DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/18/2025 with respect to claims 1, 13, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkman et al (US Publication No. 20180272870) in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 20170025891).
Regarding claim 1, Burkman discloses a pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]) comprising: a source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) for providing energy to a load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]); a main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) selectively closed to provide energy from the source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) provides an alternate current path (i.e., such as a path via line 222; see para. [0022]) from the source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) and bypasses a pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) of the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]) when the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) is closed; and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]), comprising: a voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]), wherein the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) is a metal- oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (i.e., such as MOSFET 404; see para. [0040]); and a control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) configured to control a resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404; see para. [0040]) (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]); in response to at least one electrical parameter (i.e., such as the contactor module 442 may include a contactor controller 420 that is configured to operate and sequence the contactors and solid-state switches; see para. [0042]) of a plurality of capacitive elements a plurality of capacitive elements = (i.e., such as the electrical loads 218 may include capacitive elements; see para. [0025]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein a charge (i.e., such as a charge; see para. [0019]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) dictates a transition (i.e., such as the transition between operations of precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]) between a plurality of operation modes (i.e., such as the transition between operation modes and these modes are; precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]) of the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), where current only flows through the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) during a pre- charge mode (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]) of the plurality of operation modes (i.e., such as the transition between operation modes and these modes are; precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]), and where current flows through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) during an operating mode (i.e., such as a precharge mode or a charge mode or a recharge mode or a discharge mode; see para. [0019]) of the plurality of operation modes (i.e., such as the transition between operation modes and these modes are; precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]), wherein during the pre-charge mode (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]); to shape an inrush current profile (i.e., such as the purpose of the precharge operation is to limit the large initial current flow (e.g., inrush current) that can occur when switching a voltage to the capacitive loads; see para. [0025]), and wherein the control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) is further configured to, in response to detection (i.e., such as the detection via voltage sensors 416, 416; see para. [0043]) of an arc condition (i.e., such as arcing may occur as the contactors are closed; see para. [0025]) after closure of the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]), direct current through the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) and modulate (i.e., such as manage/control via the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]) the MOSFET resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) to suppress the arc (i.e., such as this prevents possible arcing in the contactor that is still operating normally and allows the vehicle to function normally; see para. [0051]).
Burkman does not explicitly disclose; the MOSFET configured to operate in a linear region to control resistance between the source and the load; and the control circuit configured to control by dynamically adjusting a gate-to-source voltage of the MOSFET; the MOSFET operates as a resistor with a variable equivalent resistance value based on an applied gate-source voltage produced by the control circuit.
Kim discloses a redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]); wherein MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212; see para. [0039]) configured to operate in a linear region (i.e., such as to operate in the linear operational region during charging; see para. [0039]) to control (i.e., via a controller 102; see para. [0056]) resistance (i.e., such as resistor R1; see para. [0049]) between the source (i.e., such as a primary and/or secondary power source 110; see para. [0056]) and the load (i.e., such as a load 114; see para. [0056]); and a control circuit (i.e., such as a controller 102; see para. [0056]) configured to control (i.e., via a controller 102; see para. [0056]) a resistance (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 202, 204; see para. [0049]) by dynamically (i.e., such as dynamically together the outputs Vu1 and Vu2 cooperative control charging and discharging of the battery; see para. [0039]) the adjusting a gate-to-source voltage (i.e., such as more specifically, the output of u1 regulates or limits the charging current by adjusting the gate-to-source voltage of the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region during charging; see para. [0039]) of the MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region; see para. [0039]); the MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region; see para. [0039]) operates as a resistor (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) with a variable equivalent resistance (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) value based on an applied gate-source voltage (i.e., such as the gate-to-source voltage; see para. [0039]) produced by the control circuit (i.e., such as a controller 102; see para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the linear-region of a MOSFET in Burkman, as taught by Kim, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficiently employing the MOSFET as a voltage-controlled resistor or an amplifier.
Regarding claim 2, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein the source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) is at least one of an alternating current (AC) source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]), a direct current (DC) source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]), a battery (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]), a generator (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]), or a grid (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) (i.e., the power supply 124 may be any source of energy as desired).
Regarding claim 3, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) is at least one of a converter (i.e., the load 218 may be a converter as desired) configured to convert alternating current (AC) to direct current (DC) or an inverter (i.e., the load 218 may be a converter as desired) configured to convert DC to AC.
Regarding claim 4, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) is a mechanical (i.e., such as open/close, couple/decouple mechanism; see para. [0024]), multi-pole switch (i.e., such as the contactors (e.g., 206 and 208) and the switches (e.g., 204 and 212) may be electromagnetic switches such as a relay; see para. [0024]) configured to selectively transition between two configurations (i.e., such as open/close, couple/decouple mechanism; see para. [0024]) including an open configuration (i.e., open/decouple) and a closed (close/couple) configuration (i.e., see for example para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein, in the open configuration (OFF), current is blocked from flowing across the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) to facilitate the pre-charge mode (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]), and wherein, in the closed (ON) configuration, current flows across the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) to facilitate the operating mode (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman further discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein the control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) is configured to control the resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]), to cause current to flow through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein the MOSFET (i.e., such as MOSFET 404; see para. [0040]) is biased to a cut-off region (i.e., the switch MOSFET 404 is OFF).
Kim furthermore discloses the redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]); wherein the MOSFET (i.e., such as the two transistors can be MOSFETs 202, 204; see para. [0026]) is biased to a cut-off region (i.e., such as for example, the two transistors can be MOSFETs 202, 204. By operating the MOSFETs 202, 204 in their various operational states (e.g., linear region, saturation region, cut-off region, etc.), the MOSFETs function to direct the flow of current as determined by the redundant power system controller 102; see para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman further discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein, in response to capacitive elements (i.e., such as the electrical loads 218 may include capacitive elements; see para. [0025]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) being charged (i.e., such as charged; see para. [0025]) to a charge threshold (i.e., such as a charge threshold; see para. [0025]) determined by a potential of the source (i.e., such as a potential of the source 124; see para. [0031]), the control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) is configured to control the resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) to cause the current to flow through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein the MOSFET (i.e., such as MOSFET 404; see para. [0040]) is biased to a cut-off region (i.e., the switch MOSFET 404 is OFF).
Kim furthermore discloses the redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]); wherein the MOSFET (i.e., such as the two transistors can be MOSFETs 202, 204; see para. [0026]) is biased to a cut-off region (i.e., such as for example, the two transistors can be MOSFETs 202, 204. By operating the MOSFETs 202, 204 in their various operational states (e.g., linear region, saturation region, cut-off region, etc.), the MOSFETs function to direct the flow of current as determined by the redundant power system controller 102; see para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); further comprising a charging branch (i.e., 406 is the charge branch; 404, 402, and 422 is the precharge branch and both branches are in parallel; see para. [0025]) in parallel with the pre-charge branch (i.e., 406 is the charge branch; 404, 402, and 422 is the precharge branch and both branches are in parallel; see para. [0025]), between the source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) and the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein the charging branch (i.e., 406 is the charge branch; 404, 402, and 422 is the precharge branch and both branches are in parallel; see para. [0025]) comprises a switch (i.e., 406 is a switch; see para. [0025]) for selectively (i.e., such as to selectively electrically couple a positive terminal 222; see para. [0033]) establishing a current flow path (i.e., such as a current flow path; see para. [0009]) between the source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) and the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); further comprising a redundancy switch (i.e., the return contactor 408; see para. [0039]) between the source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) and the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), the redundancy switch (i.e., the return contactor 408; see para. [0039]) configured to open (i.e., such as to open; see para. [0045]) in response to a detected failure (i.e., such as a detected failure, detecting a welded contactor; see para. [0045]) of the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 19, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman further discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); a method (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]) of using a pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), the method (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]) comprising: initiating operations (i.e., such as the transition between operation modes and these modes are; precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]) of the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), wherein a charge (i.e., such as a charge; see para. [0019]) of a load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) dictates a transition (i.e., such as the transition between operations of precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]) between operation modes (i.e., such as the transition between operation modes and these modes are; precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]) of the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), where current flows (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through a main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) during a pre-charge mode (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]), where current flows (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through a pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) during an operating mode (i.e., such as a precharge mode or a charge mode or a recharge mode or a discharge mode; see para. [0019]); determining the charge (i.e., such as determining the charge; see para. [0031]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]); determining (i.e., such as determining; see para. [0031]), from a plurality of operation modes (i.e., such as the transition between operation modes and these modes are; precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]), an operation mode (i.e., such as a precharge mode or a charge mode or a recharge mode or a discharge mode; see para. [0019]) in which to operate the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), based on the charge (i.e., such as based on the charge; see para. [0025]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein, in response to determining (i.e., such as determining; see para. [0031]) that pre-charge conditions (i.e., such as the pre-charge conditions; see para. [0025]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) are not met (i.e., such not as have not been charged; see para. [0025]) such that pre-charge (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]) is to be performed (i.e., such as to be performed; see para. [0025]), the operation mode (i.e., such as a precharge mode or a charge mode or a recharge mode or a discharge mode; see para. [0019]) comprises the pre-charge mode (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]) in which current flows (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]), by applying a voltage (i.e., such as to provide a gate drive signal; see para. [0042]) to a gate (i.e., such as to provide a gate drive signal; see para. [0042]) of a voltage- controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) via the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), the voltage (i.e., such as to provide a gate drive signal; see para. [0042]) applied to the gate the voltage (i.e., such as to provide a gate drive signal; see para. [0042]) causing current (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) to only flow (i.e., such as current to flow; see para. [0024]) through the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) of the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]) along a bypass path (i.e., such as a bypass path via 402; see para. [0039]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), instead of through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) is a metal-oxide- semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (i.e., such as MOSFET 404; see para. [0040]); and, during the pre-charge mode (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]); a control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) to shape an inrush current profile (i.e., such as the purpose of the precharge operation is to limit the large initial current flow (e.g., inrush current) that can occur when switching a voltage to the capacitive loads; see para. [0025]); in response to at least one electrical parameter (i.e., such as the contactor module 442 may include a contactor controller 420 that is configured to operate and sequence the contactors and solid-state switches; see para. [0042]) of a plurality of capacitive elements (i.e., such as the electrical loads 218 may include capacitive elements; see para. [0025]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), and in response to detection (i.e., such as the detection via voltage sensors 416, 416; see para. [0043]) of an arc condition (i.e., such as arcing may occur as the contactors are closed; see para. [0025]) after closure of the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]), direct current (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) and modulate (i.e., such as manage/control via the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]) the MOSFET resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) to suppress the arc (i.e., such as this prevents possible arcing in the contactor that is still operating normally and allows the vehicle to function normally; see para. [0051]), and wherein, in response to determining that the pre-charge conditions (i.e., such as a precharge conditions; see para. [0025]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) are met (i.e., such as have been charged; see para. [0025]), the operation mode (i.e., such as a precharge mode or a charge mode or a recharge mode or a discharge mode; see para. [0019]) comprises the operating mode (i.e., such as a precharge mode or a charge mode or a recharge mode or a discharge mode; see para. [0019]) in which current flows (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), by removing the voltage (i.e., such as to provide a gate drive signal; see para. [0042]) from the gate (i.e., such as to provide a gate drive signal; see para. [0042]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) to cause current to flow (i.e., such as current to flow; see para. [0024]) through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]).
Kim furthermore discloses the redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]); wherein MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212; see para. [0039]) configured to operate in a linear region (i.e., such as to operate in the linear operational region during charging; see para. [0039]) to control (i.e., via a controller 102; see para. [0056]) resistance (i.e., such as resistor R1; see para. [0049]) between the source (i.e., such as a primary and/or secondary power source 110; see para. [0056]) and the load (i.e., such as a load 114; see para. [0056]); and a control circuit (i.e., such as a controller 102; see para. [0056]) configured to control (i.e., via a controller 102; see para. [0056]) a resistance (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 202, 204; see para. [0049]) by dynamically (i.e., such as dynamically together the outputs Vu1 and Vu2 cooperative control charging and discharging of the battery; see para. [0039]) the adjusting a gate-to-source voltage (i.e., such as more specifically, the output of u1 regulates or limits the charging current by adjusting the gate-to-source voltage of the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region during charging; see para. [0039]) of the MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region; see para. [0039]); the MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region; see para. [0039]) operates as a resistor (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) with a variable equivalent resistance (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) value based on an applied gate-source voltage (i.e., such as the gate-to-source voltage; see para. [0039]) produced by the control circuit (i.e., such as a controller 102; see para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 20, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); the method (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]) of using a pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), further comprising: detecting (i.e., such as the detection via voltage sensors 416, 416; see para. [0043]), following current flowing (i.e., such as current flowing; see para. [0025]) through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), an arc (i.e., such as arcing may occur as the contactors are closed; see para. [0025]); in response to detecting the arc (i.e., such as arcing may occur as the contactors are closed; see para. [0025]), re-applying the voltage (i.e., such as to provide a gate drive signal; see para. [0042]) to the gate (i.e., such as to provide a gate drive signal; see para. [0042]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) via the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]) to cause current to flow (i.e., such as current to flow; see para. [0024]) through the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) along the bypass path (i.e., such as the bypass path via 402; see para. [0039]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkman et al (US Publication No. 20180272870) in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 20170025891) and further in view of Kolbas et al (US Patent No. 6201678).
Regarding claims 11-12, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]).
Kim furthermore discloses the redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]).
Neither Burkman nor Kim explicitly discloses further comprising a fuse arranged in parallel with the pre-charge branch, the fuse configuring to de-couple the source from the pre-charge circuit in response to an over-current condition nor the fuse is at least one of a contactor, a breaker, or a relay.
Kolbas discloses a switch gear protection circuit for use in electric vehicles provides parallel circuit pathways for selectively coupling a power source to a capacitive load (i.e., see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 2 lines 8+), wherein a fuse (38) arranged in parallel with the pre-charge branch (44), the fuse configuring to de-couple the source (22) from the pre-charge circuit (30) in response to an over current condition (i.e., such as Under some fault conditions requiring an emergency power off sequence, relatively high currents may be present. The circuit breaker element 38 is provided to protect the secondary switch element 46 and the switch element 34 from unusually high currents; see Col. 3 lines 7+) and the fuse (38) is at least one of a contactor (38), a breaker (38), or a relay (38) (i.e., such as the circuit breaker element 38 is provided to protect the secondary switch element 46 and the switch element 34 from unusually high currents. Once the fuse element 38 is cleared, the circuit is opened and the desired disconnect operation is completed. Obviously, the circuit breaker element 38 will need to be reset or replaced for a subsequent charging operation. Accordingly, it will be possible to detect when the circuit breaker element 38 has cleared because a later precharge operation will not be possible; see Col. 3, lines 8+).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the fuse device in Burkman, as taught by Kolbas, as it provides the advantage of mitigating short circuits, overloading, and mismatched loads.
Claims 13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkman et al (US Publication No. 20180272870) in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 20170025891) and further in view of Hashimoto et al (US Publication No. 20130313915).
Regarding claims 13, Burkman in view of Kim and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Burkman further discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]) comprising: a source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) for providing energy to a load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]); a main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) selectively closed (i.e., such as selectively closed; see para. [0025]) to provide energy from the source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) provides an alternate current path (i.e., such as an alternate current path via line 222; see para. [0040]) from the source (i.e., such as a battery pack or traction battery 124; see para. [0017]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) and bypasses (i.e., such as bypasses; see para. [0025]) a pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) of the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]) when the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) is closed; and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) of the pre-charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), comprising: a voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]), wherein the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) is a metal-oxide- semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (i.e., such as MOSFET 404; see para. [0040]); and a control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) configured to control a resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]); in response to at least one electrical parameter (i.e., such as the contactor module 442 may include a contactor controller 420 that is configured to operate and sequence the contactors and solid-state switches; see para. [0042]) of a plurality of capacitive elements (i.e., such as the electrical loads 218 may include capacitive elements; see para. [0025]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein a charge (i.e., such as a charge; see para. [0019]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) dictates a transition (i.e., such as the transition between operations of precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]) between operation modes (i.e., such as the transition between operation modes and these modes are; precharge, charge, recharge, and discharge; see para. [0019]) of the pre- charge circuit (i.e., such as the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]), where current only flows (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through the pre-charge branch during a pre-charge mode, where current flows through the main contactor and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) during an operating mode (i.e., such as a precharge mode or a charge mode or a recharge mode or a discharge mode; see para. [0019]), wherein during the pre-charge mode (i.e., such as a precharge operation; see para. [0025]), to shape an inrush current profile (i.e., such as the purpose of the precharge operation is to limit the large initial current flow (e.g., inrush current) that can occur when switching a voltage to the capacitive loads; see para. [0025]), and wherein the control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) is further configured to, in response to detection (i.e., such as the detection via voltage sensors 416, 416; see para. [0043]) of an arc condition (i.e., such as arcing may occur as the contactors are closed; see para. [0025]) after closure of the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]), direct current (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) and modulate (i.e., such as manage/control via the contactor module 442; see para. [0039]) the MOSFET resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) to suppress the arc (i.e., such as this prevents possible arcing in the contactor that is still operating normally and allows the vehicle to function normally; see para. [0051]).
Kim furthermore discloses the redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]); wherein MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212; see para. [0039]) configured to operate in a linear region (i.e., such as to operate in the linear operational region during charging; see para. [0039]) to control (i.e., via a controller 102; see para. [0056]) resistance (i.e., such as resistor R1; see para. [0049]) between the source (i.e., such as a primary and/or secondary power source 110; see para. [0056]) and the load (i.e., such as a load 114; see para. [0056]); and a control circuit (i.e., such as a controller 102; see para. [0056]) configured to control (i.e., via a controller 102; see para. [0056]) a resistance (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 202, 204; see para. [0049]) by dynamically (i.e., such as dynamically together the outputs Vu1 and Vu2 cooperative control charging and discharging of the battery; see para. [0039]) the adjusting a gate-to-source voltage (i.e., such as more specifically, the output of u1 regulates or limits the charging current by adjusting the gate-to-source voltage of the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region during charging; see para. [0039]) of the MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region; see para. [0039]); the MOSFET (i.e., such as the MOSFETs 206 and 212 to operate in the linear operational region; see para. [0039]) operates as a resistor (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) with a variable equivalent resistance (i.e., such as determined by the on-resistance R.sub.M2 of the MOSFET 204; see para. [0047]) value based on an applied gate-source voltage (i.e., such as the gate-to-source voltage; see para. [0039]) produced by the control circuit (i.e., such as a controller 102; see para. [0056]).
Neither Burkman nor Kim explicitly discloses a pre-charge device comprising: a housing; an pre-charge circuit at least partially disposed in the housing.
Hashimoto a relay unit (i.e., see for example fig. 2, para. [0043]- [0044]); wherein a pre-charge device (i.e., a relay unit 1; see para. [0043]) comprising: a housing (i.e., a housing that includes a case 10 and a cover 70; see para. [0043]); a pre-charge circuit (i.e., a precharge relay 30 that is of a first relay, a second relay 40, and a third relay 50 are assembled in a housing that includes a case 10 and a cover 70, and these electronic components are electrically connected to one another through a wiring board 60; see para. [0043]) at least partially disposed in the housing (i.e., a housing that includes a case 10 and a cover 70; see para. [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the housing assembly in Burkman, as taught by Hashimoto, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards safety, protection, and reliable operation.
Regarding claims 17, Burkman in view of Kim and further in view of Hashimoto and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Burkman as modified by Hashimoto have been discussed above as well.
Burkman further discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein the control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) is configured to control the resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) of the voltage-controlled resistor (i.e., such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]), to cause current to flow (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein the MOSFET (i.e., such as MOSFET 404; see para. [0040]) is biased to a cut-off region (i.e., such as the switch MOSFET 404 is OFF; see para. [0040]).
Kim furthermore discloses the redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]); wherein the MOSFET (i.e., such as the two transistors can be MOSFETs 202, 204; see para. [0026]) is biased to a cut-off region (i.e., such as for example, the two transistors can be MOSFETs 202, 204. By operating the MOSFETs 202, 204 in their various operational states (e.g., linear region, saturation region, cut-off region, etc.), the MOSFETs function to direct the flow of current as determined by the redundant power system controller 102; see para. [0026]).
Regarding claims 18, Burkman in view of Kim and further in view of Hashimoto and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Burkman as modified by Hashimoto have been discussed above as well.
Burkman further discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]); wherein, in response to capacitive elements (i.e., such as the electrical loads 218 may include capacitive elements; see para. [0025]) of the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]) being charged (i.e., such as charged; see para. [0025]), the control circuit (i.e., such as a contactor controller 420; see para. [0042]) is configured to control the resistance (i.e., the resistance of the transistor 404 itself; such as MOSFET 404 acts as a variable resistor switch via the resistance of the N-channel region itself; see para. [0041]) to cause the current to flow (i.e., such as current flows; see para. [0024]) through the main contactor (i.e., such as a main contactor 406; see para. [0039]) and the pre-charge branch (i.e., such as MOSFET 404, resistor 402, diode 422; see para. [0040]) to the load (i.e., such as an electrical load 218; see para. [0025]), wherein the MOSFET (i.e., such as MOSFET 404; see para. [0040]) is biased to the cut-off region (i.e., such as the switch MOSFET 404 is OFF; see para. [0040]).
Kim furthermore discloses the redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]); wherein the MOSFET (i.e., such as the two transistors can be MOSFETs 202, 204; see para. [0026]) is biased to a cut-off region (i.e., such as for example, the two transistors can be MOSFETs 202, 204. By operating the MOSFETs 202, 204 in their various operational states (e.g., linear region, saturation region, cut-off region, etc.), the MOSFETs function to direct the flow of current as determined by the redundant power system controller 102; see para. [0026]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkman et al (US Publication No. 20180272870) in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 20170025891) and in view of Hashimoto et al (US Publication No. 20130313915) and further in view of Ozaki et al (US Patent No. 9646791).
Regarding claims 14-16, Burkman in view of Kim and further in view of Hashimoto and the teachings of Burkman as modified by Kim have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Burkman as modified by Hashimoto have been discussed above as well.
Burkman discloses the pre-charge circuit (i.e., 400; see for example fig. 4, para. [0039]- [0051]).
Kim further discloses the redundant residential power sources (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0048]).
Hashimoto furthermore discloses the relay unit (i.e., see for example fig. 2, para. [0043]- [0044]).
Neither Burkman nor Kim nor Hashimoto explicitly discloses wherein the housing is a single housing nor the housing is at least one of a four pin relay or a five-pin relay nor the voltage-controlled resistor is configured to receive power from the pin of the four-pin relay or the five-pin relay.
Ozaki teaches a circuit breaker device is provided with a main contactor part that can switch between connection and disconnection of a battery and a circuit, and a circuit breaker (10a) that can disconnect the battery (i.e., see for example fig. 4, Col. 7 lines 8+), wherein the housing (10a) is a single housing (10a) configured to house at least the control circuit (20), the voltage- controlled resistor (18b), and the main contactor (19a), and the housing (10a) is at least one of a four pin relay (i.e., 41ap, 41an, 41bp, 41bn) and feeding the voltage-controlled resistor (18b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Burkman with that of Ozaki by including a relay to accommodate multiple ports as known in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838