Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 9/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gladden et al. (RU2587786).
Regarding claim 1, Gladden discloses a method for manufacturing a combustible heat source for a smoking article, the method comprising the steps of:
mixing a carbon powder and an organic binder (S1) (example 7);
preparing a combustible heat source composition for a smoking article by adding an aqueous sugar solution after the step (S2) (example 7);
adding oil to the composition (S3) (example 7); and
compressing the composition (S4) into a desired shape (see document).
Regarding claim 5, Gladden discloses wherein the ignition accelerator composition further comprises potassium nitrate (oxidizing agent, see document).
Regarding claim 7, Gladden discloses the organic binder is one or more selected from the group consisting of carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), guar gum, methylcellulose (MC), and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) (see document).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 108991590) in view of Gladden et al. (RU 2587786).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method for manufacturing a combustible heat source for a smoking article, the method comprising the steps of:
mixing a carbon powder and an organic binder (S1);
preparing a combustible heat source composition for a smoking article by adding an aqueous sugar solution after the step (S2);
compressing the composition (S4) (Abstract).
Liu does not expressly disclose adding oil to the composition. Gladden discloses method of making a combustible heat source wherein the composition contains oil (claim 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add oil to the composition of Liu for its binding property.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses wherein the aqueous sugar solution is contained in the composition in an amount within the claimed range (example 3). In case of overlapping ranges, it would have been obvious to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, . Liu discloses wherein the aqueous sugar solution is prepared by mixing sugar and water at a weight ratio overlapping with the claimed range (example 3). In case of overlapping ranges, it would have been obvious to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses glucose as the sugar. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use sugar substitute such as sugar alcohols selected from the group consisting of sorbitol, xylitol, mannitol, maltitol, lactitol, erythritol, reduced palatinose, and reduced starch syrup.
Regarding claim 5, Gladden discloses wherein the ignition accelerator composition further comprises potassium nitrate (oxidizing agent, see document). Liu also discloses wherein the ignition accelerator composition further comprises potassium nitrate (Abstract)
Regarding claim 6, since Gladden and Liu discloses carbon powder is the carbon-based combustible heat source, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that the carbon powder includes charcoal and graphite, and is contained in an amount of 40% by weight or more.
Regarding claim 7, Gladden discloses the organic binder is one or more selected from the group consisting of carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), guar gum, methylcellulose (MC), and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) (see document).
Conclusion
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747