DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/034,332 filed on 04/27/2023 in which claims 1-27 have been presented for examination.
Response to Preliminary Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of preliminary amendment filed on 04/27/2023 in which claims 4,9,12,14,19,22 are currently amended while claims 5,10-11,15,23,26 and 27 have been canceled. By this amendment, claims 1-4,6-9,12-14,16-22,24 and 25 are pending in the application for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/27/2023,09/13/2023, 12/22/2023, 06/14/2024,10/02/2024,12/19/2024,05/19/2025,08/19/2025 and 11/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner and placed of record. Initialed copies are attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,6-8,17,19-20,24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110673667 A to Li et al.,(Machine Translation)(also cited by applicants) in view of Huang et al., (Huang) US 2017/0334300 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 19: Li at least discloses and shows in Fig. 1: An electric vehicle charging control method(an intelligent temperature control method and device for a vehicle charging connection device)(as per claim 19), comprising: periodically obtaining a working temperature(see prongs 1) ,2) and 3) on page 1 ); maintaining a charging power output to an electric vehicle at a first charging power(note- a) If T1 <Ta <T2, the charging current value continues to be I; see prong a), page 3) and triggering a first prompt signal(construed as reducing the charging current if it is detected that the temperature of the charging connection device is greater than the upper limit of the working temperature range; see prong 1), page 1 ) when the working temperature is greater than or equal to a first temperature threshold and less than a second temperature threshold(note that the working temperature range comprises a lower limit temperature threshold and an upper limit temperature threshold. The optimal working temperature range is set to (T1~T2). If Ta continues to decrease and stabilize, T1 <Ta <T2, the charging current is maintained at (1-b%) * I see page 3 ).
Li does not expressly teach the limitations of:
and reducing the charging power output to the electric vehicle from the first charging power to a second charging power, when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the second temperature threshold and less than a third temperature threshold.
However, Huang teaches and shows in Figs. 6 and 8, factual evidence of, reducing the charging power output to the electric vehicle from the first charging power(see step 1130 and 1150 of Fig. 6; first charging power being the charging current in Temperature range T≤142)) to a second charging power(see Fig. 8 and charging current for temperature 142<T<146), when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the second temperature threshold(146) and less than a third temperature threshold(148)(see Fig. 8)(see [0043]-[0046]).
Li and Huang are electric vehicle charging systems analogous art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Li with the second current versus temperature profile of Huang as disclosed in Fig. 8, in reducing the charging power output to the electric vehicle from the first charging power to a second charging power, when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the second temperature threshold and less than a third temperature threshold, as recited, in order to ensure that the charging current is adjusted gradually in response to the temperature increase, in order to find a changing current level that may continue to charge vehicle while keeping the temperature below the hazardous level, as per the teachings of Huang ([0043]).
Accordingly claims 1 and 19 would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Li in view of Huang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1 and 19 respectively. Li discloses, further comprising: stopping charging the electric vehicle when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the third temperature threshold(note- prong 3) continue to detect the temperature of the charging connection device, and repeat steps 1) and 2). If the ratio of the reduced charging current to the initial charging current is less than a set threshold, charging is stopped; see page 2, lines 36-37. Also because the steps are repeated, the working temperature can be as well set to the third temperature threshold).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Li in view of Huang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 1 and 19 respectively. Li in view of Huang teaches, wherein maintaining the charging power output to an electric vehicle from the first charging power and triggering the first prompt signal, when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than the second temperature threshold. However, Li fails to expressly disclose the limitations of, further comprises: prompting a user of a state of the current working temperature through the first prompt signal by means of at least one selected from the group of sound, light, and vibration.
Huang teaches factual evidence of, further comprises: prompting a user of a state of the current working temperature through the first prompt signal by means of at least one selected from the group of sound, light, and vibration(Huang; [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with Li to have, wherein maintaining the charging power output to an electric vehicle from the first charging power and triggering the first prompt signal, when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than the second temperature threshold further comprises: prompting a user of a state of the current working temperature through the first prompt signal by means of at least one selected from the group of sound, light, and vibration, as recited, so as to provide safety measure and protection to both the user and the vehicle battery system.
Accordingly claim 6 would have been obvious
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Huang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Huang further teaches, wherein after reducing the charging power output to the electric vehicle from the first charging power(charging current at temperature 142 or less) to the second charging power(charging current between 142 and 146), when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the second temperature threshold(146) and less than the third temperature threshold(148), the method further comprises: further reducing the charging power output to the electric vehicle from the second charging power to a third charging power(charging current between 146 and 148) when the working temperature is in an ascending trend(note that temperatures are in an increasing order/trend from 142-> 146-> 148-> 144)(see Fig. 8)(see Huang [0043]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Huang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Huang further teaches, wherein after reducing the charging power output to the electric vehicle from the first charging power to the second charging power, when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the second temperature threshold and less than the third temperature threshold, the method further comprises: stopping charging the electric vehicle when the working temperature is in an ascending trend(see Huang, [0043]). Furthermore, stopping the charging to the electric vehicle would ensure: if the temperature of plug adapter 110 exceeds second threshold temperature 144, processor 113 may turn the charging current off. The use of intermediate temperature thresholds ensures that the charging current is adjusted gradually in response to the temperature increase, in order to find a changing current level that may continue to charge vehicle 116 while keeping the temperature below the hazardous level, as per the teachings of Huang[0043].
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Huang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Li further discloses, wherein maintaining the charging power output to the electric vehicle at the first charging power and triggering the first prompt signal, when the working temperature is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than the second temperature threshold(for T1<Ta<T2), is replaced by: reducing the charging power output(reduced by (1-b%)*I)(see Li; page 3, lines 34-38) to the electric vehicle from the first charging power(I) when the working temperature is greater than or equal to a first temperature threshold(T1) and less than a second temperature threshold(T2) (The optimal working temperature range is set to (T1~T2). If Ta continues to decrease and stabilize, T1 <Ta <T2, the charging current is maintained at (1-b%) * I, see page 3 ).
Regarding claim 25, Li in view of Huang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 19. Huang discloses, further comprising a communication unit(via infrared, Bluetooth®, wireless network, radio, or a near-field communication system; see [0025],[0035]-[0036]) configured to transmit first prompt information prompting a user that a current charging element temperature is high to an intelligent terminal of the user(to a portable device, user email account, or other user-associated electronic device)(see [0036]).
Claims 3-4 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110673667 A to Li et al.,(Machine Translation)(also cited by applicants) in view of Huang et al., (Huang) US 2017/0334300 A1 and in further view of Nishikawa et al., (Nishikawa) USPAT 9,515,498.
Regarding claim 3 and 21, Li in view of Huang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1 The combination of Li and Huang fails to expressly disclose the limitations of, wherein periodically obtaining the working temperature further comprises: obtaining a working temperature of a power connector according to specified time.
Nishikawa discloses and shows in Figs. 1,6A-6B and 8A,8B factual evidences of, wherein periodically obtaining the working temperature further comprises: obtaining a working temperature of a power connector(10) according to specified time(TM1, TM2,…TMn)(period of electric conduction TMi, i=1 to n) the control unit 20a then divides the difference by the detection period of the detected temperature to determine a differential value for the detected temperature and stores the difference in a memory (not shown in the drawings)(see Nishikawa; col. 7, lines 4-26). Nishikawa further discloses, a temperature detection unit 14a and
Li ,Huang and Nishikawa are electric vehicle charging systems analogous art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before to combine Nishikawa with the charging system of Li in view of Huang by having, wherein periodically obtaining the working temperature further comprises: obtaining a working temperature of a power connector according to specified time, as recited, in order to avoid the recovery of the electric conduction and thereby preventing damage to the power plug, as per the teachings of Nishikawa (col. 7, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 4 and 22, Li in view of Huang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 1 and 19 respectively. The combination of Li and Huang fails to expressly disclose the limitations of:
wherein periodically obtaining the working temperature further comprises: setting a time interval for obtaining the working temperature according to a change trend of the working temperature or to a climate condition; the temperature detection unit is configured to collect the working temperature according to the time interval for obtaining the working temperature set by the charging control unit.
However, Nishikawa discloses factual evidence of, wherein periodically obtaining the working temperature further comprises: setting a time interval for obtaining the working temperature according to a change trend(temperature gradient dT, which is a change in temperature with respect to a change of time) of the working temperature or to a climate condition; the temperature detection unit is configured to collect the working temperature according to the time interval for obtaining the working temperature set by the charging control unit(20a)(Note- the control unit 20a calculates the temperature gradient during a period of electric conduction TM1. Each time the temperature detection unit 14a transmits a detected temperature to the control unit 20a during the period of electric conduction TM1, the control unit 20a determines the difference between the currently transmitted detected temperature and the lastly transmitted detected temperature. The control unit 20a then divides the difference by the detection period of the detected temperature to determine a differential value for the detected temperature and stores the difference in a memory (not shown in the drawings). When the period of electric conduction TM1 ends, the control unit 20a temporarily ends the process of calculating the differential value for the detected temperature, see col. 7, lines 4-33).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before to combine Nishikawa with the charging system of Li in view of Huang by having, wherein, the charging control unit is configured to set a time interval for obtaining the working temperature according to a change trend of the working temperature or to a climate condition; the temperature detection unit is configured to collect the working temperature according to the time interval for obtaining the working temperature set by the charging control unit, as recited, in order to for the control unit to keep the switching circuit in the OFF state to avoid the recovery of the electric conduction to the battery, as per the teachings of Nishikawa(col. 7, lines 26-33).
Accordingly claims 4 and 22 would have been obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9,12-14,16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 February 12, 2026