DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 4-5, 11, and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed towards nonelected species until a generic claim has been found allowable. Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-14, and 16-18 are examined on their merits.
35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) Rejections Maintained
The rejection of claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-13, and 16-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thies (US 2013/0274215 A1 published on October 17th 2013) is maintained.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments:
Applicant argues, in the response filed on June 26th 2026 that the compound of claim 1 differs from applicant’s compound genus in that it has a (=O) in the R8 position, wherein applicant allows for either an -H or -OH.
Regarding applicant’s argument, the compound upon which the 102 rejection was based, FT-1575-2, has the following illustrated structure:
.
It is acknowledged that the compound carries a carbonyl group in the R8 position. However, such a carbonyl would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as a tautomer of the same chemical structure wherein R8 is an alcohol and a double bond is present. That is, the structure above would inherently be in equilibrium with its alcohol counterpart,
,
which is undoubtedly anticipatory of the compound presented in applicant’s generic structure. See MPEP § 2112.
As compound FT-1575-2 lies within the genus of compounds in claim 1, Thies remains anticipatory of applicant’s method, and the 102 rejections of claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-13, and 16-17 are maintained.
35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) Rejections Reiterated
Claim 1 is directed to a method for treating a fibrotic disease comprising administration of a compound of Formula (I):
.
Thies teaches the treatment of fibrosis via administration of compound FT-1575-2:
Thies (pg. 22, claim 1; pg. 23 claims 17-18; Figure 29).
Thies thereby anticipates claim 1.
Claims 2-3 limit the fibrosis of claim 1 to one such as liver fibrosis, and are anticipated by Thies, who teaches the treatment of liver fibrosis (Thies, pg. 23, claim 14).
Claim 6 is directed towards the method of claim 1 wherein the compound is administered after a fibrotic lesion has been developed. Thies teaches a method of reducing fibrosis (Thies, pg. 22, claim 1), which necessitates that a fibrotic lesion has been developed. Thies thereby anticipates claim 6.
Claim 7 requires that, in the method of claim 1, the compound inhibits expression of extracellular proteins associated with tissue fibrosis. Thies teaches the inhibition of TGF-ß signaling (Thies, pg. 22, claim 1), anticipating claim 7.
Claim 8 limits the dosage of claim 1 to 1 microgram/kg to 1 gram/kg body weight administered once a day or multiple times per day. Claim 8 is anticipated by Thies, who teaches dosage of 0.1 to 0.5 mg/kg body weight per day (Thies, pg. 18).
Claim 9 limits the form of the compound administered in claim 1 to one such as a pill. Thies teaches administration in pill form (Thies, pg. 17), anticipating claim 9.
Claim 10 limits the administration in the method of claim 1 to be by injection, infusion, instillation, inhalation, or ingestion. Thies teaches oral forms (Thies, pg. 17), which are administered via ingestion. Thies thereby anticipates claim 10.
Claim 12 limits the method of claim 1 to systemic administration. Thies teaches oral forms of administration (Thies, pg. 17), which are by their nature systemic. Thies thereby anticipates claim 12.
Claim 13 is directed towards the method of claim 1 further comprising administration of an additional therapeutic agent. Thies teaches administration of an additional therapeutic agent (Thies, pg. 19), anticipating claim 13.
Claims 16-17 require that the subject in claim 1 is a human. Thies teaches human subjects (Thies, pg. 7), anticipating claims 16-17.
35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejections Maintained
The rejection of claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thies is maintained.
As the 103 rejection of claim 14 relied on the reasoning in the 102 rejections above, it is maintained for the same reasons.
The rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thies in view of Stappenbeck (Stappenbeck et al. Inhibition of Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Cells by Oxy210, an Oxysterol-Derivative that Antagonizes TGFβ and Hedgehog Signaling. Cells. 2019 Oct 22;8(10):1297) is maintained.
Applicant argues in the response filed on June 26th 2026 that one of ordinary skill in the art would not treat fibrosis using Oxy210, because Oxy210 is not recognized as an inhibitor of both Wnt and TGF, which Thies requires.
However, Thies very explicitly defines the motivation for such pathway inhibition. See Thies, paragraphs [0154] – [0156]:
Increased EMT/EnMT, prolonged myofibroblast activation, and increased deposition of extracellular matrix are features common to many fibroproliferative diseases, including but not limited to pulmonary fibrosis, liver fibrosis, kidney fibrosis, systemic sclerosis, and fibrosis arising from transplant rejection. The spectrum of affected organs, the usually progressive nature of the fibrotic process, the large number of affected persons, and the absence of effective treatment pose an enormous challenge when treating fibrotic diseases. Current treatments for fibrotic diseases typically target the inflammatory response, but there is accumulating evidence that the mechanisms driving fibrosis are distinct from those regulating inflammation. In fact, some studies suggest that ongoing inflammation reverses established and progressive fibrosis.
Accordingly, the present invention contemplates, in part, to provide compositions comprising inhibitors of cell signaling pathways that underlie the mechanism(s) of fibrosis that are common to most tissues, including without limitation, cell signaling pathways associated with EMT/EnMT, myofibroblast activation, and myofibroblast deposition of extracellular matrix. Without wishing to be bound to any particular theory, it is contemplated that fibrosis and fibroproliferative diseases can be more effectively prevented, reversed, treated, or ameliorated by inhibiting multiple signaling pathways associated with fibrosis.
Thus, by providing compositions that more effectively inhibit cell signaling pathways associated with EMT/EnMT, myofibroblast activation, and myofibroblast deposition of extracellular matrix, the present invention provides a much needed solution to a pandemic heath care crisis.
That is, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Thies’ approach was based on using a dual-pathway approach to inhibit epithelial-mesenchymal transition (EMT). In this regard, Oxy210 is recognized as a perfect candidate, as:
Oxy210 represents a substitution of a TGF-ß-signaling inhibitor
Oxy210 is a multi-pathway agent inhibiting both TGF-ß and hedgehog signaling
and most importantly,
The results of Theis’ anti-fibrosis methods rest entirely on the compounds’ activity in inhibiting EMT, upon which Oxy210 has been demonstrated to be effective (Stappenbeck, pg. 12).
One of ordinary skill in the art would thereby have a reasonable expectation of success in treating fibrosis with Oxy210, and the 103 rejection of claim 18 is maintained.
35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejection Over Claim 14 Reiterated
Claim 14 limits the additional therapeutic agent administered in claim 13 to an anti-fibrotic agent. For the teachings of Thies as they are relevant to claim 13, see the above 102 rejection over Thies. Regarding the co-administration of an antifibrotic agent, while Thies does not explicitly teach co-administration of an antifibrotic agent, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in administering an anti-fibrotic agent as the “additional therapeutic agent” in Thies’ method for treating fibrosis, because anti-fibrotic agents are known in the art for said purpose. Claim 14 is thereby prima facie obvious.
35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejection Over Claim 18 Reiterated
Claim 18 is directed towards the treatment of fibrosis with applicant’s elected species, Oxy210:
.
Thies teaches the treatment of fibrosis via administration of inhibitors of TGF-ß (Thies, pg. 22, claim 1). Thies does not explicitly teach the administration of Oxy210, but one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in treating fibrosis with Oxy210, because it is known in the art as an inhibitor of TGF-ß (Stappenbeck, Abstract). Claim 18 is thereby prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629