DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 6 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi et al. (‘Fabrication and performances of all solid-state symmetric sodium battery based on NASICON-related compounds’, Electrochimica Acta, 101, 1 July 2013, pp. 59–65; hereinafter “Noguchi”), in view of Yoshioka (WO 2020/054544 A1, listed in the IDS filed 27 April 2023; using US PGPub 2021/0203007 for the English translation and citations).
Regarding claim 1, Noguchi teaches a solid-state cell (NVP/NASICON/NVP all solid-state symmetric cell, see p. 59) having an electrolyte which comprises NaSICON (see p. 59-60) having a first electrode arranged at a first region of the electrolyte (NVP electrode arranged at one side of the NaSICON solid electrolyte; see p. 59-60) and having a second electrode arranged at a second region of the electrolyte (NVP electrode arranged at other side of the NaSICON solid electrolyte; see p. 59-60).
Noguchi is silent to wherein a continuous material layer is arranged at a third region of the electrolyte on an outer surface of the electrolyte, or in that a chemical composition of the outer surface is changed in the third region of the electrolyte.
Yoshioka teaches a solid-state cell (solid-state battery 200A, see Fig. 1A; [0033]) having an electrolyte (solid electrolyte layer 3, see Fig. 1A; [0034]) which comprises NaSICON structure (see [0061]), having a first electrode arranged at a first region of the electrolyte (positive electrode layer 1, see Fig. 1A; [0034]) and having a second electrode arranged at a second region of the electrolyte (negative electrode layer 2, see Fig. 1A; [0034]), wherein a continuous material layer is arranged at a third region of the electrolyte on an outer surface of the electrolyte (protective layer 5, see Fig. 1A; [0034]), or in that a chemical composition of the outer surface is changed in the third region of the electrolyte. Yoshioka teaches that this protective layer 5 is formed on an outer surface of the battery element 100 and is for electrically, physically, and chemically protecting the battery element 100 (see [0065]).
In view of Yoshioka’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cell of Noguchi to include wherein a continuous material layer is arranged at a third region of the electrolyte on an outer surface of the electrolyte, as taught by Yoshioka, because it is used to electrically, physically, and chemically protect the battery.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, their limitations do not limit the case wherein a continuous material layer is arranged at a third region of the electrolyte on an outer surface of the electrolyte, as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Noguchi and Yoshioka teaches wherein the first electrode and/or the second electrode comprises metallic sodium (Noguchi: both electrodes which are NVP, which is Na-3V2(PO4)3, comprises metallic sodium, see p. 59-60).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Noguchi and Yoshioka teaches wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are configured in the same manner (Noguchi: both the first electrode and the second electrode are NVP, see p. 59-60).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Noguchi and Yoshioka teaches wherein the continuous material layer is a polymer layer (Yoshioka: see [0066] and [0069]).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 5 February 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735