DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 5/12/26 have been received. Claim 29 is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 17-20, and 24-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US2012/0115008) as cited in IDS dated 1/25/24.
Regarding claim 17, Sano discloses a polyolefin microporous membrane (abstract) comprising 50% by weight or more of a polyethylene([0067]), having: a membrane thickness of 1 µm to 30 µm (5 µm to 25 µm [0071]); an air permeability of 200 sec/100 cm3 or less (Gurley value preferably from 50 to 500 sec/100 cc [0073]); and a puncture strength of 220 gf or more(thrust resistance preferably 250 g or higher [0075], [0193]-[0194]), wherein the polyethylene has a crystallite size of 15.0 nm or greater and 28.0 nm or smaller(5 nm to 50 nm [0016]).
Sano is explicitly silent to the claim ranges however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Continuing with claim 17, Sano discloses when the separator cannot follow the volume change of the electrode and the porous structure of the separator cannot recover from a compressed state, a phenomenon in which a sufficient amount of electrolyte cannot be retained in the holes of the separator, that is, a liquid depletion phenomenon may occur([0009]). Sano discloses the liquid depletion prevention effect of the polyolefin microporous membrane and the separator for a non-aqueous secondary battery was evaluated by measuring the recovery ratio after pressurization ([0216]). Sano discloses the higher the recovery ratio after pressurization, the more excellent the liquid depletion prevention effect([0217]. Sano discloses the recovery ratio after pressurization was measured by pressurizing by a plate press machine at 40 MPa for 5 minutes, followed by releasing the pressure with this procedure repeated 5 times([0217]). Sano discloses the porosity after pressing of 30% or higher ( 0.52 * 0.83 ≈ 43%, Table 1, Example 5 with porosity 52% and recovery ratio after pressurization of 83%) but does not explicitly disclose a compression test conducted at a temperature of 70°C and a pressure of 8 MPa for a compression time of 3 minutes. However, given that the porosity after pressing of the prior art overlaps the presently claimed range, absent evidence to the contrary regarding the criticality of how a post-compression porosity is measured, it is the Examiner’s position that the porosity after pressing of Sano meets the presently claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 18, Sano discloses having a porosity of 35% or higher( 0.52 * 0.83 ≈ 43%, Table 1, Example 5 with porosity 52% and recovery ratio after pressurization of 83%).
Regarding claim 19, Sano discloses having a porosity of 40% or higher( 0.52 * 0.83 ≈ 43%, Table 1, Example 5 with porosity 52% and recovery ratio after pressurization of 83%) but does not explicitly disclose at 30°C in a pressurized state of 3 MPa. However, given that the porosity after pressing of the prior art overlaps the presently claimed range, absent evidence to the contrary regarding the criticality of how a post-compression porosity is measured, it is the Examiner’s position that the porosity after pressing of Sano meets the presently claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 20, Sano discloses the content of a polyethylene component having a weight-average molecular weight (Mw) of 1,000,000 or more as measured by GPC is not less than 7% with respect to all eluted components measured by GPC([0019], [0173]-[0175]).
Regarding claim 24, Sano discloses a separator, comprising the polyolefin microporous membrane according to claim 17[0021]); and an inorganic porous layer arranged on at least one surface of the polyolefin microporous membrane([0023]).
Regarding claim 25, Sano discloses a separator, comprising the polyolefin microporous membrane according to claim 17([0021]); and a thermoplastic resin layer arranged on at least one surface of the polyolefin microporous membrane([0022]).
Regarding claim 26, Sano discloses a separator, comprising the polyolefin microporous membrane according to claim 17([0021]); and at least one layer which is arranged on at least one surface of the polyolefin microporous membrane and selected from the group consisting of a multi-functional layer, an inorganic porous layer, and a thermoplastic resin layer([0022]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 27, Sano discloses a nonaqueous secondary battery, comprising the polyolefin microporous membrane according to claim 17([0027]).
Regarding claim 28, Sano discloses a nonaqueous secondary battery, comprising the separator according to claim 24([0027]).
Regarding claim 29, Sano discloses the air permeability of the polyolefin microporous membrane is 119 sec/100 cm3 or less (Gurley value preferably from 50 to 500 sec/100 cc [0073]).
Sano is explicitly silent to the claim range however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
7. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US2012/0115008) as cited in IDS dated 1/25/24 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2003/0104236).
Regarding Claim 21, Sano discloses a high-density polyethylene having a density of 0.942 g/cm3([0019]). Sano discloses in the polyolefin microporous membrane, polyolefin flows at a high temperature and, thus, good shutdown properties can be obtained ([0037]) but does not explicitly disclose having a melt flow index (MI) of 1.0 or less.
Nguyen teaches a microporous membrane ([0008]). Nguyen teaches the microporous membrane will consist of a blend of an aliphatic polyolefin and a thermoplastic olefin (TPO) elastomer([0009]). Nguyen teaches polyethylene refers preferably to a high-density polyethylene having a density (ASTM D792) ranging from 0.95 to 0.96 g/cm2, and a melt flow index (MFI, ASTM D1238, 190° C. per 2.16 kilograms) ranging from 0.38 to 0.42 dg/minutes ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use as the polyethylene of Sano, one having a melt flow index (MI) of 1.0 or less as taught by Nguyen, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07
8. Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US2012/0115008) as cited in IDS dated 1/25/24 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Fukunaga et al. (WO2018/216819) with citations from equivalent (US2020/0176742).
Regarding claim 22, Sano discloses the heat shrinkage ratio of a polyolefin microporous membrane of the present invention at 105° C. is preferably from 5 to 40% ([0078]) but does not explicitly disclose having a TD heat shrinkage of 20% or less at 120°C.
Fukunaga teaches a polyolefin microporous membrane, a separator for electricity storage devices, and an electricity storage device ([0001]). Fukunaga teaches the microporous membrane, wherein the polyolefin resin is polyethylene or a mixture of polyethylene and polypropylene([0017]). Fukunaga teaches the microporous membrane, wherein a thermal shrinkage in TD at 120° C. is −2% or more and 5% or less([0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use as the polyethylene of Sano, one having a TD heat shrinkage of 20% or less at 120°C as taught by Fukunaga as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
9. Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US2012/0115008) as cited in IDS dated 1/25/24 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Iidani et al. (US2009/0186280).
Regarding claim 23, Sano discloses from the viewpoint of the resistance to the breakage when a separator is wound when producing a non-aqueous secondary battery, the tensile strength of separator for a non-aqueous secondary battery is preferably 10 N or higher([0108]) but does not explicitly disclose a ratio (MD/TD tensile strength ratio) of a tensile strength in the longitudinal direction (MD) to a tensile strength in the width direction (TD) is 0.5 to 2.0.
Iidani teaches polyolefin microporous membrane (title). Iidani teaches tensile strengths in the length direction (MD tensile strength) and the width direction (TD tensile strength) of 30 MPa or more each ([0026]). Iidani teaches a ratio (MD/TD tensile strength ratio) of a tensile strength in the longitudinal direction (MD) to a tensile strength in the width direction (TD) is 0.5 to 2.0 (Table 2, examples 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the polyolefin microporous membrane of Sano with a ratio (MD/TD tensile strength ratio) of a tensile strength in the longitudinal direction (MD) to a tensile strength in the width direction (TD) is 0.5 to 2.0 as taught by Iidani as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: In addition, achieving the post-compression porosity of 30% or higher under the conditions of claim 17 is not straightforward and requires careful control of multiple specific processing parameters, such as the molecular weight and content ratio of the polyethylene raw material, the stretching ratio in the biaxial stretching step, the preheating coefficient in the biaxial stretching step, the stretching coefficient in the biaxial stretching step, the MD/TD stretching temperature in the biaxial stretching step, the heat-setting temperature, and the ratio of the preheating coefficient to the stretching coefficient, as explained in paragraph [0031] of the specification. The criticality of a set of the aforementioned coefficients is demonstrated by comparison of the Examples and Comparative Examples of the specification.
Examiner’s answer: The showing of Tables 3-1 to 3-3 of the specification does not appear to be commensurate in scope with the claim. Examples 20 and 21 in Tables 3-1 to 3-3 require the molecular weight and content ratio of the polyethylene raw material, the stretching ratio in the biaxial stretching step, the preheating coefficient in the biaxial stretching step, the stretching coefficient in the biaxial stretching step, the MD/TD stretching temperature in the biaxial stretching step, the heat-setting temperature, and the ratio of the preheating coefficient to the stretching coefficient whereas the claim does not require such specificity, these differences appearing to be critical to the results of Tables 3-1 to 3-3.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724