DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 63 – 82 are pending. Claims 1 – 62 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/26/2023 and 01/17/2025 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 82 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie (CN 111345743 A) citing U.S. Equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0142444 A1)
Regarding Independent Claim 82, Xie teaches a cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1) comprising: a cleaning robot (100), comprising: a framework (frame of robot, 100); and a moving module (wheels, 110), arranged at a bottom of the framework to drive the cleaning robot (100) to travel on a working surface (Fig. 3); and a cleaning module (310), configured to clean the working surface (Paragraph [0219]), the cleaning module (310) being connected to the cleaning robot (Fig. 3), and comprising: a main body (311), connectable with a cleaning medium (312) to wipe the working surface (Paragraph [0219]), wherein the main body (311) includes a connection region (notches, 313) for connection of the cleaning medium and a demounting region (ejection rod, 123 with magnetic elements, 314) for demounting of the cleaning medium, and wherein no interconnection action occurs between the demounting region and the cleaning medium (312 - the ejection rod interacts with magnet elements, 314 on the rear board, 311 and not the cleaning cloth, 312).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 63 – 64 and 70 – 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN 111345743 A) citing U.S. Equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0142444 A1) in view of Morin et al. (U. S. Patent Publication 2020/0000302 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 63, Xie teaches a cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1), comprising: a cleaning robot (cleaning robot, 100): a cleaning module (mopping module, 310), connected to the cleaning robot (Fig. 3) and configured to clean a working surface (Paragraph [0219]), and a base station (base station, 200) for accommodating the cleaning robot (100; Fig. 1), wherein the cleaning robot (100) comprises: a framework (frame of robot, 100; Fig. 3); a moving module (wheels, 110), arranged at a bottom of the framework to drive the cleaning robot to travel on a working surface (Fig. 3); wherein the cleaning module (310) comprises: a main body (rear board, 311), connectable with a cleaning medium (mopping cloth, 312) to wipe the working surface (Paragraph [0217]), wherein the main body (311) includes a connection region (connection assembly, 120; Paragraph [0219] with notches, 313) for connection of the cleaning medium (312) and a demounting region (ejection rod, 123 with magnetic elements, 314) for demounting of the cleaning medium (Paragraph [0228]), and wherein no interconnection action occurs between the demounting region (123) and the cleaning medium (312 - the ejection rod interacts with magnet elements, 314 on the rear board, 311 and not the cleaning cloth, 312) and wherein the base station (200) comprises: a housing (Paragraph [0259]); and a separation module (first operating position, 251), the separation module being configured to act on the cleaning medium covering the demounting region to separate the cleaning module (Paragraph [0339]).
Xie does not explicitly teach the separation module being configured to act on the cleaning medium covering the demounting region to separate the cleaning medium from the main body.
Morin, however, teaches the separation module (mop media removal system, 786) being configured to act on the cleaning medium (cleaning pad or web, 764) covering the demounting region (@764; Fig. 19) to separate the cleaning medium (764) from the main body (cleaning pad holder, 762; Paragraph [0110] and [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station to further include the separation module being configured to act on the cleaning medium covering the demounting region to separate the cleaning medium from the main body, as taught by Morin, to provide a system that automatically discards the used component and saving time for a user to manually perform the task.
Regarding Claim 64, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1) wherein the connection region (120) comprises an adhesion surface (Paragraph [0217]), and wherein the cleaning medium (312) adheres to the adhesion surface (Paragraph [0217]) and the separation module is configured to separate the cleaning module (Paragraph [0339]).
Morin further teaches the pad having retention mechanisms such as clips, brackets, clamps, snaps, adhesive, or hook and loop fasteners (Paragraph [0056]).
Xie, as modified by Morin, does not explicitly teach the separation module is provided with saw teeth configured to hook the cleaning medium; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separation module to further include saw teeth configured to hook the cleaning medium, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the device (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 70, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1) wherein the main body (311) has an integral body (Fig. 4), a bottom face of the integral body pointing to the working surface (Fig. 4), the cleaning medium (312) being connected to the integral body (Paragraph [0217]), and the connection region (313) and the demounting region (314) being arranged on the integral body (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 71, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1) wherein the connection region (313) and/or the demounting region (314) are/is arranged in at least a pair of two opposite ends of the main body (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 72, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1) wherein the main body (311) at least comprises a pair of opposite long ends (sides with notches, 313; Fig. 4), wherein the connection region (313) and/or the demounting region being at least partially arranged on the opposite long ends (Fig. 4).
Xie does not explicitly teach wherein the opposite long ends each comprising two head portions, and the head portions being provided with the connection region; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the main body to further include the opposite long ends each comprising two head portions, and the head portions being provided with the connection region, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 73, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1) wherein a number of the demounting regions (314) arranged at each of the two ends is at least two (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 74, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1) wherein a number of the connection regions (313) arranged at each of the two ends is at least two (Fig. 4), and every two adjacent ones of the connection regions (313) are mutually non-contiguous (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 75, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system (robot cleaning system, 300; Fig. 1) wherein a number of the demounting regions (314) arranged on the main body is at least two (Fig. 4), wherein the connection region (313) arranged at one end of the main body is a whole (Fig. 4).
Xie does not explicitly teach wherein projections of the at least two demounting regions to a lateral direction of the main body form first projections, wherein a projection of the connection region to the lateral direction of the main body forms a second projection, and wherein the first projections and the second projection at least partially overlap; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the main body to further include wherein projections of the at least two demounting regions to a lateral direction of the main body form first projections, wherein a projection of the connection region to the lateral direction of the main body forms a second projection, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the device (MPEP 2144.07).
I would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the main body to further include the first projections and the second projection at least partially overlap, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 76, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system of claim 63 as discussed above.
Xie does not explicitly teach wherein the base station further comprises: a collection box, configured to collect the cleaning medium separated by the separation module, wherein the collection box is arranged on a moving path of the separated cleaning medium, thereby making the cleaning medium enter the collection box.
Morin, however, teaches the base station (dock, 780) further comprises: a collection box (mop media storage compartment, 784), configured to collect the cleaning medium separated by the separation module (Paragraph [0110]), wherein the collection box (784) is arranged on a moving path of the separated cleaning medium (Fig. 19), thereby making the cleaning medium enter the collection box (Fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station to further include the base station further comprises: a collection box, configured to collect the cleaning medium separated by the separation module, wherein the collection box is arranged on a moving path of the separated cleaning medium, thereby making the cleaning medium enter the collection box, as taught by Morin, to provide a system that automatically discards the used component and saving time for a user to manually perform the task.
Regarding Claim 77, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system of claim 76 as discussed above.
Xie does not explicitly teach wherein the collection box is arranged on the moving path such that the separated cleaning medium falls by its own gravity, thereby making the separated cleaning medium fall into the collection box.
Morin, however, teaches wherein the collection box (784) is arranged on the moving path such that the separated cleaning medium (764) falls by its own gravity (Fig. 19), thereby making the separated cleaning medium fall into the collection box (784; Fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station to further include the collection box is arranged on the moving path such that the separated cleaning medium falls by its own gravity, thereby making the separated cleaning medium fall into the collection box, as taught by Morin, to provide a system that automatically discards the used component and saving time for a user to manually perform the task.
Regarding Claim 78, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system of claim 77 as discussed above.
Xie does not explicitly teach an upper side of the collection box is provided with an opening, and the collection box is arranged below the cleaning medium during separation.
Morin, however, teaches an upper side of the collection box (784) is provided with an opening (Fig. 19), and the collection box (784) is arranged below the cleaning medium during separation (Fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station to further include an upper side of the collection box is provided with an opening, and the collection box is arranged below the cleaning medium during separation, as taught by Morin, to provide a system that automatically discards the used component and saving time for a user to manually perform the task.
Regarding Claim 79, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system of claim 77 as discussed above.
Xie does not explicitly teach an upper side of the collection box is provided with an opening, and the separation module is arranged above the opening relative to the collection box.
Morin, however, teaches an upper side of the collection box (784; Fig. 19) is provided with an opening (Fig. 19), and the separation module (@ 762/764; Fig. 19) is arranged above the opening relative to the collection box (Fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station to further include an upper side of the collection box is provided with an opening, and the separation module is arranged above the opening relative to the collection box, as taught by Morin, to provide a system that automatically discards the used component and saving time for a user to manually perform the task.
Regarding Claim 80, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system of claim 76 as discussed above.
Xie does not explicitly teach the collection box is arranged on the moving path of the separated cleaning medium such that it receives an external force applied by the separation module, thereby making the cleaning medium enter the collection box.
Morin, however, teaches the collection box (784) is arranged on the moving path of the separated cleaning medium such that it receives an external force applied by the separation module (force of separation of holder, 762 from pad, 764), thereby making the cleaning medium enter the collection box (784; Fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station to further include the collection box is arranged on the moving path of the separated cleaning medium such that it receives an external force applied by the separation module, thereby making the cleaning medium enter the collection box, as taught by Morin, to provide a system that automatically discards the used component and saving time for a user to manually perform the task.
Regarding Claim 81, Xie, as modified, teaches the cleaning robot system of claim 63 as discussed above.
Xie as modified by Morin does not explicitly teach the separation module comprises detaching hooks, the detaching hooks being configured to hook the cleaning medium on the main body and apply an external force directed away from the main body to the cleaning medium to separate the cleaning medium from the main body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separation module to further include the separation module comprises detaching hooks, the detaching hooks being configured to hook the cleaning medium on the main body and apply an external force directed away from the main body to the cleaning medium to separate the cleaning medium from the main body, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the device (MPEP 2144.07).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 65 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Xie in view of Morin teaches a cleaning robot system, the references in combination or alone fail to teach, suggest or make obvious the separation module comprises detaching hooks provided with the saw teeth, the detaching hooks corresponding to the demounting region to hook the cleaning medium covering the demounting region so as to separate the cleaning medium from the main body.
Claims 66 – 69 are further objected to as dependents of objected claim 65.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: CN 107951448 A to Wang teaches an intelligent cleaning device and an intelligent cleaning system. The intelligent cleaning device includes a base station main body, a replacement platform and a replacement system; the base station main body includes a washing system; the replacement system is connected with the base station main body and the replacement platform. The intelligent cleaning device can clean a mop belonging to peripherals through water scrubbing to avoid secondary pollution of indoor air by dust. The intelligent cleaning system includes the peripherals adopting the mop, and is low in power consumption by the adoption of the mop, thereby increasing runtime of the peripherals.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723