DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s RCE filed on 08/21/2025.
Claims 1-11 are pending and examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/17/2025 have been fully considered, but they are moot in light of new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wuerthinger et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0189661) hereinafter Wuerthinger.
Per claim 1, Wuerthinger discloses “a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, by a processor, an input program; generating, by the processor, a plurality of abstractions of the input program using a plurality of analysis operations, wherein each one of the plurality of abstractions represents information associated with a program state at compile time” (claims 1-4; paragraph [0015]; receiving an input program, generating an abstract syntax tree comprised of nodes and control paths; each control path represents a program state at compile time); “performing, by the processor, one or more optimization operations on one of the plurality of abstractions by modifying the program state associated with the abstraction based on a set of predetermined elementary transformations, wherein the set of predetermined elementary transformations capture the information associated with the modified program state” (claims 1-4; updating a representation based on the profiling data, the representation comprises profiling data, updating the representation comprises changing a type of an operation); “stabilizing by a stabilizer, one or more of the plurality of abstractions using the information captured by the set of predetermined elementary transformations in a stabilization mode, wherein the stabilizing comprises updating the one or more abstractions using the captured information to maintain consistency of the abstractions with the modified program states” (claims 1-4; paragraph [0017]; based on the profiling data, a control path is replaced with a deoptimization point; the deoptimization point is triggered during execution to allow proper execution (consistency); Profiling Data is used as a threshold for determining the stability of Representation of the Code Section, and when a section of code should be speculatively frozen, partially evaluated, and compiled to create Machine Code).
Per claim 2, Wuerthinger further discloses “wherein the predetermined elementary transformations comprise adding, deleting, or modifying syntactic parts of the program” (claims 1-4; updating a representation based on the profiling data, the representation comprises profiling data, updating the representation comprises changing a type of an operation (modify syntactic)).
Per claim 3, Wuerthinger further discloses “wherein the stabilization mode is one of a lazy-invalidate stabilization mode, lazy-update stabilization mode, eager-update stabilization mode, eager-invalidate stabilization mode, or any combination thereof” (claims 1-4; paragraph [0017]; based on the profiling data, a control path is replaced with a deoptimization point; the deoptimization point is triggered during execution to allow proper execution (consistency); Profiling Data is used as a threshold for determining the stability of Representation of the Code Section, and when a section of code should be speculatively frozen (lazy-update stabilization), partially evaluated, and compiled to create Machine Code).
Per claim 4, Wuerthinger further discloses “wherein the one or more abstractions represent information associated with a serial or a parallel program” (paragraph [0039]; Fig. 3; showing a AST representation of a code, which executes serially, from one node to another node).
Per claim 5, Wuerthinger further discloses “wherein the plurality of abstractions comprise intermediate representation, a control flow graph, and an abstract syntax tree” (paragraph [0015]; abstract syntax tree).
Per claim 6, Wuerthinger further discloses “wherein stabilizing the one or more abstractions in response to performing new optimization operation, wherein the stabilizing comprises updating the one or more abstractions to maintain consistency of the abstractions with the modified program states” (claims 1-4; paragraph [0017]; after a representation is updated(optimized), based on the profiling data, a control path is replaced with a deoptimization point; the deoptimization point is triggered during execution to allow proper execution (consistency); Profiling Data is used as a threshold for determining the stability of Representation of the Code Section, and when a section of code should be speculatively frozen, partially evaluated, and compiled to create Machine Code).
Claim 8 recites a system with components that perform the method described in claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected under similar rationales as claim 1.
Per claim 10, Wuerthinger further discloses “wherein the stabilizer is configured to operate in a stabilization mode, wherein the stabilization mode is one of lazy-invalidate stabilization mode, lazy-update stabilization mode, eager-update stabilization mode, eager-invalidate stabilization mode, or any combination thereof” (claims 1-4; paragraph [0017]; after a representation is updated(optimized), based on the profiling data, a control path is replaced with a deoptimization point; the deoptimization point is triggered during execution (lazy update stabilization) to allow proper execution (consistency)).
Per claim 11, Wuerthinger further discloses “wherein the optimization component comprises one or more abstraction readers and one or more abstraction writers, and wherein the one or more abstraction readers are configured to read the one or more abstractions and the one or more abstraction writers are configured to modify the one or more abstractions” (claims 1-4; receiving a representation (reading), updating (writing/modifying) a representation based on the profiling data, the representation comprises profiling data, updating the representation comprises changing a type of an operation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuerthinger, in view of Davis et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0024820) hereinafter Davis.
Per claim 7, Wuerthinger discloses performing analysis on an input program for optimization (claims 1-4), Wuerthinger does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of abstraction comprises iterative data flow analyses, and wherein the iterative data flow analyses is stabilized using automatic lazy-update stabilization mode. However, Davis discloses (paragraph [009]; a compiler using iterative algorithm for data-flow analysis, a common practice in the field of the art). Wuerthinger further discloses performing stabilizing operations after optimization (claims 1-4; claims 1-4; paragraph [0017]; after a representation is updated(optimized), based on the profiling data, a control path is replaced with a deoptimization point; the deoptimization point is triggered during execution (lazy update stabilization) to allow proper execution (consistency)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wuerthinger and Davis to perform iterative data flow analyses for optimization purpose (which is a common practice in the field of the art), and performs stabilization operations using automatic lazy-update stabilization mode so the program can execute properly.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuerthinger, in view of Gass et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0243621) hereinafter Gass.
Per claim 9, Wuerthinger does not explicitly teach “wherein the analysis component comprises pre-processing unit, lexical analysis unit, syntax analysis unit, and semantic analysis unit”. However, Gass suggests the above (paragraphs [0096][0109]; a lexical analysis engine includes applies language token rules, language syntax rules and semantic rules; the input are parsed and processed by a tokenization process). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wuerthinger and Gass to perform code analysis using pre-processing unit, lexical analysis unit, syntax analysis unit, and semantic analysis unit; in order to perform optimization and compilation processes.
Conclusion
/HANG PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193