DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 12,15, 18-20, and 25 are amended. Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 15, 17-20, and 25-26 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claimed invention is patentable over the combination of Hou and Kundu on the grounds that Kundu is, and can only be, directed to a single UE (pg. 20) and is not directed toward a specific type of terminal (pg. 21).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hou [0153] discloses conditions under which a second frequency hopping transmission is not performed because the PUCCH transmissions are overlapped in time with the radio frequency re-tuning time in the context of two specific types of terminal, one of which has a reduced bandwidth, e.g. a RedCap UE [0098]. Kundu discloses a method of determining PUCCH resources when frequency hopping is disabled [0084-0085]. Kundu’s method provides a solution to the problem of not being able to perform radio frequency re-tuning between PUCCH transmissions for Hou’s first-type terminal device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 12, 15, 18-20, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US 2023/0254868), Hou hereinafter, in view of Kundu et al. (US 2021/0029731), Kundu hereinafter, further in view of Wang et al. (US 2019/0261353), Wang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1. A method for channel transmission (Hou, [0008] The method is applicable to a scenario in which a network device configures a PUCCH resource for a terminal device.),
implemented at a first type of terminal (Hou, [0109] Optionally, in embodiments of this application, the first-type terminal device may be a REDCAP terminal device in an NR system, or the first-type terminal device may also be referred to as a low capability terminal device, a reduced capability terminal device, REDCAP UE, Reduced Capacity UE, mMTC UE, or the like.), comprising:
determining a first resource for transmitting a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in case that the first PUCCH is transmitted in an uplink (UL) initial bandwidth part (BWP) (Hou, [0141-0145] In this implementation, the first indication information may include an index of the first PUCCH resource set, for example, the index shown in the first column in Table 1. The index may indicate parameters such as a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
S
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part in which the first PUCCH resource set is located. …
Further, the terminal device may determine, from the first PUCCH resource set in the following manners, a PRB location of a PUCCH resource for transmitting the PUCCH.),
wherein a bandwidth range of the first resource is less than or equal to a maximum bandwidth supported by the first type of terminal (Hou, [0010] In addition, different PUCCH resource sets are configured for the first-type terminal device, so that it can be ensured that when the first-type terminal device transmits a PUCCH, a frequency domain range of frequency hopping transmission does not exceed the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.), and
the maximum bandwidth supported by the first type of terminal is less than or equal to a first preset value (Hou, [0122] When a terminal device is the first-type terminal device, a supported maximum bandwidth is less than 100 MHz.); and
transmitting the first PUCCH on the first resource (Hou, [0020] In a possible implementation of the first aspect, the terminal device receives second indication information, where the second indication information is used by the terminal device to determine one PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set; and the terminal device sends uplink control information on the PUCCH resource indicated by the second indication information.),
wherein a maximum bandwidth supported by the second type of terminal is larger than the first preset value (Hou, [0098] For example, a maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device is small, for example, at least one of 50 MHz, 40 MHz, 20 MHz, 15 MHz, 10 MHz, or 5 MHz, and a maximum bandwidth supported by the second-type terminal device is large, for example, 100 MHz.)
While Hou [0153] discloses not performing a second frequency hopping transmission, Hou does not explicitly teach wherein in case that the first resource is a resource for transmitting the first PUCCH without frequency hopping, the determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one or more of:
determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a method for determining a frequency location corresponding to a first hop
determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a frequency location of a given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal.
However, in the related art, Kundu teaches wherein in case that the first resource is a resource for transmitting the first PUCCH without frequency hopping (Kundu, [0030] The UE 502 transmits a PUCCH using frequency hopping if not provided useinterlacePUCCH-PUSCH in BWP-Uplink:Common; otherwise, the UE transmits a PUCCH without frequency hopping.), the determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one or more of:
determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a method for determining a frequency location corresponding to a first hop (Kundu, [0084-0085] Since single PRB PUCCH resource (as in NR-licensed) is enhanced to multi-PRB in NR-unlicensed, PRB index of the ith PRB in the 1st and 2nd hops (when frequency hopping is enabled) can be redefined as:
PRB index (1st hop) =
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
+
i
-
1
,
i
f
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
-
i
-
1
,
o
t
h
e
r
w
i
s
e
PRB index(2nd hop) =
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
+
i
-
1
,
i
f
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
-
i
-
1
,
o
t
h
e
r
w
i
s
e
where,
i
=
1,2
,
…
,
n
.
If frequency hopping is disabled, then the PRB indexes [for PUCCH resource configuration] can be derived as:
P
R
B
i
n
d
e
x
(
i
t
h
P
R
B
)
=
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
{
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
+
i
-
1
,
i
=
1,2
…
,
n
[As can be seen, the method for determining the PRB index when frequency hopping is disabled is the same as the method for the first condition for determining the 1st hop.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communication method and apparatus of Hou with the method for determining PUCCH resource configurations when frequency hopping is disabled, as taught by Kundu. The resulting invention would provide for deriving PRB indexes and delivering PUCCH when the first and second frequency hopping resources are both withing the radio retuning time (Kundu, [0084]).
Neither Hou nor Kundu explicitly teaches determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a frequency location of a given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal.
However, in the related art, Wang teaches determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a frequency location of a given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal (Wang, [0066] In an UL transmission, the transmitting device (e.g., the scheduled entity 106) may utilize one or more REs 306 to carry UL control information 118 including one or more UL control channels, such as a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), to the scheduling entity 108. UL control information may include a variety of packet types and categories, including pilots, reference signals, and information configured to enable or assist in decoding uplink data transmissions. In some examples, the control information 118 may include a scheduling request (SR), e.g., a request for the scheduling entity 108 to schedule uplink transmissions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hou as modified by the teaching of Kundu with the CCE-based implicit mapping of Wang. The resulting invention would provide for selecting resources within a resource subset (Wang [0104]).
Re. Claim 4, Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 1.
Hou does not explicitly teach wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal through a predefinition and/or indication method, wherein the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal is different from the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the second type of terminal; or determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH based on a preset frequency offset and the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop
However, in the related art, Kundu teaches determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH based on a preset frequency offset and the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop (Kundu [0026-0028]: If a UE 502 (see e.g., FIG. 5) does not have dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, provided by PUCCH-ResourceSet in PUCCH-Config, a PUCCH resource set is provided by pucch-ResourceCommon through an index to a row of Table 1 for transmission of HARQ-ACK information on PUCCH in an initial UL BWP of
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs). …
The PUCCH resource set includes sixteen resources, each corresponding to a PUCCH format, a first symbol, a duration, a PRB offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, and a cyclic shift index set for a PUCCH transmission. And
[0085]: If frequency hopping is disabled, then the PRB indexes [for PUCCH resource configuration] can be derived as:
P
R
B
i
n
d
e
x
(
i
t
h
P
R
B
)
=
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
{
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
+
i
-
1
,
i
=
1,2
…
,
n
) and/or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communication method and apparatus of Hou with the method for determining PUCCH resource configurations when frequency hopping is disabled, as taught by Kundu. The resulting invention would provide for deriving PRB indexes with frequency hopping is disabled (Kundu, [0084]).
Neither Hou nor Kundu explicitly teaches wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop and/or determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises: determining a first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal through a predefinition and/or indication method, wherein the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal is different from the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the second type of terminal; or
However, in the related art, Wang teaches wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop (Wang, [0059] An RE, which is 1 subcarrier x 1 symbol, is the smallest discrete part of the time-frequency grid, and contains a single complex value representing data from a physical channel or signal. …
In some examples, a block of REs may be referred to as a physical resource block (PRB) or more simply a resource block (RB) 308, which contains any suitable number of consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain.
[0097] For example, if the RB index of the first hop is m, the RB index of the second hop will be N-1-m.) and/or
determining a first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal through a predefinition and/or indication method (Wang, [0081] In Table 1, exemplary PDCCH information is provided for a particular slot when both UE A and UE B are active, wherein such PDCCH information may include the corresponding ARI value/subset index, starting CCE index, aggregation level, relative resource index and the final global resource index.),
wherein the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal is different from the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the second type of terminal (Wang, [0079] To minimize PUCCH resource collision, the gNB may attempt to assign UEs into subsets with non-overlapping physical resources.); or
wherein the preset frequency offset is predefined and/or indicated by a network side device (Wang, [0079-0080] To minimize PUCCH resource collision, the gNB may attempt to assign UEs into subsets with non-overlapping physical resources. …
For Option 1, the gNB may place the PDCCHs at particular locations. Such locations (with corresponding starting CCE indices) may be mapped to a particular relative resource index within the resource subset.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hou as modified by the teaching of Kundu with the CCE-based implicit mapping of Wang. The resulting invention would provide for selecting resources within a resource subset (Wang [0104]).
Re. Claim 7, Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 1.
Hou further teaches wherein in case that the first resource is the resource for transmitting the first PUCCH with frequency hopping (Hou, [0010] In a possible implementation of the first aspect, the first indication information includes at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission.),
the determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one or more of:
replacing a bandwidth parameter
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of the UL initial BWP in a relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to a first hop and a second hop (Hou, [0115-0116] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
. If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
; and a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
.
[0163-0166] It should be noted that, in this scenario, in addition to at least one of parameters such as an index of the first PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part, the first indication information may further include at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission. …
If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.
[It can be seen between Hou [0115-0116] and ¶0166, that the
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
and
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
have been replaced by
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
and
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
.])
in case that a second type of terminal transmits a second PUCCH (Hou, [0008] The second PUCCH resource set includes at least one PUCCH resource, and the second PUCCH resource set is configured for a second-type terminal device.)
with a first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
determining frequency locations corresponding to a first hop and a second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on a replaced relationship model (Hou, [0165-0166] With reference to the foregoing descriptions, in this scenario, the terminal device may determine, in the following manners, a PRB location of a PUCCH resource for transmission. If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.),
wherein the
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
is less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
S
I
Z
E
supported by the first type of terminal (Hou, [0167] In this implementation, a frequency domain range of the first PUCCH resource set may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.), and
a maximum bandwidth supported by the second type of terminal is larger than the first preset value (Hou, [0098] For example, a maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device is small, for example, at least one of 50 MHz, 40 MHz, 20 MHz, 15 MHz, 10 MHz, or 5 MHz, and a maximum bandwidth supported by the second-type terminal device is large, for example, 100 MHz.);
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
replacing a bandwidth parameter
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of the UL initial BWP in a first sub-relationship model corresponding to -
r
P
U
C
C
H
8
=
0
among relationship models used to determine a frequency location corresponding to a second hop (Hou, [0166] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.
[In Hou [0115-0116], quoted above, the resources for frequency hopping are given by
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
,
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
,
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
, and
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
. It can be seen between Hou [0115-0116] and [0166], that the
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
and
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
have been replaced by
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
and
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
.]),
in case that a second type of terminal transmits a second PUCCH with a first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.),
determining a frequency location corresponding to a second hop when the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH at -
r
P
U
C
C
H
8
=
0
based on a replaced first sub-relationship model (Hou, [0166] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.), and
determining a frequency location corresponding to a second hop when the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH at -
r
P
U
C
C
H
8
=
1
based on a fourth frequency offset and a second sub-relationship model corresponding to -
r
P
U
C
C
H
8
=
1
among the relationship models used to determine the frequency location corresponding to the second hop (Hou, [0166] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.)
in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH;
determining a possible value of a first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
in a relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to a first hop and a second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH and a possible value of
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
used by a second type of terminal to be different (Hou, Fig. 8 and [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.),
wherein the possible value
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal enables a frequency interval between the first hop and the second hop for transmitting the first PUCCH to be less than or equal to
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
s
i
z
e
(Hou, [0167] In this implementation, a frequency domain range of the first PUCCH resource set may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.); or
determining a frequency location corresponding to a first hop for transmitting the first PUCCH (Hou, [0162-0163] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP. It should be noted that, in this scenario, in addition to at least one of parameters such as an index of the first PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part, the first indication information may further include at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission.), and
determining, based on the frequency location corresponding to the first hop and a fifth frequency offset between the first hop and a second hop, a frequency location corresponding to the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH (Hou, [0163] It should be noted that, in this scenario, in addition to at least one of parameters such as an index of the first PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part, the first indication information may further include at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission.),
wherein the fifth frequency offset is predefined and/or indicated by a network side device (Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
an absolute value of the fifth frequency offset is less than or equal to
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
s
i
z
e
(Hou, [0167] In this implementation, a frequency domain range of the first PUCCH resource set may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.).
Re. Claim 8, Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 7.
Hou further teaches wherein the replacing the bandwidth parameter of the UL initial BWP in the relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop (Hou, [0115-0116] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
. If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
; and a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
.
[0163-0166] It should be noted that, in this scenario, in addition to at least one of parameters such as an index of the first PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part, the first indication information may further include at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission. …
If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.
[It can be seen between Hou [0115-0116] and [0166], that the
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
and
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
have been replaced by
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
and
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
.])
in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH (Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.)
with the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, 0162: In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
determining frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the replaced relationship model comprises:
replacing the bandwidth parameter
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of the UL initial BWP in the relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop (Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.)
with the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, 0162: In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH (Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.)
with the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
determining frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the replaced relationship model and a preset frequency offset (Hou, [0141] In this implementation, the first indication information may include an index of the first PUCCH resource set, for example, the index shown in the first column in Table 1. The index may indicate parameters such as a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part in which the first PUCCH resource set is located.).
Re. Claim 9. Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 7.
Claim 9 is rejected as elaborating on a limitation recited in the alternative which is given no patentable weight.
wherein the determining initial frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH, performing modulo operation for the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
on the initial frequency locations and determining modulo operation results as frequency locations
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH, comprises:
determining initial frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH, performing modulo operation for the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
on the initial frequency locations and determining frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the modulo operation results and a preset frequency offset.
Re. Claim 12. A method for channel transmission (Hou, [0032] According to a third aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a communication method. The method is applicable to a scenario in which a network device configures a PUCCH resource for a terminal device. The method is executed by the network device or a module in the network device.), comprising:
transmitting first indication information to a first type of terminal (Hou, [0128] S402: The network device sends first indication information to a terminal device, where the first indication information indicates the first PUCCH resource set.
[0159] The first PUCCH resource set is located in a frequency domain range of the first initial uplink BWP. Correspondingly, the second PUCCH resource set is located in the frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.
[0160] In this scenario, a bandwidth of the first initial uplink BWP may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.),
wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a first resource for transmitting a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH in an uplink (UL) initial bandwidth part (BWP) (Hou, [0128] S402: The network device sends first indication information to a terminal device, where the first indication information indicates the first PUCCH resource set.
[0159] The first PUCCH resource set is located in a frequency domain range of the first initial uplink BWP. Correspondingly, the second PUCCH resource set is located in the frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.
[0160] In this scenario, a bandwidth of the first initial uplink BWP may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.); and
receiving the first PUCCH transmitted by the first type of terminal on the first resource (Hou [0208] Case 1: If a first uplink bandwidth part currently used by the terminal device includes the dedicated PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH resource may be determined from the dedicated PUCCH resource set, and the uplink control information is sent by using the PUCCH resource.
[It is implicit in transmitting to the scheduling entity that the scheduling entity receives the PUCCH.]);
wherein a bandwidth range of the first resource is less than or equal to a maximum bandwidth supported by the first type of terminal (Hou, [0160] In this scenario, a bandwidth of the first initial uplink BWP may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.), and
the maximum bandwidth supported by the first type of terminal is less than or equal to a first preset value (Hou, [0122] When a terminal device is the first-type terminal device, a supported maximum bandwidth is less than 100 MHz.),
wherein a maximum bandwidth supported by the second type of terminal is larger than the first preset value (Hou, [0098] For example, a maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device is small, for example, at least one of 50 MHz, 40 MHz, 20 MHz, 15 MHz, 10 MHz, or 5 MHz, and a maximum bandwidth supported by the second-type terminal device is large, for example, 100 MHz.);
Yet, Hou does not explicitly teach wherein in case that the first resource is a resource for transmitting the first PUCCH without frequency hopping wherein in case that the first resource is a resource for transmitting the first PUCCH without frequency hopping , determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one or more of: determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a method for determining a frequency location corresponding to a first hop determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a frequency location of a given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal.
However, in the related art, Kundu teaches wherein in case that the first resource is a resource for transmitting the first PUCCH without frequency hopping wherein in case that the first resource is a resource for transmitting the first PUCCH without frequency hopping (Kundu, [0030]: The UE 502 transmits a PUCCH using frequency hopping if not provided useinterlacePUCCH-PUSCH in BWP-Uplink:Common; otherwise, the UE transmits a PUCCH without frequency hopping.), determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one or more of:
determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a method for determining a frequency location corresponding to a first hop (Kundu, [0084-0085]: Since single PRB PUCCH resource (as in NR-licensed) is enhanced to multi-PRB in NR-unlicensed, PRB index of the ith PRB in the 1st and 2nd hops (when frequency hopping is enabled) can be redefined as:
PRB index (1st hop) =
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
+
i
-
1
,
i
f
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
-
i
-
1
,
o
t
h
e
r
w
i
s
e
PRB index(2nd hop) =
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
+
i
-
1
,
i
f
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
-
i
-
1
,
o
t
h
e
r
w
i
s
e
where,
i
=
1,2
,
…
,
n
.
If frequency hopping is disabled, then the PRB indexes [for PUCCH resource configuration] can be derived as:
P
R
B
i
n
d
e
x
(
i
t
h
P
R
B
)
=
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
{
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
+
i
-
1
,
i
=
1,2
…
,
n
[As can be seen, the method for determining the PRB index when frequency hopping is disabled is the same as the method for the first condition for determining the 1st hop.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communication method and apparatus of Hou with the method for determining PUCCH resource configurations when frequency hopping is disabled, as taught by Kundu. The resulting invention would provide for deriving PRB indexes with frequency hopping is disabled (Kundu, [0084]).
Neither Hou nor Kundu explicitly teaches determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a frequency location of a given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal.
However, in the related art, Wang teaches determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on a frequency location of a given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal (Wang, [0066] In an UL transmission, the transmitting device (e.g., the scheduled entity 106) may utilize one or more REs 306 to carry UL control information 118 including one or more UL control channels, such as a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), to the scheduling entity 108. UL control information may include a variety of packet types and categories, including pilots, reference signals, and information configured to enable or assist in decoding uplink data transmissions. In some examples, the control information 118 may include a scheduling request (SR), e.g., a request for the scheduling entity 108 to schedule uplink transmissions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hou as modified by the teaching of Kundu with the CCE-based implicit mapping of Wang. The resulting invention would provide for selecting resources within a resource subset (Wang [0104]).
Re. Claim 15 Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 12.
Hou does not explicitly teach wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal through a predefinition and/or indication method, wherein the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal is different from the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the second type of terminal; or determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH based on a preset frequency offset and the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop
However, in the related art, Kundu teaches determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH based on a preset frequency offset and the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop (Kundu [0026-0028]: If a UE 502 (see e.g., FIG. 5) does not have dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, provided by PUCCH-ResourceSet in PUCCH-Config, a PUCCH resource set is provided by pucch-ResourceCommon through an index to a row of Table 1 for transmission of HARQ-ACK information on PUCCH in an initial UL BWP of
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs). …
The PUCCH resource set includes sixteen resources, each corresponding to a PUCCH format, a first symbol, a duration, a PRB offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, and a cyclic shift index set for a PUCCH transmission. And
[0085]: If frequency hopping is disabled, then the PRB indexes [for PUCCH resource configuration] can be derived as:
P
R
B
i
n
d
e
x
(
i
t
h
P
R
B
)
=
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
{
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
+
i
-
1
,
i
=
1,2
…
,
n
) and/or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communication method and apparatus of Hou with the method for determining PUCCH resource configurations when frequency hopping is disabled, as taught by Kundu. The resulting invention would provide for deriving PRB indexes with frequency hopping is disabled (Kundu, [0084]).
Neither Hou nor Kundu explicitly teaches wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop and/or
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal through a predefinition and/or indication method, wherein the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal is different from the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the second type of terminal; or
However, in the related art, Wang teaches wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the method for determining the frequency location corresponding to the first hop (Wang, [0059] An RE, which is 1 subcarrier x 1 symbol, is the smallest discrete part of the time-frequency grid, and contains a single complex value representing data from a physical channel or signal. …
In some examples, a block of REs may be referred to as a physical resource block (PRB) or more simply a resource block (RB) 308, which contains any suitable number of consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain.
[0097] For example, if the RB index of the first hop is m, the RB index of the second hop will be N-1-m.) and/or
determining a first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal through a predefinition and/or indication method (Wang, [0081] In Table 1, exemplary PDCCH information is provided for a particular slot when both UE A and UE B are active, wherein such PDCCH information may include the corresponding ARI value/subset index, starting CCE index, aggregation level, relative resource index and the final global resource index.),
wherein the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal is different from the first frequency offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the second type of terminal (Wang, [0079] To minimize PUCCH resource collision, the gNB may attempt to assign UEs into subsets with non-overlapping physical resources.); or
wherein the preset frequency offset is predefined and/or indicated by a network side device (Wang, [0079-0080] To minimize PUCCH resource collision, the gNB may attempt to assign UEs into subsets with non-overlapping physical resources. …
For Option 1, the gNB may place the PDCCHs at particular locations. Such locations (with corresponding starting CCE indices) may be mapped to a particular relative resource index within the resource subset.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hou as modified by the teaching of Kundu with the CCE-based implicit mapping of Wang. The resulting invention would provide for selecting resources within a resource subset (Wang [0104]).
Re. Claim 18. Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 12.
Hou further teaches wherein in case that the first resource is the resource for transmitting the first PUCCH with frequency hopping (Hou, [0010] In a possible implementation of the first aspect, the first indication information includes at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission.),
determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one or more of:
replacing a bandwidth parameter
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of the UL initial BWP in a relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to a first hop and a second hop (Hou, [0115-0116] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
. If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
; and a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
.
[0163-0166]: It should be noted that, in this scenario, in addition to at least one of parameters such as an index of the first PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part, the first indication information may further include at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission. … If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.
[It can be seen between Hou [0115-0116] and [0166], that the
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
and
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
have been replaced by
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
and
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
.])
in case that a second type of terminal transmits a second PUCCH (Hou, [0008] The second PUCCH resource set includes at least one PUCCH resource, and the second PUCCH resource set is configured for a second-type terminal device.)
with a first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
determining frequency locations corresponding to a first hop and a second hop when the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on a replaced relationship model (Hou, [0165-0166] With reference to the foregoing descriptions, in this scenario, the terminal device may determine, in the following manners, a PRB location of a PUCCH resource for transmission. If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.),
wherein the
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
is less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
S
I
Z
E
supported by the first type of terminal (Hou, [0167] In this implementation, a frequency domain range of the first PUCCH resource set may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.), and
a maximum bandwidth supported by the second type of terminal is larger than the first preset value (Hou, [0098] For example, a maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device is small, for example, at least one of 50 MHz, 40 MHz, 20 MHz, 15 MHz, 10 MHz, or 5 MHz, and a maximum bandwidth supported by the second-type terminal device is large, for example, 100 MHz.);
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
replacing a bandwidth parameter
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of the UL initial BWP in a first sub-relationship model corresponding to -
r
P
U
C
C
H
8
=
0
among relationship models used to determine a frequency location corresponding to a second hop (Hou, [0166] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.
[In Hou [0115-0116], quoted above, the resources for frequency hopping are given by
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
,
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
,
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
, and
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
. It can be seen between Hou [0115-0116] and [0166], that the
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
and
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
have been replaced by
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
and
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
.])
in case that a second type of terminal transmits a second PUCCH with a first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.),
determining a frequency location corresponding to a second hop when the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH at -
r
P
U
C
C
H
8
=
0
based on a replaced first sub-relationship model (Hou, [0166] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.), and
determining a frequency location corresponding to a second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH at -
r
P
U
C
C
H
8
=
1
based on a fourth frequency offset and a second sub-relationship model corresponding to -
r
P
U
C
C
H
8
=
1
among the relationship models used to determine the frequency location corresponding to the second hop (Hou, [0166] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.)
wherein the possible value
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
corresponding to the first type of terminal enables a frequency interval between the first hop and the second hop for transmitting the first PUCCH to be less than or equal to
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
s
i
z
e
(Hou, [0167] In this implementation, a frequency domain range of the first PUCCH resource set may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.); or
determining a frequency location corresponding to a first hop for transmitting the first PUCCH (Hou, [0162-0163] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP. It should be noted that, in this scenario, in addition to at least one of parameters such as an index of the first PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part, the first indication information may further include at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission.), and
determining, based on the frequency location corresponding to the first hop and a fifth frequency offset between the first hop and a second hop, a frequency location corresponding to the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH (Hou, [0163] It should be noted that, in this scenario, in addition to at least one of parameters such as an index of the first PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part, the first indication information may further include at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission.),
wherein the fifth frequency offset is predefined and/or indicated by a network side device (Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
an absolute value of the fifth frequency offset is less than or equal to
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
s
i
z
e
(Hou, [0167] In this implementation, a frequency domain range of the first PUCCH resource set may be less than or equal to the maximum bandwidth supported by the first-type terminal device.).
Re. Claim 19. Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 18,
Hou further teaches wherein the replacing the bandwidth parameter of the UL initial BWP in the relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop (Hou, [0115-0116] If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
. If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
; and a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
(
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
)
/
N
C
S
.
[0163-0166] It should be noted that, in this scenario, in addition to at least one of parameters such as an index of the first PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part, the first indication information may further include at least one of the following: a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the first frequency hopping transmission; and a frequency domain location
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
that is in the first PUCCH resource set and at which the terminal device performs the second frequency hopping transmission. …
If
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
0
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
N
C
S
; and if
r
P
U
C
C
H
/
8
=
1
, a PRB for PUCCH transmission in first frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
; and a PRB for PUCCH transmission in second frequency hopping is
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
/
N
C
S
⌋
.
[It can be seen between Hou [0115-0116] and [0166], that the
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
and
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
have been replaced by
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
f
i
r
s
t
and
R
B
s
t
a
r
t
s
e
c
o
n
d
.])
in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH (Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.)
with the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, 0162: In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
determining frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the replaced relationship model comprises:
replacing the bandwidth parameter
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of the UL initial BWP in the relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop (Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.)
with the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, 0162: In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH (Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.)
with the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
(Hou, [0162] In a second scenario, as shown in FIG. 8, the network device may configure a second initial uplink BWP for the second-type terminal device. Both the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set are located in a frequency domain range of the second initial uplink BWP.), and
determining frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the replaced relationship model and a preset frequency offset (Hou, [0141] In this implementation, the first indication information may include an index of the first PUCCH resource set, for example, the index shown in the first column in Table 1. The index may indicate parameters such as a PUCCH format, a start symbol, a quantity of included symbols, a physical resource block offset
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
, an initial cyclic interval set
N
C
S
of the PUCCH resource in the first PUCCH resource set, and a size
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of a first initial uplink bandwidth part in which the first PUCCH resource set is located.).
Re. Claim 20. Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches The method of claim 18,
wherein the replacing the bandwidth parameter of the UL initial BWP in the relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH with the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
, and
determining frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the replaced relationship model comprises:
replacing the bandwidth parameter
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
of the UL initial BWP in the relationship model used to determine frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the second type of terminal transmits the second PUCCH with the first bandwidth parameter
N
R
e
d
C
a
p
P
U
C
C
H
and determining frequency locations corresponding to the first hop and the second hop in case that the first type of terminal transmits the first PUCCH based on the replaced relationship model and a preset frequency offset (Claim 20 is rejected as elaborating on a limitation recited in the alternative which is given no patentable weight).
Re. Claim 25, Claim 25 is directed to an apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 25 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 1.
Re. Claim 26, Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 12.
Hou further teaches a network side device (Hou, [0228] When the communication apparatus 1400 performs the functions of the network device in the procedure shown in FIG. 13 in the foregoing embodiment, the processing module is for configuring P uplink bandwidth parts, where Q uplink bandwidth parts in the P uplink bandwidth parts include a dedicated PUCCH resource set, Q is an integer greater than 0 and less than or equal to P, and P is an integer greater than 0.), comprising:
a processor, a memory for storing a computer program (Hou, [0231] The apparatus shown in FIG. 15 may be an implementation of a hardware circuit of the apparatus shown in FIG. 14.
[0232] As shown in FIG. 15, the communication apparatus 1500 includes a processor 1510 and a communication interface 1520. The processor 1510 and the communication interface 1520 are coupled to each other. It may be understood that the communication interface 1520 may be a transceiver or an input/output interface. Optionally, the communication apparatus 1500 may further include a memory 1530, configured to store instructions executed by the processor 1510, or store input data required by the processor 1510 to run the instructions, or store data generated after the processor 1510 runs the instructions.),
wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of claim 12 (Hou, 0233] When the communication apparatus 1500 is configured to implement the method shown in any one of the procedures in FIG. 3 to FIG. 13, the processor 1510 is configured to implement the functions of the processing module 1401, and the communication interface 1520 is configured to implement the functions of the communication module 1402. See rejection of claim 12).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou in view of Kundu and Wang, as applied to claims 1 and 12, further in view of Zhou et al. (US 12,052,761), Zhou hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 1.
Yet, neither Hou nor Kundu teach wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the frequency location of the given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal, the determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one of: enabling a frequency location of a first physical resource block (PRB) for transmitting the first PUCCH to be the same as a frequency location of a first PRB for a first message or a third message, wherein the first message is a random access request message or a random access pilot signal, and the third message is a connection establishment request message in a random access procedure.
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
N
C
S
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
N
C
S
,
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
r
P
U
C
C
H
N
C
S
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
However, in the related art, Wang teaches wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the frequency location of the given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal (Wang, [0066]: In an UL transmission, the transmitting device (e.g., the scheduled entity 106) may utilize one or more REs 306 to carry UL control information 118 including one or more UL control channels, such as a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), to the scheduling entity 108. UL control information may include a variety of packet types and categories, including pilots, reference signals, and information configured to enable or assist in decoding uplink data transmissions. In some examples, the control information 118 may include a scheduling request (SR), e.g., a request for the scheduling entity 108 to schedule uplink transmissions.),
the determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one of:
enabling a frequency location of a first physical resource block (PRB) for transmitting the first PUCCH to be the same as a frequency location of a first PRB for a first message or a third message (Wang, [0088-0091]: As disclosed herein, it is thus contemplated that a resource index r corresponding to a resource subset may be implicitly derived. …
In a second contemplated option, however, a mapping is performed from the starting RBG index according to the following equation:
r
=
Mod
I
,
M
wherein, M is the number of PUCCH resources in the resource subset indicated by ARI bits; and I is the starting RBG index of the PDSCH.
[In the case that -
I
=
0
, then
r
=
0
resulting in a PUCCH transmission resource to be the first PRB.]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hou as modified by the teaching of Kundu with the CCE-based implicit mapping of Wang. The resulting invention would provide for selecting resources within a resource subset (Wang [0104]).
None of Hou, Kundu, or Wang explicitly teaches wherein the first message is a random access request message or a random access pilot signal, and the third message is a connection establishment request message in a random access procedure.
However, in the related art, Zhou teaches wherein the first message is a random access request message or a random access pilot signal (Zhou, Col. 28, Lines 21-24: The Msg 1 1311 may include and/or be referred to as a preamble (or a random access preamble).), and
the third message is a connection establishment request message in a random access procedure (Zhou, Col. 30, line 51-Col. 31, line 1: The Msg 3 1313 may be used for contention resolution in, for example, the contention based random access procedure illustrated in FIG. 13A. … To perform contention resolution, the UE may include a device identifier in the Msg 3 1313 (e.g., a C-RNTI if assigned, a TC-RNTI included in the Msg 2 1312, and/or any other suitable identifier). The Msg 4 1314 may be received after or in response to the transmitting of the Msg 3 1313. If a C-RNTI was included in the Msg 3 1313, the base station will address the UE on the PDCCH using the C-RNTI.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Hou as modified by the teaching of Kundu and Wang with the random access response reception of random access procedure of Zhou. Wang discloses allocating resources for the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) after a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Wang, [0078]) setup but does not disclose details for the RRC connection setup. Further modification of Hou’s invention by the teachings of Zhou clarifies how to perform the RRC connection setup through a random access procedure (Zhou, Abstract & Figs 24-39).
Re. Claim 17, Hou in view of Kundu and Wang teaches claim 12.
Yet, neither Hou nor Kundu teach wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the frequency location of the given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal, the determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one of: enabling a frequency location of a first physical resource block (PRB) for transmitting the first PUCCH to be the same as a frequency location of a first PRB for a first message or a third message, wherein the first message is a random access request message or a random access pilot signal, and the third message is a connection establishment request message in a random access procedure.
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
+
r
P
U
C
C
H
N
C
S
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
-
1
-
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
-
r
P
U
C
C
H
-
8
N
C
S
,
R
B
B
W
P
o
f
f
s
e
t
r
P
U
C
C
H
N
C
S
N
B
W
P
s
i
z
e
However, in the related art, Wang teaches wherein in case of determining the first resource for the first type of terminal to transmit the first PUCCH based on the frequency location of the given uplink channel transmitted by the first type of terminal (Wang, [0066]: In an UL transmission, the transmitting device (e.g., the scheduled entity 106) may utilize one or more REs 306 to carry UL control information 118 including one or more UL control channels, such as a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), to the scheduling entity 108. UL control information may include a variety of packet types and categories, including pilots, reference signals, and information configured to enable or assist in decoding uplink data transmissions. In some examples, the control information 118 may include a scheduling request (SR), e.g., a request for the scheduling entity 108 to schedule uplink transmissions.),
the determining the first resource for transmitting the first PUCCH comprises any one of:
enabling a frequency location of a first physical resource block (PRB) for transmitting the first PUCCH to be the same as a frequency location of a first PRB for a first message or a third message (Wang, [0088-0091]: As disclosed herein, it is thus contemplated that a resource index r corresponding to a resource subset may be implicitly derived. …
In a second contemplated option, however, a mapping is performed from the starting RBG index according to the following equation:
r
=
Mod
I
,
M
wherein, M is the number of PUCCH resources in the resource subset indicated by ARI bits; and I is the starting RBG index of the PDSCH.
[In the case that -
I
=
0
, then
r
=
0
resulting in a PUCCH transmission resource to be the first PRB.]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hou as modified by the teaching of Kundu with the CCE-based implicit mapping of Wang. The resulting invention would provide for selecting resources within a resource subset (Wang [0104]).
None of Hou, Kundu, or Wang explicitly teaches wherein the first message is a random access request message or a random access pilot signal, and the third message is a connection establishment request message in a random access procedure.
However, in the related art, Zhou teaches wherein the first message is a random access request message or a random access pilot signal (Zhou, Col. 28, Lines 21-24: The Msg 1 1311 may include and/or be referred to as a preamble (or a random access preamble).), and
the third message is a connection establishment request message in a random access procedure (Zhou, Col. 30, line 51-Col. 31, line 1: The Msg 3 1313 may be used for contention resolution in, for example, the contention based random access procedure illustrated in FIG. 13A. … To perform contention resolution, the UE may include a device identifier in the Msg 3 1313 (e.g., a C-RNTI if assigned, a TC-RNTI included in the Msg 2 1312, and/or any other suitable identifier). The Msg 4 1314 may be received after or in response to the transmitting of the Msg 3 1313. If a C-RNTI was included in the Msg 3 1313, the base station will address the UE on the PDCCH using the C-RNTI.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Hou as modified by the teaching of Kundu and Wang with the random access response reception of random access procedure of Zhou. Wang discloses allocating resources for the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) after a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Wang, [0078]) setup but does not disclose details for the RRC connection setup. Further modification of Hou’s invention by the teachings of Zhou clarifies how to perform the RRC connection setup through a random access procedure (Zhou, Abstract & Figs 24-39).
Conclusion
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417