DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/26/2023, 5/7/2024, 3/9/2026, and 7/31/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 8/14/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are pending with claims 1-14 are being examined and claim 15 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “partially” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term ““partially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, the limitation is unclear as to how much of the first projection and second projection surface is “partially” irradiated.
The term “partially” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term ““partially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, the limitation is unclear as to how much of the at least one projections surface is “partially” irradiated.
The term “partially” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term ““partially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, the limitation is unclear as to how much of lid is contacted by the rotating member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umeno (US 20150151434 A1; hereinafter “Umeno”).
Regarding claim 1, Umeno teaches an opening apparatus for a container (Umeno; Abstract) including a container body, a lid, and a hinge that interconnects the container body and the lid (Umeno; Fig. 11; para [44]; the microtube 19 includes a container proper 19 a, and a cap 19 b which is linked to the container proper 19 a by a flexible hinge 19 c, and press-fit into the container proper 19 a; the Examiner notes that the container is not a positively recited element and is intended use of the opening apparatus), comprising:
a holding device that holds the container body (Umeno; para [70]; the microtube 19 placed on the tube rack);
an opening device including a rotating member (Umeno; para [38]; The gripper 61 causes a pair of bits 64 to move toward and away from each other in a direction orthogonal to the rotation axis (the above-described seventh rotation axis) around which the robot hand 60 rotates with respect to the sixth frame 52) and a drive device that rotates the rotating member (Umeno; para [36]; the driver 75 is capable of causing the articulated arm 46 to perform the rotations around the first to seventh rotation axes), the rotating member having at least one of a first projection and a second projection capable of coming into contact with the lid (Umeno; para [75]; the rectangular recess of the other one of the first bit 65 and the second bit 74 (into the rectangular recess 70 or the rectangular recess 70-2)), the rotating member being configured to apply a force to the lid in a direction to open the lid by rotating while one of the first and second projections is in contact with the lid in a closed state (Umeno; Fig. 11, 12; para [75]; The robot 40 causes the robot hand 60 to rotate around the hinge 19 c while the cap portion 19 b and the hinge 19 c are retained by the rectangular recesses 70 and 70-2 in the above-described manner, so that the cap portion 19 b is pulled off from the container body 19 a);
a moving device that moves at least one of the holding device and the rotating member relatively to the other (Umeno; para [72]; The robot 40 causes the first robot hand 60L to move upward to pull the microtube 19 out of the tube rack. Then, the robot 40 moves the first robot hand 60L to the other tube rack and places the microtube 19 on the other tube rack); and
a control device that controls the opening device and the moving device in conjunction with each other to open the lid (Umeno; Fig. 1; para [63]; The driver 75 illustrated in FIG. 1 includes actuators (not shown) for operating the body 41, the first arm 45L, and the second arm 45R, and a controller 76 that outputs predetermined drive signals to the actuators).
Regarding claim 2, Umeno teaches the opening apparatus for a container according to claim 1, wherein a flange is provided at a tip of the lid (Umeno; Fig. 11; the Examiner interprets the flange to be the protruding portion of the cap as seen in Fig. 11), the control device controls the moving device so that a set state is set in which while the container body is held by the holding device and the lid is positioned above the container body, the first projection of the rotating member is in contact with a lower surface of the flange of the lid and the second projection of the rotating member is in contact with an upper surface of the hinge of the lid, and the control device controls the opening device in the set state so that the rotating member rotates in a direction to displace the flange upward (Umeno; Fig. 11, 12; para [65]; The controller 76 can be connected to a controller for inputting drive sequences of the body 41, the first arm 45L, and the second arm 45R). The Examiner notes that the first projection interpreted as lug 71 of main body 66 and the second projection as lug 71 of main body 64, thus the first projection contacts the lower surface of the lid flange and the second projection contacts the upper surface of the lid.
Regarding claim 3, Umeno teaches the opening apparatus for a container according to claim 2, wherein, in conjunction with rotating the rotating member, the control device controls the moving device so that the container moves horizontally in a direction from the hinge toward the flange (Umeno; para [63]).
Regarding claim 4, Umeno teaches the opening apparatus for a container according to claim 1, wherein the rotating member has an end portion different from the first and second projections, and the end portion applies a force to the lid in a direction to close the lid when the rotating member rotates in the direction to close the lid while the rotating member is in contact with the lid in an open state (Umeno; para [77, 78, 79]; Examiner interprets the end portion to be the pair of bits which pushes the cap portion closed).
Regarding claim 5, Umeno teaches the opening apparatus for a container according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second projections of the rotating member applies a force to the lid in a direction to close the lid when the rotating member rotates in the direction to close the lid while the rotating member is in contact with the lid in an open state (Umeno; para [77, 78, 79]).
Regarding claim 13, Umeno teaches a closing apparatus for a container (Umeno; Abstract) including a container body, a lid, and a hinge that interconnects the container body and the lid (Umeno; Fig. 11; para [44]; the microtube 19 includes a container proper 19 a, and a cap 19 b which is linked to the container proper 19 a by a flexible hinge 19 c, and press-fit into the container proper 19 a; the Examiner notes that the container is not a positively recited element and is intended use of the opening apparatus), comprising: a holding device that holds the container body (Umeno; para [70]; the microtube 19 placed on the tube rack); a closing device including a rotating member (Umeno; para [38]; The gripper 61 causes a pair of bits 64 to move toward and away from each other in a direction orthogonal to the rotation axis (the above-described seventh rotation axis) around which the robot hand 60 rotates with respect to the sixth frame 52) and a drive device that rotates the rotating member (Umeno; para [36]; the driver 75 is capable of causing the articulated arm 46 to perform the rotations around the first to seventh rotation axes), the rotating member being configured to apply a force to the lid in a direction to close the lid by rotating in contact with the lid in an open state (Umeno; para [75]; the rectangular recess of the other one of the first bit 65 and the second bit 74 (into the rectangular recess 70 or the rectangular recess 70-2)); and a control device that controls the closing device, wherein when the lid in the open state is brought to a closed state, the control device performs a first closing control to apply a force to the lid in a direction to close the lid by rotating the rotating member so that a portion of the rotating member approaches the hinge while the portion of the rotating member is in contact with the lid (Umeno; Fig. 11, 12; para [75]; The robot 40 causes the robot hand 60 to rotate around the hinge 19 c while the cap portion 19 b and the hinge 19 c are retained by the rectangular recesses 70 and 70-2 in the above-described manner, so that the cap portion 19 b is pulled off from the container body 19 a).
Regarding claim 14, Umeno teaches the closing apparatus for a container according to claim 13, further comprising a moving device that moves at least one of the holding device and the rotating member relatively to the other (Umeno; para [72]; The robot 40 causes the first robot hand 60L to move upward to pull the microtube 19 out of the tube rack. Then, the robot 40 moves the first robot hand 60L to the other tube rack and places the microtube 19 on the other tube rack), wherein after the first closing control is executed, the control device executes a second closing control to control at least one of the closing device and the moving device so that the rotating member applies a force to the lid in a direction to close the lid while the rotating member is partially in contact with the lid (Umeno; para [77, 78, 79]).
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakairi (US 20120328475 A1; hereinafter “Sakairi”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakairi teaches an opening apparatus for a container (Sakairi; Abstract) including a container body, a lid, and a hinge that interconnects the container body and the lid (Sakairi; Fig. 17; para [46]; the lids 101 of reagent vessels 116 to 118; the Examiner notes that the container is not a positively recited element and is intended use of the opening apparatus and the lid is described in Patent JP 2955613 as cited in para [4, 5]), comprising:
a holding device that holds the container body (Sakairi; para [42]; one container 100 can store three types of reagent when its reagent vessels 116 to 118);
an opening device including a rotating member and a drive device that rotates the rotating member (Sakiri; para [45]; The hook base 104 is connected to the hook-base drive unit 106 by a parallel link mechanism comprising two arms 105. The hook-base drive unit 106 drives the arms 105 so that the hook base 104 moves in opening/closing directions of the lids 101 of reagent vessels 116 to 118; the arm is moved by the hook-base drive unit), the rotating member having at least one of a first projection and a second projection capable of coming into contact with the lid (Sakiri; para [46]; The hooks 102 are adapted to hook the lids 101 of reagent vessels 116 to 118), the rotating member being configured to apply a force to the lid in a direction to open the lid by rotating while one of the first and second projections is in contact with the lid in a closed state (Sakairi; Fig. 14, 15, 16, 17; para [94]);
a moving device that moves at least one of the holding device and the rotating member relatively to the other (Sakari; para [41]; the hook base 104 includes multiple hook drive mechanisms each adapted to slide one of the hooks 102 with respect to the hook base 104 and engage/disengage that hook 102 with/from the lid 101 of sample vessel); and
a control device that controls the opening device and the moving device in conjunction with each other to open the lid (Sakairi; para [63]; This control device is designed to control the hook-base drive unit 106 and hook drive mechanisms (not illustrated) of the device for opening/closing the lids).
Regarding claim 6, Sakairi teaches the opening apparatus for a container according to claim 1, wherein the holding device has an arrangement surface in which a plurality of containers each being the container are two-dimensionally disposed (Sakairi; para [42]; one set of reagent vessels 116 to 118 is contained in a container 100), and the moving device is configured to move at least one of the holding device and the rotating member relative to the other in a two-dimensional manner along the arrangement surface (Sakari; para [41]; the hook base 104 includes multiple hook drive mechanisms each adapted to slide one of the hooks 102 with respect to the hook base 104 and engage/disengage that hook 102 with/from the lid 101 of sample vessel).
Regarding claim 9, Umeno teaches the opening apparatus for a container according to claim 1, wherein the holding device has a function to heat the container (Sakairi; para [36]; In that case, at least one of the reagents A and B is first mixed with a sample and heated for a given amount of time to facilitate reaction), and the control device controls the opening device and the moving device so that the lid is opened at a first angle when the lid is brought to an open state before the holding device heats the container (Sakairi; para [98]; Upon lid closure, the control device instructs the device for opening/closing the lids of reagent vessels 121 to partially close the lid 101 of that reagent vessel when the reagent vessel is to be used later again), and the opening device and the moving device so that the lid is opened at a second angle when the lid is brought to an open state after the holding device heats the container, the second angle being larger than the first angle (Sakairi; para [54]; the lids 101 a to 101 f of the reagent vessels 116 to 118 when they are lifted (i.e., opened). Moved by the hook-base drive unit 106 in an opening direction, the hook base 104 is now in the upper position again). The Examiner notes that the first angle is interpreted as when the lid is still open. Thus, the lid remains open when the container is heated for the given reaction time. The second angle is interpreted as the angle when the lid is completely opened initially prior to closing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeno in view of Oleynik (WO 2020250039 A1; hereinafter “Oleynik”).
Regarding claim 7, Umeno teaches the opening apparatus for a container according to claim 1, with the first and second projections of the rotating member.
Umeno does not teach the opening apparatus further comprising an irradiation device that irradiates at least one of the first and second projections of the rotating member partially or entirely with ultraviolet ray.
However, Oleynik teaches an analogous art of a multi-functional robot system (Oleynik; Abstract) comprising an irradiation device with ultraviolet ray (Oleynik; para [221, 240]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the opening apparatus of Umeno to comprise the irradiation device as taught by Oleynik, because Oleynik teaches the irradiation device sterilizes the area and/or objects (Oleynik; para [221, 240]). Therefore, modified Umeno teaches the irradiation device that irradiates at least one of the first and second projections of the rotating member partially or entirely with ultraviolet ray, because the device of Oleynik would be capable of irradiating the robotic arm of Umeno.
Regarding claim 8, modified Umeno teaches the opening apparatus for a container according to claim 7 (Umeno is modified to comprise the irradiation device as taught by Oleynik discussed above in claim 7), wherein the control device controls the irradiation device so that, after at least one of the first and second projections is brought into contact with the lid of the container with an analyte contained therein, the at least one of the projections brought into contact with the lid is partially or entirely irradiated with ultraviolet ray (Oleynik; para [221, 240]). Umeno is modified to teach the irradiation device as taught by Oleynik. The UV light is integrated into the system to sterilize the objects within upon request, thus the lid of Umeno would be irradiated by the modification.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeno in view of Matsukuma (US 20150127157 A1; hereinafter “Matsukuma”; already of record on IDS filed 3/9/2026).
Regarding claim 10, Umeno teaches an analysis device comprising: an opening apparatus according to claim 1.
Umeno does not teach a dispensing device that dispenses a reagent into a container opened by the opening apparatus.
However, Matsukuma teaches an analogous art of a robot system (Matsukuma; Abstract) comprising a dispensing device that dispenses a reagent into a container opened by the opening apparatus (Matsukuma; Fig. 7A, 8A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the opening apparatus of Umeno to comprise the dispensing device as taught by Matsukuma, because Matsukuma teaches that the robot system performs pipetting of the liquid within the microtube (Matsukuma; para [31]). The Examiner notes that the robotic arm interpreted as the opening device of Umeno is capable of handling the dispensing device as taught by Matsukuma.
Regarding claim 11, Umeno teaches the analysis device according to claim 10, further comprising a pipette tip used to dispense liquid into the container (Matsukuma; para [31]; the robot 10 performs the operation of pipetting a liquid contained in the micro tube MT by the pipette MP gripped by using the right hand 14R, while gripping the micro tube MT by using the left hand 14L), wherein the dispensing device includes a nozzle that allows the pipette tip to be detachable therefrom (Matsukuma; para [71, 72]; the Examiner notes that the tip MP-C is capable of being detached), and the control device controls the moving device so that when liquid is dispensed into the container via the pipette tip attached to the nozzle the pipette tip moves horizontally from a side of a tip of the lid toward the hinge (Matsukuma; Fig. 8A, 8B).
Regarding claim 12, Umeno teaches the analysis device according to claim 10, wherein a polymerase chain reaction is used to analyze a gene (Umeno; para [5]). The Examiner notes that the limitation is intended use of the analysis device. Umeno teaches that the microtube carries biological material which can be used in a PCR analysis. The limitation is directed to the function and/or the manner of operating the analysis device, all the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Umeno in view of Matskuma. As such, it is deemed that the claimed analysis device is not differentiated from the analysis device of modified Umeno (see MPEP §2114).
Conclusion
/A.Q.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796