DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Wakuta reference still applies albeit in modified form as necessitated by amendment. The previously cited Suzuki ‘161 reference is now used for means and motivation to modify Wakuta in an obviousness-type rejection. This rejection is not addressed by the Remarks and the arguments are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakuta (JP 2003217539 A) in view of Suzuki (JP 2003086161 A). The machine translation for Wakuta provided by the Office on 5/8/26 is used for citation of Wakuta; the machine translation for Suzuki provided by Applicant on 10/30/24 is used for citation of Suzuki.
Regarding claim 2, Wakuta discloses an apparatus comprising: a mount 3 formed of a paper sheet (paragraph 20); and a battery compartment formed by folding the paper sheet, wherein, the battery compartment includes a bottom 4b coupled to the mount, three surfaces 2,4,5 around the battery compartment are adhered to the mount by margins 6,7, the margins 6,7 are formed by being folded outside the three surfaces around the battery compartment (paragraph 21), each of the margins of two surfaces adjacent to the bottom among the three surfaces includes an inclined portion 5d,5e at lower corner of the battery package, the inclined portion being inclined with respect to an extension of a fold line 5c of the paper sheet, and the fold line being folded to form the bottom, and the inclined portions are set back from lower corners of the mount to a center side of the mount (see Figure 4). Wakuta does not disclose non-adhered lower corners. Suzuki—in an invention for a folded battery case—discloses a non-adhered lower corner 8 that extends from the mount so as to absorb shock (see Figure 10) and avoid damage to the battery (paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form or add a non-adhered corner to the mount of Wakuta for drop damage protection as disclosed by Suzuki.
Regarding claim 3, Wakuta discloses an apparatus comprising: a mount 3 formed of a paper sheet (paragraph 20); and a battery compartment formed by folding the paper sheet, wherein, the battery compartment includes a bottom 4b coupled to the mount, three surfaces 2,4,5 around the battery compartment are adhered to the mount by margins 6,7, the margins 6,7 are formed by being folded outside the three surfaces around the battery compartment (paragraph 21), the mount includes inclined portions 5d,5e at lower corners of the battery package, the inclined portions being inclined with respect to an extension of a fold line 5c of the paper sheet, and the fold line being folded to form the bottom, and the inclined portions are set back from lower corners of the margins of two surfaces adjacent to the bottom among the three surfaces to a center side of the mount (see Figure 4). Wakuta does not disclose non-adhered lower corners. Suzuki—in an invention for a folded battery case—discloses a non-adhered lower corner 8 that extends from the mount so as to absorb shock (see Figure 10) and avoid damage to the battery (paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form or add a non-adhered corner to the mount of Wakuta for drop damage protection as disclosed by Suzuki.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Wakuta discloses that the corners of the faces are angled but not the use of a 45-degree angle or what the corner’s length is. Both Wakuta and the instant invention are directed to battery packing of the same scale: they both comprise suspension holes and are hanging cards. Wakuta also ensures that the battery compartment bottom corner is recessed from the corner of the larger packing such that the batteries would avoid direct contact when the corner is hit (see Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to angle or size the packaging of Wakuta and Suzuki to whichever most appropriate for the battery types and quantities (paragraph 24). Changes in size/proportion are not grounds for patentability. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. It should be noted that the term “cut off” is not given patentable weight as it is only recited as an intention i.e. a possibility.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725