DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-27 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/27/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 4/27/2023. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-* is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Berme et al. (10,722,114), hereinafter Berme.
Regarding claim 1, Berme discloses, in figures 23-26, a system for conducting a vision assessment test of an eye of a patient (700, vision testing/training system) (col. 38, lines 9-10) comprising: a display screen (712, output screen) for displaying at least one moving target test profile to the patient (col. 37, lines 60-64 and col. 41, lines 38-47); an eye tracker (725,eye movement tracking device) controlled for automatically detecting a gaze direction data of the eye of the patient when tracking the test profile(s) (col. 37, lines 27-38 and col. 42, lines 16-22); and a processor (714, data processing device) for processing the detected gaze direction data and identifying a correlation between the gaze direction data and the test profile(s) to thereby obtain a vision assessment of the patient's eye (col. 37, lines 50-64 and col. 42, lines 34-44); wherein the system comprises a user interface for enabling an operator of the system to author the test profile(s) for the patient by controlling one or more parameters of the test profile(s) prior to the vision assessment test being conducted (col. 37, lines 60-64, col. 38, lines 29-34 and 38-42).
Regarding claim 2, Berme discloses wherein the test profile comprises a test profile path and a pursuit target travelling along the test profile path, the vision assessment test requiring the patient's eye to following the pursuit target, and wherein the test profile path is determined by the operator of the system (col. 38, lines 29-34, col. 41, lines 37-47, and col. 42, lines 34-49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berme et al. (10,722,114), hereinafter Berme as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Publicover et al. (2015/0338915), hereinafter Publicover.
Regarding claim 3, Berme discloses all the limitations in common with claim 1, and such is hereby incorporated.
Berme discloses the targets appear sequentially (col. 41, lines 54-58) but does not specifically disclose wherein the test profile path is determined by controlling the parameters comprising one or more of the following: waveform shape, waveform period, waveform frequency waveform amplitude, a-periodic or periodic waveform.
Berme and Publicover are related as vision assessing and testing.
Publicover discloses wherein the test profile path is determined by controlling the parameters comprising one or more of the following: waveform shape, waveform period, waveform frequency waveform amplitude, a-periodic or periodic waveform (paragraphs 0183 and 0307 discloses periodic waveforms).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Berme with the profile path of Publicover for the purpose of serving as a graphical aid for more freeform modes of input.
Regarding claim 4, Publicover disclose wherein the waveform shapes is selectable from sinusoid, square, rectangular, triangular, saw-toothed and 2ⁿᵈ order waveform shapes (figures 12A-12H).
Regarding claim 5, Publicover discloses wherein the test profile path comprises pulses and/or spikes displayed at a predetermined frequency or wavelength on the waveform (paragraphs 0307 and figures 12A-12H).
Regarding claim 6, Publicover discloses wherein the test profile path comprises a geometric shape (figures 12A-12H).
Regarding claim 7, Publicover discloses wherein the test profile path is selectable from an oval or rectilinear shape (figure 7).
Regarding claim 8, Publicover discloses wherein the test profile path is an irregular curve in shape (figures 12A-12H).
Regarding claim 9, Publicover discloses wherein the authored test profile path is a wide pursuit path that extends across the entire threshold of the screen or field-of-vision of the patient (figures 12A-12H).
Regarding claim 10, Publicover discloses wherein said test profile comprises a plurality of target images being separately displayed on the display screen in a pseudo-random pattern during the vision assessment test (figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 11, Berme discloses wherein the user interface enables the operator of the system to author the test profile by controlling parameters comprising one or more of the following: number of the test targets to be displayed, size of the test target (col. 3, lines 9-13), colour of the test target (col. 41, lines 37-47), colour of the background for the test (col. 3, lines 9-13).
Regarding claim 12, Berme discloses wherein the user interface further enables a sensitivity of the eye gaze detection being used for the test, the sensitivity being indicated on the user interface by a boundary ring encircling each of the target images (col. 45, lines 54-58 and figure 27).
Regarding claim 13, Berme discloses wherein the user interface is displayed on the display screen (col. 37, lines 60-64).
Conclusion
/BRANDI N THOMAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872