DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 10/11/2023, is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 7, 10, 11, 14, 17, 18, 21-27, 29, 30, 32, 33, 35, 36, 38, 40-52, and 55-58 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, 37, 39, 53, and 54 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 2 are independent claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12-15, 19-22, 25, 26, 31-33, 36, and 53; and the Species of: i) SEQ ID NO: 110; ii) the conjugate formula of claim 12; iii) an cleavable linker comprising an oligopeptide with a C-terminal Pro residue; and iv) a cytotoxic agent drug moiety in the reply filed on 2/2/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The conjugate formula recited in claims 13 does not read on the elected species of conjugate formula. The drug moieties recited in claims 37 and 39 do not read on the elected species of drug moiety.
Claims 13, 37, 39, and 54 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and/or species.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53 are under examination as reading on a therapeutic conjugate comprising an acutely toxic drug moiety to a half-life extension moiety via an enzyme cleavable linker.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed US 63/108,046 filed October 30, 2020 and US 63/197,935, filed June 7, 2021, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/27/2023 and 2/02/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner in their entireties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53 encompass therapeutic conjugates comprising linkers with a partial structure at best and the function of “enzyme cleavable linker”, including generic enzyme cleavable linkers with no recited structure (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 28, 31, 34, 37, and 53), oligopeptides and oligopeptides with a C-terminal Pro (claims 15 and 16), and generic protease recognition sequences with no recited structure (claims 19 and 20).
Additionally, claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53 encompass therapeutic conjugates comprising moieties with a partial structure at best and the functions of “half-life extension moiety” and “serum half-life of the therapeutic conjugate in vivo is at least 48 hours” (claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), or “half-life extension moiety” and “serum half-life of the therapeutic conjugate in vivo is extended by more than 2-fold relative to circulating serum half-life of a free therapeutic moiety” (claim 2).
Claim 12 additionally encompasses a broad genus of linkers with no recited structure and the function “self-immolative linker or bond”.
Regarding the broadly claimed genera of half-life extension moieties and enzyme-cleavable linkers, the specification fails to provide adequate written description support for a genus of linkers with a partial structure at best having the desired functional properties required to practice the claimed function “enzyme-cleavable linker” (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53); and the specification fails to provide adequate written description support for a genus of moieties with a partial structure at best and the function of “half-life extension moiety” (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53).
The claims are not supported by a description that satisfies 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph. "[T]he test for sufficiency [of the written description] is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date." Ariad Phanns., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en bane).
A "sufficient description of a genus ... requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can 'visualize or recognize' the members of the genus." Id. at 1350. "[A]n adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties, of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials." Id.
"[F]unctional claim language can meet the written description requirement when the art has established a correlation between structure and function." Id. "But merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species." Id.
"A sufficient description of a genus ... requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus" (AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69) (emphasis added).
Regarding the claimed genera of linkers with a partial structure at best having the desired functional properties required to practice the claimed function “enzyme-cleavable linker” (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), the specification discloses over a hundred different protease enzymes (pg. 44-67), and discloses specific examples of protease-cleavable substrate oligopeptide sequences (pg. 67 and 68), including MMP and thrombin substrates (pg. 68, SEQ ID NO: 199-221), and FAPα cleavable linker examples that require a proline (such as (d)Ala-Pro and Ser-(d)Ala-Pro, Fig. 1, 6, 11, 14, and 28).
Regarding the claimed genera of moieties with a partial structure at best and the function of “half-life extension moiety” (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), the instant specification discloses that serum proteins such as fibronectin, transferrin, and HSA, or an antibody Fc domains can function as half-life extension moieties (pg. 16-18). The instant specification further discloses that half-life extension moieties can also be moieties that specifically bind to serum proteins such as HSA. The instant specification discloses sequences of affimers that specifically bind to HSA and can function as half-life extension moieties (SEQ ID NO: 110-132, Tables 1-3), however does not disclose any other structures (small molecules, aptamers, etc.) that bind to serum proteins and has the function of “half-life extension moiety”.
With respect to representative number of species, see AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014). Also, see MPEP 2163 Il(A)(3)(a))(ii):
A representative number of species means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See Abb Vie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.").
Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are "representative of the full variety or scope of the genus," or by the establishment of "a reasonable structure-function correlation." Such correlations may be established "by the inventor as described in the specification," or they may be "known in the art at the time of the filing date." See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1300-01, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790-91 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Holding that claims to all human antibodies that bind IL-12 with a particular binding affinity rate constant (i.e., koff) were not adequately supported by a specification describing only a single type of human antibody having the claimed features because the disclosed antibody was not representative of other types of antibodies in the claimed genus, as demonstrated by the fact that other disclosed antibodies had different types of heavy and light chains, and shared only a 50% sequence similarity in their variable regions with the disclosed antibodies.).
In the instant case, regarding the claimed genera of linkers with a partial structure at best having the desired functional properties required to practice the claimed function “enzyme-cleavable linker” (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), the instant specification discloses peptide sequences of known oligopeptides that are cleaved by MMP proteases, thrombin, and FAPα serine protease, all of which are specific sequences that are recognized by the proteases. For example, all of the FAPα cleavable sequence examples have a proline in the substrate recognition sequence. No other representative species are disclosed, including linkers with SRS structures that include non-natural amino acid residues, that have the function of “enzyme-cleavable linker”. These limited number of sequences do does not sufficiently represent the broadly claimed genera of linkers with a partial structure at best and the recited function of “enzyme-cleavable linker”. No other cleavable substrates to any of the other listed enzymes in the specification are disclosed.
Regarding the claimed genera of moieties with a partial structure at best and the function of “half-life extension moiety” (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), the instant specification discloses a subgenus of moieties that bind to serum proteins, anti-HSA affimers, however this subgenus does not sufficiently represent the broadly claimed genus of moieties with a partial structure at best and the function of “half-life extension moiety” recited in claims 1-4, 6, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53, which includes any small molecule, aptamer, polypeptide, antibody, etc., with the recited functions.
Additionally, instant claims 8 and 9 recites a more limited subgenus of affimers with no structure (claim 8) or that are at least 70%, 80%, or 90% identical to the instantly elected SEQ ID NO: 110 (claim 9) that have the function of “half-life extension moiety” by specifically binding to HSA. Regarding claim 9, the total number of variants of a polypeptide having a specific number of amino acid substitutions can be calculated from the formula:
N
!
*
19
A
N
-
A
!
A
!
Where N is the length in amino acids of the reference polypeptide and A is the number of allowed substitutions. For a polypeptide that is 112 residues in length with 11 allowed substitutions (10% variation within SEQ ID NO: 110 allows for 11 substitutions), there would be
112
!
*
19
(
11
)
112
-
11
!
11
!
Which is approximately 1.74x1032 variants, including variants that have amino acid substitutions in the loop regions that are critical for specific antigen binding. The limited number of affimer examples disclosed does not sufficiently represent this diverse genus of anti-HSA affimers.
Moreover, there is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed enzyme-cleavable linkers and half-life extension moieties to demonstrate possession. Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, Aventisub LLC, No. 2017-1480 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The Court reiterated that adequate written description must “contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products . . . .” The Court simultaneously suggested that the “newly characterized antigen” test “flouts” section 112 because it “allows patentees to claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen.” The Court concluded that for written description of an antibody to be adequate when presented with “functional” terminology, there must be an established correlation in the art between structure and function.
Given the broadly claimed classes of enzyme-cleavable linkers and half-life extension moieties, and in the absence of sufficient disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics for the broadly claimed classes of enzyme-cleavable linkers and half-life extension moieties, the patentee must establish “a reasonable structure-function correlation” either within the specification or by reference to the knowledge of one skilled in the art with functional claims. AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014), MPEP 2163.
Regarding the claimed genera of linkers with a partial structure at best having the desired functional properties required to practice the claimed function “enzyme-cleavable linker” (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), the instant specification discloses consensus oligopeptide sequences that are each cleaved by a certain protease or class of proteases (pg. 68).
Additionally, the prior art teaches there are specific peptide substrate sequences that are recognized by different protease enzymes. For example, regarding FAPα cleavable linkers for example, FAPα consensus peptide sequences have been discovered in the prior art. Aggarwal et al. (Biochemistry. 2008 Jan 22;47(3):1076-86. doi: 10.1021/bi701921b. Epub 2007 Dec 21) teaches (Introduction): “…we present results using liquid chromatography/tandem mass spectrometry (LC/MS/MS) to generate a complete map of FAP cleavage sites within recombinant forms of human collagen I derived gelatin. We have synthesized selected peptides on the basis of these cleavage maps and analyzed them for hydrolysis by FAP to identify peptides that could be used to target cytotoxins to FAP-expressing tumor tissue.” Aggarwal et al. identified the following sequences that were found to be FAPα cleavable peptide sequences: (d)Ala-Pro (pg. 4, final ¶), PPGP, (D/E)-(R/K)-G-(E/D)-(T/S)-G-P, and DRGETP (Abstract). Additionally, Ji et al. (Angew Chem Int Ed Engl. 2016 Jan 18;55(3):1050-5. doi: 10.1002/anie.201506262. Epub 2015 Aug 17) identified another FAPα cleavable peptide sequence, which is GPAX, where X is any amino acid sequence (pg. 1050). Other than these consensus sequences, no other structure-function relationship between a peptide sequence and identification as a FAPα-cleavable substrate sequence.
Regarding the claimed genera of moieties with a partial structure at best and the function of “half-life extension moiety” (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), the specification lists multiple affimer sequences that have the function of specifically binding to HSA that have the function of “half-life extension moiety” (Tables 1-3).
No other serum protein binding moieties, such as antibodies, small molecules, aptamers, etc. have been described, and no structure-function relationship between these broad genera of serum protein binding moieties and the function of “half-life extension moiety”.
For these broadly recited genera of serum protein binding moieties with no recited structure (claims 1-4, 6, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), the specification at best describes a plan for making half-life extension moieties that bind to serum proteins, and then identifying those that satisfy the claim limitations, but a mere “wish or plan” for obtaining claimed invention is not sufficient. Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 97 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Additionally, the disclosure does not provide information sufficient to establish that a skilled artisan would understand how to identify the species of binding moieties (antibodies, scFvs, sdAbs, aptamers, etc.) capable of binding to any target (claims 1, 2, 6, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53), any “serum protein” (claim 3), or the serum proteins recited in claims 4 and 6 to lead to the function of “half-life extension moiety” that the claims require. Without more in the disclosure, such as characteristics of exemplary binding moieties other than affimers that allow them to bind to particular targets, the mere fact that binding moieties that can bind to proteins to act as a “half-life extension moiety” in general bind does not demonstrate possession of the broad genera of binding molecules encompassed by the claims. Furthermore, the disclosure fails to disclose a method to distinguish those binding molecules that are incapable of binding the recited targets from ones that do.
Regarding the broad genera of biocompatible polymers with the function of “half-life extension moiety”, which includes the recited function “serum half-life…in vivo is at least 48 hours” (claim 3; see discussion of claim scope supra), the instant specification discloses broad classes of polymers that can be biocompatible (pg. 41-42), however does not distinguish which specific structures have the recited half-life extension functions recited the claims, and does not disclose any relationship between a polymer’s structure and the function of “half-life extension moiety”. The prior art also teaches that there is unpredictability between a polymer’s structure and the function of “half-life extension moiety”. Podust et al. (J Control Release. 2016 Oct 28;240:52-66. doi: 10.1016/j.jconrel.2015.10.038. Epub 2015 Oct 30), teaches that different XTEN structures can extent the half-life of therapeutics, however the half-life ranges from under 2.5 hours to over 72 based on the specific XTEN structure (Table 2). Additionally, Reichard et al. (Pharm Res. 2016 Dec;33(12):2954-2966. doi: 10.1007/s11095-016-2017-y. Epub 2016 Sep 12) teaches that PEGylation of can increase the serum half-life of a therapeutic to 25 hours (Table II), however this does not fall within the scope of the instant claims, as the function of “half-life extension moiety” recited in claim 1 includes a serum half-life greater than 48 hours. Neither the instant specification nor the prior art discloses sufficient structure identifying characteristics to identify which “biocompatible polymer” species in the broadly recited genus have the recited function of “half-life extension moiety”, or how to distinguish between structures with this function and those without.
Additionally, regarding the broadly claimed genera anti-HSA affimers with a partial structure at best (claim 8), and with significant variation in the critical loop sequences responsible for specific binding (claim 9), the specification discloses specific anti-HSA affimer structures, defined by their amino acid sequences, that have the function of “half-life extension moiety”. Neither the instant specification nor the prior art provide a structure-function relationship between an affimer’s amino acid sequence and the function of specifically binding HSA to be a “half-life extension moiety”.
Furthermore, Stadler et al. (Protein Eng Des Sel. 2011 Sep;24(9):751-63. doi: 10.1093/protein/gzr019. Epub 2011 May 25) teaches that affimers based on the stefin A peptide scaffold can have their loop regions vary in amino acid sequence to generate combinatorial libraries that can be screened for specific binding to different targets, much like antibodies (Introduction): “[a] new variant scaffold, SQT (Stefin A Quadruple Mutant—Tracy), is able to present a range of peptides and shows thermostability similar to that of the parental Stefin A protein. Peptide aptamers, which we now call Scannins, presenting ‘epitope tag’ peptides in the N-terminus, loop 1 and/or loop 2 of SQT… Scannins are likely to be broadly useful in presenting a wide range of peptides for interaction using three independent sites, with protein binding affinities and stabilities that can be tuned to the experimental setting.”
The prior art teaches that affimers based on stefin A have a constant scaffold with varied N-terminal, loop 1, and loop 2 regions that determine specific binding to different targets. Tiede et al. (Elife. 2017 Jun 27;6:e24903. doi: 10.7554/eLife.24903) demonstrates these loop regions (top of figure below) vary in sequence, and therefore size and 3-dimensional structure, to determine specific binding (Fig. 1):
Neither the instant specification nor the prior art disclose a relationship between the amino acid sequences of an affimer’s variable loop regions and HSA binding that leads to the function of “half-life extension moiety”. The only structure function relationship is to list specific affimer sequences that have this function.
Additionally, the current state of the art teaches that there is unpredictability in determining which anti-HSA affimer structures that are defined by their amino acid sequences would have the recited function of “half-life extension moiety”. Gomes et al. (avacta.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/POS018_Serum_Albumin.pdf; first available 6/02/2023) teaches that five different anti-HSA affimers extend serum half-life in the range of 24.3-38.2 hours (Table 2), and therefore none of these different anti-HSA affimer species would fall within the scope of the claims, as claim 1 also recites “serum half-life…in vivo is at least 48 hours”. Neither the prior art nor the instant specification discloses how to distinguish between different defined affimer structures and the recited function of “half-life extension moiety”. Undue experimentation would be required by one with ordinary skill in the art to determine this, as one would need to test each individual affimer structure (defined by their amino acid sequence) to determine if: 1) the affimer extends the serum half-life of a therapeutic; and 2) if the half-life is greater than 48 hours, as not all anti-HSA affimers would extend serum half-life by this amount.
Regarding the broadly claimed genus of linkers with no structure and the function of “self-immolative linker or bond” in claim 12, the instant specification discloses general structures that can possibly lead to functional self-immolative linkers (pg. 71-73) and provides five working examples self-immolative linkers with specific structures in Fig. 9, 12, 13, 15, and 16, however these limited examples do not sufficiently represent the claimed genus of linkers with no recited structure and the function of “self-immolative linker or bond”. Additionally, neither the instant specification nor the prior art provides sufficient structure-function relationship between a linker’s structure and the function of “self-immolative linker or bond”. For example, Xu et al. (Eur J Med Chem. 2024 Dec 5;279:116928. doi: 10.1016/j.ejmech.2024.116928. Epub 2024 Sep 30) teaches principles of design of self-immolative linkers used in prodrugs (Section 2): “[a]t the heart of the design of self-immolative prodrugs lies the incorporation of a trigger moiety, a chemical entity that initiates the cascade of decomposition reactions leading to drug release…the trigger moiety must be carefully tailored to ensure selective activation within the target tissue while minimizing off-target effects… the design of self-immolative prodrugs encompasses the selection of appropriate drug payloads and linker chemistries to achieve optimal pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic properties”. Xu et al. further teaches that specific self-immolative linker structures differ based on the cleavable substrate that they are incorporated in and the specific payload/therapeutic that is used. For example, different self-immolative linkers have been found to function in cathepsin-B cleavable prodrugs based on the drug that is intended to be released (Section 4.2.1, Fig. 1), while PABC has been found to act as a self-immolative linker in MMAE-based prodrugs (Section 4.2.3, Fig. 2). Thus, undue experimentation would be required by one with ordinary skill in the art to determine which structures in the broadly claimed genus would have the function of “self-immolative linker”, or how to distinguish between structures with this the function and those without.
Possession is not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895. Sufficient description to show possession of such a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of anti-TMPRSS6 antibodies or antigen binding fragments thereof falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. See Eli Lilly, 119F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53 do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for written description.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the written description inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.). Consequently, Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Applicant is invited to point to clear support or specific examples of the claimed invention in the specification as-filed.
Claim 9 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad sequence identity “at least 70%”, followed by the narrower ranges “at least 80%” and “at least 90%”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachovchin et al. (U.S. Patent 9,956,297) in view of Müller et al. (MAbs. 2012 Nov-Dec;4(6):673-85. doi: 10.4161/mabs.22242).
Claims 1 and 2 claim a therapeutic agent comprising a therapeutic moiety linked to a half-life extending moiety via an enzyme-cleavable domain, wherein the therapeutic does not comprise a cell binding moiety that binds to a cell surface protein of a cell with a Kd of 1x10-6 M or less, and wherein the serum half-life of the therapeutic is at least 48 hours (claim 1) or is at least 2-fold longer that the therapeutic without the half-life extending moiety (claim 2).
Bachovchin et al. teaches FAP-activated proteasome inhibitor therapeutic conjugates comprising a Ser-(d)Ala-Pro FAPα cleavable linker (i.e., “enzyme-cleavable linker”) bound to a proteasome inhibitor (Col. 22, also see below):
Bachovchin et al. teaches that the proteasome inhibitor drug can also comprise bortezomib (Col. 24, lines 5-10). Bachovchin et al. teaches that proteasome inhibitors such as bortezomib have acute toxicity and can cause toxicities such as peripheral neuropathy and hematologic toxicities (Col. 2, lines 4-8). Bachovchin et al. additionally teaches methods of treating cancer comprising administration of these therapeutic compounds (claims 1 and 2).
Bachovchin et al. does not teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety.
Müller et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches that removal of the Fc domain or other half-life extending moieties in a therapeutic, which may pose issues when used to treat disease (Introduction): “[t]he challenge being that the loss of the Fc domain and the reduction in size results in more rapid clearance of the molecules, which may be advantageous for diagnostic imaging, but is far from optimal for the treatment or management of chronic disease…”
Müller et al. teaches anti-HSA IgNAR binding domains that can be used to extent the serum half-life of therapeutics that it is conjugated to (Introduction): “…we isolated a high affinity anti-HSA VNAR binding domain through immunization of a novel shark species… this is the first report of the use of this class of binding domain to affect in vivo retention by increasing the sera half-life of a fused domain…” Müller et al. further teaches potential benefits of increasing the serum half-life of therapeutics (Introduction): “[t]ailoring the half-life of therapeutic drugs would negate the requirement for multiple administrations, hence minimizing accumulative damage to the patient, increasing patient compliance and reducing the overall dosing regimen. Importantly, it would also open the opportunity to develop short-lived molecules, previously deemed unsuitable for drug development, into effective therapeutic agents.”
Müller et al. teaches that fusion of an anti-HSA IgNAR to another VNAR domain that does not bind a target increases that serum half-life (pg. 675): “[t]o determine the efficacy of the anti-HSA VNAR domains to increase the serum half-life of another unrelated VNAR domain, fusions consisting of both N-terminally and C-terminally linked HSA-binding E06 to a random naïve VNAR domain known as 2V (sequence shown in Fig. 3B) were constructed…”. The anti-HSA VNAR fusion constructs increased serum half-life by over 100-fold in mice when compared to the conjugate without the anti-HSA VNAR, and the serum half-life was over 150 hours in nonhuman primates (Table 2).
Müller et al. further teaches (Discussion): “[t]he lead clone isolated exhibited the ability to improve the PK parameters of a fused tandem VNAR domain exhibiting serum half-life values equating to that of albumin itself. This study provides the potential of these single binding domains to… act as tools to improve the PK properties of other biologic proteins.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the conjugate taught by Bachovchin et al. in view of Müller et al. to fuse the anti-HSA VNAR of Müller et al. to the FAPα enzyme-activatable protease inhibitor of Bachovchin et al. (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 1 and 2) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Müller et al. teaches a method of conjugating the anti-HSA VNAR to other peptides, and the therapeutic of Bachovchin et al. has a peptide FAPα cleavable peptide moiety that can be fused to the anti-HSA VNAR (thus, the conjugate would have the anti-HSA VNAR conjugated to the protease inhibitor via the FAPα cleavage site). One would have been motivated to make this change to increase the half-life of the FAPα activatable protease inhibitor of Bachovchin et al., which would reduce the frequency of administration and improve patient compliance and quality of life.
The combined references do not teach the conjugate further comprising a moiety that binds to a cell surface protein, meeting these limitations.
Regarding claims 3, 4, and 6, the anti-HSA VNAR of Müller et al. is a shark antibody molecule that binds to HSA, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Bachovchin et al. further teaches the following FAPα cleavable protease inhibitor prodrug formula A-B, wherein A is the FAPα cleavable substrate and B is the proteasome inhibitor moiety (Col. 6, lines 61-33). Bachovchin et al. additionally teaches this formula can further comprise a self-eliminating (i.e., “self-immolative”) linker such as PABC between A and B (Col. 15, lines 45-51). Müller et al. teaches the anti-HSA VNAR half-life extension moiety is fused to a conjugate via a peptide linker GGGGS (pg. 682, right column, first ¶). Fusion of the VNAR of Müller et al. to the protease inhibitor prodrug with the self-immolative linker taught by Bachovchin et al. via the FAPα cleavable linker would yield a formula of X-L2-SRS-L2-DM, wherein X is the anti-HSA VNAR half-life extension moiety, L2 is a GGGGS linker, SRS is the FAPα cleavable SRS, L2 is the self-immolative linker, and DM is the proteasome inhibitor drug moiety, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 15, 16, 19, and 20, the FAPα serine protease cleavage site taught by Bachovchin et al. is Ser-(d)Ala-Pro, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 28, Bachovchin et al. teaches that the proteasome inhibitors are acutely cytotoxic once activated (Col. 40, lines 44-46): “…pro-drug version of a bortezomib-like cytotoxic agent designed to more selectively target the proteasome in solid tumors…”, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 53, Bachovchin et al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the therapeutic and an acceptable excipient (Col. 23, lines 1-4).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Müller et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (PLoS One. 2013;8(3):e58860. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0058860. Epub 2013 Mar 12) and Poplawski et al. (J Med Chem. 2011 Apr 14;54(7):2022-8. doi: 10.1021/jm100972f. Epub 2011 Mar 9), as evidenced by MCE (Talabostat safety data sheet; file.medchemexpress.com/batch_PDF/HY-13233A/Talabostat-mesylate-SDS-MedChemExpress.pdf)
The combined teachings of Bachovchin et al. and Müller et al. are discussed supra. The combined references do not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 31 and 34).
Walsh et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches Val-boroPro can enhance immune T-cell responses to reduce tumor growth in multiple mouse tumor models (Abstract): “…Val-boroPro has antitumor activity and a novel mechanism of action that involves more robust DC trafficking with earlier priming of T cells…” Walsh et al. teaches that Val-boroPro can lead to tumor regression when administered to solid tumors (Fig. 1 and 2). Walsh et al. further teaches (pg. 12): “…our results demonstrate that the boronic dipeptide Val-boroPro induces T cell-mediated tumor rejection via a novel mechanism that involves accelerated T cell priming and enhanced DC trafficking…Val-boroPro represents a novel class of agent for boosting endogenous antitumor immune responses…”
Poplawski et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches that Val-boroPro can be incorporated into an activatable form that is cleaved by proteases, including the (d)Ala-Pro substrate recognition sequence (Compound 5):
Poplawski et al. teaches that Val-boroPro is a FAP inhibitor, and FAP inhibition has anticancer effects (Introduction): “…1 is a relatively nonspecific inhibitor of serine hydrolyses that cleave after proline, inhibiting other members of this group, which include FAP… FAP inhibition has been reported to yield anticancer effects…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the conjugate taught by the combined references of Bachovchin et al. and Müller et al. in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al. to have exchange the protease inhibitor therapeutic moiety with Val-boroPro (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 32 and 33) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Poplawski et al. teaches that Val-boroPro can be conjugated to cleavable linkers such as (d)Ala-Pro. One would have been motivated to make this change to make a FAPα-activatable version of the FAPα inhibitor Val-boroPro to treat cancers such as solid tumors.
Regarding the functional language “acutely toxic drug moiety” in instant claims 1 and 2, MCE is provided as an evidentiary reference to demonstrate that talabostat/Val-boroPro has acute oral toxicity (Section 2.1), meeting the claim limitations.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,410 (herein Pat ‘410) in view of Müller et al. (MAbs. 2012 Nov-Dec;4(6):673-85. doi: 10.4161/mabs.22242, supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (U.S. Patent 9,956,297, supra).
Pat ‘410 claims FAP-activated (i.e., “enzyme-cleavable”) proteasome inhibitors comprising a Ser-(d)Ala-Pro FAPα cleavable linker bound to a proteasome inhibitor (claim 3):
Pat ‘410 additionally teaches methods of treating cancer comprising administration of the therapeutic (claim 22).
Pat ‘410 does not teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety.
Müller et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches that removal of the Fc domain or other half-life extending moieties in a therapeutic may pose issues when used to treat disease (Introduction): “[t]he challenge being that the loss of the Fc domain and the reduction in size results in more rapid clearance of the molecules, which may be advantageous for diagnostic imaging, but is far from optimal for the treatment or management of chronic disease…”
Müller et al. teaches anti-HSA IgNAR binding domains that can be used to extend the serum half-life of therapeutics that it is conjugated to (Introduction): “…we isolated a high affinity anti-HSA VNAR binding domain through immunization of a novel shark species… this is the first report of the use of this class of binding domain to affect in vivo retention by increasing the sera half-life of a fused domain…” Müller et al. further teaches potential benefits of increasing the serum half-life of therapeutics (Introduction): “[t]ailoring the half-life of therapeutic drugs would negate the requirement for multiple administrations, hence minimizing accumulative damage to the patient, increasing patient compliance and reducing the overall dosing regimen. Importantly, it would also open the opportunity to develop short-lived molecules, previously deemed unsuitable for drug development, into effective therapeutic agents.”
Müller et al. teaches that fusion of an anti-HSA IgNAR to another VNAR domain that does not bind a target increases that serum half-life (pg. 675): “[t]o determine the efficacy of the anti-HSA VNAR domains to increase the serum half-life of another unrelated VNAR domain, fusions consisting of both N-terminally and C-terminally linked HSA-binding E06 to a random naïve VNAR domain known as 2V (sequence shown in Fig. 3B) were constructed…”. The anti-HSA VNAR fusion constructs increased serum half-life by over 100-fold in mice when compared to the conjugate without the anti-HSA VNAR, and the serum half-life was over 150 hours in nonhuman primates (Table 2).
Müller et al. further teaches (Discussion): “[t]he lead clone isolated exhibited the ability to improve the PK parameters of a fused tandem VNAR domain exhibiting serum half-life values equating to that of albumin itself. This study provides the potential of these single binding domains to… act as tools to improve the PK properties of other biologic proteins.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the conjugate claimed by Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al. to fuse the anti-HSA VNAR of Müller et al. to the FAPα activatable (i.e. “enzyme-cleavable”) protease inhibitor of Pat ‘410 (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 1 and 2) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Müller et al. teaches a method of conjugating the anti-HSA VNAR to other peptides, and the therapeutic claimed by Pat ‘410 has a peptide FAPα cleavable peptide moiety that can be fused to the anti-HSA VNAR (thus, the conjugate would have the anti-HSA VNAR conjugated to the protease inhibitor via the FAPα cleavage site). One would have been motivated to make this change to increase the half-life of the FAPα activatable protease inhibitor of Pat ‘410, which would reduce the frequency of administration and improve patient compliance and quality of life.
The combined references do not teach the conjugate comprising a cell binding moiety.
Regarding the functional limitation “acutely toxic” and the limitations of instant claim 28, Bachovchin et al. is provided as an evidentiary reference to demonstrate that the proteasome inhibitors are acutely cytotoxic once activated (Col. 40, lines 44-46): “…pro-drug version of a bortezomib-like cytotoxic agent designed to more selectively target the proteasome in solid tumors…”, including the conjugate claimed by Pat ‘410 (Bachovchin et al. claim 2), meeting these limitations.
Regarding claim 6, the anti-HSA VNAR of Müller et al. is a shark antibody molecule that binds to HSA, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 15, 16, 19, and 20, the Ser-(d)Ala-Pro peptide cleavable sequence claimed by Pat ‘410 is an oligopeptide FAPα serine protease recognition sequence, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 53, Pat ‘410 claims pharmaceutical compositions comprising the FAP-activated proteasome inhibitor and an acceptable excipient (claim 4).
Therefore, the invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,410 (Pat ‘410, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Jeffrey et al. (J Med Chem. 2005 Mar 10;48(5):1344-58. doi: 10.1021/jm040137q).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the conjugate further comprising a self-immolative linker between the FAPα SRS and the drug moiety (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 12).
Bachovchin et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following FAPα cleavable protease inhibitor prodrug formula A-B, wherein A is the FAPα cleavable substrate and B is the proteasome inhibitor moiety (Col. 6, lines 61-33). Bachovchin et al. additionally teaches this formula can further comprise a self-eliminating (i.e., “self-immolative”) linker such as PABC between A and B (Col. 15, lines 45-51).
Jeffrey et al. teaches PABC self-immolative spacers/linkers are incorporated into many protease-cleavable drug conjugates (Results, pg. 1345-1346): “[a] Approach A incorporates a para-aminobenzyl carbamate (PABC) self-immolative spacer between the enzymatically reactive peptide linker and the drug. This approach has previously been used for the release of doxorubicin, MMAE, and camptothecin…”. Jeffrey et al. teaches motivation to incorporate a PABC self-immolative linker between a protease recognition site and a drug moiety (pg. 1346): “[t]he PABC spacer was incorporated into these ADCs to minimize the effects of drug steric interactions on peptide bond hydrolysis…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), further in view of Bachovchin et al. and Jeffrey et al. to add a PABC self-immolative linker between the FAPα cleavage site and the proteasome inhibitor drug moiety with a reasonable expectation of success, as Bachovchin et al. teaches such SRS-PABC-drug conjugates can be successfully synthesized. One would have been motivated to make this change to include a PABC self-immolative moiety between the FAPα protease substrate sequence and the proteasome inhibitor drug moiety to minimize the effects of drug steric interactions of the hydrolysis of the FAPα cleavable linker, as taught by Jeffrey et al.
Additionally, Müller et al. teaches the anti-HSA VNAR half-life extension moiety is fused to a conjugate via a peptide linker GGGGS (pg. 682, right column, first ¶). Fusion of the VNAR of Müller et al. to the protease inhibitor prodrug with the self-immolative linker taught by Bachovchin et al. via the FAPα cleavable linker would yield a formula of X-L1-SRS-L2-DM, wherein X is the anti-HSA VNAR half-life extension moiety, L1 is a GGGGS linker, SRS is the FAPα cleavable SRS, L2 is the self-immolative PABC linker, and DM is the proteasome inhibitor drug moiety, meeting the limitations of claim 12.
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Bachovchin et al. and Jeffrey et al., especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,410 (Pat ‘410, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (PLoS One. 2013;8(3):e58860. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0058860. Epub 2013 Mar 12, supra) and Poplawski et al. (J Med Chem. 2011 Apr 14;54(7):2022-8. doi: 10.1021/jm100972f. Epub 2011 Mar 9, supra), as evidenced by MCE (Talabostat safety data sheet; file.medchemexpress.com/batch_PDF/HY-13233A/Talabostat-mesylate-SDS-MedChemExpress.pdf, supra)
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 31 and 34).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘410 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al., as evidenced by MCE, for the same reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,956,297 (herein Pat ‘297) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra).
Pat ‘297 claims methods of treating cancer comprising administration of FAP-activated proteasome inhibitors comprising a Ser-(d)Ala-Pro FAPα cleavable linker (i.e., “an enzyme-cleavable linker”) bound to a proteasome inhibitor (claim 2):
Pat ‘297 does not teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety.
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘297 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,956,297 (Pat ‘297, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Jeffrey et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘297 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘297 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the conjugate further comprising a self-immolative linker between the FAPα SRS and the drug moiety (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 12).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘297 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Bachovchin et al. and Jeffrey et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra.
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,956,297 (Pat ‘297, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (supra) and Poplawski et al. (supra), as evidenced by MCE (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘297 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘297 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 31 and 34).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘297 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al., as evidenced by MCE, for the same reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,517,955 (herein Pat ‘955) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra).
Pat ‘955 claims methods of treating cancer comprising administration of FAP-activated proteasome inhibitors comprising a Ser-(d)Ala-Pro FAPα cleavable linker (i.e., “an enzyme-cleavable linker”) bound to a proteasome inhibitor (claims 12 and 18):
Pat ‘955 does not teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety.
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘955 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,517,955 (Pat ‘955, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Jeffrey et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘955 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘955 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the conjugate further comprising a self-immolative linker between the FAPα SRS and the drug moiety (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 12).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘955 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Bachovchin et al. and Jeffrey et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra.
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,517,955 (Pat ‘955, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (supra) and Poplawski et al. (supra), as evidenced by MCE (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘955 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘955 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 31 and 34).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘955 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al., as evidenced by MCE, for the same reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, 28, and 53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,065,339 (herein Pat ‘339) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra).
Pat ‘339 claims pharmaceutical preparations comprising FAP-activated proteasome inhibitors with an oligopeptide FAPα cleavable group (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 15 and 20, Pat ‘339 claim 1). Pat ‘339 additionally claims the linker comprising Ser-(d)Ala (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 21, Pat ‘339 claim 1).
Pat ‘339 does not teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety.
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘339 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,065,339 (Pat ‘339, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Jeffrey et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘339 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘339 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the conjugate further comprising a self-immolative linker between the FAPα SRS and the drug moiety (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 12).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘339 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Bachovchin et al. and Jeffrey et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra.
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,065,339 (Pat ‘339, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (supra) and Poplawski et al. (supra), as evidenced by MCE (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘339 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘339 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 31 and 34).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘339 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al., as evidenced by MCE, for the same reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,047 (herein Pat ‘047) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra).
Pat ‘047 claims methods of treatment comprising administration of FAP-activated (i.e., “enzyme-cleavable”) proteasome inhibitors comprising a Ser-(d)Ala-Pro FAPα cleavable linker bound to a proteasome inhibitor such as the following (claims 1 and 17):
Pat ‘047 does not teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety.
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘047 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,047 (Pat ‘047, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Jeffrey et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘047 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘047 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the conjugate further comprising a self-immolative linker between the FAPα SRS and the drug moiety (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 12).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘047 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Bachovchin et al. and Jeffrey et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra.
Claims 31 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,047 (Pat ‘047, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (supra) and Poplawski et al. (supra), as evidenced by MCE (supra)
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘047 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘047 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 31-33).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘047 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al., as evidenced by MCE, for the same reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, and 53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,505 (herein Pat ‘505) in view of Müller et al. (supra).
Pat ‘505 claims pharmaceutical preparations comprising FAP-activated akt inhibitors with an oligopeptide FAPα cleavable group comprising (d)Ala-Pro (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 15, 16, 19, and 20, Pat ‘505 claim 3).
Pat ‘505 does not teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety.
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,505 (Pat ‘505, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, and 53 above, and further in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Jeffrey et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al. does not teach the conjugate further comprising a self-immolative linker between the FAPα SRS and the drug moiety (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 12).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Bachovchin et al. and Jeffrey et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,505 (Pat ‘505, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, and 53 above, and further in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al. does not teach the Ser-(d)Ala-Pro linker (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 16).
Bachovchin et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches Ser-(d)Ala-Pro FAPα cleavable linker (claim 2).
It would have been obvious to substitute the Ser-(d)Ala-Pro cleavable linker of Bachovchin et al. with the (d)Ala-Pro linker of Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al., as these are both art-recognized equivalent FAPα cleavable moieties/linkers. See Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980) (The mere fact that phthalocyanine and selenium function as equivalent photoconductors in the claimed environment was not sufficient to establish that one would have been obvious over the other. However, there was evidence that both phthalocyanine and selenium were known photoconductors in the art of electrophotography. "This, in our view, presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in an electrophotographic environment as a photoconductor." 209 USPQ at 759.)
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al., and further in view of Bachovchin et al., especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 28, 31, and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,505 (Pat ‘505, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (supra) and Poplawski et al. (supra), as evidenced by MCE (supra)
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 19, 20, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al. for the reasons discussed supra. Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al. does not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an chemotherapeutic iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 21 and 31-33).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘505 in view of Müller et al., as evidenced by Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al., as evidenced by MCE, for the same reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12, 13, 15, 21, 22, 27, 28, 30, 36, 37, 46, and 48 of copending Application No. 18/018,208 (herein App ‘208) in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
App ‘208 claims anti-HSA stefin polypeptides that are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 110 (claims 1 and 22, SEQ ID NO: 110):
App ‘208 claims the anti-HSA polypeptides that have a serum half-life in human patients that is 50% or greater than serum albumin (claim 5). App ‘208 additionally claims fusion proteins comprising the anti-HSA affimer linked to a toxin (i.e., “a therapeutic moiety”) via a linker.
App ‘208 does not claim conjugates comprising the anti-HSA affimer half-life extension moiety linked to a therapeutic moiety via a FAPα-cleavable linker (i.e., “enzyme-cleavable linker”; the limitations of instant claims 1 and 2).
Bachovchin et al. teaches FAP-activated proteasome inhibitor therapeutic conjugates comprising a Ser-(d)Ala-Pro FAPα cleavable linker bound to a proteasome inhibitor (Col. 22, supra):
Bachovchin et al. additionally teaches methods of treating cancer comprising administration of these therapeutic compounds (claims 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention claimed by App ‘208 in view of Bachovchin et al. to create a conjugate comprising the anti-HSA affimers claimed by App ‘208 fused to the proteasome inhibitor taught by Bachovchin et al. via the FAPα cleavable linker with a reasonable expectation of success, as App ‘208 claims fusions of the anti-HSA affimer to polypeptides, and one with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the FAPα cleavable peptide that be fused to the affimer. One would have been motivated to make this change to extend the serum half-life of the conjugate to reduce the number of administrations to a patient, improving compliance and quality of life.
Regarding the functional limitations of the half-life extension moiety recited in instant claims 1 and 2, App ’208 is silent on these properties. However, both the instant application and App ‘208 claim identical anti-HSA affimers that can be used as half-life extension moieties. Given that App ‘208 claims an identical affimer as the instant application, the claimed functional outcomes would naturally and necessarily flow from using the anti-HSA affimers claimed by App ‘208 to extend the serum half-life of conjugates. One with ordinary skill in the art would expect identical affimer structures to have identical functions when used as half-life extension moieties.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 6, 8 and 9 the anti-HSA affimer claimed by App ‘208 is a nonantibody molecule that binds to HSA that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 110, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Bachovchin et al. further teaches the following FAPα cleavable protease inhibitor prodrug formula A-B, wherein A is the FAPα cleavable substrate and B is the proteasome inhibitor moiety (Col. 6, lines 61-33). Bachovchin et al. additionally teaches this formula can further comprise a self-eliminating (i.e., “self-immolative”) linker such as PABC between A and B (Col. 15, lines 45-51). Müller et al. teaches the anti-HSA VNAR half-life extension moiety is fused to a conjugate via a peptide linker GGGGS (pg. 682, right column, first ¶). Fusion of the VNAR of Müller et al. to the protease inhibitor prodrug with the self-immolative linker taught by Bachovchin et al. via the FAPα cleavable linker would yield a formula of X-L2-SRS-L2-DM, wherein X is the anti-HSA VNAR half-life extension moiety, L2 is a GGGGS linker, SRS is the FAPα cleavable SRS, L2 is the self-immolative linker, and DM is the proteasome inhibitor drug moiety, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 15, 16, 19, and 20, the FAPα serine protease cleavage site taught by Bachovchin et al. is Ser-(d)Ala-Pro, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 28, Bachovchin et al. teaches that the proteasome inhibitors are acutely cytotoxic once activated (Col. 40, lines 44-46): “…pro-drug version of a bortezomib-like cytotoxic agent designed to more selectively target the proteasome in solid tumors…”, meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 53, Bachovchin et al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the therapeutic and an acceptable excipient (Col. 23, lines 1-4).
Claims 31 and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12, 13, 15, 21, 22, 27, 28, 30, 36, 37, 46, and 48 of copending Application No. 18/018,208 (App ‘208, supra) in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (supra) and Poplawski et al. (supra), as evidenced by MCE (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘208 in view of Bachovchin et al. for the reasons discussed supra. App ‘208 in view of Bachovchin et al. does not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 31-33).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘208 in view of Bachovchin et al., and further in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al., as evidenced by MCE, for the same reasons discussed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection supra. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 53 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12-15, 19-22, 25, 26, 31-33, 36, and 52 of copending Application No. 18/034,225 (herein App ‘225). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 2, App ‘225 claims conjugates comprising a drug moiety linked to a half-life extension moiety via a FAPα-cleavable linker (i.e., “an enzyme-cleavable linker”), wherein the circulating serum half-life is at least 48 hours (claim 1), or elevated by more that 2-fold relative to the drug moiety without the half-life extension moiety (claim 2). App ‘225 additionally claims acutely toxic drug moieties (claim 31).
Regarding instant claims 3, 4, 6, 8, and 9, App ‘225 claims half-life extension moieties that bind to HSA (claim 4), including nonantibody molecules such as anti-HSA affimers comprising SEQ ID NO: 110, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 110 (claims 6, 8, 9).
Regarding instant claim 12, App ‘225 claims this conjugate formula in claim 12.
Regarding instant claim 15, App ‘225 claims an oligopeptide cleavable linker (claim 15).
Regarding instant claims 16, 19, and 20, App ‘225 claims a Ser-(d)Ala-Pro FAPα enzyme cleavable linker (claims 14 and 19).
Regarding instant claims 28, 31, 34, App ‘225 claims cytotoxic drug moieties (claim 22), as well as talabostat as a drug moiety (claims 32 and 33).
Regarding claim 53, App ‘225 claims pharmaceutical compositions comprising the therapeutic conjugate and an acceptable excipient (claim 52).
App ‘225 anticipates the instantly claimed invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 22, and 53 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 65 and 74-93 of copending Application No. 17/554,823 (herein App ‘823) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bahl et al. (World J Oncol. 2017 Aug;8(4):117-121. doi: 10.14740/wjon1049w. Epub 2017 Aug 27). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
App ‘823 claims prodrug radiotherapeutics comprising a (d)Ala-Pro FAPα cleavable linker and a cytotoxic radiotheranostic chelation moiety (i.e., “a drug moiety”; claims 65, 74, and 85). App ‘823 further claims chelated radioisotope incorporated into the therapeutic including Cobalt-60 (claim 90).
App ‘823 does not teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety.
The invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘823 in view of Müller et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding the functional language of “acutely toxic” in claims 1 and 2, Bahl et al. is provided as an evidentiary reference to demonstrate that radiotherapeutics such as Cobalt-60 have acute toxicity such as radiation dermatitis, mucositis, and xerostomia, among others (Table 3, Methods) “…patients received conventional radiotherapy with 6 MV or cobalt 60…”:
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 65 and 74-93 of copending Application No. 17/554,823 (App ‘823, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bahl et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 22, and 53 above, and further in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Jeffrey et al. (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 22, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘823 in view of Müller et al. as evidenced by Bahl et al. for the reasons discussed supra. App ‘823 in view of Müller et al. as evidenced by Bahl et al. does not teach the conjugate further comprising a self-immolative linker between the FAPα SRS and the drug moiety (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 12).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘823 in view of Müller et al. as evidenced by Bahl et al., and further in view of Bachovchin et al. and Jeffrey et al. for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 31 and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 65 and 74-93 of copending Application No. 17/554,823 (App ‘823, supra) in view of Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by Bahl et al. (supra) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 22, and 53 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (supra) and Poplawski et al. (supra), as evidenced by MCE (supra).
The invention encompassed by instant claims 1-4, 6, 15, 16, 19, 20, 22, and 53 is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘823 in view of Müller et al. as evidenced by Bahl et al. for the reasons discussed supra. App ‘823 in view of Müller et al. as evidenced by Bahl et al. does not teach the therapeutic moiety as Val-boroPro, which is an iDASH inhibitor with acute toxicity (i.e., the limitations of claims 31 and 34).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘823 in view of Müller et al. as evidenced by Bahl et al., and further in view of Walsh et al. and Poplawski et al., as evidenced by MCE for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘410 supra.
Claims 1-4, 6, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 28, 31, 34, and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 13-15, 23, 24, 28, 31, 78, 79, 85, 86, 88, 89, 90, and 94-98 of copending Application No. 15/734,445 (herein App ‘445) in view of Bachovchin et al. (supra) and Müller et al. (supra), as evidenced by MCE (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
App ‘445 claims therapeutic conjugates comprising a cell-binding moiety that binds to PD-L1, a linker, a substrate recognition sequence, a second linker, and a drug moiety (claim 1). App ‘445 claims the SRS is a FAPα cleavable linker (i.e., “enzyme-cleavable linker”) comprising (d)Ala-Pro (claim 1 wherein X is O, R2 is H, R3 is a 1C alkyl, and R4 is a 3C alkyl; the limitations of instant claims 15, 16, 19, and 20). App ‘445 further claims the drug moiety can be Val-boroPro (claim 86; the limitations of instant claims 28, 31, and 34). App ‘445 claims pharmaceutical compositions comprising the conjugate and an acceptable excipient (claim 78).
Bachovchin et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches that FAPα activatable therapeutics do not need a cell binding moiety to be targeted to tumor sites (Col. 5, lines 46-54): “[t]he compounds of the present invention are designed to remain inactive in healthy organs and to be activated by the tumor-associated enzyme called fibroblast activation protein (FAP)…” Bachovchin et al. further teaches that Ser-(d)Ala-Pro is another FAP-cleavable linker (bottom of Col. 22).
Neither App ‘445 nor Bachovchin et al. teach the conjugates linked to half-life extension moiety
The teachings of Müller et al. have been discussed supra.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the conjugate claimed by App ‘445 in view of Bachovchin et al. and Müller et al. to remove the cell-binding moiety from the claimed therapeutic conjugates claimed by App ‘445 and fuse the anti-HSA VNAR of Müller et al. to the FAPα activatable protease inhibitor of App ‘445 (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 1 and 2) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Bachovchin et al. teaches that FAP-targeted therapeutics do not need an additional cell binding moiety and Müller et al. teaches a method of conjugating the anti-HSA VNAR to other peptides, and the therapeutic claimed by App ‘445 has a peptide FAPα cleavable peptide moiety that can be fused to the anti-HSA VNAR (thus, the conjugate would have the anti-HSA VNAR conjugated to the protease inhibitor via the FAPα cleavage site). One would have been motivated to make these changes to allow the drug moiety to target all FAP-expressing cancers, not just FAP and PD-L1 expressing cancer and to increase the half-life of the FAPα activatable protease inhibitor of App ‘445, which would reduce the frequency of administration and improve patient compliance and quality of life and allow the therapeutic to target more cancers.
Regarding the functional language “acutely toxic drug moiety” in instant claims 1 and 2, MCE is provided as an evidentiary reference to demonstrate that talabostat/Val-boroPro has acute oral toxicity (Section 2.1), meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, App ‘445 claims the drug conjugate comprising CBM-L1-SRS-L2-DM, wherein CBM is a PD-L1 cell binding moiety, L1 is a spacer, SRS is a substrate recognition sequence, L2 is a self-immolative linker, and DM is the drug moiety. Substitution the CBM with the half-life extension moiety taught by Müller et al. would lead to the conjugate formula of instant claim 12.
Therefore, the invention encompassed by the instant claims is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘445 in view of Bachovchin et al. and Müller et al., especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary. This is a provisional double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ALEC JON PETERS/Examiner, Art Unit 1641
/MISOOK YU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641