DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) regarding the omitted limitation and 103 rejections; therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The instant specification recites “according to the preamble of claim 1” on page 1, “features of claim 1” on page 3, and “subject matter of the dependent claims” on page 3. Reference to the claims is objected as the claims can change throughout prosecution.
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Page 2 recites embedded hyperlinks
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
claim 9 and 16 recite “the mold elements are slidably dividable in a direction parallel to the filament ends”; “mold parts/mold elements … dividable in extension direction of the respective filament” is recited in first ¶ of pg. 5, second ¶ of pg. 8, of instant specification, second ¶ after “Detailed Description” of pg. 10, and first ¶ of pg. 19, but the term “slidably” is not present.
Claim Interpretation
“a securing means” in claim 6
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Regarding the limitation “securing means” in claim 6, the claim provides the generic placeholder “means” and the recited function “securing” and “can be inserted” but the function does not provide structure to the “means.” For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted from the instant specification in page 12, line 4 as “a filament piece can serve as the securing means”.
Further Claim Interpretation
Regarding the limitation “the filament negative mold is formed for heating by direct contact with a flame”, the limitation will be interpreted in line with FIG. 3a-3b which depicts the flame under the mold and in the instant specification on page 3 which recites “in contrast to the previous prior art, direct contact of the flame with the filament ends does not occur therein, but the filament negative mold is rather correspondingly heated, within which the filament ends are received”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3 – “and with a filament negative mold” should read “with a filament negative mold” for conciseness.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the at least two mold elements each have a filament negative mold” in line 2-3. It is unclear if “filament negative mold” in claim 8 is reciting to “filament negative mold” in claim 1, or is reciting to additional, separate structure from the “filament negative mold” in claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as reciting to the limitation in claim 1 and will be read as “the at least two mold elements each have the filament negative mold”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a first mold element” and “a second mold element” in line 2 and 3-4, respectively. It is unclear if “first mold element” and “second mold element” are further defining structure of “mold” recited in claim 1, or are reciting to additional structure. For examination purposes, the limitations “first mold element” and “second mold element” of claim 11 are interpreted as reciting to “at least two mold elements” of claim 1 and read as “first mold element of the at least two mold elements” and “second mold element of the at least two mold elements”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 15-16, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Li (CN 105946238 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a filament connector (¶ [0001] – a welding machine for connecting filaments) for connecting respective ends of filaments (¶ [0015] – filaments 130, 131) for the additive manufacture of a three-dimensional object in a fused filament fabrication (¶ [0001] – used in a 3D printer),
with at least two mold elements (¶ [0013-0014] – an upper block 102 and lower block 101) capable of being assembled (¶ [0052] – the blocks are combined) and with a filament negative mold (¶ [0013-0014] – each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104) in which the respective ends of the filaments melted in a melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013-0014] – a heat source for melting; ¶ [0015] – heat transfer member 120; 120 is installed near 103, 104) can be connected to each other (¶ [0013-0014] – two filaments can be placed to connect the filaments) by solidification of the melt of the respective ends of the filaments (¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament),
wherein the filament negative mold forms the melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013] –102 and 101 each having 103, 104; ¶ [0015] – heat transferred by 120 is installed near 103, 104), within which the respective ends of the filaments can be melted by heat input (¶ [0013-0014] – a heat source for melting) and can be connected to each other by solidification of the respective melted filament ends (¶ [0036] – heat is transferred to both ends of 130, 131; ¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament)
wherein the filament negative mold is formed for heating (¶ [0059] - the heat is transferred to the upper or lower block, and melts both ends of the filaments to be connected) with a flame (¶ [0059] – heat source 140 such as a gas lighter, torch, etc.).
The limitation “for heating by direct contact with a flame” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses that a heat source such as a gas lighter, torch, etc., and the contact portion of heat transfer member comes into contact with the heat source are heated, the heat is transferred to the upper or lower block, and melts both ends of the filaments to be connected (¶ [0059]), the heat transfer member, upper block, and lower block are capable of performing the intended use of “for heating by direct contact with a flame.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the heat transfer member, upper block, and lower block in Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
In arguendo that the limitation recites a narrower limitation than interpreted (i.e., the limitation is not intended use) and that Han does not teach the recited limitation, Li is applied.
Analogous art Li discloses an FDM 3D printer consumable connection device (¶ [0002]). A first sliding groove with a semi-circular cross-section is provided on a first fixing part, a second sliding groove is provided on first heat insulation block, a third sliding groove with a semi-circular cross-section is provided on the second fixing part, and a fourth sliding groove is provided on second heat insulation block (¶ [0010-0011]). First and third grooves are combined to form a first channel, the second and fourth slide grooves are combined to form a second channel, and the first and second notches are combined to form a working area (¶ [0012]). Two 3D printer filaments connected into the first and second channels, with the two ends abutting against the working area (¶ [0022]).
Li further discloses wherein the filament negative mold is formed for heating by direct contact with a flame (¶ [0023] – heat the ends of the two 3D printer filaments in the working area until they melt using an open flame).
Han and Li disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to filament connection for additive manufacturing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the positioning of an open flame in the working area under the filament in Li to the heat source, heat transfer member, and blocks in Han to conveniently and quickly connect two 3D printer consumables (¶ [0026]). Furthermore, it has been held that the rearrangement of parts and the particular placement of a contact to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Regarding claim 2, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the filament negative mold is formed of metal material (¶ [0017] – the heat transfer member is made of aluminum or copper; Fig. 1 and 4 depict heat transfer member and is a part of the “negative mold” comprising of upper and lower block).
Regarding claim 3, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the filament negative mold is formed of a plurality of mold parts (¶ [0014] – 102 and 101 each having storage/receiving groove) that are partial shells dividable in an extension direction of the filaments (Fig. 1 and 4 depicts 102 having 104 and 101 having 103 are “partial shells” and are divided along in an extension direction of 130, 131).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Han does not disclose the plurality of mold parts are partial shells dividable by moving the shells in an extension direction of the filaments.
Li further discloses the plurality of mold parts are partial shells dividable by moving the shells in an extension direction of the filaments (FIG. 1 depicts the fixing parts are dividable in direction parallel to filament and are “dividable by moving” the fixing part “in an extension direction” when assembled)
Li FIG. 1
Han and Li disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the assembly fixing parts and insulation blocks in Li to the welding machine comprising the upper and lower blocks in Han to form a first channel, a second channel, and a working area (¶ [0012]), connect and secure all components in sequence (¶ [0021]), and separate the fixing parts to remove the two connected 3D printer consumables (¶ [0025]).
The limitation “dividable by moving the shells in an extension direction of the filaments” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As modified Han discloses that the connection device is dividable as depicted in Li FIG. 1, the fixing parts are capable of performing the intended use of “dividable by moving the shells in an extension direction of the filaments.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the fixing parts in modified Li are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the mold elements 102, 101 of the filament connector comprise respective fixing openings arranged at least in partial overlap to each other with at least two mold elements 102, 101, when assembled, into which a securing means can be inserted (Fig. 1 and 4 depict openings on the upper block 102 and lower block 101 where the fixing openings of the upper block overlap with the fixing openings of the lower block and a depicted securing means fixes the upper and lower block when closed).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Li also discloses first screw passing through the positioning hole and first fixing hole and second screw passing through the adjustment hole and the second fixing hole (¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 6.
Han discloses the mold elements 102, 101 of the filament connector comprise respective fixing openings arranged at least in partial overlap to each other with assembled mold elements 102, 101, into which a securing means can be inserted.
Although Han and Li do not explicitly disclose the respective centers of the fixing openings cooperating with each other in the upper and lower block (corresponding mold elements) have an offset, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would understand that the upper and lower blocks would shift in the event the filaments expand or shift due to unintended operation or function, such as a clog or plug formed by the filament in the filament receiving groove due to overheating or underheating or unintended solidification. Therefore, modified Han teaches the fixing openings of the upper and lower blocks would offset to each other.
The limitation “respective centers of the fixing openings cooperating with each other in the corresponding mold elements have an offset to each other” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As modified Han discloses that upper and lower blocks comprise fixing openings (Han Fig. 1 and 4) or positioning holes and fixing holes (Li ¶ [0040]), the fixing openings/holes are capable of performing the intended use of “respective centers of the fixing openings … have an offset to each other.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the fixing openings/positioning grooves in Han and modified Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the at least two mold elements each have a filament negative mold (¶ [0014] – 102 and 101 each having storage/receiving groove) that is integrally formed with the respective mold element (¶ [0052] – the shape of the storage/receiving groove when the blocks are combined face each other; Figs 1, 2, and 4 depict the 102 and 101 “integrally formed” with the respective storage/receiving grooves).
Regarding claim 9, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses wherein the mold elements are dividable in a direction parallel to filament ends placed in the filament negative mold (Fig. 1 and 4 depicts 102 having 104 and 101 having 103 are divided along in direction of 130, 131).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least two mold elements are slidably dividable by sliding against one another in a direction parallel to the filament ends placed in the filament negative mold.
Li further discloses disclose wherein the at least two mold elements are slidably dividable by sliding against one another in a direction parallel to the filament ends (FIG. 1 depicts the fixing parts are dividable in direction parallel to filament and are “slidably dividable by sliding against one another” when assembled)
Li FIG. 1
Han and Li disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the assembly fixing parts and insulation blocks in Li to the welding machine comprising the upper and lower blocks in Han to form a first channel, a second channel, and a working area (¶ [0012]), connect and secure all components in sequence (¶ [0021]), and separate the fixing parts to remove the two connected 3D printer consumables (¶ [0025]).
The limitation “slidably dividable” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses that the blocks are divided parallel to the receiving groove as depicted in Fig. 1 and 4 and are closed to weld the filament (¶ [0059]), the upper block and lower block are capable of performing the intended use of “slidably dividable” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the upper block and lower block in Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han does not disclose the filament negative mold is formed as an insert part exchangeable in the filament connector.
Li further discloses the filament negative mold is formed as an insert part exchangeable in the filament connector (¶ [0010] – first heat insulation block is provided in the first slot of the first fixing part and a second heat insulation block is provided in the second slot of the second fixing part).
Han and Li disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the heat insulation blocks in slots of the fixing parts in Li to the welding machine comprising the upper and lower blocks in Han to prevent the ends of the filament from cooling down too quickly during the welding process, which would prevent a good welding effect (¶ [0035]).
The limitation “exchangeable in the filament connector” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As modified Han discloses that insulation blocks are provided in the slots of the fixing parts (Li ¶ [0010]), the insulation blocks are capable of performing the intended use of “exchangeable in the filament connector.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the insulation blocks in modified Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses wherein the at least two mold elements comprise two mold halves (102, 101), and wherein basic shapes of the two mold halves are formed identical in shape (Fig. 1-4 depict the basic shape of 102 and 101 are rectangular and are identical in shape).
Regarding claim 16, Han discloses a filament connector (¶ [0001] – a welding machine for connecting filaments) for connecting respective ends of filaments (¶ [0015] – filaments 130, 131) for the additive manufacture of a three-dimensional object in a fused filament fabrication (¶ [0001] – used in a 3D printer),
with at least two mold elements (¶ [0013-0014] – an upper block 102 and lower block 101) capable of being assembled (¶ [0052] – the blocks are combined face each other) and with a filament negative mold (¶ [0013-0014] – each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104) in which the respective ends of the filaments melted in a melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013-0014] – 103, 104 in which two filaments can be placed to connect the filaments) can be connected to each other (¶ [0013-0014] – a heat source for melting; ¶ [0015] – heat transfer member 120; 120 is installed near the receiving groove 103, 104) by solidification of the respective melted ends of the filaments (¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament),
wherein the filament negative mold forms the melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013] –102 and 101 each having 103, 104; ¶ [0015] – heat transferred by 120 is installed near 103, 104), within which the respective ends of the filaments can be melted by heat input (¶ [0013-0014] – a heat source for melting) and can be connected to each other by solidification of the respective melted filament ends (¶ [0036] – heat is transferred to both ends of 130, 131; ¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament).
Han discloses wherein the mold elements are dividable in a direction parallel to filament ends placed in the filament negative mold (Fig. 1 and 4 depicts 102 having 104 and 101 having 103 are divided along in direction of 130, 131).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Han discloses blocks 101, 102 are mounted on the frame 110, 111 and filament to be welded is placed in the receiving groove 103, 104, after which the frame is closed (¶ [0059]).
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the mold elements are slidably dividable.
Li further discloses the mold elements are slidably dividable in a direction parallel to filament ends placed in the filament negative mold (FIG. 1 depicts the fixing parts are dividable in direction parallel to filament and are “slidably dividable” when assembled)
Li FIG. 1
Han and Li disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the assembly fixing parts and insulation blocks in Li to the welding machine comprising the upper and lower blocks in Han to form a first channel, a second channel, and a working area (¶ [0012]), connect and secure all components in sequence (¶ [0021]), and separate the fixing parts to remove the two connected 3D printer consumables (¶ [0025]).
The limitation “slidably dividable” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses that the blocks are divided parallel to the receiving groove as depicted in Fig. 1 and 4 and are closed to weld the filament (¶ [0059]), the upper block and lower block are capable of performing the intended use of “slidably dividable” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the upper block and lower block in Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Han discloses a filament connector (¶ [0001] – a welding machine for connecting filaments) for connecting respective ends of filaments (¶ [0015] – filaments 130, 131) for the additive manufacture of a three-dimensional object in a fused filament fabrication (¶ [0001] – used in a 3D printer),
with at least two mold elements (¶ [0013-0014] – an upper block 102 and lower block 101) capable of being assembled (¶ [0052] – the blocks are combined face each other)
a plurality of negative molds (¶ [0013-0014] – each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104) to receive filament ends having different diameters (¶ [0013-0014] – 103, 104 in which two filaments can be placed to connect the filaments; recites intended use, see below)
wherein the filament negative mold forms the melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013] –102 and 101 each having 103, 104; ¶ [0015] – heat transferred by 120 is installed near 103, 104), within which the respective ends of the filaments can be melted by heat input (¶ [0013-0014] – a heat source for melting) and can be connected to each other by solidification of the respective melted filament ends (¶ [0036] – heat is transferred to both ends of 130, 131; ¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament).
The limitation “to receive filament ends having different diameters” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104 (¶ [0013-0014]), the storage/receiving grooves are capable of performing the intended use of “to receive filament ends having different diameters.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the fixing openings/positioning grooves in Han and modified Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Han does not disclose the filament negative molds formed as insert parts that each may be inserted into and removed from a respective one of the mold elements.
Analogous art Li discloses an FDM 3D printer consumable connection device (¶ [0002]). A first sliding groove with a semi-circular cross-section is provided on a first fixing part, a second sliding groove is provided on first heat insulation block, a third sliding groove with a semi-circular cross-section is provided on the second fixing part, and a fourth sliding groove is provided on second heat insulation block (¶ [0010-0011]). First and third grooves are combined to form a first channel, the second and fourth slide grooves are combined to form a second channel, and the first and second notches are combined to form a working area (¶ [0012]). Two 3D printer filaments connected into the first and second channels, with the two ends abutting against the working area (¶ [0022]).
Li further discloses the filament negative molds formed as insert parts that each may be inserted into and removed from a respective one of the mold elements (¶ [0010] – first heat insulation block is provided in the first slot of the first fixing part and a second heat insulation block is provided in the second slot of the second fixing part).
Han and Li disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the heat insulation blocks in slots of the fixing parts in Li to the welding machine comprising the upper and lower blocks in Han to prevent the ends of the filament from cooling down too quickly during the welding process, which would prevent a good welding effect (¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Han discloses the filament connector of claim 20.
Modified Han further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of negative molds (¶ [0014] – 102 and 101 each having storage/receiving groove) comprise partial shells dividable in an extension direction of the respective filament ends when the respective filament ends are placed in the negative mold (Fig. 1 and 4 depicts 102 having 104 and 101 having 103 are “partial shells” and are divided along in an extension direction of 130, 131).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the mold elements are dividable by sliding against one another.
Li further discloses the mold elements are dividable by sliding against one another in an extension direction of the respective filament ends (FIG. 1 depicts the fixing parts are dividable in direction parallel to filament and are “dividable by sliding against one another” when assembled)
Li FIG. 1
Han and Li disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the assembly fixing parts and insulation blocks in Li to the welding machine comprising the upper and lower blocks in Han to form a first channel, a second channel, and a working area (¶ [0012]), connect and secure all components in sequence (¶ [0021]), and separate the fixing parts to remove the two connected 3D printer consumables (¶ [0025]).
The limitation “dividable by sliding against one another” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses that the blocks are divided parallel to the receiving groove as depicted in Fig. 1 and 4 and are closed to weld the filament (¶ [0059]), the upper block and lower block are capable of performing the intended use of “dividable by sliding against one another” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the upper block and lower block in Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Claim(s) 4-5, 11-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Li (CN 105946238 A), as applied to claim 1 and 16, in further view of Cai (CN 108908931 A, an English machine translation was previously provided).
Regarding claim 4, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the at least two mold elements of the filament connector can be assembled to each other by respective sliding guide elements (Fig. 1 and 3 depict openings on 102 and 101 where the openings of 102 overlap with the openings of 101 and a depicted protrusion/sliding guide element fixes the upper and lower block when closed)
Fig. 1 and 3 of Han
In arguendo, Han does not disclose the mold elements of the filament connector can be assembled to each other by respective sliding guide elements, analogous art Cai is applied.
Cai discloses a 3D printing wire welding device including a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate (¶ [0039]). The first fixing plate and second fixing plate are spliced and fixed together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (¶ [0039]). A heating mechanism for heating the connecting end of the printing wire is arranged between the first through groove and the second through groove (¶ [0039]). The overlapping ends of the wires are heated and melted in the heating mechanism (¶ [0039]). A first positioning rod and a first positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the first fixing plate facing the second fixing plate, and a second positioning rod and a second positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the second fixing plate facing the first fixing plate (¶ [0050]).
Cai further discloses the at least two mold elements of the filament connector can be assembled to each other by respective sliding guide elements (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove).
Han and Cai disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the first and second positioning rod and first and second positioning rod in Cai to the upper and lower block in Han to position and fix the upper and lower blocks together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (Cai ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 4.
Han discloses the respective sliding guide elements of the mold elements of the filament connector conically cooperate with each other upon assembling (the openings and protrusion “conically cooperate” as they are “conically-shaped”).
Fig. 4 of Han
Cai also discloses as depicted in Figs. 4-5, the positioning rods and positioning grooves “conically cooperate”.
Cai Fig. 4-5
In arguendo the Han and Cai do not disclose the respective sliding guide elements conically cooperate with each other upon assembling, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Regarding claim 11, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 4.
Han discloses wherein a first mold element 102 comprises stud-like guide elements, which provide with respect to a separate surface towards a second mold element 101 comprises recessed stud receptables for receiving the stud-like guide elements (Fig. 1 and 3 depict receptacles on the lower block 101 and a “stud-like guiding element” is in the upper block 102).
Fig. 1 and 3 of Han
Furthermore, Cai also discloses a first mold element comprises stud-like guide elements (¶ [0050] – first positioning rod on first fixing plate), which provide with respect to a separate surface towards a second mold element comprises recessed stud receptables for receiving the stud-like guide elements (¶ [0050] – first positioning groove provided on second fixing plate). The positioning grooves are receptacles and positioning rods are ”stud-like” shaped.
Regarding claim 12, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 11.
Han discloses the respective sliding guide elements and the respective stud receptacles of the at least two mold elements comprise respective guide and stop surfaces, along which the at least two mold elements can be positioned in relation to each other (Fig. 3-4 depicts openings/receptacles on the lower block 101 and the protrusions on the upper block 102 comprise respective guide and stop surfaces)
Han Fig. 3-4
Furthermore, Cai also discloses the respective sliding guide elements and the respective stud receptacles of the at least two mold elements comprise respective guide and stop surfaces, along which the at least two mold elements can be positioned in relation to each other (Fig. 4-5 depict the positioning grooves and the protrusions comprise respective guide and stop surfaces)
Regarding claim 13, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 11.
Han discloses wherein respective receiving openings for fixing means extending transversely to the separating surfaces of the at least two mold elements for mutually fixing the at least two mold elements are introduced into the respective mold elements, in which mechanical connecting elements are arranged (Fig. 3-4 depict the lower block 101 having receiving openings and the upper block 102 having a screw and nut for fixing).
Han Fig. 3
Furthermore, Cai also discloses wherein respective receiving openings for fixing means extending transversely to the separating surfaces of the at least two mold elements (¶ [0050] – first and second positioning grooves) for mutually fixing the at least two mold elements are introduced into the respective mold elements (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove), in which mechanical connecting elements are arranged (Fig. 4-5 depict the positioning grooves are receiving openings and rods are “mechanical connecting elements”)
Regarding claim 14, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 13.
Modified Han further discloses the receiving openings of the respective mold element are introduced on opposite sides of an associated groove (Cai ¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove; the positioning grooves are receiving openings and are depicted on opposite sides of the slots of the fixing plates).
Regarding claim 18, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 16.
Han discloses wherein there are two mold elements, with a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements (Fig. 1 and 3 depict openings on 102 and 101 where the openings of 102 overlap with the openings of 101 and a depicted protrusion/sliding guide element fixes the upper and lower block when closed; the openings and protrusion “conically cooperate” as they are “conically-shaped”)
Fig. 1 and 3-4 of Han
In arguendo, Han does not disclose a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements, analogous art Cai is applied.
Cai discloses a 3D printing wire welding device including a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate (¶ [0039]). The first fixing plate and second fixing plate are spliced and fixed together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (¶ [0039]). A heating mechanism for heating the connecting end of the printing wire is arranged between the first through groove and the second through groove (¶ [0039]). The overlapping ends of the wires are heated and melted in the heating mechanism (¶ [0039]). A first positioning rod and a first positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the first fixing plate facing the second fixing plate, and a second positioning rod and a second positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the second fixing plate facing the first fixing plate (¶ [0050]).
Cai further discloses the first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove; Figs. 4-5, the positioning rods and positioning grooves “conically cooperate”).
Cai Fig. 4-5
Han and Cai disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the first and second positioning rod and first and second positioning rod in Cai to the upper and lower block in Han to position and fix the upper and lower blocks together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (Cai ¶ [0039]). Furthermore, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Li (CN 105946238 A), as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Hannan (US 2019/0291306 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 16.
Modified Han does not disclose wherein the mold elements are magnetized or comprise magnetic elements.
Analogous art Hannan discloses a system 1000 comprising a mold (¶ [0029]).
Hannan further discloses the mold elements are magnetized or comprise magnetic elements (¶ [0034] - the position indicating means can be a magnetic bond between the mold components). The magnetic attachment or coupling of the flanges provides a continuous surface of the mold, which is substantially free of crevices or gaps (Hannan ¶ [0036], line 1-3; Fig. 2). The uniform and continuous structure minimizes the surface area which resin is exposed to, and prevents undesired leakage or creep of resin into crevices/gaps associated with mechanical coupling mechanisms (Hannan ¶ [0036], line 3-7; Fig. 2). The magnetic flanges(s) can be removably attached to the main molds (Hannan ¶ [0040], line 1-3).
Han and Hannan disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to molds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the magnetic coupling of flanges in Hannan to the blocks in modified Han because the magnetic coupling provides a continuous surface free of crevices or gaps and prevents undesired leakage or creep of material into crevices/gap associated with mechanical coupling (¶ [0036]) and can be removably attached (¶ [0040]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Li (CN 105946238 A), as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Hannan (US 2019/0291306 A1), as applied to claim 17 above, in further view of Cai (CN 108908931 A, an English machine translation was previously provided).
Regarding claim 19, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 16.
Han discloses wherein there are two mold elements, with a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements (Fig. 1 and 3 depict openings on 102 and 101 where the openings of 102 overlap with the openings of 101 and a depicted protrusion/sliding guide element fixes the upper and lower block when closed; the openings and protrusion “conically cooperate” as they are “conically-shaped”)
Fig. 1 and 3-4 of Han
In arguendo, Han does not disclose a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements, analogous art Cai is applied.
Cai discloses a 3D printing wire welding device including a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate (¶ [0039]). The first fixing plate and second fixing plate are spliced and fixed together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (¶ [0039]). A heating mechanism for heating the connecting end of the printing wire is arranged between the first through groove and the second through groove (¶ [0039]). The overlapping ends of the wires are heated and melted in the heating mechanism (¶ [0039]). A first positioning rod and a first positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the first fixing plate facing the second fixing plate, and a second positioning rod and a second positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the second fixing plate facing the first fixing plate (¶ [0050]).
Cai further discloses the first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove; Figs. 4-5, the positioning rods and positioning grooves “conically cooperate”).
Cai Fig. 4-5
Han and Cai disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the first and second positioning rod and first and second positioning rod in Cai to the upper and lower block in Han to position and fix the upper and lower blocks together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (Cai ¶ [0039]). Furthermore, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at least FIG. 1, 2a, and 15 demonstrate portions that may be divided by sliding and that the specification does supply the claim language.
Examiner does not argue that the limitation is not supported, rather that the objection can be overcome by amending the term “slidably” into the instant specification without introducing new subject matter to provide proper antecedent basis to the claim language.
Applicant argues the prior art does not recite the amended limitations of claim 1, specifically that the negative mold is formed for heating by direct contact with a flame.
The argument is addressed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 above over Han in view of Li.
Furthermore, the limitation “for heating by direct contact with a flame” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
Applicant argues the prior art does not show slidable elements and Lee’s elements contain protrusions that would prevent the at least two mold elements being slidably dividable by sliding against one another.
The limitation is addressed in the updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 9 and 16 over Han in view of Li.
Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose the limitations of claim 20, specifically that the negative molds configured to receive filament ends having different diameters and negative molds formed as insert parts that may be inserted into and removed from a respective one of the mold elements.
The limitation “to receive filament ends having different diameters” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104 (¶ [0013-0014]), the storage/receiving grooves are capable of performing the intended use of “to receive filament ends having different diameters.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the fixing openings/positioning grooves in Han and modified Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding the limitation “negative molds formed as insert parts that may be inserted into and removed from a respective one of the mold elements”, the limitation is addressed in the updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 20 and 21 over Han in view of Li.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2001171007 A discloses methods for connecting resin pipes including heating by applying a flame
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754