DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. However, it is noted that the Mexican office action, which was attached with the 01/29/2026 IDS, and the Japanese office action, which was attached with the 03/11/2025 IDS, are not listed on the respective IDS documents. If Applicant would like these documents to be marked as considered, please include them on an IDS.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the projections must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14” has been used to designate both the guide member and an additional feature (see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a needle” in both lines 3 and line 10. It is unclear if both recitations of “a needle” are intended to refer to the same needle or if these refer to different needles. For the purpose of compact prosecution, both recitations of “a needle” are interpreted as referring to the same needle. Claims 12-14 are also rejected based on their dependency on Claim 11.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the tapered terminal end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanders et al (US 2015/0297454).
Regarding Claim 1, Sanders discloses a membrane (34, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) for a closed system transfer device (syringe adapter 12, Figs. 2 and 8) comprising:
a body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) having a first end (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) and a second end (86, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) positioned opposite the first end (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G), the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) defining a passageway (92, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) extending from the first end (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) to a position intermediate the first end (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) and the second end (86, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G); and
a guide member (228, Fig. 55G) positioned within the passageway (92, Fig. 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G), the guide member (228, Fig. 55G) having a first end and a second end positioned opposite the first end (Fig. 55G), the guide member (228, Fig. 55G) having a guide surface (interior surface of 228, Fig. 55G) configured to engage a needle (28, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) positioned within the passageway (92, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G).
Regarding Claim 6, Sanders discloses the guide member (228, Fig. 55G) is positioned intermediate the first (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) and second ends (86, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G).
Regarding Claim 9, Sanders discloses the passageway (92, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) comprises a tapered terminal end (the terminal end has a curvature which can be considered a tapered terminal end, Fig. 55G).
Regarding Claim 11, Sanders discloses a syringe adapter (12, Figs. 2 and 8) comprising:
a housing (16, Figs. 2 and 8) having a connector (24, Figs. 2 and 8) configured to be secured to a syringe (¶ [0083]);
a needle (28, Figs. 2 and 8) received within the housing (16, Figs. 2 and 8) and in fluid communication with the connector (24, Figs. 2 and 8), the needle (28, Figs. 2 and 8) having a first end and a second end (30, Figs. 2 and 8) positioned opposite the first end (Figs. 2 and 8); and
a membrane (34, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) having a body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) having a first end (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) and a second end (86, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) positioned opposite the first end (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G), the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) defining a passageway (92, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) extending from the first end (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) to a position intermediate the first end (84, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) and the second end (86, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G); and
a guide member (228, Fig. 55G) positioned within the passageway (92, Fig. 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G), the guide member (228, Fig. 55G) having a first end and a second end positioned opposite the first end (Fig. 55G), the guide member (228, Fig. 55G) having a guide surface (interior surface of 228, Fig. 55G) configured to engage a needle (28, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) positioned within the passageway (92, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) of the body (82, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G),
the membrane (34, Figs. 2, 8, and 55G) moveable from a first position (see Fig. 22) within the housing (16, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) where the second end (30, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) of the needle (28, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) is received within the passageway (92, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) of the membrane (34, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) to a second position (Fig. 24) where the second end (30, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) of the needle (28, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) is positioned outside of the passageway (92, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) of the membrane (34, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24), the needle (28, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) is engaged with the guide member (228, Fig. 55G) when the membrane (34, Figs. 2, 8, 22, and 24) moves from the first position (Fig. 22) to the second position (Fig. 24).
Regarding Claim 12, Sanders discloses a collet (32, Figs. 2 and 8) defining an opening, the membrane (34, Figs. 2 and 8) received within the opening of the collet (32, Figs. 2 and 8; ¶ [0083]).
Regarding Claim 13, Sanders discloses an outer diameter of the needle (28, Figs. 2 and 8) tapers from the first end of the needle (28, Figs. 2 and 8) to the second end (30, Figs. 2 and 8) of the needle (28, Figs. 2 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders et al (US 2015/0297454).
Regarding Claim 2, Sanders is silent whether the guide member is formed integrally with the body.
However, it has been held that "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the guide member of Sanders formed integrally with the body.
Regarding Claim 7, Sanders does not explicitly state that the guide member extends at least 25 percent of the length of the body.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Sanders to have the guide member extend at least 25 percent of the length of the body since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Sanders would not operate differently with the guide member extending at least 25 precent of the length of the body. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the extension of the guide member “may” be within the claimed ranges (¶ [0031]).
Claim(s) 3-5, 8, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders et al (US 2015/0297454) in view of Lopez (US 5738663).
Regarding Claims 3-5, 8, 10, and 14, Sanders is silent whether the guide member comprises a projection extending from the body in a radially inward direction, wherein the guide member comprises a plurality of equally-spaced projections extending from the body in a radially inward direction, wherein the guide surface is concave, wherein the body defines a slit extending from the passageway to the second end of the body, wherein the guide surface is convex, and wherein the tapered terminal end of the passageway of the membrane corresponds to the shape of the second end of the needle.
Lopez teaches a medical valve, thus being in the same field of endeavor, where the membrane comprises a plurality of equally-spaced projections (tires 100, Figs. 13-14) extending from the body in a radially inward direction (Figs. 13-14), wherein the interior surface of the membrane is concave and convex (Figs. 13-14, the curvature of the tires and spaces between the tires alternate between concave and convex), and wherein the body defines a slit (11, Fig. 13) extending from the passageway (98, Fig. 13) to the second end (204, Fig. 13) of the body, and wherein the tapered terminal end of the passageway (98, Fig. 4) corresponds to the shape of the second end (32, Fig. 14) of the needle (26, Fig. 14). This structure allows the membrane to easily deform and reform, with the slit being sealingly closed after the membrane reforms (Col. 11 line 58 – Col. 12 line 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the guide member of the membrane of Sanders to comprise a plurality of equally-spaced projections extending from the body in a radially inward direction, wherein the guide surface is concave, wherein the body defines a slit extending from the passageway to the second end of the body, wherein the guide surface is convex, and wherein the tapered terminal end of the passageway of the membrane corresponds to the shape of the second end of the needle, as taught by Lopez, to allow the membrane to easily deform and reform, with the slit being sealingly closed after the membrane reforms (as motivated by Lopez Col. 11 line 58 – Col. 12 line 20).
Conclusion
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781