current collector having no active material layer [Jang 0077-0078]. Jang further discloses applying a porous elastic polymer support to the surface of the lithium metal or the current collector [Jang 0064-0073 and throughout]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to substitute Jang’s lithium metal with a porous elastic polymer support as a negative electrode or to substitute Jang’s current collector with a porous elastic polymer support without an active material as a negative electrode in Ueda’s battery as described in claim 1 above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute either of Jang’s disclosed negative electrodes with a porous support as described above as a substitution for both the negative electrode and the first porous support in Ueda’s battery for the predictable result of a high capacity with high energy density battery [Jang 0002] with recoverable compressive elastic strain [Jang 0017, 0057] protecting the anode [Jang 0022] and providing an interface more conducive to uniform deposition of Li metal during battery charging [Jang 0028,0057].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein
a surface of the second porous support layer that faces the second solid electrolyte serves as a second negative electrode [Ueda 0052-0062, Fig. 2, As shown in the modified Fig. 2a of Ueda’s battery with multiple first unit cells, in the topmost two or more unit cells having a second porous support layer the upper surface of layer 13 with the second porous support layer is a second negative electrode 23/22.] , and
wherein a surface of the second porous support layer that faces the second positive electrode serves as a separator [Ueda 0052-0062, Fig. 2, As shown in the modified Fig. 2a of Ueda’s battery with multiple first unit cells, in the topmost two or more unit cells having a second porous support layer the lower surface of layer 13 with the second porous support layer is a separator separating the negative electrode layer 23 from the positive electrode layer 25.] .
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the first porous support layer comprises one or more selected from:
an olefin-based porous substrate [Ueda 0108 and throughout]; and
a sheet or non-woven fabric manufactured using one or more selected from a group consisting of glass fiber and polyethylene [Ueda 0108 and throughout, polyethylene sheet or non-woven fabric].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 8, wherein the first porous support layer comprises one or more layers of the olefin-based porous substrate, the sheet, or the non-woven fabric being stacked [Ueda 0107 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the pressure is generated as a result of:
lithium deposition between the first negative electrode and the first solid electrolyte by lithium ions moved from the first positive electrode to the first negative electrode by charging [Jang 0025-0028, 0144 as combined with Ueda in claim 1, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Jang reads on the limitation since Jang’s porous support layer has the function of accommodating the change in thickness of the lithium metal during dissolution and redepositing and Jang discloses dissolution and redepositing on both the anode side and the cathode side of the cell. The movement of lithium deposition would inherently result in a pressure on Jang’s porous support designed with recoverable compressibility [0024-0028, 0144, 0150 and throughout].]; or
lithium deposition between the second porous support layer and the second solid electrolyte by lithium ions moved from the second positive electrode by charging [Jang 0025-0028, 0144 as combined with Ueda in claim 1, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Jang reads on the limitation since Jang’s porous support layer has the function of accommodating the change in thickness of the lithium metal during dissolution and redepositing and Jang discloses dissolution and redepositing on both the anode side and the cathode side of the cell. The movement of lithium deposition would inherently result in a pressure on Jang’s porous support designed with recoverable compressibility [0024-0028, 0144, 0150 and throughout].].
See MPEP 2112, inherency. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Ueda further modified by Jang discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 12, wherein the first porous support layer is configured to adjust stress caused by a change in thickness due to the lithium deposition [Jang 0025-0028, 0076 as applied to Ueda’s battery as described above in claim 1 and 12]. See MPEP 2112, inherency. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 12 and as further described in Claim 1. Neither Ueda or Jang explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the second porous support layer is greater than a thickness of deposited lithium. However, Jang discloses the thickness of the porous support layer is 10 nm to 500 µm [Jang abstract and throughout]. Jang further discloses the porous support layer accommodates lithium dissolution and redepositing [0025-0028, 0144, 0150]. Therefore, the skilled artisan would understand from Jang’s teaching that the thickness of the porous support layer would need to be thicker than the thickness of the deposited lithium to accommodate the contraction and expansion caused by dissolution and redeposited lithium. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Jang’s teachings to Ueda’s bipolar battery (as described in Claims 11/12 where first and second porous support layers are added to Ueda’s bipolar battery) to adjust the thickness of either the first or second porous support layer to be thicker than the thickness of the deposited lithium to accommodate the contraction and expansion caused by the dissolution and redeposited lithium for the predictable result of a bipolar battery that is able to maintain and support good electrical contact between the battery layers [Jang 0028, 0144, 0150].
Regarding Claim 16, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the first porous support layer has a thickness of 20 μm to 50 μm [Ueda 0108, Ueda discloses 10 to 300 µm, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein each of the first and second positive electrode comprises:
a positive electrode current collector [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, current collector 20 as the second positive electrode current collector and 24 as the second positive electrode current collector]; and
a positive electrode active material applied to one surface of the positive electrode current collector [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, Fig. 2, first positive electrode active material 21 on current collector 20 and second positive electrode active material 25 on current collector 24].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 17, wherein
the positive electrode active material of the first positive electrode faces the first solid electrolyte [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, Fig. 2, see modified Fig. 2 in claim 1 above. Active material 24 faces the first solid electrolyte layer 13 in the first unit cell just above it], and the positive electrode active material of the second positive electrode faces the second solid electrolyte [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, Fig. 2, see modified Fig. 2 in claim 1 above. Active material 21 faces the second solid electrolyte just above it.],
wherein the positive electrode current collector of the first positive electrode faces the first porous support layer [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, Fig. 2, see modified Fig. 2 in claim 1 above where the first porous support layer would be on both sides of solid electrolyte 13 as described in claim 1 above. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Ueda is the lower surface of current collector 24 faces the first solid electrolyte layers 13 with its first porous support layer on its surface in the unit cell and the upper surface of current collector 24 faces the first solid electrolyte 13 with its first porous support layer on its surface in the adjacent unit cell. While there is a positive electrode layer 25 between the upper surface of the first positive electrode current collector 24 the first porous support on solid electrolyte 13 and a negative electrode layer 26 between the lower surface of the first positive electrode current collector 24 and the first porous support on solid electrolyte 13 the surfaces of each face each other. Further, there is a region on both sides of first current collector 24 not covered by active material which directly faces the first porous layer on the surface of solid electrolyte 13 as shown in Fig. 2.], and
the positive electrode current collector of the second positive electrode faces the second porous support layer [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, Fig. 2, see modified Fig. 2 in claim 1 above where the positive electrode current collector 20 of the second positive electrode faces the second porous support layer on the lower surface of solid electrolyte 13. While there is a positive electrode layer 21 between the upper surface of the second positive electrode current collector 20 the second porous support on solid electrolyte 13, the surfaces of each face each other. Further, there is a region on the upper surface of current collector 20 not covered by active material which directly faces the second porous layer on the surface of solid electrolyte 13 as shown in Fig. 2.].
Regarding Claim 19, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1. Ueda does not explicitly disclose “the first negative electrode of one of the two or more first unit cells disposed on one surface of the first porous support layer is a lithium metal having no separate active material layer” as claimed; however, as combined with Jang in Claim 1, Jang discloses a battery with a negative electrode which is a lithium metal [Jang 0013 and throughout, Fig. 2] and further discloses where the negative electrode can be a current collector having no active material layer [Jang 0077-0078]. From Jang’s disclosure of a lithium foil active material layer, it would be obvious that Jang’s lithium foil could be substituted for the first negative electrode 26. Jang further discloses applying a porous elastic polymer support to the surface of the lithium metal [Jang 0064-0073 and throughout]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to substitute Jang’s lithium metal with a porous elastic polymer support as a negative electrode without an active material as a negative electrode and first support in Ueda’s battery, which would read on the claimed “ first negative electrode of one of the two or more first unit cells disposed on one surface of the first support layer is a lithium metal having no separate active material layer”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute Jang’s disclosed negative electrodes with a porous support as described above as a substitution for both the negative electrode and the first porous support in Ueda’s battery for the predictable result of a high capacity with high energy density battery [Jang 0002] with recoverable compressive elastic strain [Jang 0017, 0057] protecting the anode [Jang 0022] and providing an interface more conducive to uniform deposition of Li metal during battery charging [Jang 0028,0057].
wherein the first positive electrode of another of the two or more first unit cells disposed on a surface opposite to the one surface of the first porous support layer is a positive electrode current collector [Ueda see modified Fig. 2 in claim 1, The positive electrode 25 is disposed on the opposite surface of the solid electrolyte 13 which also contains the first porous support layer. Thus Ueda in view of Jang reads on the claimed configuration.].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the bipolar all-solid-state battery including the two or more second unit cells each comprising the second positive electrode, the second solid electrolyte, and the second porous support layer being connected to each other in series [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, (b) as described in claim 1 where the second positive electrode is layers 21/20 and the second solid electrolyte is lower layer 13], comprises one or more unit stacks repeatedly provided between an outermost second positive electrode and the second solid electrolyte [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout] that faces the outermost second positive electrode [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, electrode 20/21] and an outermost second negative electrode [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, electrode 22/23], the unit stack comprising the second porous support layer, a positive electrode active material, and the second solid electrolyte [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, Ueda discloses that two or more bipolar electrodes may be laminated by way of an additional electrolyte layer 13 disposed between repeat layers including positive electrode active layer 25, bipolar electrode 24, and negative electrode layer 26. Since Ueda teaches a positive electrode active layer 21, which is not different from the positive electrode active layer 25, modifying Ueda with a unit cell as claimed with an additional electrolyte layer 13 and a porous support and positive electrode active layer is taught by Ueda. If the specific configuration of claim 23 is not met by Ueda, such configuration is obvious over Ueda by mere rearrangement of parts, duplication of parts, or omission of unnecessary parts. See MPEP 2144.04 II and VI.].
Regarding Claim 24, modified Ueda discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the bipolar all-solid-state battery including the two or more second unit cells each comprising the second positive electrode, the second solid electrolyte, and the second porous support layer being connected to each other in series [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, (b) as described in claim 1 where the second positive electrode is layers 21/20 and the second solid electrolyte is lower layer 13], comprises one or more unit stacks repeatedly provided between an outermost second positive electrode and the second solid electrolyte [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, electrode 20/21 and electrolyte 13] that faces the outermost second positive electrode [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, electrode 20/21] and an outermost second negative electrode [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, electrode 22/23], the unit stack comprising the second porous support layer, a positive electrode active material, a positive electrode current collector, and the second solid electrolyte [Ueda 0055, 0095-0106, Fig. 2, and throughout, Ueda discloses that two or more bipolar electrodes may be laminated by way of an additional electrolyte layer 13 disposed between repeat layers including positive electrode active layer 25, bipolar electrode 24, and negative electrode layer 26. Since Ueda teaches a positive electrode active layer 21 which is not different from the positive electrode active layer 25 and a bipolar electrode 24 as the positive electrode current collector, modifying Ueda with a unit cell as claimed with an additional electrolyte layer 13 and a porous support, a bipolar electrode as the positive electrode current collector, and positive electrode active layer is taught by Ueda. If the specific configuration of claim 24 is not met by Ueda, such configuration is obvious over Ueda by mere rearrangement of parts, duplication of parts, or omission of unnecessary parts. See MPEP 2144.04 II and VI.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 17-18, 20 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu US20180205118A1, as provided on the IDS dated July 29, 2025, as evidenced by Introduction to New Materials, 2.4.9 Amorphous Alloys, 1. Performance Characteristics of Amorphous Alloys, April 2013, pg. 38, as provided on the IDS dated March 4, 2026, hereinafter New Materials.
Regarding Claim 1, Chu discloses a bipolar all-solid-state battery including:
(a) two or more first unit cells [Chu 0040, 0125, Fig. 17] each comprising a first positive electrode, a first solid electrolyte , and a first negative electrode being connected to each other in series [Chu 0052] and a first porous support layer is provided at an interface therebetween [The claimed “an interface therebetween” is interpreted as any interface between the recited elements within the first unit cells. Chu 0040, 0052, 0063-0064, 0125-0128, and throughout, Fig. 17, see modified Fig. 17 below Chu’s bipolar battery has a plurality of stacked cells with layers positive electrode 1710 with 1754, negative electrode 1720 with 1752, electrolyte 1730, and porous layers 1740 in series with [Chu 0052]. Chu teaches a plurality of electrochemical stacks [Chu 0040], which merely requires duplicating parts, which is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B. Chu discloses an embodiment where the electrolyte can be solid electrolyte or a gel coated on the separator [Chu 0063-0064], both of which read on the claimed solid electrolyte. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Chu’s embodiment with a solid electrolyte with Chu’s bipolar battery for the predictable result of a bipolar battery with improved safety since there is no risk of liquid leakage [Chu 0045].]; and [Examiner edits, see 112(b) section]
(b) two or more unit cells each comprising a second positive electrode, a second solid electrolyte, and a second porous support layer being connected to each other in series [Chu 0040, 0052, 0063-0064, 0125-0128, and throughout, Fig. 17, see modified Fig. 17 below where Chu’s bipolar battery has a plurality of stacked cells with layers positive electrode 1710 with 1754, negative electrode 1720 with 1752, electrolyte 1730, and porous layers 1740 in series with [Chu 0052]. Chu teaches a plurality of electrochemical stacks [Chu 0040], which merely requires duplicating parts, which is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B. Chu discloses an embodiment where the electrolyte can be solid electrolyte or a gel coated on the separator [Chu 0063-0064], both of which read on the claimed solid electrolyte. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Chu’s embodiment with a solid electrolyte with Chu’s bipolar battery for the predictable result of a bipolar battery with improved safety since there is no risk of liquid leakage [Chu 0045].].
Chu does not explicitly teach the thickness reduction of the first and second porous layers; however, Chu teaches the porous layers can be a foam metal [Chu 0128]. New Materials p. 38 teaches that a foam metal can deform under external force and be restored to its original shape due to its inherent elasticity. Thus, the skilled artisan would expect Chu’s porous support layers made of a foam metal would inherently behave such that a thickness thereof is reduced when pressure is applied thereto and the thickness is restored when pressure is relieved, thereby adjusting stress in the battery. See MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that, given the provided evidence of the behavior of foam metal with Chu’s taught first and second porous support layers made of foam metal, it would be expected that the porous support layers in Chu’s bipolar battery can accommodate volume change in the battery [Chu 0046, Chu teaches volume changes are expected in the bipolar battery].
Regarding Claim 2, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein
the first [Examiner edits, see 112(b) section] negative electrode of one of the two or more first unit cells is disposed on one surface of the first porous support layer, and
wherein the first positive electrode of another of the two or more first unit cells is disposed on a surface opposite to the one surface thereof [Chu 0052, 0063, 0125-0128, and throughout, see modified Fig. 17, a rectangular box indicates the portion of modified Chu’s battery with this configuration].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein
a surface of the second porous support layer that faces the second solid electrolyte serves as a second negative electrode [Chu 0052, 0063, 0125-0128, and throughout, see modified Fig. 1 in claim 1 above which shows this configuration.], and
wherein a surface of the second porous support layer that faces the second positive electrode serves as a separator [Chu modified Fig. 17 in claim 1 above, 0127, and throughout, Chu’s porous support layers 1740a-d are electrically conductive but not fluidly conductive in the z-direction. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Chu’s second porous support layer 1740 reads on the claimed “separator” function].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the second porous support layer comprises a lithium negative electrode or a negative electrode current collector [Chu 0056, 0102, 0125-0128, and throughout, Fig. 17 Chu discloses the anode can be a lithium containing material and the cathode can be a lithium containing material. Chu further discloses lithium ion transport through porous materials [Chu 0102]. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Chu is the second porous support 1740 positioned between the anode electrode material 1720 and the anode current collector 1752), reads on “comprises a lithium negative electrode”.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 5, wherein the negative electrode current collector is a metal or a metal oxide [Chu 0125-0128, and throughout, Fig. 17, negative electrode current collector 1752 is metal. Further, end plate 1704 can be a negative current collector, which is also metal].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 5, wherein the lithium negative electrode or the negative electrode current collector does not comprise a separate active material layer [Chu 0125, Fig. 17, Chu discloses end plate 1704 as a negative electrode current collector that does not comprise a separate active material layer.].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein each of the first and second positive electrode comprises:
a positive electrode current collector [Chu 0125-0128 and throughout, Fig. 17, current collector 1754; and
a positive electrode active material applied to one surface of the positive electrode current collector [Chu 0125-0128 and throughout, Fig. 17, second positive electrode active material 1710 on current collector 1754]. See interpretation in claim 1 above for the first and second positive electrodes.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 17, wherein
the positive electrode active material of the first positive electrode faces the faces the first solid electrolyte and the positive electrode active material of the second positive electrode faces the second solid electrolyte [Chu 0125-0128 and throughout, modified Fig. 17 is claim 1 above shows the first positive electrode active material 1710 faces first solid electrolyte 1730 and the second positive active material 1710 faces the second electrolyte 1730] and
wherein the positive electrode current collector of the first positive electrode faces the first porous support layer and positive electrode current collector of the second positive electrode faces the second porous support layer [Chu 0125-0128 and throughout, modified Fig. 17 is claim 1 above shows the first positive electrode current collector 1754 faces first porous layer 1740 and the second positive current collector 1754 faces the second porous support layer 1740].
Regarding Claim 20, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the second positive electrode disposed between the second porous support layer and the second solid electrolyte, among the second positive electrodes, is constituted by only a positive electrode active material [Chu 0125, Fig. 17, see modified Fig. 17 where the lower of the two or more unit cells reads on the claimed configuration since the second porous support layer 1740 above the lower 2nd positive electrode reads on the claimed configuration.], and wherein an outermost second positive electrode comprises an outermost positive electrode current collector [Chu Fig. 17, current collector 1702] and an outermost positive electrode active material applied to a surface of the outermost positive electrode current collector that faces the second solid electrolyte [Chu 0125, Fig. 17, see modified Fig. 17 where 1710 is applied to the surface of 1702 that faces second solid electrolyte 1730].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the bipolar all-solid-state battery including the two or more second unit cells each comprising the second positive electrode, the second solid electrolyte, and the second porous support layer being connected to each other in series [Chu 0125 and throughout, Fig. 17, see modified Fig. 17 in claim 1]. Chu does not explicitly teach the two or more unit stacks as claimed; however, such modification would be obvious since it merely requires duplication and rearrangement parts already taught by modified Chu [Chu 0125, Fig. 17]. Each of the duplicated parts would perform the same function already taught by Chu and would be expected to increase the power of the battery. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate and rearrange Chu’s second porous support layer, a positive electrode active material, and the second solid electrolyte between outermost second positive electrode 1710 and the second solid electrolyte 1730 that faces the outermost second positive electrode 1710 and an outermost second negative electrode 1704 for the predictable result of a bipolar all-solid-state battery with high power [Chu 0003].
Regarding Claim 24 modified Chu discloses the bipolar all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, wherein the bipolar all-solid-state battery including the two or more second unit cells each comprising the second positive electrode, the second solid electrolyte, and the second porous support layer are connected to each other in series [Chu 0125 and throughout, Fig. 17, see modified Fig. 17 in claim 1]. Chu does not explicitly teach the two or more unit stacks as claimed; however, such modification would be obvious since it merely requires duplication and rearrangement parts already taught by modified Chu [Chu 0125, Fig. 17]. Each of the duplicated parts would perform the same function already taught by Chu and would be expected to increase the power of the battery. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate and rearrange Chu’s second porous support layer 1740, a positive electrode active material 1710, a positive electrode current collector 1754 and the second solid electrolyte 1730 between outermost second positive electrode 1710 and the second solid electrolyte 1730 that faces the outermost second positive electrode 1710 and an outermost second negative electrode 1704 for the predictable result of a bipolar all-solid-state battery with high power [Chu 0003].
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant arguments on pgs. 6-8 about the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) indefiniteness rejections provided in the Office Action dated 11/26/2025, the previous rejections are withdrawn; however new rejections in view of the amended claims is provided above.
As described above, in view of the Applicant’s significant modifications to overcome the indefiniteness rejections which were different from the interpretations provided in the recited Office Action and the Examiner’s interpretations provided above due to the continuing lack of clarity, the Examiner had to reconsider the prior art of record for all that was taught.
Regarding Applicant arguments On pgs. 9-10 against the combination of Jang with Ueda, Applicant argues that Jang’s anode protecting layer is functionally different from the claimed porous support layers that adjust stress caused by lithium deposition. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Jang teaches lithium deposition and reduction of the subsequent strain in the battery as described above. Further, the movement of lithium deposition would inherently result in a pressure on Jang’s porous support designed with recoverable compressibility [0024-0028, 0144, 0150 and throughout]. See MPEP 2112, inherency.
Further, in response to applicant's argument on pg. 10 that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., lithium deposition) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding Applicant arguments about the Examiner’s rejection over duplicating Jang’s porous supports in each unit cell, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since both Ueda and Jang teach porous support layers for batteries, which would be considered analogous art, it would be obvious to combine Jang’s teaching about the benefits of a porous elastic support layer that can accommodated the changes in thickness due to the dissolution and redepositing of lithium during charging to support good electrical contact between the battery layers [Jang 0028, 0144, 0150] with Ueda’s battery which already teaches porous support layers. Such combination can be achieved by selecting a material for the Ueda’s porous support layer that has the properties of accommodating changes in thickness.
Applicant argues on pgs. 9-10 that the Examiner did not provide a rejection of claim 11 over Chu and the subject matter of claim 11 is now incorporated in Claim 1, thus instant claim 1 is not obvious over Chu. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons provided in the rejection of claim 1 above. Further, as described above, due to the significance of the amendments, the scope of the instant claims is different from the previously examined claims and the prior art had to be reconsidered for all that was taught. Chu teaches the porous supports can be foam metal as described above. The prior art Introduction to New Materials provided in the IDS dated 3/4/2026 teaches foam metal has the properties of reduced thickness when pressure is applied and a restoration of the thickness when pressure is relieved. Thus, instant claim 1 is obvious over Chu as evidenced by the Applicant’s cited prior art.
For the reasons provided above, evidence of obviousness over the prior art outweighs evidence of distinction of the instant invention. Further, as described above, significant indefiniteness of the claimed invention persists. The Examiner’s rejections as provided above represent significant effort to advance prosecution despite the continuing lack of clarity over what is claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724