DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 17, 21, 25, and 30 have been appropriately amended to correct various minor informalities. The objections to claims 1, 17, 21, 25, and 30 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks made in an amendment filed 2025-12-23 (“Remarks”) have been fully considered. In view of the amended claims and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendments is made in view of the previous applied references as presented in this Office Action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims are therefore moot.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
In claim 21, line 1: “An apparatus for registering…”
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Such structure is described in the Specification:
¶0018, “an apparatus for registering one or more real target devices, the apparatus comprising at least one controller having circuitry…”;
¶0029, “apparatuses (e.g., controllers)”; and
¶0031, “an apparatus comprises at least one controller that is programmed to direct a mechanism used to implement (e.g., effectuate) any of the method disclosed herein, which at least one controller is configured to operatively couple to the mechanism”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-15, 17, 21, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0325047 to Conner et al. (“Conner”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0198938 to Steele et al. (“Steele”).
As to claim 1, Conner discloses a method comprising: identifying a location information of a real target device (Fig. 3 and ¶0041, step 302) at least in part by using a mobile device (Fig. 1 and ¶0016, the maintenance assistance system 100 is implemented in a portable computing device) to select a virtual target device…and/or using geographic information locating the real target device (Fig. 3 and ¶0041, step 302).
Conner does not disclose: to select a virtual target device in a virtual representation of an enclosure in which the real target device is disposed, wherein the virtual target device is a virtual representation of the real target device, wherein the real target device is included in one or more real target devices disposed in the enclosure; using an identification capture device to capture an identification code of the real target device, wherein the identification code is attached to the real target device; registering the real target device at least in part by linking the identification code, the location information, and the virtual representation of the enclosure; commissioning the real target device, the commissioning comprising associating the identification code of the real target device with a network address.
However, Steele discloses: to select a virtual target device in a virtual representation of an enclosure in which the real target device is disposed, wherein the virtual target device is a virtual representation of the real target device, wherein the real target device is included in one or more real target devices disposed in the enclosure (Figs. 4-9 and ¶0080, step 420); using an identification capture device to capture an identification code of the real target device, wherein the identification code is attached to the real target device (Figs. 4, 10; ¶0083, step 430; see also ¶0077); registering the real target device at least in part by linking the identification code, the location information, and the virtual representation of the enclosure (Figs. 4, 10; ¶0083, step 430; see also ¶0077); and commissioning the real target device, the commissioning comprising associating the identification code of the real target device with a network address (Figs. 1 and 4, step 440; ¶¶0037-0039, ¶¶0084-0087, and ¶0121; the installed components are configured for communication via the network, including associating installed components to be controlled by other devices/components in the network. Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this communication via the network necessarily includes associating the identification code of the real target device with a network address).
Conner and Steele are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: (i) electric systems controlled by a computer; (ii) program-control systems: using digital processors, computer-assisted repair and maintenance of system components, helmet- or head-mounted display, and/or barcode(s); used for picking up, measuring, testing, and/or placing articles or objects; and/or for domestic, home control, automation, and/or smart house applications; and/or (iii) input arrangements and/or combined input-output arrangements for interaction between user and computer based on graphical user interfaces. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Conner to incorporate the teachings of Steele to include: to select a virtual target device in a virtual representation of an enclosure in which the real target device is disposed, wherein the virtual target device is a virtual representation of the real target device, wherein the real target device is included in one or more real target devices disposed in the enclosure; using an identification capture device to capture an identification code of the real target device, wherein the identification code is attached to the real target device; registering the real target device at least in part by linking the identification code, the location information, and the virtual representation of the enclosure; commissioning the real target device, the commissioning comprising associating the identification code of the real target device with a network address. Doing so would "enable efficient and flexible setup and configuration of a building automation system to be installed and deployed during construction of the building" (Steele, ¶0004).
As to claim 3, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the virtual representation of the enclosure is displayed on the mobile device, and the virtual representation includes virtual representations of at least some of the one or more real target devices (Steele, Figs. 4-9 and ¶0080, step 420).
As to claim 8, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising updating the virtual representation of the enclosure according to the registering of the target device (Steele, Figs. 4, 14-16, and ¶0095).
As to claim 9, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the virtual representation of the enclosure is derived from and/or comprises an architectural model of the enclosure (Steele, Figs. 4-9 and ¶0076-79).
As to claim 10, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising updating the architectural model according to registration of the real target device (Steele, Figs. 4, 14-16, and ¶0095-96).
As to claim 11, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising determining a status of the real target device at least in part by utilizing the virtual representation of the enclosure, the virtual representation of the real target device, and associated information obtained through utilizing the capture device (Steele, Figs. 14, 21; ¶0077, ¶0094, and ¶0111).
As to claim 12, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising (a) initiating servicing of the real target device when the status determined indicates a servicing need (Steele, ¶0117), and (b) updating the status determined upon completion of the servicing (Conner, Fig. 3 and ¶0044).
As to claim 13, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the geographic information is an absolute information (Conner, Figs. 1-4, ¶0041, step 302, ¶0024, and ¶0038).
As to claim 14, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the absolute information is derived at least in part from a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver or from a ultrawide band (UWB) receiver (Conner, Figs. 1-4, ¶0041, step 302, ¶0024, and ¶0038).
As to claim 15, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the geographic information is a relative location in the virtual representation of the enclosure (Conner, Figs. 1-4, ¶0041, step 302, ¶0024, and ¶0038).
As to claim 17, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising using the identification code to populate (a) the virtual representation of the enclosure and/or (b) at least one associated database of the virtual representation of the enclosure, with: a virtual representation of the real target device and/or associated information of the real target device (Steele, Figs. 4, 9-10; ¶0083, "If the user changes the [prepopulated serial number] 57 to another code, the device may change the symbol to match the device type corresponding to the new code entered by the user").
As to claim 21, Conner discloses an apparatus for registering one or more real target devices (Fig. 1 and ¶0016, maintenance assistance system 100), the apparatus comprising at least one controller having circuitry (Fig. 1 and ¶0016-19, processor architecture 102), wherein the at least one controller is configured to: operatively couple to an identification capture device (Figs. 1-2, ¶0017, and ¶0023-24, visual field analysis module 108; and ¶0038-39, the camera 206 recognizes the macrolocation indicators 212 and microlocation indicators 214); receive, or direct receipt of, location information of a real target device at least in part by…geographic information locating the real target device (Fig. 3 and ¶0041, step 302).
Conner does not disclose: …operatively couple to a virtual representation of an enclosure in which the one or more real target devices are disposed; receive, or direct receipt of, location information of a real target device at least in part by selection of a virtual target device in the virtual representation of the enclosure in which the real target device is disposed, wherein the virtual target device is a virtual representation of the real target device, wherein the real target device is included in the one or more real target devices; receive, or direct receipt of, identification information of the real target device from the identification capture device configured to capture an identification code of the real target device, wherein the identification code is attached to the real target device; or register, or direct registration of, the real target device at least in part by linking, or direct linkage of, the identification code, the location information, and the virtual representation of the enclosure; commission the real target device, the commissioning comprising associating the identification code of the real target device with a network address.
However, Steele discloses: …operatively couple to a virtual representation of an enclosure in which the one or more real target devices are disposed (Figs. 7-9; see also ¶0077); receive, or direct receipt of, location information of a real target device at least in part by selection of a virtual target device in the virtual representation of the enclosure in which the real target device is disposed, wherein the virtual target device is a virtual representation of the real target device, wherein the real target device is included in the one or more real target devices (Figs. 4-9 and ¶0080, step 420); receive, or direct receipt of, identification information of the real target device from the identification capture device configured to capture an identification code of the real target device, wherein the identification code is attached to the real target device (Figs. 4, 10; ¶0083, step 430; see also ¶0077); register, or direct registration of, the real target device at least in part by linking, or direct linkage of, the identification code, the location information, and the virtual representation of the enclosure (Figs. 4, 10; ¶0083, step 430; see also ¶0077); commission the real target device, the commissioning comprising associating the identification code of the real target device with a network address (Figs. 1 and 4, step 440; ¶¶0037-0039, ¶¶0084-0087, and ¶0121; the installed components are configured for communication via the network, including associating installed components to be controlled by other devices/components in the network. Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this communication via the network necessarily includes associating the identification code of the real target device with a network address).
Conner and Steele are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: (i) electric systems controlled by a computer; (ii) program-control systems: using digital processors, computer-assisted repair and maintenance of system components, helmet- or head-mounted display, and/or barcode(s); used for picking up, measuring, testing, and/or placing articles or objects; and/or for domestic, home control, automation, and/or smart house applications; and/or (iii) input arrangements and/or combined input-output arrangements for interaction between user and computer based on graphical user interfaces. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Conner to incorporate the teachings of Steele to include: operatively couple to a virtual representation of an enclosure in which the one or more real target devices are disposed; receive, or direct receipt of, location information of a real target device at least in part by selection of a virtual target device in the virtual representation of the enclosure in which the real target device is disposed, wherein the virtual target device is a virtual representation of the real target device, wherein the real target device is included in the one or more real target devices; receive, or direct receipt of, identification information of the real target device from the identification capture device configured to capture an identification code of the real target device, wherein the identification code is attached to the real target device; or register, or direct registration of, the real target device at least in part by linking, or direct linkage of, the identification code, the location information, and the virtual representation of the enclosure; commission the real target device, the commissioning comprising associating the identification code of the real target device with a network address. Doing so would "enable efficient and flexible setup and configuration of a building automation system to be installed and deployed during construction of the building" (Steele, ¶0004).
As to claim 24, Conner in view of Steele discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to update, or direct update of, the virtual representation of the enclosure according to the registering of the real target device (Steele, Figs. 4, 10; and ¶0083, step 430; see also ¶0077).
As to claim 25, Conner in view of Steele discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein: the identification capture device is mobile (Conner, Fig. 1 and ¶0016, the maintenance assistance system 100 is implemented in a portable computing device), and the at least one controller is configured to direct the identification capture device to capture the identification code optically and/or electronically (Steele, Figs. 4, 10; and ¶0083, step 430), wherein the controller is operatively coupled to the identification capture device (Conner, Figs. 1-2 and ¶17, visual field analysis module 108).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner in view of Steele, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,842,429 to Tsai et al. (“Tsai”).
As to claim 4, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 3.
Conner in view of Steele does not disclose: further comprising navigating within the virtual representation of the enclosure according to movement of the mobile device in the enclosure.
However, Tsai discloses: further comprising navigating within the virtual representation of the enclosure according to movement of the mobile device in the enclosure (Figs. 3A-B and Col. 10: lines 4-21).
Conner, Steele, and Tsai are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: (i) electric systems controlled by a computer; (ii) program-control systems: using digital processors, computer-assisted repair and maintenance of system components, helmet- or head-mounted display, and/or barcode(s); used for picking up, measuring, testing, and/or placing articles or objects; and/or for domestic, home control, automation, and/or smart house applications; and/or (iii) input arrangements and/or combined input-output arrangements for interaction between user and computer based on graphical user interfaces. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Conner in view of Steele to incorporate the teachings of Tsai to include: further comprising navigating within the virtual representation of the enclosure according to movement of the mobile device in the enclosure. Doing so would allow for "for navigating three-dimensional environments and viewing three-dimensional objects on an electronic device display based on deterministic movement of the electronic device" (Tsai, Col. 2: lines 11-14), which is advantageous because "requiring a user to provide particular inputs using an input mechanism, however, may not be particularly intuitive and may be burdensome for the user" (Tsai, Col. 4: lines 3-5).
As to claim 5, Conner in view of Steele and further in view of Tsai discloses the method of claim 4, wherein: the mobile device is transported by a traveler within the enclosure (Conner, Figs. 1-2, mobile computing device 202 is carried by the worker), and a zoomed view in the virtual representation is presented on a display of the mobile device in real time to depict a virtual representation of the real target device based at least in part on a present location of the traveler (Tsai, Figs. 6A-H and Col. 11: lines 50-67).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner in view of Steele and Tsai, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0191448 to High et al. (“High”).
As to claim 7, Conner in view of Steele and Tsai discloses the method of claim 5.
Conner in view of Steele and Tsai does not disclose: wherein the traveler is a robot having image recognition capabilities.
However, High discloses: wherein the traveler is a robot having image recognition capabilities (Figs. 1-2B, ¶0043, and ¶0053).
Conner, Steele, Tsai, and High are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: (i) electric systems controlled by a computer; (ii) program-control systems: using digital processors, computer-assisted repair and maintenance of system components, helmet- or head-mounted display, and/or barcode(s); used for picking up, measuring, testing, and/or placing articles or objects; and/or for domestic, home control, automation, and/or smart house applications; and/or (iii) input arrangements and/or combined input-output arrangements for interaction between user and computer based on graphical user interfaces. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Conner in view of Steele and Tsai to incorporate the teachings of High to include: wherein the traveler is a robot having image recognition capabilities. Doing so would allow for "motorized transport units to travel through… [a] facility while limiting congestion, in reduced time, while limiting potential conflicts and/or contact with customer, and other such advantage by providing alternate travel routes that are typically not available to at least customers" (High, ¶0180).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner in view of Steele, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0229488 to Averitt.
As to claim 18, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 1.
Conner in view of Steele does not disclose: transmitting the captured identification code to at least one database for storing and/or operatively coupled to the virtual representation of the enclosure.
However, Averitt discloses: transmitting the captured identification code to at least one database for storing and/or operatively coupled to the virtual representation of the enclosure (Figs. 1-3 and ¶0018).
Conner, Steele, and Averitt are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: (i) electric systems controlled by a computer; (ii) program-control systems: using digital processors, computer-assisted repair and maintenance of system components, helmet- or head-mounted display, and/or barcode(s); used for picking up, measuring, testing, and/or placing articles or objects; and/or for domestic, home control, automation, and/or smart house applications; and/or (iii) input arrangements and/or combined input-output arrangements for interaction between user and computer based on graphical user interfaces. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Conner in view of Steele to incorporate the teachings of Averitt to include: transmitting the captured identification code to at least one database for storing and/or operatively coupled to the virtual representation of the enclosure. Doing so would "[enable] an installer to record device data and device location within a building for installed wireless smart devices. Thus, a facilities manager has a map of the locations of the devices for adjusting the operation of the lighting system and other systems from a remote location" (Averitt, ¶0030).
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner in view of Steele, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0103584 to Vats.
As to claim 30, Conner in view of Steele discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a digital twin of a real facility at least in part by using a virtual architectural model of the real facility (Steele, Figs. 4-9 and ¶0076-79); populating at least one device of the real facility in the digital twin at a virtual location that corresponds to its real location in the real facility (Steele, Figs. 8-9 and ¶0080-83), wherein the at least one device is controllable (Steele, Figs. 8-9 and ¶0080-83; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the components/devices (i.e., components of automation system 100 in Fig. 1, e.g. desk lamp, breaker box, generator, lighting, etc.) are controllable).
Conner in view of Steele does not disclose: simulating, or directing simulation of, an effect of at least one environmental attribute on the real facility.
However, Vats discloses: simulating, or directing simulation of, an effect of at least one environmental attribute on the real facility (Figs 5A-C, ¶0075, and ¶0114).
Conner, Steele, and Vats are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: (i) electric systems controlled by a computer; (ii) program-control systems: using digital processors, computer-assisted repair and maintenance of system components, helmet- or head-mounted display, and/or barcode(s); used for picking up, measuring, testing, and/or placing articles or objects; and/or for domestic, home control, automation, and/or smart house applications; and/or (iii) input arrangements and/or combined input-output arrangements for interaction between user and computer based on graphical user interfaces. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Conner in view of Steele to incorporate the teachings of Vats to include: simulating, or directing simulation of, an effect of at least one environmental attribute on the real facility. Doing so would "provide an easy to use solution for carrying out real-time customization of objects using a realistic 3D model of the real object" (Vats, ¶0004), which would be advantageous because "there exists a difficulty for users to know about variations or customization options available with a manufacturer for a particular version of real object such as a model of car and a lot of time and effort is required to gain such information. Further, even if users become aware of customization possibilities for a product, it becomes challenging to visualize and know, how the customization will look like, before making any buying decision or before modifying an existing product" (Vats, ¶0002).
As to claim 31, Conner in view of Steel and further in view of Vats discloses the method of Claim 30, wherein the environmental attribute comprises lighting, radiation, temperature, gas velocity, gas flow, gas content, gas concentration, gas pressure, sound, volatile organic compounds, or particulate matter (Vats, Figs 5A-C, ¶0075, and ¶0114).
References Cited
Averitt, Scott M. (2015). System and method for commissioning wireless building system devices (US 2015/0229488 A1). Filed 2014-02-13.
Conner, Kevin J. et al. (2015). Apparatus and method for providing augmented reality for maintenance applications (US 2015/0325047 A1). Filed 2014-05-06.
High, Donald R. et al. (2024). Systems, devices and methods for determining item availability in a shopping space (US 2024/0191448 A1). Filed 2024-02-15.
Steele, Scott A. et al. (2015). Systems, devices, methods and graphical user interface for configuring a building automation system (US 2015/0198938 A1). Filed 2014-01-15.
Tsai, Richard et al. (2017). Generating a three-dimensional model using a portable electronic device recording (US 9,842,429 B2). Filed 2014-01-06.
Vats, Nitin (2017). Real-time customization of a 3d model representing a real product (US 2017/0103584 A1). Filed 2015-03-16.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Ashdown, Ian et al. (2017). System and method for real time dynamic lighting simulation (US 20170345208 A1). Filed 2017-08-02.
Billi, Sharon M. et al. (2016). Layered map presentation for industrial data (US 20160292895 A1). Filed 2015-03-31.
Bear, Eric Justin Gould et al. (2020). Head-mounted display for navigating virtual and augmented reality (US 20200197825 A1). Filed 2020-02-18.
Brandsma, Ewout et al. (2013). Localization method, computer program product and localization device (US 20130141223 A1). Filed 2012-12-03.
Clements, Sigmund Lindsay (2021). Phone map used to find and operate multiuser devices (US 10924603 B1). Filed 2019-01-02.
Clements, Sigmund Lindsay (2022). Map on a phone used to find and operate public multi-user devices (US 11537352 B1). Filed 2021-02-15.
Croteau, Keith G. et al. (2020). Interactive image display and selection system (US 20200012677 A1). Filed 2019-09-17.
Emerson, David R. (2015). Mini-automation controller (US 20150268649 A1). Filed 2015-03-11.
Funes, Lucas Marcelo (2019). Systems and methods for smart spaces (US 20190079476 A1). Filed 2018-11-13.
Hong, Kichu et al. (2017). Control device and control method for flying bot (US 20170329325 A1). Filed 2014-11-14.
High, Donald R. et al. (2021). Shopping facility assistance systems, devices and methods (US 11046562 B2). Filed 2019-03-21.
High, Donald R. et al. (2024). Shopping facility assistance systems, devices and methods (US 12084824 B2). Filed 2023-05-08.
Reiss, Wanda (2011). Device commissioning and replacement (US 20110307589 A1). Filed 2010-06-11.
Tinnakornsrisuphap, Peerapol et al. (2015). Sensor based configuration and control of network devices (US 20150327304 A1). Filed 2015-07-23.
Tiwari, Ankit et al. (2018). Floor plan coverage based auto pairing and parameter setting (US 20180120793 A1). Filed 2016-03-23.
Xing, Zhou Tian et al. (2017). Wearable augmented reality eyeglass communication device including mobile phone and mobile computing via virtual touch screen gesture control and neuron command (US 20170103440 A1). Filed 2016-12-26.
Yoon, Seokhyun (2015). Apparatus and method for controlling internet of things devices (US 20150347114 A1). Filed 2015-05-28.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL H. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649