Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Request to Continue Examination
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on 05/20/26 has been entered. Claims 24 has been newly added and finds support in at least [Table 3]. Claims 10 – 24 are pending. Claims 19 – 21 remain withdrawn. Claims 10 – 18 and 22 – 24 are under examination.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §102
Claims 10 – 18 and 22 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda (US2021/0043343)
Regarding claims 10, 13 – 15, 17 – 18, 22 and 24, Takeda discloses a rare earth magnet produced by sintering [0056]. The magnet includes a R2Fe14B crystal structure [0010] and a grain boundary phase [0040], meeting the claimed limitation of the main phase and a grain boundary phase. Takeda teaches an example composition which contains [Talbe 13, 5-3]:
Nd: 8.69 at% Sm: 0.89 at% and La 3.95%
Wherein this meets the claimed composition of a rare earth magnet comprising at least Nd, La, and Sm.
Wherein this meets the claimed composition ratio of La being different from Sm.
This meets the claimed composition of claims 13 – 15 of the composition ratio of Nd being higher than Sm.
This meets the claimed composition of claims 17 – 18 that the composition ratio of Nd is greater than the sum of La and Sm.
This meets the claimed composition of claim 24 of the compositon ratio of La being greater than Sm.
Takeda teaches that the sintered magnet example is produced by pulverizing [0138], molding [0139], sintering in a temperature range of 1000°C [0141], which falls within the claimed range of claim 22, and a second heating step at 400 – 900°C, which overlaps with the claimed range of claim 22, and the can be performed for at least an hour [0166], which is within the claimed range of claim 22.
Takeda does not expressly teach that the content of Sm is higher in the main phase than the grain boundary phase. However, Takeda teaches a substantially identical compositon and process (with overlapping parameters) to the claimed invention. As such, there is a reasonable expectation to an ordinarily skilled artisan that Takeda would possess the claimed feature.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, in this case composition and process, a prima facie case of anticipation is established (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (See MPEP 2112.01)).
The examiner notes that although the second heating step of Takeda is overlapping in scope, the claims are directed to a product and "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” (MPEP 2113 I). To this, Takeda anticipates the claimed structure.
Regarding claim 11, Takeda teaches the invention as applied in claim 10. Takeda does not expressly teach that the content of La is higher in the grain boundary phase than the main boundary phase.
However, Takeda teaches a substantially identical compositon and process (with overlapping parameters) to the claimed invention. As such, there is a reasonable expectation to an ordinarily skilled artisan that Takeda would possess the claimed feature.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, in this case composition and process, a prima facie case of anticipation is established (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (See MPEP 2112.01)).
Regarding claims 12 and 16, Takeda teaches the invention as applied in claims 10 – 11. Takeda does not explicitly state that Sm or (Sm and La) are part of an oxide (NdO) phase due to substitution.
However, Takeda teaches a substantially identical compositon and process (with overlapping parameters) to the claimed invention. Takeda also explicitly describes that oxygen is present in the sintered magnet [0120]. As such, there is a reasonable expectation to an ordinarily skilled artisan that Takeda would possess the claimed feature.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, in this case composition and process, a prima facie case of anticipation is established (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (See MPEP 2112.01)).
Regarding claim 23, Takeda teaches the invention as applied in claim 11. Takeda does not explicitly disclose that the La is substituted at a Fe(c) site of a R2Fe14B crystal structure.
However, Takeda teaches a substantially identical compositon and process (with overlapping parameters) to the claimed invention. As such, there is a reasonable expectation to an ordinarily skilled artisan that Takeda would possess the claimed feature.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, in this case composition and process, a prima facie case of anticipation is established (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (See MPEP 2112.01)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments thereto have overcome the previous rejection of:
Claims 10 – 18 and 22 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano (JP6359232, using espacenet translation, cited with the OA of 09/02/25)
However, upon further consideration, a new rejection is made of:
Claims 10 – 18 and 22 – 24 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda (US2021/0043343)
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP3522178 – Rare earth magnet containing La with grain boundary phase modified by modifier that can be include Sm
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738