DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 16th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-6, 10 and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-18 are pending in the application, with claim 9 withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Elastic Slider Biasing Member in claim 2, 8, 10.
Examiner’s Comments
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. (See MPEP 2141.02(VI)) Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feuer et al. (US 20140288367 A1, hereinafter Feuer) in view of Baril et al. (US 20210346122 A1, hereinafter Baril).
Regarding Claim 1, Feuer discloses
A device (tip assembly 5005, FIG. 50) adapted to be fitted to an open end of a trocar tube (par. 135 discloses tip assembly configured to couple to trocar), the device comprising:
a substantially cylindrical attachment tube (body 5003, FIG. 50) operable to be coupled to the open end of the trocar tube (par. 135 discloses adapter sleeve, i.e. body, that can be coupled to trocar);
a jaw (upper jaw 5010, FIG. 50) extending away from the attachment tube and having a substantially conical distal end (distal end 5043, FIG. 50) located away from the attachment tube (depicted in FIG. 50),
wherein the jaw has sidewalls corresponding to a portion of the circumference of the tube (depicted in FIG. 50);
a sheath (lower jaw 5011, FIG. 50) extending away from the attachment tube and having a distal end that extends toward the substantially conical distal end of the jaw (depicted in FIG. 50),
wherein the sheath has sidewalls corresponding to another portion of the circumference of the tube (depicted in FIG. 50) and
the sidewalls of the sheath and the sidewalls of the jaw being biased towards each other through at least one elastic member (closing mechanism 5022, FIG. 51, par. 138 disclose closing mechanism configured to bias upper jaw and lower jaw to a closed configuration);
a single slider (first slider 5012, FIG. 50) coupled to the jaw and operable to translate with respect to the jaw (FIG. 50, par. 136 discloses relative motion of slider with respect to the jaw);
a single wiper blade (wiper 5040, FIG. 50-51) coupled to the single slider (depicted in FIGS. 50-51),
wherein the single wiper blade has a lower edge that extends away from the jaw (depicted in FIGS. 50-51);
wherein the single wiper blade is operable to be engaged by a camera traversing through the attachment tube (par. 137 discloses camera abuts the wiper),
whereby the single wiper blade allows the camera to pass beyond the single wiper (par. 137, 141 disclose instruments pass through opening between jaws; par. 137 discloses camera/ instrument abut wiper which causes the jaws to open and make an opening between them, as depicted in FIG. 50),
which is operable to remove fluids and/or substances from the camera (par. 64 discloses wiper blades wipe debris off camera).
However, Feuer does not disclose wherein the single wiper blade has a lower edge that extends through a centerline of the attachment tube in a retracted configuration, whereby the single wiper blade crosses the centerline of the attachment tube.
Baril teaches an analogous device (cleaning cap 140/ 240, FIGS. 1, 11) comprising a body (142/ 242, FIGS. 4, 11, i.e. substantially cylindrical attachment tube) that is fitted to a surgical access device (100/ 200, FIGS. 1, 11, i.e. trocar tube) [FIGS. 1-4, 11-12]. The cleaning cap (240) comprising wipers (250, FIGS. 11-12, i.e. any individual wiper) extending from an inner annular wall (246, FIG. 11, i.e. single slider) and each wiper having an inner terminal edge (252d, FIG. 11, i.e. lower edge) that extends through a centerline of the attachment tube (242) in a retracted configuration, as depicted in Modified FIGS. 11-12 below. Furthermore, the wipers (250) enter an activated/ actuated configuration upon contact with a visualization device (160/ 260, i.e. camera), thereby causing the wipers to cross the centerline of the body (242) [FIGS. 11-12, 0040, 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Feuer with the wiper of Baril in order to provide a wiper capable of varying in length and/or taking on any suitable shape/ size which provides improved flexibility and efficiency in cleaning of the instrument advanced through the device [Baril 0057-0058].
Modified FIG. 11 (US 20210346122 A1) Modified FIG. 12 (US 20210346122 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Feuer further discloses
further comprising an elastic slider biasing member (slider biasing members 5030, FIG. 50) operable to bias the wiper towards the opening in the attachment tube (FIG. 50, par. 139 disclose slider biasing members biases slider to a retracted position).
Regarding Claim 3, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 2, and Feuer further discloses
further comprising a ramp (507, FIGS. 9-11) that is coupled to the jaw (depicted in FIGS. 9-11),
wherein the ramp is operable to be contacted by the camera and cause the jaw to be opened (depicted in FIGS. 9-12; par. 152 discloses features in each of the figures can be combined with one another and components of separate embodiments can be combined).
Regarding Claim 4, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 3, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the ramp is integrally formed with the jaw (depicted in FIGS. 9-12).
Regarding Claim 5, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 3, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the end of the ramp closest to the attachment tube is located closer to the attachment tube than the wiper blade in a retracted state (depicted in FIGS. 9-12),
the wiper blade being positioned in the retracted state to contact the camera prior to the camera contacting the ramp (depicted in FIGS. 9-12).
Regarding Claim 6, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 3, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the ramp is coupled between the slider and the jaw (depicted in FIGS. 9-12).
Regarding Claim 7, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 2, and Feuer further discloses
further comprising a flexible jaw member (slot 4304, FIG. 45) coupled to the jaw (FIG. 50 depicts substantially similar slots connecting jaws and tube; par. 118 discloses slots allow consistent movement between parts, moreover, materials of the tip assembly require consistency; par. 50 discloses the use of semi-deformable, i.e. flexible, material; par. 152 discloses different components of different embodiments can be combined),
wherein the flexible jaw member is operable to allow the jaw to move relative to the attachment tube (FIG. 45, par. 118 discloses slots allow consistent movement between parts).
Regarding Claim 8, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 7, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the elastic slider biasing member is coupled to the flexible jaw member at a first end and the slider at a second end and the slider is operable to slide relative to the jaw in substantially the same plane as the jaw (FIG. 45 depicts flexible jaw member is a part of jaw; par. 136 discloses relative motion between slider and jaw; FIG. 50 depicts slider biasing member coupled to jaw and slider).
Regarding Claim 10, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 8, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the elastic slider biasing member is a compression spring and is operable to be received within a cavity formed in the substantially conical distal end of the jaw and a cavity formed in the slider (FIG. 50 depicts jaw cavity; par. 63 discloses slider/ biasing component can be a spring; par. 136 discloses channels formed on slider; par. 152 discloses different components of different embodiments can be combined).
Regarding Claim 11, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the substantially cylindrical attachment tube has an inner diameter correspondingly sized to provide a press fit connection with the open end of the trocar tube (par. 108 discloses proximal end of jaw assembly can receive the distal end of an adapter sleeve with a snap-fit or press-fit connection; par. 152 discloses different components of different embodiments can be combined).
Regarding Claim 12, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the at least one elastic member comprises two elastic members (FIG. 52, par. 147 disclose more than one elastic slider biasing members).
Regarding Claim 13, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the at least one elastic member is made of rubber (par. 138 discloses closing mechanism is an elastic band that is rubber).
Regarding Claim 14, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the at least one elastic member is metallic (par. 138 discloses closing mechanism is an elastic band that is metallic).
Regarding Claim 15, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the sheath extends to partially overlap with the conical distal end of the jaw (depicted in FIG. 51).
Regarding Claim 16, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 15, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the sheath has a tapered portion at the distal end that has an outer slope substantially identical to the slope of the conical distal end of the jaw (depicted in FIGS. 50 - 51).
Regarding Claim 17, Feuer, as previously modified by Baril, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Feuer further discloses
wherein the substantially conical distal end has a chisel-like shape (depicted in FIGS. 50 - 51).
Regarding Claim 18, Feuer discloses
A trocar (tip assembly 5005, FIG. 50) comprising:
a tube (body 5003, FIG. 50; par. 135 discloses adapter sleeve);
a jaw (upper jaw 5010, FIG. 50) extending away from the attachment tube and having a substantially conical distal end (distal end 5043, FIG. 50) located away from the tube (depicted in FIG. 50),
wherein the jaw has sidewalls corresponding to a portion of the circumference of the tube (depicted in FIG. 50);
a sheath (lower jaw 5011, FIG. 50) extending away from the tube and having a distal end that extends toward the substantially conical distal end of the jaw (depicted in FIG. 50),
wherein the sheath has sidewalls corresponding to another portion of the circumference of the tube (depicted in FIG. 50) and
the sidewalls of the sheath and the sidewalls of the jaw being biased towards each other through at least one elastic member (closing mechanism 5022, FIG. 51, par. 138 disclose closing mechanism configured to bias upper jaw and lower jaw to a closed configuration);
a slider (first slider 5012, FIG. 50) coupled to the jaw and operable to translate with respect to the jaw (FIG. 50, par. 136 disclose relative motion of slider with respect to the jaw);
a wiper blade (wiper 5040, FIGS. 50-51) coupled to the slider (depicted in FIGS. 50-51),
wherein the wiper blade has a lower edge that extends away from the jaw (depicted in FIGS. 50-51);
wherein the wiper blade is operable to be engaged by a camera traversing through the tube (par. 137 discloses camera abuts the wiper),
whereby the wiper blade allows the camera to pass beyond the wiper (par. 137, 141 disclose instruments pass through opening between jaws; par. 137 discloses camera/ instrument abut wiper which causes the jaws to open and make an opening between them, as depicted in FIG. 50),
which is operable to remove fluids and/or substances from the camera (par. 64 discloses wiper blades wipe debris off camera).
However, Feuer does not disclose wherein the wiper blade has a lower edge that extends through a longitudinal centerline of the tube in a retracted configuration, whereby the wiper blade crosses the centerline.
Baril teaches an analogous device (cleaning cap 140/ 240, FIGS. 1, 11) comprising a body (142/ 242, FIGS. 4, 11, i.e. substantially cylindrical attachment tube) that is fitted to a surgical access device (100/ 200, FIGS. 1, 11, i.e. trocar tube) [FIGS. 1-4, 11-12]. The cleaning cap (240) comprising wipers (250, FIGS. 11-12, i.e. any individual wiper) extending from an inner annular wall (246, FIG. 11, i.e. single slider) and each wiper having an inner terminal edge (252d, FIG. 11, i.e. lower edge) that extends through a centerline of the attachment tube (242) in a retracted configuration, as depicted in Modified FIGS. 11-12 below. Furthermore, the wipers (250) enter an activated/ actuated configuration upon contact with a visualization device (160/ 260, i.e. camera), thereby causing the wipers to cross the centerline of the body (242) [FIGS. 11-12, 0040, 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Feuer with the wiper of Baril in order to provide a wiper capable of varying in length and/or taking on any suitable shape/ size which provides improved flexibility and efficiency in cleaning of the instrument advanced through the device [Baril 0057-0058].
Modified FIG. 11 (US 20210346122 A1) Modified FIG. 12 (US 20210346122 A1)
Conclusion
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795