DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I, claims 32-51 and 56, and the species of N204C/S251C in the reply filed on 08/27/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 53 and 55 have been amended to recite only subject matter that falls within Group I. This argument is found persuasive in light of the amendment of 08/27/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Status
The amendment of 08/27/2025 has been entered. Claims 32-56 are pending in this US patent application. Claims 52 and 54 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, and claims 34 and 48-50 are withdrawn as being directed to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/27/2025.
Claims 32-33, 35-47, 51, 53, and 55-56 are currently under examination and were examined on their merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed in this application on 04/27/2023 and 01/08/2024 have been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-33, 35-47, 51, 53, and 55-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to esterases having at least 80% identity to the sequence of SEQ ID NO.: 1 that further include at least one of a wide range of specific amino acid substitutions in a large number of positions in the protein sequence. Given that SEQ ID NO.: 1 is 260 amino acids long, the claims encompass proteins with as many as 52 amino acids altered in comparison with the sequence of SEQ ID NO.: 1. The claims also recite that the claimed esterases have polyester degrading activity and exhibit an increased thermostability and/or increased degrading activity compared to the esterase of SEQ ID NO.: 1. No correlation between the structure of SEQ ID NO.: 1 and the recited functional characteristics is disclosed. Applicant’s specification has listed four variants that exhibit the recited functional characteristics (see Tables 1-4 on pages 31-35 of the instant specification as filed). However, Applicant’s claimed genus of proteins is vastly larger than four, potentially encompassing any variant of SEQ ID NO.: 1 that has anywhere from 1-52 amino acids mutated to any other amino acid, which is a group containing many thousands of amino acid sequences. In light of the large number of potential sequences and the lack of disclosure of structural characteristics that lead to the sequences having the recited functional characteristics, along with the disclosure of only four sequences that actually exhibit the recited functional characteristics, the Examiner has determined that Applicant has not demonstrated possession of the entire genus recited in instant claim 32.
Therefore, claims 32-33, 35-47, 51, 53, and 55-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to meet the written description requirement.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s elected species of an esterase of SEQ ID NO.: 1 with N204C/S251C mutations is free of the prior art. The closest prior art to the claimed invention is found in the teachings of Degering, discussed below. However, this reference does not teach the specific N204C/S251C variant or the improved properties displayed by this variant as shown in Tables 1-4 of the instant specification. As such, the Examiner has selected another esterase that falls within the scope of instant claim 32, a protein of SEQ ID NO.: 1 with an E202D mutation, for examination with respect to the prior art. In light of the Examiner’s selection, claims 33-50 are withdrawn from examination at this time as being directed to nonelected species. Claims 32, 51, 53, and 55-56 are currently under examination with respect to the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32, 51, 53, and 55-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German patent application publication DE 10 2018 210605 filed by Degering et al., published 01/02/2020 (cited on the IDS filed 04/07/2023).
Please note that corresponding US patent application publication 2021/0246400 has been used herein as a translated copy of DE 10 2018 210605 and that all page/paragraph citations for the Degering reference in this Office action refer to the US publication.
Degering teaches polyesterase enzymes (see entire document, including paragraph 0003). The polyesterase SEQ ID NO.: 1 of Degering has 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NO.: 1. The polyesterase performance may be increased significantly by fusing the polyesterases with peptide linkers that have specific affinity for polyesters (paragraph 0008; cf. claims 32, 51, 53, and 55). Various fusions comprising SEQ ID NO.: 1 are described (paragraphs 0037-0044). The polyesterases may have single or multiple conservative amino acid substitutions, including substituting D for E (paragraph 0076). The polyesterase may be present in a detergent composition (abstract; cf. claim 56) and may be used in methods of cleaning polyester-containing textiles (paragraph 0010; cf. claim 55).
However, Degering does not teach that the conservative E-to-D substitution is at E202.
While Degering does not specifically teach the substitution of E202 with D, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so because Degering teaches that glutamic acid residues in the polyesterase enzymes may be conservatively substituted with aspartic acid residues. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that substituting any glutamate residue in Degering’s SEQ ID NO.: 1 polyesterase, including E202, with aspartate would successfully result in the production of a polyesterase that is capable of performing the cleaning functions taught by Degering.
Therefore, claims 32, 51, 53, and 55-56 are rendered obvious by Degering and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
The Supreme Court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation…103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions……the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) (emphasis added).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/Erin M. Bowers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653 12/31/2025