DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a water-outflowing means, a water-feeding means, and an alkali-adding means in claim 1; a control means in claim 3; a water-feeding means and a chemical-agent-adding means in claim 5; and a chemical agent-adding means in claim 7.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the examiner suggests amending “a chemical agent-adding means” (see line 3) to “another chemical agent-adding means” or “the chemical agent-adding means”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (CN 101541400 A, machine translation provided).
Claim 5 invoke 112(F) interpretation for a water-feeding means and a chemical-agent-adding means. The examiner will interpret the water-feeding means as a conduit or line and the chemical agent-adding means as a conduit or line (see applicant’s specification figure 2 and paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 5, Kato et al. discloses an exhaust gas treatment facility (gas processing apparatus or gas treatment device (10), comprising: a detoxifying apparatus (reactor, 12) for detoxification-treating an exhaust gas (heat decomposable soluble composition processed target gas, F); and a water-feeding means (W) for supplying water to the detoxifying apparatus, wherein a chemical agent-adding means (ammonia supplied to the water supply device (16) or the front section wet scrubber (18) using water (W) of at least one of the ammonia supply device (64)) for adding choline and/or ammonia into water to be supplied to the water-feeding means is provided (see Abstract; figures 1-5; and the description).
Regarding claim 6, Kato et al. discloses an apparatus wherein the chemical agent-adding means (ammonia supply pump branch pipe, 40) adds choline and/or ammonia, and also hydrogen peroxide into the water (see Abstract; figures 1-5; and the description), since Kato et al. discloses that the chemical agent-adding means as a conduit or line and the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Claim 7 invoke 112(F) interpretation for a chemical-agent-adding means. The examiner will interpret the chemical agent-adding means as a conduit or line (see applicant’s specification figure 2 and paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 7, Kato et al. discloses an apparatus wherein a scrubber (back space wet scrubber, 22) is provided on a downstream side of the detoxifying apparatus (12), and a chemical agent-adding means (ammonia supply pump branch pipe, 40) for adding choline and/or ammonia into water for the scrubber (22) is provided (see Abstract; figures 1-5; and the description), since Kato et al. discloses that the chemical agent-adding means as a conduit or line and the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Regarding claims 8-10, Kato et al. discloses an apparatus wherein choline and/or ammonia and also hydrogen peroxide are added into water for the scrubber (22); wherein the chemical agent-adding means (40) adds, as a chemical agent, a solution used in a semiconductor production process or a drainage water of a semiconductor production process; and wherein the exhaust gas is an exhaust gas from a semiconductor production process (see Abstract; figures 1-5; and the description), since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki et al. (US 2019/0041058 A1) in view of Heskett et al. (US 10,245,546 B1).
Claim 1 invoke 112(f) interpretation for a water-outflowing means, a water-feeding means, and an alkali-adding means. The examiner will interpret the water-outflowing means as a conduit or line (see applicant’s specification figure 1 and paragraph 0008), water-feeding means as a pump for feeding water, a first pipe connected to an inlet side of the pump, and a second pipe connected to an outlet side of the pump and the alkaline-adding means as a conduit or line to add the alkali into the first pipe (see applicant’s specification figure 1 and paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki et al. discloses an exhaust gas treatment facility, comprising: a combustion chamber (1) for combustion-treating an exhaust gas; a water-outflowing means (5) for letting water flow along an inner wall surface of the combustion chamber (1); cooling water; and the cooling water may be alkaline water (water solution of sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide or the like) (see figures 1-3; and paragraphs 0043-0050).
Miyazaki et al. fails to discloses a water-feeding means for supplying water to the water-outflowing means, wherein an alkali-adding means for adding an alkali is provided on the water-feeding means.
Heskett et al. discloses a water-feeding means (mixing system (400) may include a mixing pump (410) (see figure 7 and column 7, lines 24-30) and system fluid (330) which is primarily water, but may include system fluid additive containing various compounds to neutralize various chemical commonly found in flue exhaust gases) (see column 4, lines 4-42), wherein an alkali-adding means for adding an alkali is provided on the water-feeding means, since Heskett et al. discloses that limestone CaCO3, magnesium hydroxide (Mg(OH)2), and lye (NaOH) may be used to remove sulfur dioxide (SO2) from the unprocessed exhaust gas; the system fluid additive(s) may be introduced into the system fluid (330) within the mixing tank (300) via an additive system (500) (see figure 4), which may be as simple as a compartment within the mixing tank (300) to receive and house additives, however in another embodiment it may be an additive injection system that monitors the system fluid (330) and injects at least one additive when the additive system (500) determines that the system fluid (330) requires more additive to carry out the objectives set forth herein (see column 4, lines 4-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Miyazaki et al. with the teachings of Heskett et al. resulting in a water-feeding means for supplying water to the water-outflowing means, wherein an alkali-adding means for adding an alkali is provided on the water-feeding means in order to remove sulfur dioxide (SO2) from the unprocessed exhaust gas.
Regarding claim 2, Miyazaki et al. fails to disclose an exhaust gs treatment facility wherein the water-feeding means comprises a pump for feeding water, a first pipe connected to an inlet side of the pump, and a second pipe connected to an outlet side of the pump, and the alkali-adding means is provided so as to add the alkali into the first pipe.
Heskett et al. discloses the water-feeding means comprises a pump for feeding water, a first pipe connected to an inlet side of the pump, and a second pipe connected to an outlet side of the pump (mixing system (400) may include a mixing pump (410) (see figure 7 and column 7, lines 24-30) and system fluid (330) which is primarily water, but may include system fluid additive containing various compounds to neutralize various chemical commonly found in flue exhaust gases) (see column 4, lines 4-42).
Heskett et al. fails to explicitly discloses that the alkali-adding means is provided so as to add the alkali into the first pipe.
However, Heskett et al. discloses that limestone CaCO3, magnesium hydroxide (Mg(OH)2), and lye (NaOH) may be used to remove sulfur dioxide (SO2) from the unprocessed exhaust gas; the system fluid additive(s) may be introduced into the system fluid (330) within the mixing tank (300) via an additive system (500) (see figure 4), which may be as simple as a compartment within the mixing tank (300) to receive and house additives, however in another embodiment it may be an additive injection system that monitors the system fluid (330) and injects at least one additive when the additive system (500) determines that the system fluid (330) requires more additive to carry out the objectives set forth herein (see column 4, lines 4-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Miyazaki et al. with the teachings of Heskett et al. resulting in the water-feeding means comprises a pump for feeding water, a first pipe connected to an inlet side of the pump, and a second pipe connected to an outlet side of the pump in order to mix an additive to water to remove sulfur dioxide (SO2) from the unprocessed exhaust gas.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the alkali-adding means is provided so as to add the alkali into the first pipe, since it was known in the art that to add an additive to water from a pipe (see MPEP 2144.03 (A-E)).
Regarding claims 3-4, Miyazaki et al. fails to disclose an exhaust gs treatment facility wherein a pH meter is provided on the second pipe, and a control means for controlling an amount of the alkali to be added with the alkali-adding means so as to regulate a detected pH by the pH meter within a predetermined range is provided; and wherein the predetermined range is a pH of 9 or higher.
Heskett et al. discloses a pH meter is provided on the second pipe, and a control means for controlling an amount of the alkali to be added with the alkali-adding means so as to regulate a detected pH by the pH meter within a predetermined range is provided; and wherein the predetermined range is a pH of 9 or higher, since Heskett et al. disclose that the mixing tank (300) may have mixing tank monitoring system having a liquid sensor system that monitors the amount of precipitant and other contaminants in the mixing tank (300); the sensor system may include a mixing tank fluid sensor (350); the mixing tank fluid sensor (350) may monitor one, or more, of the following: physical precipitant levels, total dissolved solids, conductivity, specific gravity, pH level, mercury (Hg), Lead (Pb), and other heavy metal levels, as well as the temperature of the system fluid (330) (see figure 4 and column 4, lines 43-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Miyazaki et al. with the teachings of Heskett et al. resulting in a pH meter is provided on the second pipe, and a control means for controlling an amount of the alkali to be added with the alkali-adding means so as to regulate a detected pH by the pH meter within a predetermined range is provided; and wherein the predetermined range is a pH of 9 or higher in order to ensure that sulfur dioxide is removed from the unprocessed exhaust gas.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774