DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This action is a Non-Final Rejection. This action is in response to the application filed on April 26, 2023.
Claim 2 has been canceled.
Claim 9 has been added.
Claims 1, 3, and 8 have been amended.
Claims 1 and 3-9 are pending and rejected.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 26, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The following is a quotation 35 U.S.C. 112(b):
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Additionally, the claims are replete with terms that lack antecedent basis. Claim 1 is reproduced below with examples of claim terms that lack antecedent basis. The other claims have similar issues.
1. An electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for zero energy buildings, where the planning method specifically comprises the following steps:
step 1, constructing operation constraints of electric and thermal devices in the zero energy buildings;
step 2, constructing operation constraints of hydrogen devices comprising the electrolyzer, the fuel cell and the hydrogen storage device;
step 3, establishing the robust electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning model considering the source-load uncertainties and the buildings' annual net zero energy constraints; and
step 4, solving the robust electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning model by adopting an alternating optimization procedure based column-and-constraint generation algorithm;
wherein the step 1 specifically comprises the following steps:
step 1.1, constructing operation constraints of hydrogen devices comprising the electrolyzer, the fuel cell and the hydrogen storage device: and establishing operation constraints of the absorption chiller, the heat pump and the photothermal plate as follows:
where subscripts s, t and c represent the typical operation scenario, intra-day time period and candidate device capacity, respectively, superscript ~ represents the uncertain variables,
represent the input thermal power and output cold power of the absorption chiller, respectively,
represent the input electric power, output thermal power and output cold power of the heat pump, respectively,
represents the output thermal power of the photothermal plate, and
represent the conversion efficiency of the absorption chiller and the photothermal plate, respectively;
represent the electric-to-thermal conversion and electric-to-cold conversion efficiency of the heat pump, respectively,
represents the thermal power distribution ratio of the heat pump,
represent the 0-1 installation variables of the absorption chiller, the heat pump and the photothermal plate, respectively,
represent the candidate installation capacity of the absorption chiller, the heat pump and the photothermal plate, respectively, and
represents the solar radiation intensity; and
step 1.2, establishing operation constraints of photovoltaic and wind turbine as follows:
where
represent the output electric power of the photovoltaic and wind turbine, respective,
represent the 0-1 installation variables of the photovoltaic and wind turbine, respectively,
represent the candidate installation capacity of the photovoltaic and wind turbine, respectively,
represents the conversion efficiency of the photovoltaic turbine, and
represents the output ratio of the wind turbine.
In light of the indefiniteness, the claims cannot be properly interpreted. The claims were examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Does the Claim Fall within a Statutory Category? (see MPEP 2106.03)
Yes, with respect to claims 1 and 3-9, which recite a method and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of process.
Step 2A, Prong One: Is a Judicial Exception Recited? (see MPEP 2106.04(a))
The following claims identify the limitations that recite the abstract idea in regular text and that recite additional elements in bold:
1. An electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for zero energy buildings, where the planning method specifically comprises the following steps:
step 1, constructing operation constraints of electric and thermal devices in the zero energy buildings;
step 2, constructing operation constraints of hydrogen devices comprising the electrolyzer, the fuel cell and the hydrogen storage device;
step 3, establishing the robust electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning model considering the source-load uncertainties and the buildings' annual net zero energy constraints; and
step 4, solving the robust electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning model by adopting an alternating optimization procedure based column-and-constraint generation algorithm;
wherein the step 1 specifically comprises the following steps:
step 1.1, constructing operation constraints of hydrogen devices comprising the electrolyzer, the fuel cell and the hydrogen storage device: and establishing operation constraints of the absorption chiller, the heat pump and the photothermal plate as follows:
where subscripts s, t and c represent the typical operation scenario, intra-day time period and candidate device capacity, respectively, superscript ~ represents the uncertain variables,
represent the input thermal power and output cold power of the absorption chiller, respectively,
represent the input electric power, output thermal power and output cold power of the heat pump, respectively,
represents the output thermal power of the photothermal plate, and
represent the conversion efficiency of the absorption chiller and the photothermal plate, respectively;
represent the electric-to-thermal conversion and electric-to-cold conversion efficiency of the heat pump, respectively,
represents the thermal power distribution ratio of the heat pump,
represent the 0-1 installation variables of the absorption chiller, the heat pump and the photothermal plate, respectively,
represent the candidate installation capacity of the absorption chiller, the heat pump and the photothermal plate, respectively, and
represents the solar radiation intensity; and
step 1.2, establishing operation constraints of photovoltaic and wind turbine as follows:
where
represent the output electric power of the photovoltaic and wind turbine, respective,
represent the 0-1 installation variables of the photovoltaic and wind turbine, respectively,
represent the candidate installation capacity of the photovoltaic and wind turbine, respectively,
represents the conversion efficiency of the photovoltaic turbine, and
represents the output ratio of the wind turbine.
3. The electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for the zero energy buildings of claim 1, where the step 2 specifically comprises the following steps:
step 2.1, establishing operation constraints of the fuel cell and the electrolyzer as follows:
where K represents the intra-day time periods,
represents the number of the intra-day time periods, chp and ed represent the fuel cell and the electrolyzer, respectively,
represents the set of two devices,
represent the on-state and off-state of these two devices, respectively,
represent the minimum on-state and off-state time of these two devices, respectively, and
represents the maximum on-state time of these two devices;
represent the state of these two devices within time periods t and t-1, respectively,
represents the minimum operation capacity percentage of these two devices,
represents the 0-1 installation variables of these two devices, and
represents the candidate installation capacity of these two devices;
represent the input hydrogen power, output electric power and output thermal power of the fuel cell, respectively,
represent the input electric power and output hydrogen power of the electrolyzer, respectively,
represents the ramping ratio of these two devices,
represents the maximum ramping ratio of these two devices,
represents the energy conversion efficiencies of these two devices, and
represents the heat recovery ratio of the fuel cell; and
step 2.2, establishing operation constraints of the intraday hydrogen storage device and the seasonal hydrogen storage device as follows:
where bs, hs, shs and ts represent the battery storage, the intra-day hydrogen storage device, the seasonal hydrogen storage device and the thermal energy storage device, respectively,
represents the set of these four devices,
represents the number of typical scenarios,
represent the charging power and discharging power of the battery storage, respectively, and
represent the hydrogen charging power and hydrogen discharging power of the intra-day hydrogen storage device, respectively;
represent the hydrogen charging power and hydrogen discharging power of the seasonal hydrogen storage device, respectively;
represent the heat charging power and heat discharging power of the thermal energy storage device, respectively,
represents the 0-1 installation variables of these four energy storage devices,
represents the candidate installation capacity of these four energy storage devices,
represents the power-to-capacity installation ratio of these four energy storage devices, and
represents the remaining capacity of these four energy storage devices;
represent the minimum and maximum operating ratio of these four energy storage devices, respectively,
represent the capacity of these four energy storage devices in the initial and final time periods, respectively,
represents the self-loss coefficients of these four energy storage devices,
represent the energy charging and discharging loss coefficients of these four energy storage devices, respectively, and
represents the number of days within the typical scenario s-1 in a year; and
represent the remaining capacity of the seasonal hydrogen storage device in the initial and final time periods in the scenario s-1, respectively,
represent the 0-1 state variables of hydrogen charge and hydrogen discharge of the seasonal hydrogen storage device within the typical operation scenario s, respectively, and M represents a larger positive number.
4. The electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for the zero energy buildings of claim 3, where the step 3 specifically comprises the following steps:
step 3.1, establishing the balance constraints of electric, thermal, cold and hydrogen power as follows:
where
represent the zero energy buildings’ electric power buying from and selling to the power grid, respectively,
represent the electric, thermal and cold loads of the buildings, respectively, and
represent the shedding power of the electric, thermal and cold loads of the zero energy buildings, respectively;
step 3.2, establishing output power upper limit constraints of the electric, thermal and cold loads as follows:
where
represent the forecast values of the electric, thermal and cold loads of the zero energy buildings, respectively, and
represent the maximum output percentages of the electric, thermal and cold loads of the buildings, respectively;
step 3.3, establishing power grid exchange power constraints and annual zero energy constraints as follows:
where
represents the upper limit of the exchange electric power with the power grid,
respectively represent the 0-1 state variables of the electric power buying from and selling to the power grid, and
represents the duration of time period t;
step 3.4, establishing the objective function and various specific costs as follows:
where
represents the set of devices,
represents the number of days that the typical scenario s lasts, and
represent the annual investment cost, annual device operation and maintenance cost, annual electricity trading cost, annual device degradation cost and annual load shedding cost, respectively;
represent the annual investment costs of the absorption chiller, the battery storage, the fuel cell, the electrolyzer, the heat pump, the intra-day hydrogen storage device, the photovoltaic, the seasonal hydrogen storage device, the photothermal plate, the thermal energy storage and the wind turbine, respectively;
x represents the 0-1 variables of the robust model at the first stage, u represents uncertain variables at the second stage, y and z represent continuous and 0-1 operation variables in the worst scenario at the second stage, respectively,
represents the present worth factor,
represents the discount rate,
represents the lifetime of the energy device, and
represents the device investment cost;
represents the 0-1 device investment variables,
represents the candidate installation capacity of the energy device,
represent the startup and shutdown cost of the fuel cell, respectively,
represent the startup and shutdown cost of the electrolyzer, respectively, and
represent unit operation costs of the battery storage, the fuel cell, the electrolyzer, the heat pump, the photovoltaic, the wind turbine, the hydrogen storage the seasonal hydrogen storage device, the absorption chiller, the photothermal plate and the thermal energy storage, respectively;
represent the unit degradation costs of the battery storage, the fuel cell and the electrolyzer, respectively,
represent the electricity buying and selling costs, respectively, and
represent the unit load shedding costs of the electric, thermal and cold loads, respectively; and
establishing constraints of intra-day uncertainties such as the electric, thermal and cold loads, output of the wind turbine and solar radiation as follows:
where U represents the set of the uncertain variables at the second stage,
represents the uncertain electric load,
respectively represent the actual value, the predicted value, the predicted upper deviation value and the predicted lower deviation value of the electric load,
represent 0-1 variables of the predicted upper deviation value or the predicted lower deviation value of the electric load, respectively, and
represents the uncertainty budget parameter of the entire scheduling horizon within a typical operation scenario.
5. The electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for the zero energy buildings of claim 4, where the step 4 specifically comprises the following steps:
step 4.1, rewriting the electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning model into a general matrix form:
where A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, b, 1 represent the set of uncertain variables at the second stage, and
represents the feasible region of Y and z under certain X and u;
step 4.2, converting the min-max-min two-stage robust planning problem into a main problem and a subproblem, converting the subproblem into an u-fixed subproblem and a z-fixed subproblem, and iteratively solving the main problem and the subproblem to obtain the optimization result;
where the subproblem is a max-min bilevel optimization problem shown as follows:
where X’ represents the optimization result in the main problem and serves as known variables to be substituted into the subproblem; and
step 4.3, iteratively solving the main problem and the subproblem.
6. The electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for the zero energy buildings of claim 5, where the subproblem in the step 4.2 is further decomposed into: step 4.2.1, the u-fixed subproblem:
where u* represents the optimization result in the z-fixed subproblem and serves as known variables to be substituted into the u-fixed subproblem; and
step 4.2.2, the fixed subproblem z:
where
represents the objective function of the z-fixed subproblem, z* represents the optimization result in the u-fixed subproblem and serves as known variables to be substituted into the z-fixed subproblem,
represents the dual variable of the inequality constraint, and in view of higher difficulty in solution due to the bilinear term
the above formulation is converted into a linear optimization problem by using the big-M method, and the u-fixed subproblem and the z-fixed subproblem are iteratively solved until convergence to obtain the optimization result of the subproblem;
the mth optimization result um* of the subproblem is substituted, and new variables ym, zm are created to obtain the following main problem:
where r represents the total number of iterations, and the main problem and the subproblem are iteratively solved until the convergence condition is met.
7. The electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for the zero energy buildings of claim 6, where the step of iteratively solving the main problem and the subproblem in the step 4.3 comprises:
initialization: setting x0 as a feasible solution of the main problem, setting the number of iterations as m=1, and substituting x0 into the subproblem iteration processes shown in steps 4.3.2 to 4.3.5 to obtain the subproblem's solution
; and setting the lower boundary
and the upper boundary
, and setting the main problem convergence coefficient ε;
step 4.3.1, substituting um* into the main problem to obtain the solution
, and updating
;
step 4.3.2, setting the number of iterations as v=1, relaxing z as the continuous variable, and substituting xm* into the z-fixed subproblem to obtain the solution uv.
step 4.3.3, substituting (xm*, uv) into the u-fixed subproblem to obtain the solution (yv,zv);
step 4.3.4, substituting (zv, xm) into the z-fixed subproblem to obtain the solution (uv+1, zv+1), setting v=v+1;
step 4.3.5, determining whether uv===uv-1 is satisfied, if yes, outputting the optimization result
, updating
, and entering step 4.3.6; or else, returning to step 4.3.3; and
step 4.3.6, determining whether
is satisfied, if yes, stopping outputting the optimization result; or else, returning to step 4.3.1.
8. The electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for the zero energy buildings of claim 3, where the seasonal hydrogen storage device comprises the battery storage and a thermal energy storage device.
9. The electric-thermal-hydrogen multi-energy device planning method for the zero energy buildings of claim 4, where the seasonal hydrogen storage device comprises the battery storage and a thermal energy storage device.
Yes. But for the recited additional elements as shown above in bold, the remaining limitations of the claims recite certain mathematical concepts. The claims are directed to formulating a mathematical optimization model and solving it. This is the abstract idea category of mathematical concepts. For example, the claims recite mathematical formulas or equations and mathematical calculations.
The claims also recite mental processes. For example, constructing constraints, establishing a model, and solving the model include evaluation and judgment.
Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Is the Abstract Idea Integrated into a Practical Application? (see MPEP 2106.04(d))
No. Claim 1, for example, does not positively recite any additional elements. Although claim 1 refers to devices such as a heat pump and photothermal plate, these devices aren’t positively recited as performing any part of the method. Instead, data related to these devices is being used. To the extent that the claimed method is performed by a computer, the claims as a whole merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, i.e. to perform the calculations. If the claimed method is performed by a computer, only a programmed general purpose computing device is needed to implement the claimed process. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea.
Claims 8 and 9 further define the seasonal hydrogen storage device. However, this device is not being claimed as performing any steps.
Additionally, there is no improvement to the functioning of a computer or technology. Therefore, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Provide an Inventive Concept? (see MPEP 2106.05)
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, Prong 2, the additional elements in the claims, both individually and in combination, amount to no more than tools to perform the abstract idea. Merely performing the abstract idea using a computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claims do not provide an inventive concept.
As such, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over G. Pan, W. Gu, Y. Lu, H. Qiu, S. Lu and S. Yao, "Optimal Planning for Electricity-Hydrogen Integrated Energy System Considering Power to Hydrogen and Heat and Seasonal Storage," in IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy, vol. 11, no. 4, pp. 2662-2676, Oct. 2020, doi: 10.1109/TSTE.2020.2970078.
The claims, as best understood in light of the indefiniteness issues, appear to be disclosed in this reference which was published in 2020 and was authored by two of the inventors of the instant application. This reference discloses a planning model for an electricity hydrogen integrated energy system. Any differences between the claims and the prior art reference are obvious in light of the parameters and equations that are disclosed.
Relevant Prior Art
The following references are relevant to Applicant’s invention:
Marhoefer, U.S. Patent Number 7,444,189 B1. This reference teaches an energy optimization method for one or more buildings to optimize utility-supplied and renewable sources in order to minimize the total energy cost.
Tilghman, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0202154 A1. This reference teaches an integrated renewable energy system for a tall multi-story building including solar, wind, and hydrogen subsystems.
Cruickshank, III, U.S. Patent Number 11,735,919 B2. This reference teaches optimized load shaping for optimizing production and consumption of energy.
Elbsat et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0100158 A1. This reference teaches a building energy storage system with planning tool.
Board of Regents, The University of Texas System, WO 2018/0156700 A1. This reference teaches building energy management and optimization.
Hobart, Stacey. “Five Reasons Why Zero Energy Buildings are the Real Deal,” https://newbuildings.org/five-reasons-why-zero-energy-buildings-are-the-real-deal/ (March 31, 2015). This reference discusses zero energy buildings.
Manzoor, B.; Othman, I.; Sadowska, B.; Sarosiek, W. “Zero-Energy Buildings and Energy Efficiency towards Sustainability: A Bibliometric Review and a Case Study.” (February 18, 2022), https://doi.org/10.3390/app12042136. This reference discusses options for expanding zero-energy buildings and energy efficiency.
Email Communications
Per MPEP 502.03, Applicant may authorize email communications by filing Form PTO/SB/439, available at https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf, via the USPTO patent electronic filing system.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH H ROSEN/Primary Examiner, 3693