DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
A. In the response filed 1/6/26, Applicants elected CD19, TRAC, RFX5 and HLA-E.
B. Claims 1-20 are pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to since there should be a hyphen between “II” and “related”. Claims 2-20 are objected to since they depend from claim 1.
3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 1, 10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomes-Silva et al. in view of Rasaiyaah et al. further in view of Villard et al.
The claims are generally drawn to an engineered immune cell expressing an anti-CD7 antibody and having suppressed or silenced expression of endogenous CD7, a TCR/CD3 gene and an MHC-II-related gene.
Gomes-Silva teaches the expression of a CD7-directed CAR in CD7 gene-edited (CD7KO) T cells which eliminates CD7+ AML cell lines, but not myeloid and erythroid progenitor cells (Abstract). The CD7KO would spare normal T cells while retaining functionality (4th paragraph of Introduciton). Gomes-Silva also teaches that this CD7 CAR T cell protects mice against leukemia in a xenograft model (Abstract). Th CD7KO T cell would suppress/silence CD7 gene expression as recited in claim 1. Claims 16-19 are also taught since Gomes-Silva teaches the use of T cells to treat AML (e.g. Title).
Gomes-Silva does not teach silencing a TCR/CD3 and MHC-related gene. However, Rasaiyaah teaches that disrupting the TCR/CD3 complex allows for CD3-specific antileukemic T cell immunotherapy (e.g. Title; Abstract) since in order to be activated, T cells bind to both CD3 via the TCR/CD3 complex and the MHC-antigen peptide complex on the surface of antigen-presenting cells.
Neither Gomes-Silva nor Rasaivaah teach targeting the MHC-II-related gene RFX5. However, Villard teaches that a domain of RFX5 plays an essential role in the transcriptional activation of MHC-II genes (Abstract). Therefore, as with silencing CD7 expression, suppressing/silencing expression of the TCR/CD3 gene and critical MHC-II genes in a CAR-T cell can avoid attack on normal cells.
B. Claims 2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomes-Silva et al. in view of Rasaiyaah et al. further in view of Villard et al. and further in view of Miller and Manus.
The teachings of Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah and Villard are discussed in paragraph A of this section. None teach the specific domains recited in claims 2 and 6-8, nor the use of CD19 recited in claims 4 and 5. However, Miller and Manus do teach CAR T cells comprising a CD8a transmembrane domain, a CD3z intracellular domain and a CD28 or 4-1BB costimulatory domain (first full paragraph of page 684) as well as the importance of CAR T cells which target the cell-surface molecule CD19 for treatment of B-cell malignancies (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time to have produced a CAR T cell expressing an additional antibody to this molecule.
C. Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomes-Silva et al. in view of Rasaiyaah et al. further in view of Villard et al. further in view of Hong et al.
The teachings of Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah and Villard are discussed in paragraph A of this section. None teach silencing TRAC. However, Hong does teach CAR T cells with an edited TRAC gene in order to ablate TCRab function to reduce alloreactive T cells (first entry in Table 1), thereby enhancing non-alloreactive T cell function in T cell-directed treatment.
D. Claims 12-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomes-Silva et al. in view of Rasaiyaah et al. further in view of Villard et al. further in view of Cook et al. and further in view of van Hall.
The teachings of Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah and Villard are discussed in paragraph A of this section. None teach an engineered immune cell further expressing an NK inhibitory molecule. However, Cook teaches that NK depletion prevents T cell exhaustion. Therefore, in order to increase the therapeutic effects of CAR T cells, it would have been obvious to have suppressed NK cells. Cook does not teach the use of an antibody (claim 13), including one which targets NKG2A (claim 20), nor the use of HLA-E as an inhibitory ligand (claim 14). However, van Hall does teach that blocking antibodies to NKG2A results in tumor control in multiple mouse models (Abstract). Given that NKG2A is an inhibitor receptor which engages HLA-E (lines 1-4 and last paragraph of left column of page 2), it would have been obvious to have targeted either NKG2A (e.g. antibody), or its ligand HLA-E.
4. Nonstatutory Double Patenting
A. Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10 and 16-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-14, 20 of copending Application No. 18/034,170 (reference application) in view of Gomes-Silva et al. in view of Rasaiyaah et al. further in view of Villard et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to engineered immune cells comprising the same CD7 antibody and CAR domains.
The copending claims do not recite the silencing of CD7, a TRC/CD3 and MHC-II-related genes, nor a pharmaceutical composition and the treatment of cancer. However, Gomes-Silva teaches the expression of a CD7-directed CAR in CD7 gene-edited (CD7KO) T cells which eliminates CD7+ AML cell lines, but not myeloid and erythroid progenitor cells (Abstract). The CD7KO would spare normal T cells while retaining functionality (4th paragraph of Introduction). Gomes-Silva also teaches that this CD7 CAR T cell protects mice against leukemia in a xenograft model (Abstract). Th CD7KO T cell would suppress/silence CD7 gene expression as recited in claim 1. Claims 16-19 are also taught since Gomes-Silva teaches the use of T cells to treat AML (e.g. Title).
Gomes-Silva does not teach silencing a TCR/CD3 and MHC-related gene. However, Rasaiyaah teaches that disrupting the TCR/CD3 complex allows for CD3-specific antileukemic T cell immunotherapy (e.g. Title; Abstract) since in order to be activated, T cells bind to both CD3 via the TCR/CD3 complex and the MHC-antigen peptide complex on the surface of antigen-presenting cells.
Neither Gomes-Silva nor Rasaivaah teach targeting the MHC-II-related gene RFX5. However, Villard teaches that a domain of RFX5 plays an essential role in the transcriptional activation of MHC-II genes (Abstract). Therefore, as with silencing CD7 expression, suppressing/silencing expression of the TCR/CD3 gene and critical MHC-II genes in a CAR-T cell can avoid attack on normal cells.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
B. Claims 4 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-14 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/034,170 (reference application) in view of Gomes-Silva et al. further in view of Rasaiyaah et al. further in view of Villard et al. and further in view of Miller and Manus.
The teachings of Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah and Villard are discussed in paragraph A of this section. The copending claims do not recite, nor do Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah, nor Villard teach the use of CD19. However, Miller and Manus do teach CAR T cells comprising a CD8a transmembrane domain, a CD3z intracellular domain and a CD28 or 4-1BB costimulatory domain (first full paragraph of page 684) as well as the importance of CAR T cells which target the cell-surface molecule CD19 for treatment of B-cell malignancies (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time to have produced a CAR T cell expressing an additional antibody to this molecule.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
C. Claims 9 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-14, 20 of copending Application No. 18/034,170 (reference application) in view of Gomes-Silva et al. in view of Rasaiyaah et al. further in view of Villard et al. and further in view of Hong et al.
The teachings of Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah and Villard are discussed in paragraph A of this section. The copending claims do not recite, nor do Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah, nor Villard teach silencing TRAC. However, Hong does teach CAR T cells with an edited TRAC gene in order to ablate TCRab function to reduce alloreactive T cells (first entry in Table 1), thereby enhance T cell function in T cell-directed treatment.
D. Claims 12-15 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-14, 20 of copending Application No. 18/034,170 (reference application) in view of Gomes-Silva et al. in view of Rasaiyaah et al. further in view of Villard et al. further in view of Cook et al. and further in view of van Hall.
The teachings of Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah and Villard are discussed in paragraph A of this section. The copending claims do not recite, nor do Gomes-Silva, Rasaivaah, nor Villard teach an engineered immune cell further expressing an NK inhibitory molecule. However, Cook teaches that NK depletion prevents T cell exhaustion. Therefore, in order to increase the therapeutic effects of CAR T cells, it would have been obvious to have suppressed NK cells. Cook does not teach the use of an antibody (claim 13), including one which targets NKG2A (claim 20), nor the use of HLA-E as an inhibitory ligand (claim 14). However, van Hall does teach that blocking antibodies to NKG2A results in tumor control in multiple mouse models (Abstract). Given that NKG2A is an inhibitor receptor which engages HLA-E (lines 1-4 and last paragraph of left column of page 2), it would have been obvious to have targeted either NKG2A (e.g. antibody), or its ligand HLA-E.
E. Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-21 of copending Application No. 18/861,000 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to engineered immune cells with knockout of CD7, TRAC and RFX5.
Copending claims 8-11 require the immune cell engineered to express a CD7 CAR having the same domains as the instant claims. Copending SEQ ID NO:11 and 12 comprise instant SEQ ID NO:1-3 and 4-6, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
F. Claims 4 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-21 of copending Application No. 18/861,000 (reference application) in view of Miller and Manus.
The copending claims do not recite the use of CD19. However, Miller and Manus do teach CAR T cells comprising a CD8a transmembrane domain, a CD3z intracellular domain and a CD28 or 4-1BB costimulatory domain (first full paragraph of page 684) as well as the importance of CAR T cells which target the cell-surface molecule CD19 for treatment of B-cell malignancies (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time to have produced a CAR T cell expressing an additional antibody to this molecule.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
G. Claims 12-15 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-21 of copending Application No. 18/861,000 (reference application) in view of Cook et al. and further in view of van Hall.
The copending claims do not teach an engineered immune cell further expressing an NK inhibitory molecule. However, Cook teaches that NK depletion prevents T cell exhaustion. Therefore, in order to increase the therapeutic effects of CAR T cells, it would have been obvious to have suppressed NK cells. Cook does not teach the use of an antibody (claim 13), including one which targets NKG2A (claim 20), nor the use of HLA-E as an inhibitory ligand (claim 14). However, van Hall does teach that blocking antibodies to NKG2A results in tumor control in multiple mouse models (Abstract). Given that NKG2A is an inhibitor receptor which engages HLA-E (lines 1-4 and last paragraph of left column of page 2), it would have been obvious to have targeted either NKG2A (e.g. antibody), or its ligand HLA-E.
H. Claims 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-21 of copending Application No. 18/861,000 (reference application) in view of Gomes-Silva et al.
The copending claims do not teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the immune cell, nor treatment of the claimed diseases. However, Gomes-Silva teaches the expression of a CD7-directed CAR in CD7 gene-edited (CD7KO) T cells which eliminates CD7+ AML cell lines, but not myeloid and erythroid progenitor cells (Abstract). The CD7KO would spare normal T cells while retaining functionality (4th paragraph of Introduction). Gomes-Silva also teaches that this CD7 CAR T cell protects mice against leukemia in a xenograft model (Abstract). The use of a pharmaceutical composition would be required to perform these studies.
5. Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647