DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 42-46 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 20, 21, 25-27 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mazutis (US 2012/0108721). This rejection was applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 20, 21, and 25-27 in Paragraphs 5-13 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 12/23/25. The rejection remains in effect for claims 1, 3, 4, 20, 21, and 25-27; and also applies to new claim 62. Please see Response to Arguments below.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazutis (US 2012/0108721) in view of Oguchi (US 2011/0257026). This rejection was applied in Paragraph 18 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 12/23/25. The rejection remains in effect. Please see Response to Arguments below.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazutis (US 2012/0108721) in view of Frey et al. (US 2019/0060522). This rejection was applied in Paragraph 19 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 12/23/25. The rejection remains in effect. Please see Response to Arguments below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/17/26, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mazutis (US 2012/0108721) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite “A closed system for producing cell culture scaffolds comprising” and “wherein the housing defines an atmosphere outside of the housing and a separate aseptic atmosphere within the housing, the aseptic atmosphere created by the at least one alcohol solvent present in one or more of the plurality of modular components” and then argued these features are not taught by the cited prior art, Mazutis. See pages 7-8 of Applicant’s Arguments. Applicant has argued that Mazutis does not teach a closed system.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and directs Applicant to the Examples, in particular Paragraphs 0181 and 0217. Paragraphs 0181 and 0217 recite a PDMS layer having channels sealed by glass. In addition, the injection lines are each connected to a closed syringe pump which would provide a “closed” system. The Examiner submits the recited use of the alcohol solvent is an intended use of the device. The Examiner reminds Applicant a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding new claim 62 – Figures 1C, 3A, 3B, 8A and 14A of Mazutis show embodiments of the device having an intersection defined by opposing fluid paths of a first solution and a fluid path of a different second solution the intersects the opposing fluid paths.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/17/26, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazutis (US 2012/0108721) in view of Oguchi (US 2011/0257026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the Oguchi reference with the Mazutis reference. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner submits Mazutis and Oguchi both teach microfluidic devices having filter structures. Oguchi teaches a removable filter structure which the Examiner considers to be an improvement over the filter structure taught by Mazutis. Therefore, the Examiner submits the addition of the filter of Oguchi to the device of Mazutis to be “applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. See MPEP 2143, Section I, Rationale D.
Applicant has also argued the Oguchi does not teach “wherein a critical cell dimension of each cell culture scaffold is determined by a pore size of the porous membrane”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits the term “critical cell dimension” is broad and does not confer a specific dimension or size of the pore or other feature of the membrane. Therefore, the Examiner submits that, in the claim as currently written, any pore size that allows for the formation of a scaffold results in “a critical dimension of each scaffold” that is “determined by the pore size” since each scaffold is actually formed and Applicant has not specified the “critical dimension”. Therefore, the pores of the membrane of Mazutis and Oguchi determine “a critical cell dimension” of the formed scaffold. The Examiner notes that if Applicant wishes to claim a specific pore size for forming the scaffolds, Applicant should recite the pore size in the claim.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/17/26, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazutis (US 2012/0108721) in view of Frey et al. (US 2019/0060522) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the combination of Mazutis and Frey does not teach the features of a pump and mass flow controller. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits the syringe pump element as taught by Mazutis provides the function of pumping and a mass controller as recited in the claims. See Paragraphs 0181 and 0217 of Mazutis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 July 30, 2026
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798