Status of Preliminary Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of preliminary amendment to application 18/033,820 received April 26, 2023. Claims 6, 9, 11, 14, 17, 20-21, 23-25 and 27 are amended, and claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12-13, 15-16, 18-19, 22, 26 and 28-30 are left as original.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 21-22, 24 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Honda et al. U.S. PGPub 2019/0386496 A1 (hereinafter Honda-496).
Regarding Claim 1, Honda-496 teaches a start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140; Paras. [0059] – [0061], “Activation Signal Generation Unit”. Where the term “start-up” is interpreted as “activate”.) of a power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121 and 122 of battery 120; Paras. [0036] and [0042]) having a power storage (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1211 and 1221; Paras. [0046] - [0050]), the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121) comprising a switching controller (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1212A and 1222A; Paras. [0068] - [0069], “activation control unit”) configured to switch between a started-up state (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 1-4. Where the “activation state” is equivalent to the claimed “started-up state”.) in which electric power of the power storage is able to be output to outside of the power storage device or in which electric power outside of the power storage device is able to be input to the power storage (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 1-8. Where the activation signal ACT indicates a “significant state” to set the battery to the activation state.) and a non-started-up state (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 8-11. Where the “non-activation state” is equivalent to the claimed “non-started-up state”.) in which electric power of the power storage is unable to be output to the outside of the power storage device or in which electric power outside of the power storage device is unable to be input to the power storage (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 8-11. Where the activation signal ACT indicates “not a significant state” to set the battery to the non-activation state.), and the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140) comprising a power source part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 160; Paras. [0043] and [0061], “sub battery”) provided outside of the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2 As illustrated) and electrically connectable to the switching controller (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1212A and 1222A; Where the power source 160 is electrically connectable to the switching controller 1212A and 1222A via the Activation Signal Generation Unit 141 through the ACT signal 1217/1227 and Insulation Unit 1214/1224.).
Regarding Claim 2, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121 and 122 of battery 120; Paras. [0036] and [0042]) is provided to be attachable to or detachable from (Honda-496, Para. [0035]) a power device (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 1; Para. [0031], “electric vehicle”.) including an operating part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 130; Para. [0036], “power device unit”.), the power storage (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1211 and 1221; Paras. [0046] - [0050]) of the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121 and 122 of battery 120) and the operating part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 130) are electrically connected via a first electric power transmission route (Honda-496, Fig. 2. Where the battery(s) are connected to the operating part 130 via electric circuit 110; Para. [0036]), and the power source part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 160; Paras. [0043] and [0061], “sub battery”) and the switching controller (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1212A and 1222A; Paras. [0068] - [0069], “activation control unit(s)”) are electrically connected via a second electric power transmission route (Honda-496, Fig. 2. Where the switching controller (activation processing unit 1212A) is connected to the power source part (sub battery 160) via ECU 140, signal ACT 1217, connector 121C, and Insulation Unit 1214; Para. [0036]).
Regarding Claim 3, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140; Paras. [0059] – [0061], “Activation Signal Generation Unit”. Where the term “start-up” is interpreted as “activate”.) has a first external connecting portion to which a power source outside of the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 160; Paras. [0043] and [0061], “sub battery”) is connected (Honda-496, Fig. 2, As illustrated), and the power source part and the first external connecting portion are electrically connected to each other (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Where the connection is illustrated but not separately labeled or described in detail.).
Regarding Claim 4, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 3/2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the power source part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 160; Paras. [0043] and [0061], “sub battery”) is electrically connected to the first electric power transmission route (Honda-496, Fig. 2. Where the battery(s) are connected to the operating part 130 via electric circuit 110; Para. [0036]) via a third electric power transmission route, and the third electric power transmission route is connected to the first external connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Where the third electric power transmission route is part of the first electric power transmission route, i.e. the part making the internal connections within the ECU to the Activation Signal Generation Unit 141.).
Regarding Claim 5, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 3/2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the power device (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 1; Para. [0031], “electric vehicle”.) or the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140; Paras. [0059] – [0061], “Activation Signal Generation Unit”. Where the term “start-up” is interpreted as “activate”.) includes an electric power conversion part on the third electric power transmission route (Honda-496, Para. [0043], “DC-DC converter” (not shown).).
Regarding Claim 6, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein, among a pair of a first electric power connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 121P) and a second electric power connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 121N) that are placed in the first electric power transmission route (Honda-496, Fig. 2. Where the battery(s) are connected to the operating part 130 via electric circuit 110; Para. [0036]) and that are provided to be attachable to and detachable from each other (Honda-496, Para. [0035]), the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121 and 122 of battery 120; Paras. [0036] and [0042]) includes the second electric power connecting portion; and among a pair of a third electric power connecting portion and a fourth electric power connecting portion that are placed in the second electric power transmission route and that are provided to be attachable to and detachable from each other, the power storage device includes the fourth electric power connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements “g, a, b, and c” of connection 121C”).
Regarding Claim 7, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 6/2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the second electric power connecting portion and the fourth electric power connecting portion are provided integrally (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Where the connections are illustrated within, i.e. integral, the outline of the power storage device 120. Since this is not otherwise described within the application, it appears whether one is looking with respect to the connection to the outside of the device or from outside the device toward the device, one could call the connection “integral” or “independent”.).
Regarding Claim 8, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 6/2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the second electric power connecting portion and the fourth electric power connecting portion are provided independently (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Where the connections are illustrated within, i.e. independently, the outline of the power storage device 120. Since this is not otherwise described within the application, it appears whether one is looking with respect to the connection to the outside of the device or from outside the device toward the device, one could call the connection “integral” or “independent”.).
Regarding Claim 9, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the power storage device has: a second external connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 122C) to which a power source outside of the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 160; Paras. [0043] and [0061], “sub battery”) is connected (Honda-496, Fig. 2, As illustrated); and a fourth electric power transmission route configured to electrically connect the switching controller and the second external connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2. Where the switching controller (activation processing unit 1222A) is connected to the power source part (sub battery 160) via ECU 140, signal ACT 1227, connector 122C, and Insulation Unit 1224; Para. [0036]), and the fourth electric power transmission route is provided parallel to the second electric power transmission route (Honda-496, Fig. 2. As can be seen in the illustration.).
Regarding Claim 10, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 9/2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the second external connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 122C) is provided to be connectable to the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140; Paras. [0059] – [0061], “Activation Signal Generation Unit”. Where the term “start-up” is interpreted as “activate”.).
Regarding Claim 11, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the power device (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 1; Para. [0031], “electric vehicle”.) includes a first controller (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 140; Para. [0036], “ECU”) configured to control the operating part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 130; Para. [0036], “power device unit”.), and the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140; Paras. [0059] – [0061], “Activation Signal Generation Unit”. Where the term “start-up” is interpreted as “activate”.) is disposed at a position near the first controller (Honda-496, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 11/2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the first controller (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 140; Para. [0036], “ECU”) is connected to be communicable with a second controller (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 1212C; Para. [0068], “communication control unit”) via a communication route (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 1215; Para. [0046]), the second controller being configured to control a connecting/disconnecting part of the power storage device via a communication route (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 1213; Para. [0046]), and among a pair of a first communication connecting portion and a second communication connecting portion that are placed in the communication route and that are attachable to and detachable from each other, the power storage device includes the second communication connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements “b” and “c” of connection 121C).
Regarding Claim 13, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 12/11/2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein, among a pair of a third electric power connecting portion and a fourth electric power connecting portion that are placed in the second electric power transmission route and that are attachable to and detachable from each other, the power storage device includes the fourth electric power connecting portion, and the second communication connecting portion and the fourth electric power connecting portion are provided integrally (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Connections of Elements “121P” and “121N”).
Regarding Claim 14, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 2/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140; Paras. [0059] – [0061], “Activation Signal Generation Unit”. Where the term “start-up” is interpreted as “activate”.) is provided to be attachable to and detachable from the power device (Honda-496, Para. [0035]).
Regarding Claim 21, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121 and 122 of battery 120; Paras. [0036] and [0042]) includes a second electric power terminal that is an electric power terminal provided to be attachable to and detachable from a first electric power terminal that is an electric power terminal of a power device provided to be attachable to and detachable from the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Connections of Elements “121P” and “121N”), and the switching controller includes a connecting/disconnecting part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 1213) that is provided on a first electric power transmission route and that is configured to connect the power storage and the second electric power terminal (Honda-496, Paras. [0046] – [0050] and [0055]).
Regarding Claim 22, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 21/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the connecting/disconnecting part includes a first connecting/disconnecting part and a second connecting/disconnecting part provided parallel to the first connecting/disconnecting part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Connections of Elements “121P” and “121N”. Not explicitly explained, but understood by the disclosure as a whole.).
Regarding Claim 24, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 21/1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the power source part is disposed on the power device (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 1; Para. [0031], “electric vehicle”.) including an electric power conversion part configured to convert electric power, and the electric power conversion part converts electric power from the power storage device that has been started up, or transmits the converted and generated electric power to the power storage device that has been started up (Honda-496, Para. [0043], “DC-DC converter” (not shown).).
Regarding Claim 27, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140; Paras. [0059] – [0061], “Activation Signal Generation Unit”. Where the term “start-up” is interpreted as “activate”.) is provided to be attachable to and detachable from the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements “g, a, b, and c” of connection 121C”).
Regarding Claim 28, Honda-496 teaches a power device (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 1; Para. [0031], “electric vehicle”.) comprising an operating part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 130; Para. [0036], “power device unit”.) configured to charge or discharge a power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121 and 122 of battery 120; Paras. [0036] and [0042]) having a power storage (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1211 and 1221; Paras. [0046] - [0050]), wherein the power storage device includes a switching controller (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1212A and 1222A; Paras. [0068] - [0069], “activation control unit”) configured to switch between a started-up state (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 1-4. Where the “activation state” is equivalent to the claimed “started-up state”.) in which electric power of the power storage is able to be output to outside of the power storage device or in which electric power outside of the power storage device is able to be input to the power storage (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 1-8. Where the activation signal ACT indicates a “significant state” to set the battery to the activation state.) and a non-started-up state (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 8-11. Where the “non-activation state” is equivalent to the claimed “non-started-up state”.) in which electric power of the power storage is unable to be output to the outside of the power storage device or in which electric power outside of the power storage device is unable to be input to the power storage (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 8-11. Where the activation signal ACT indicates “not a significant state” to set the battery to the non-activation state.), and a start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 141 of ECU 140; Paras. [0059] – [0061], “Activation Signal Generation Unit”. Where the term “start-up” is interpreted as “activate”.) configured to start up the power storage device includes a power source part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 160; Paras. [0043] and [0061], “sub battery”) provided outside of the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2 As illustrated) and electrically connectable to the switching controller (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1212A and 1222A; Where the power source 160 is electrically connectable to the switching controller 1212A and 1222A via the Activation Signal Generation Unit 141 through the ACT signal 1217/1227 and Insulation Unit 1214/1224.).
Regarding Claim 29, The teaching of the Honda-496 reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 28. Furthermore, Honda-496 teaches wherein a first accommodating portion (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 120C; Para. [0035], “battery storage portion”) and a second accommodating portion (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 140; Para. [0036], “inside the vehicle body cover 22”) configured to form an accommodating space that has an opening on an upper portion thereof are provided, the power storage device (Honda-496, Figs. 1 and 2, Elements 121 and 122 of battery 120) is accommodated in the first accommodating portion (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 120C, “battery storage portion”), and the start-up device (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 141 of ECU 140) is accommodated in the second accommodating portion (Honda-496, Fig. 1, Element 140, “inside the vehicle body cover 22”).
Regarding Claim 30, Honda-496 teaches a power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121 and 122 of battery 120; Paras. [0036] and [0042]) having a power storage (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1211 and 1221; Paras. [0046] - [0050]), comprising: a switching controller (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1212A and 1222A; Paras. [0068] - [0069], “activation control unit”) configured to switch between a started-up state (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 1-4. Where the “activation state” is equivalent to the claimed “started-up state”.) in which electric power of the power storage is able to be output to outside of the power storage device or in which electric power outside of the power storage device is able to be input to the power storage (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 1-8. Where the activation signal ACT indicates a “significant state” to set the battery to the activation state.) and a non-started-up state (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 8-11. Where the “non-activation state” is equivalent to the claimed “non-started-up state”.) in which electric power of the power storage is unable to be output to the outside of the power storage device or in which electric power outside of the power storage device is unable to be input to the power storage (Honda-496, Para. [0069], Lines 8-11. Where the activation signal ACT indicates “not a significant state” to set the battery to the non-activation state.); and a connecting portion (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 121C and 122C; Paras. [0046] and [0051] – [0056], “connector”) that is provided outside of the power storage device (Honda-496, Fig. 2 As illustrated) and to which a start-up device having a power source part (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Element 160; Paras. [0043] and [0061], “sub battery”) electrically connectable to the switching controller is connected (Honda-496, Fig. 2, Elements 1212A and 1222A; Where the power source 160 is electrically connectable to the switching controller 1212A and 1222A via the Activation Signal Generation Unit 141 through the ACT signal 1217/1227 and Insulation Unit 1214/1224.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20, 23 and 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 15: Though the prior art discloses a start-up device of a detachably attached power storage device of a power device, i.e. electric vehicle, comprising a switching controller to switch between a started-up state and a non-started state and controls the flow of power depending on the state, it fails to teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations of claim 15, and further including the combination of:
wherein the start-up device is provided to be communicable with an input part configured to receive an intention of start-up of the power device by a user of the power device or communicable with a controller configured to control the input part, and
the start-up device is provided to supply electric power of the power source part to the outside of the start-up device on the basis of input information to the input part.
Regarding Claim 23: Though the prior art discloses a start-up device of a detachably attached power storage device with terminal connections of a power device, i.e. electric vehicle, comprising a switching controller to switch between a started-up state and a non-started state and controls the flow of power depending on the state, it fails to teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations of claim 15, and further including the combination of:
wherein the switching controller includes:
a signal conversion part configured to change electric power of the power source part to a switching signal that switches an output state of the switching controller; and
a connecting/disconnecting controller configured to control the connecting/disconnecting part according to detection of the switching signal,
the connecting/disconnecting part includes a plurality of semiconductor switching elements, connecting/disconnecting of which is controlled by the control, and
when the switching signal showing output allowance is not detected, the connecting/disconnecting controller performs control to put each of the plurality of semiconductor switching elements in a disconnection state and generates the non-started-up state of the power storage device, and
when the switching signal showing the output allowance is detected, the connecting/disconnecting controller performs control to put each of the plurality of semiconductor switching elements in a conduction state and generates the started-up state of the power storage device.
Regarding Claim 25: Though the prior art discloses a start-up device of a detachably attached power storage device of a power device, i.e. electric vehicle, comprising a switching controller to switch between a started-up state and a non-started state and controls the flow of power depending on the state, it fails to teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations of claim 15, and further including the combination of:
comprising:
an input terminal to which electric power from the power storage device is input; and
an output terminal configured to output some of electric power output from the power source part.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuramochi et al. U.S. PGPub 2020/0247491 teaches a saddled electric vehicle having a battery that is attachable and detachable from the vehicle.
Sakamoto et al. U.S. PGPub 2012/0004798 teaches a discharge control apparatus for an electric vehicle.
Kawasaki et al. U.S. PGPub 2011/0288705 teaches a starting control device of an electric vehicle.
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859