DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/25/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “waste transfer device for transferring waste” in claim 10.
The specification describes the waste transfer device as including a first transfer line extending from the reaction well to the temporary storage, a first valve on the first transfer line, and a first pump installed in the first transfer line (see [21, 50] and Fig. 3 of the instant specification); and this is how the transfer device will be interpreted for purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, it is unclear what the waste passage is defined by or how the waste flows backwards as recited in the last two lines of the claim. The claim recites a valve on a waste passage, but the waste passage has not been previously defined or described and it is unclear how this passage is configured with respect to the other structures of the cartridge. Further, it is unclear how waste flows backwards or where waste flows backwards from. The claim recites a storage that stores waste, but there is no clarification on how the waste then flows anywhere, or how the waste even flows forwards. If the waste is prevented from flowing backwards, then it must flow forward in some manner; however, it is unclear how the waste flows given the lack of clarification on the structural relationship recited in the claims. The examiner suggests that applicants consider clarifying how the passage is formed such that is clear how and where waste flows to/from. Claim 10 also recites the same limitation and is rejected similarly.
Claims 2-9 and 11 are rejected based on further claim dependency.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear what is being recited or required. Specifically, claim 1 recites the various containers in the alternative where these do not have to be present. For example, if the prior art only had a dispensing tip container, then it is unclear where the storage of claim 8 would be located. Thus, it is unclear to a potential infringer what is required in the instance where a dispensing tip container is present.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kim, K (KR102160442 which is already of record, and where US 20220184603 is used as the corresponding document/translation; hereinafter “Kim”).
The examiner notes that applicants can overcome this rejection by filing a certified translation of the instant priority document in order to perfect the claim to foreign priority.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a reaction well cartridge device (Kim; Fig. 1-5), comprising: a cartridge body in which a reaction well container for accommodating reaction wells in which biological reactions occur is formed, wherein the cartridge body comprises one or more of a dispensing tip container for accommodating dispensing tips, a sample container for accommodating samples, a reagent container for accommodating reagents, a mixture container for accommodating a mixture containing the samples and the reagents, a diluent container for accommodating a diluent, a washing solution container for accommodating a washing solution, and combinations thereof; a temporary storage formed in the cartridge body and configured to temporarily store waste generated after reaction in the reaction wells; and a non-return valve device installed in a waste passage formed on one side of the temporary storage to prevent inflow of the waste from flowing backwards (Kim teaches a cartridge body in fig. 2 with various wells/containers 11-17 and a storage 20, and a check valve on a waste passage; Fig. 1-5, [17, 36, 37, 45, 46]).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
As to claim 4, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, wherein the temporary storage comprises a waste storage case having an accommodation space formed therein; and a waste absorber accommodated in the accommodation space and capable of absorbing the waste to prevent leakage of the waste to the outside (Kim teaches an absorber; [38-42], Fig. 1-5).
As to claim 5, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 4, wherein the waste absorber is a compression-type dry sponge capable of absorbing the waste while expanding (Kim teaches an absorber; [38-42], Fig. 1-5).
As to claim 6, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 4, wherein the waste absorber comprises a coagulant that solidifies when mixed with moisture to prevent leakage of the waste to the outside and environmental pollution caused by the waste (Kim teaches an absorber; [38-42], Fig. 1-5).
As to claim 7, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 4, wherein the waste absorber comprises one or more of a disinfectant, a germicide, a deodorant, a preservative, a bleach, a fragrance, a coagulant, and combinations thereof (Kim teaches an absorber; [38-42], Fig. 1-5).
As to claim 8, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, wherein the temporary storage is formed below a portion comprising one or more of the sample container, the reagent container, the mixture container, the diluent container, the washing solution container, and combinations thereof (Kim teaches storage 20 below containers 11-17; Fig. 1-5).
As to claim 9, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, wherein the temporary storage is formed below the reaction well container to be indirectly or directly connected to the reaction wells (Kim; Fig. 1-5).
As to claim 10, Kim teaches a reaction well cartridge system, comprising: a reaction well cartridge device comprising a cartridge body in which a reaction well container for accommodating reaction wells in which biological reactions occur is formed, wherein the cartridge body comprises one or more of a dispensing tip container for accommodating dispensing tips, a sample container for accommodating samples, a reagent container for accommodating reagents, a mixture container for accommodating a mixture containing the samples and the reagents, a diluent container for accommodating a diluent, a washing solution container for accommodating a washing solution, and combinations thereof; a temporary storage formed in the cartridge body and configured to temporarily store waste generated after reaction in the reaction wells; and a non-return valve device installed in a waste passage formed on one side of the temporary storage to prevent inflow of the waste from flowing backwards, and a waste transfer device for transferring the waste from the reaction wells to the temporary storage (Kim teaches a cartridge body in fig. 2 with various wells/containers 11-17 and a storage 20, and a check valve on a waste passage; Fig. 1-5, [17, 36, 37, 45, 46]. Kim teaches the transfer device 110 includes a transfer line L1, a valve V1, and a pump P1; [50-53], Fig. 1-5).
As to claim 11, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge system according to claim 10, wherein the waste transfer device comprises a first transfer line extending from the reaction wells to the temporary storage; a first valve installed on the first transfer line; and a first pump installed in the first transfer line (Kim teaches the transfer device 110 includes a transfer line L1, a valve V1, and a pump P1; [50-53], Fig. 1-5).
Claims 1, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Yanez et al (US 20210031181; hereinafter “Yanez”).
As to claim 1, Yanez teaches a reaction well cartridge (Yanez; Fig. 1-10) device, comprising: a cartridge body in which a reaction well container for accommodating reaction wells in which biological reactions occur is formed, wherein the cartridge body comprises one or more of a dispensing tip container for accommodating dispensing tips, a sample container for accommodating samples, a reagent container for accommodating reagents, a mixture container for accommodating a mixture containing the samples and the reagents, a diluent container for accommodating a diluent, a washing solution container for accommodating a washing solution, and combinations thereof (Yanez teaches a cartridge body with various wells/containers; [97, 99], Fig. 1-5); a temporary storage formed in the cartridge body and configured to temporarily store waste generated after reaction in the reaction wells (Yanez teaches a waste storage 13; [100], Fig. 1-10); and a non-return valve device installed in a waste passage formed on one side of the temporary storage to prevent inflow of the waste from flowing backwards (As best understood, Yanez teaches a valve that is part of the closing element that can be opened and closed to prevent fluid return from flowing backwards from the waste storage to the reaction well from which it came; [37, 38]).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
As to claim 8, Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, wherein the temporary storage is formed below a portion comprising one or more of the sample container, the reagent container, the mixture container, the diluent container, the washing solution container, and combinations thereof (Yanez teaches a cartridge body with various wells/containers above the waste storage; [97, 99], Fig. 1-5).
As to claim 9, Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, wherein the temporary storage is formed below the reaction well container to be indirectly or directly connected to the reaction wells (Yanez teaches a cartridge body with various wells/containers above the waste storage, and connected to reaction wells; [97, 99], Fig. 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, K (KR102160442 which is already of record, and where US 20220184603 is used as the corresponding document/translation; hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Lee, D (Translation of KR 20-0176888; already of record; hereinafter “Lee”).
As to claim 2, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, wherein a valve is installed in the non-return valve device (see claim 1 above).
Kim does not teach the valve having an X-shape. However, Lee teaches the analogous art of a check valve that is X-shaped (Lee teaches a +-shape valve; page 1 and Figures). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the check valve of Kim to be x-shaped as in Lee because Lee teaches that an x-shaped helps smooth open/closing and also helps ensure that during closing that the valve is more closely blocked (Lee; page 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, K (KR102160442 which is already of record, and where US 20220184603 is used as the corresponding document/translation; hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Gaertner et al (US 20210172968; hereinafter “Gaertner”).
As to claim 3, Kim teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, with the temporary storage having the non-return valve device (see claim 1 above).
Kim does not teach an air exhaust installed on the other side of the temporary storage, positioned above the non-return valve device, and configured to discharge internal air to the outside to reduce internal air pressure increased according to inflow of the waste However, Gaertner teaches the analogous art of waste storage with a valves for fluid entry and exit (Gaertner teaches waste 380 with exit 550; Fig. 1-5, 10-15, [94]) where the waste storage includes an air escape exhaust positioned above the waste exit (Gaertner teaches an air escape where this escape would be required to be above the fluid exit as otherwise fluid would exit out of the air escape since it is known that an air escape needs to be above the fluid in order to properly vent; [94]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the waste storage of Kim to have included an air escape as in Gaertner because Gaertner teaches that this helps air escape (Gaertner; [94]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize the advantage of ensuring that the waste was not pressurized thereby decreasing the likelihood of waste accidentally spilling.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanez et al (US 20210031181; hereinafter “Yanez”) in view of Lee, D (Translation of KR 20-0176888; already of record; hereinafter “Lee”).
As to claim 2, Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, wherein a valve is installed in the non-return valve device (see claim 1 above).
Yanez does not teach the valve having an X-shape. However, Lee teaches the analogous art of a check valve that is X-shaped (Lee teaches a +-shape valve; page 1 and Figures). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the check valve of Yanez to be x-shaped as in Lee because Lee teaches that an x-shaped helps smooth open/closing and also helps ensure that during closing that the valve is more closely blocked (Lee; page 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanez et al (US 20210031181; hereinafter “Yanez”) in view of Gaertner et al (US 20210172968; hereinafter “Gaertner”).
As to claim 3, Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, with the temporary storage having the non-return valve device (see claim 1 above).
Yanez does not teach an air exhaust installed on the other side of the temporary storage, positioned above the non-return valve device, and configured to discharge internal air to the outside to reduce internal air pressure increased according to inflow of the waste However, Gaertner teaches the analogous art of waste storage with a valves for fluid entry and exit (Gaertner teaches waste 380 with exit 550; Fig. 1-5, 10-15, [94]) where the waste storage includes an air escape exhaust positioned above the waste exit (Gaertner teaches an air escape where this escape would be required to be above the fluid exit as otherwise fluid would exit out of the air escape since it is known that an air escape needs to be above the fluid in order to properly vent; [94]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the waste storage of Yanez to have included an air escape as in Gaertner because Gaertner teaches that this helps air escape (Gaertner; [94]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize the advantage of ensuring that the waste was not pressurized thereby decreasing the likelihood of waste accidentally spilling.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanez et al (US 20210031181; hereinafter “Yanez”) in view of Dohale et al (US 20210172968; hereinafter “Dohale”).
As to claim 4, Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 1, wherein the temporary storage comprises a waste storage case having an accommodation space formed therein (See claim 1 above).
Yanez does not specifically teach a waste absorber accommodated in the accommodation space and capable of absorbing the waste to prevent leakage of the waste to the outside. However, Dohale teaches the analogous art of a waste storage with a waste absorber accommodated in the accommodation space and capable of absorbing the waste to prevent leakage of the waste to the outside (Dohale teaches a waste chamber with an absorbent; [166], Figures 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the waste storage of Yanez to include an absorber as in Dohale because Dohale teaches that the absorbent substance can help to dry the waste and/or prevent leaks or spills (Dohale; [166]).
As to claim 5, modified Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 4, wherein the waste absorber is a compression-type dry sponge capable of absorbing the waste while expanding (The modification of the waste storage of Yanez to include an absorber as in Dohale has already been discussed above. Dohale teaches a sponge/foam pad absorber; [166]).
As to claim 6, modified Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 4, wherein the waste absorber comprises a coagulant that solidifies when mixed with moisture to prevent leakage of the waste to the outside and environmental pollution caused by the waste (The modification of the waste storage of Yanez to include an absorber as in Dohale has already been discussed above. Dohale teaches a dry powder as a coagulant that dries the waste to prevent leaks, where drying would turn it into a solid; [166]).
As to claim 7, modified Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge device according to claim 4, wherein the waste absorber comprises one or more of a disinfectant, a germicide, a deodorant, a preservative, a bleach, a fragrance, a coagulant, and combinations thereof (The modification of the waste storage of Yanez to include an absorber as in Dohale has already been discussed above. Dohale teaches a dry powder as a coagulant that dries the waste to prevent leaks, where drying would turn it into a solid; [166]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanez et al (US 20210031181; hereinafter “Yanez”) in view of Belgrader et al (US 20130079253; hereinafter “Belgrader”).
As to claim 10, Yanez teaches a reaction well cartridge system (Yanez; Fig. 1-10), comprising: a reaction well cartridge device comprising a cartridge body in which a reaction well container for accommodating reaction wells in which biological reactions occur is formed, wherein the cartridge body comprises one or more of a dispensing tip container for accommodating dispensing tips, a sample container for accommodating samples, a reagent container for accommodating reagents, a mixture container for accommodating a mixture containing the samples and the reagents, a diluent container for accommodating a diluent, a washing solution container for accommodating a washing solution, and combinations thereof (Yanez teaches a cartridge body with various wells/containers; [97, 99], Fig. 1-5); a temporary storage formed in the cartridge body and configured to temporarily store waste generated after reaction in the reaction wells (Yanez teaches a waste storage 13; [100], Fig. 1-10); and a non-return valve device installed in a waste passage formed on one side of the temporary storage to prevent inflow of the waste from flowing backwards (As best understood, Yanez teaches a valve that is part of the closing element that can be opened and closed to prevent fluid return from flowing backwards from the waste storage to the reaction well from which it came; [37, 38]).
Yanez does not specifically teach a waste transfer device for transferring the waste from the reaction wells to the temporary storage, where the waste transfer device includes a first transfer line extending from the reaction well to the temporary storage. However, Belgrader teaches the analogous art of transferring waste from reaction wells to temporary storage via a first transfer line extending from the reaction well to the temporary storage (Belgrader teaches transferring from reaction chamber to the waste chamber via a transfer line; Fig. 3B. [75]). It would have been obvious to have modified the connection of the reaction well and waste storage of Yanez to include a transfer line as in Belgrader because Belgrader teaches that a fluid line is a well-known connection pathway between a reaction well and a waste storage (Belgrader; Fig. 3B, [75]). Modified Yanez does not specifically teach a first valve on the first transfer line, and a first pump installed in the first transfer line. However, Belgrader also teaches a transfer line for moving fluid which includes a valve and a pump (Belgrader; Fig. 3B, [75-76]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included on the transfer line of modified Yanez a valve and pump to control fluid flow as in Belgrader because Belgrader teaches that the valve and pump help to provide and control fluid flow while also ensuring controlled and unidirectional flow as desired (Belgrader; [75, 76]).
As to claim 11, modified Yanez teaches the reaction well cartridge system according to claim 10, wherein the waste transfer device comprises a first transfer line extending from the reaction wells to the temporary storage; a first valve installed on the first transfer line; and a first pump installed in the first transfer line (The modification of Yanez with Belgrader teaches the transfer device; see claim 10 above).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12370453 B2.
Although claim 1 at issue is not identical, it are not patentably distinct from each other because it is directed to a reaction well cartridge device, comprising: a cartridge body in which a reaction well container for accommodating reaction wells in which biological reactions occur is formed, wherein the cartridge body comprises one or more of a dispensing tip container for accommodating dispensing tips, a sample container for accommodating samples, a reagent container for accommodating reagents, a mixture container for accommodating a mixture containing the samples and the reagents, a diluent container for accommodating a diluent, a washing solution container for accommodating a washing solution, and combinations thereof; a temporary storage formed in the cartridge body and configured to temporarily store waste generated after reaction in the reaction wells (claims 1, 9, 13 of ‘452 discloses a reaction well cartridge with at least one of the claimed containers and a temporary storage to store waste); and a non-return valve device installed in a waste passage formed on one side of the temporary storage to prevent inflow of the waste from flowing backwards (claims 6, 13 of ‘452 discloses a check valve). Thus, all of the elements of the invention recited in the instant claims are encompassed by the claims of US 12370453.
Although claim 11 at issue is not identical, it are not patentably distinct from each other because it is directed to a reaction well cartridge system, comprising: a reaction well cartridge device comprising a cartridge body in which a reaction well container for accommodating reaction wells in which biological reactions occur is formed, wherein the cartridge body comprises one or more of a dispensing tip container for accommodating dispensing tips, a sample container for accommodating samples, a reagent container for accommodating reagents, a mixture container for accommodating a mixture containing the samples and the reagents, a diluent container for accommodating a diluent, a washing solution container for accommodating a washing solution, and combinations thereof; a temporary storage formed in the cartridge body and configured to temporarily store waste generated after reaction in the reaction wells (claims 1, 9, 13 of ‘452 discloses a reaction well cartridge with at least one of the claimed containers and a temporary storage to store waste); and a non-return valve device installed in a waste passage formed on one side of the temporary storage to prevent inflow of the waste from flowing backwards (claims 6, 13 of ‘452 discloses a check valve), and a waste transfer device for transferring the waste from the reaction wells to the temporary storage (claims 9, 10, 13, 14 of ‘452 discloses a waste transfer device that includes a line, a valve, and a pump (see 112(f) claim interpretation above)). Thus, all of the elements of the invention recited in the instant claims are encompassed by the claims of US 12370453.
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include;
Cucci et al (US 20190201898; hereinafter “Cucci”) teaches a pump and fluid outlet from waste; [126], fig. 1.
Akashi et al (US 20120115238; hereinafter “Akashi”) teaches an absorbent material in the waste chamber; [57].
Conclusion
/Benjamin R Whatley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798