DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 18/034,335 Wang (US 20240336157 ) (reference application although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are covered by the reference claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application:18/034,341
Application 18/034,335 and USPGPUB 20240336157
Claim 1:
An electric vehicle charging control apparatus, comprising: a power connector temperature detection unit provided in a power connector and configured to obtain a working temperature of an interior of the power connector; and
a charging control unit connected to the power connector temperature detection unit, and configured to control a charging power output to the electric vehicle according to the working temperature of an interior of the power connector obtained by the power connector temperature detection unit.
Claim 19:
An electric vehicle charging control apparatus, comprising: a power connector temperature detection unit provided in a power connector and configured to obtain a first working temperature of an interior of the power connector and a second working temperature of an interior of a charging control box during charging the electric vehicle with a charging power equal to the first charging power; and
a charging control unit configured to:
reduce the charging power output to the electric vehicle from the first charging power to a second charging power, when the first working temperature is greater than or equal to a first temperature threshold and less than a second temperature threshold, and the second working temperature is greater than or equal to a fourth temperature threshold and less than a fifth temperature threshold, and charge the electric vehicle with the charging power lower than or equal to the first charging power, when the first working temperature decreases to be less than or equal to the first temperature threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6 and 10 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 20180208067).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches an electric vehicle charging control apparatus (figure 1 item 10 and paragraph [0002] shows an electric vehicle charging control apparatus), comprising:
a power connector temperature detection unit provided in a power connector and configured to obtain a working temperature of an interior of the power connector (figure 1 shows a power connector item 130 with a temperature detection unit, interpreted as a temperature sensor 115. [0045] discloses wherein a working temperature is determined as determining the temperature of the power plug in real time); and
a charging control unit connected to the power connector temperature detection unit (shown in figure 1 item 120 a control box connected to a power connector temperature detection unit 115, via the power connector item 130), and
configured to control a charging power output to the electric vehicle according to the working temperature of an interior of the power connector obtained by the power connector temperature detection unit (paragraphs [0025] – [0032] teaches wherein the charging current is controlled based on temperature detection value obtained within the power connector).
Zhou figure 1 shows a vehicle charging system with a control system that includes a temperature sensor
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a prompting unit configured to prompt a user of a state of a current working temperature by means of sound (paragraph [0065] teaches wherein an alarm is used to prompt the user of the temperature status of the power connector).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the prompting unit is further configured to prompt the user of the state of the current working temperature by means of sound, light, or vibration (paragraph [0065] teaches wherein an alarm or a notification on a display is used to prompt the user of the temperature status of the power connector).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a communication unit configured to transmit prompt information which prompts a user of a state of a current working temperature to an intelligent terminal of the user (paragraph [0065] teaches wherein an alarm or a notification on a display is used to prompt the user of the temperature status of the power connector).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the power connector temperature detection unit is provided near a live wire terminal and/or mounted near a neutral wire terminal in the power connector (figure 2 item 115 a temperature sensor is disposed on the base of the power plug 110 wherein wires are mounted near. [0046] discloses wherein the temperature sensor is mounted at the end of the signal wire).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the power connector temperature detection unit is provided on a live wire terminal and/or mounted on a neutral wire terminal in the power connector (figure 2 item 115 a temperature sensor is disposed on the base of the power plug 110 wherein wires are mounted near. [0046] discloses wherein the temperature sensor is mounted at the end of the signal wire).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a PCB temperature detection unit configured to detect a working temperature of the interior of the charging control box figure 1 shows a power connector item 130 with a temperature detection unit, interpreted as a temperature sensor 115. [0045] discloses wherein a working temperature is determined as determining the temperature of the power plug in real time);
the charging control unit is connected to the PCB temperature detection unit and the power connector temperature detection unit (shown in figure 1 item 120 a control box connected to a power connector temperature detection unit 115, via the power connector item 130), and
configured to control the charging power output to the electric vehicle according to the working temperature of the interior of the charging control box obtained by the PCB temperature detection unit and the working temperature of the power connector obtained by the power connector temperature detection unit ((paragraphs [0025] – [0032] teaches wherein the charging current is controlled based on temperature detection value obtained within the power connector. Paragraph [0074] teaches wherein PCB interpreted as an integrated circuit on hardware may be used to implement the temperature detection unit and charging control).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a communication unit configured to transmit prompt information which prompts a user of a state of a current working temperature to an intelligent terminal of the user (paragraph [0065] teaches wherein an alarm is used to prompt the user of the temperature status of the power connector)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20180208067) in view of Jung (US 20160059719).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of the power connector temperature detection units are disposed on the live wire terminal and/or the neutral wire terminal in the power connector, connected in series or parallel to collect a working temperature of the live wire terminal and/or the neutral wire terminal in the power connector, and transmit the working temperature to the charging control unit through signal transmission lines and ground wires.
Jung teaches a plurality of the power connector temperature detection units are disposed on the live wire terminal and/or the neutral wire terminal in the power connector, connected in series or parallel to collect a working temperature of the live wire terminal and/or the neutral wire terminal in the power connector, and transmit the working temperature to the charging control unit through signal transmission lines and ground wires (shown in figure 5 a plurality of temperature detection units, temperature sensors item 145a-145b are disposed on the live wire and the neutral wires 146a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhou reference with the charging system of the Jung reference so that an damage by overvoltage is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jung reference in paragraph [0010] wherein overvoltage is prevented.
Figure 5 shows charging cable with a plurality of temperature sensors item 145a-b
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of the power connector temperature detection units are disposed on the live wire terminal and/or the neutral wire terminal in the power connector, connected in series or parallel to collect a working temperature of the live wire terminal and/or the neutral wire terminal in the power connector, and transmit the working temperature to the charging control unit through one transmission line and one ground wire.
Jung teaches wherein a plurality of the power connector temperature detection units are disposed on the live wire terminal and/or the neutral wire terminal in the power connector, connected in series or parallel to collect a working temperature of the live wire terminal and/or the neutral wire terminal in the power connector, and transmit the working temperature to the charging control unit through one transmission line and one ground wire (shown in figure 5 a plurality of temperature detection units, temperature sensors item 145a-145b are disposed on the live wire and the neutral wires 146a-c. Figure 5 shows wherein the temperature sensor are connected in series to collect the temperature of a live wires and neutral wire items 146a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhou reference with the charging system of the Jung reference so that an damage by overvoltage is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jung reference in paragraph [0010] wherein overvoltage is prevented.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20180208067) in view of Jung (US 20160059719) as applied to claim 6 and in further view of Neumann (US 20200350098).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou and Jung teach the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein a ground wire and a working temperature signal transmission line connected between the power connector temperature detection unit and the charging control unit (Jung teaches in paragraph [0053] a ground whiter and signal transmission lines 146a-c), but the combined system does not explicitly teach wherein the wires are shielded wires.
Neumann teaches wherein the wires are shielded wires (defined in paragraph [0005] wherein wires used within the system are shielded wires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhou and Jung reference with the charging system of the Neumann reference so that wire may be protected.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Neumann reference in paragraph [0005] wherein wire includes a protective layer.
Claims 11 -12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20180208067) in view of Akai (US 20130335024)
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein the PCB temperature detection unit is mounted near a relay in the charging control box and/or near a connection terminal of a connector.
Akai teaches wherein the PCB temperature detection unit is mounted near a relay in the charging control box and/or near a connection terminal of a connector (paragraph [0039] discloses wherein the charging device includes a switching circuit with relays for controlling electric current. Figure 7 and 8 and paragraph [0067] shows wherein a temperature sensor is included with the relay circuit within the charging device item 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhou reference with the charging system of the Akai reference so that abnormal heat generation due to an incomplete connection or arc tracking is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Akai reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the abnormal heat generation is prevented.
Figure 7 shows a controller 20 which includes a switching circuit (not shown) and temperature sensor (20b) within the controller
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein the PCB temperature detection unit is mounted on a relay in the charging control box and/or on a connection terminal of a connector.
Akai teaches wherein the PCB temperature detection unit is mounted on a relay in the charging control box and/or on a connection terminal of a connector (paragraph [0039] discloses wherein the charging device includes a switching circuit with relays for controlling electric current. Figure 7 and 8 and paragraph [0067] shows wherein a temperature sensor is included with the relay circuit within the charging device item 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhou reference with the charging system of the Akai reference so that abnormal heat generation due to an incomplete connection or arc tracking is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Akai reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the abnormal heat generation is prevented.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20180208067) in view of Brown (US 20120206100).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a filter connected to the power connector temperature detection unit and configured to remove an interference signal in the working temperature collected by the power connector temperature detection unit.
Brown teaches further comprising a filter connected to the power connector temperature detection unit and configured to remove an interference signal in the working temperature collected by the power connector temperature detection unit (paragraph [0130] teaches wherein the controller includes a filter which processes signals. Paragraph [0177] discloses wherein a temperature sensor is included within the controller, thus the temperature sensor is connected with a filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhou reference with the charging system of the Brown reference so leakage current is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Brown reference in paragraph [0140] wherein the leakage current is reduced.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 10906417 B2 Cord Reel Variable Current Thermal Management And Damage Detection Alford; John Et Al.
Us 20180345800 A1 Dynamic Communication Of Actual Charging Capacity Beer; Michael
Us 10552923 B2 Electric Vehicle Charging Control System Cun; David
Us 20240329155 A1 Charging Cable Finsinger; Michael
Us 10576832 B2 Electrical Connecting Device And Charging Cable For An Electric Vehicle Fuchs; Thomas Et Al.
Us 8278882 B2 Charging Monitor Gotou; Kiyoshi Et Al.
Us 20120249066 A1 Charging Apparatus Ichikawa; Shinji
Us 20110204849 A1 Charging Cable, Charging Cable Unit, And Charging System For Electric Vehicle Mukai; Tatsuya Et Al.
Us 20150028809 A1 Charging Cable Nishikawa; Masanori Et Al.
Us 20170166073 A1 Vehicle And Charging Control Park; Hyun Soo
Us 20150171646 A1 Temperature Monitoring Charger Cord Assembly And Charging Method Pham; Thanh D. Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859