DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are examined.
Claims 16-21 are newly added.
Response to Amendment
Amended claim 1 omits the previous limitation “with at least two mold elements capable of being assembled with a filament negative”, and is interpreted as a deletion. However, the claim is not properly annotated, i.e. crossed out or with double brackets, and is considered an improper amendment. Furthermore, with the deletion, the claim no longer makes sense and causes antecedent basis issues regarding “mold elements” and “negative mold”. Therefore, for examination purposes, claim 1 will be read as including the omitted limitation between lines 2 and 3, i.e., the claim will be read as “a fused filament fabrication, with at least two mold elements capable of being assembled with a filament negative mold,”.
The amendments to the claims overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 (b), 102, and 103 rejections; therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, see the updated 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) and 103 rejections, necessitated by amendment.
The abstract filed September 19, 2025 is accepted; therefore, the specification objection is withdrawn.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
claim 9 and 16 recite “the mold elements are slidably dividable in a direction parallel to the filament ends”; “mold parts/mold elements … dividable in extension direction of the respective filament” is recited in first ¶ of pg. 5, second ¶ of pg. 8, of instant specification, second ¶ after “Detailed Description” of pg. 10, and first ¶ of pg. 19, but the term “slidably” is not present.
Claim Interpretation
“a securing means” in claim 6
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Regarding the limitation “securing means” in claim 6, the claim provides the generic placeholder “means” and the recited function “securing” and “can be inserted” but the function does not provide structure to the “means.” For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted from the instant specification in page 12, line 4 as “a filament piece can serve as the securing means”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 16, and 18-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1, line 4-5 – “the melt of the respective ends of the filaments” should read “the respective melted ends of the filaments” to recite to “the respective ends of the filaments melted” in line 3 and recitation of “the respective melted ends” in line 8-9
claim 9, line 3 – “the mold elements” should read “the at least two mold elements” to recite to “at least two mold elements” in claim 2
claim 16, line 5-6 – “the melt of the respective ends of the filaments” should read “the respective melted ends of the filaments” to recite to “the respective ends of the filaments melted” in line 4 and recitation of “the respective melted ends” in line 9
claim 16, line 10 – “the mold elements” should read “the at least two mold elements” to recite to “at least two mold elements” in line 2-3
claim 18, line 1 and claim 19, line 1 – “there are two mold elements, with” should read “the at least two mold elements comprise” to recite to “at least two mold elements” in claim 16
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the filament negative mold” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. See Response to Amendment section above. For examination purposes, claim 1 will be read as including the omitted limitation between lines 2 and 3, i.e., the claim will be read as “a fused filament fabrication, with at least two mold elements capable of being assembled with a filament negative mold,”.
As claims 2-15 ultimately depend on claim 1, claims 2-15 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim 4, 6, 8, 9, and 15 recite the limitation “the at least two mold elements” or “the mold elements”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. The claims depend on claim 1, but claim 1 does not recite “at least two mold elements” or “mold elements”. See Response to Amendment section above. For examination purposes, claim 1 will be read as including the omitted limitation between lines 2 and 3, i.e., the claim will be read as “a fused filament fabrication, with at least two mold elements capable of being assembled with a filament negative mold,”.
Furthermore, under the interpretation that the omitted limitation was not meant to be deleted as presented above, claim 8 recites “the at least two mold elements each have a filament negative mold” in line 2-3. It is unclear if “filament negative mold” in claim 8 is reciting to “filament negative mold” in claim 1, or is reciting to additional, separate structure from the “filament negative mold” in claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as reciting to the limitation in claim 1 and will be read as “the at least two mold elements each have the filament negative mold”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a first mold element” and “a second mold element” in line 2 and 3-4, respectively. It is unclear if “first mold element” and “second mold element” are further defining structure of “mold” recited in claim 1, or are reciting to additional structure. See Response to Amendment section above. For examination purposes, claim 1 will be read as including the omitted limitation between lines 2 and 3, i.e., the claim will be read as “a fused filament fabrication, with at least two mold elements capable of being assembled with a filament negative mold,”. Furthermore, the limitations “first mold element” and “second mold element” of claim 11 are interpreted as reciting to “at least two mold elements” of claim 1 and read as “first mold element of the at least two mold elements” and “second mold element of the at least two mold elements”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (KR 20170107714 A, an English machine translation was previously provided), or alternatively, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Lee (US 2016/0159608 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a filament connector (¶ [0001] – a welding machine for connecting filaments) for connecting respective ends of filaments (¶ [0015] – filaments 130, 131) for the additive manufacture of a three-dimensional object in a fused filament fabrication (¶ [0001] – used in a 3D printer),
with at least two mold elements (¶ [0013-0014] – an upper block 102 and lower block 101) capable of being assembled (¶ [0052] – the blocks are combined face each other) and with a filament negative mold (¶ [0013-0014] – each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104) in which the respective ends of the filaments melted in a melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013-0014] – 103, 104 in which two filaments can be placed to connect the filaments) can be connected to each other (¶ [0013-0014] – a heat source for melting; ¶ [0015] – heat transfer member 120; 120 is installed near the receiving groove 103, 104) by solidification of the melt of the respective ends of the filaments (¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament),
wherein the filament negative mold forms the melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013] –102 and 101 each having 103, 104; ¶ [0015] – heat transferred by 120 is installed near 103, 104), within which the respective ends of the filaments can be melted by heat input (¶ [0037] – heating material 140 being heated in 120) and can be connected to each other by solidification of the respective melted filament ends (¶ [0036] – heat is transferred to both ends of 130, 131; ¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament)
wherein the filament negative mold is formed for heating (¶ [0059] - 120 comes into contact with the heat source is heated, the heat is transferred to the upper or lower block, and eventually melts both ends of the filaments to be connected) by means of contact with a flame (¶ [0059] – heat source 140 such as a gas lighter, torch, etc.).
Han discloses the filament negative mold 102, 101 is formed for heating by means of contact with a flame as the gas lighter or torch 140 contacts 120, which is in contact with 102 or 101, and therefore meets the limitation “the filament negative mold is formed for heating by means of contact with a flame”.
The limitation “for heating by means of contact with a flame” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses that a heat source such as a gas lighter, torch, etc., a heat transfer member transfers heat with the heat source to the upper or lower block, and melts both ends of the filaments to be connected (¶ [0059]), the heat transfer member, upper block, and lower block are capable of performing the intended use of “for heating by means of contact with a flame.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the heat transfer member, upper block, and lower block in Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
In arguendo that the limitation recites a narrower limitation than interpreted (i.e., the limitation is not intended use and “heating by direct contact”) and that Han does not teach the recited limitation, Lee is applied.
Analogous art Lee discloses a filament fusing apparatus for bonding two independent filaments so as to fuse the filaments into a new bonded filament (¶ [0031]). The apparatus includes a first body, a first heat conducting element, a second body, and a second heat conducting element (¶ [0031]). The first heat conducting element has a first connecting groove (¶ [0031]) and second heat conducting element has a second connecting groove (¶ [0032]). The filaments are to be disposed in the first connecting groove (¶ [0031]).
Lee further discloses at least one heating unit and a heating control interface, wherein the heating unit may disposed on the first body and the second body to heat the corresponding first heat conducting element and second heat conducting element (¶ [0034]). As depicted in FIG. 1-2, the heating unit 130 is in direct contact to the first and second heating conducting elements 118, 128 having first connecting groove 118a and second connecting groove 128a.
Han and Lee disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the positioning of the heating unit in contact with the heat conducting element in Lee to the heat source, heat transfer member, and first body in Han to heat the corresponding receiving groove (¶ [0034]) and to fuse the filaments into a new bonded filament (¶ [0031]). Furthermore, it has been held that the rearrangement of parts and the particular placement of a contact to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Regarding claim 2, Han, or alternatively modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the filament negative mold is formed of metal material (¶ [0017] – the heat transfer member is made of a material that transfers heat well, such as aluminum or copper; Fig. 1 and 4 depict heat transfer member and is a part of the “negative mold” comprising of upper and lower block).
Lee also discloses the first and second heat conducting elements are heat conducting material with high thermal conductivity such as metal (¶ [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Han, or alternatively modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the filament negative mold is formed of a plurality of mold parts (¶ [0014] – 102 and 101 each having storage/receiving groove) that are partial shells dividable in an extension direction of the filaments (Fig. 1 and 4 depicts 102 having 104 and 101 having 103 are “partial shells” and are divided along in an extension direction of 130, 131).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Regarding claim 8, Han, or alternatively modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the at least two mold elements each have a filament negative mold (¶ [0014] – 102 and 101 each having storage/receiving groove) that is integrally formed with the respective mold element (¶ [0052] – the shape of the storage/receiving groove when the blocks are combined face each other; Figs 1, 2, and 4 depict the 102 and 101 “integrally formed” with the respective storage/receiving grooves)
Regarding claim 15, Han, or alternatively modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses wherein the at least two mold elements comprise two mold halves (¶ [0014] – upper and lower blocks 102, 101), and wherein basic shapes of the two mold halves are formed identical in shape (Fig. 1-4 depict the basic shape of 102 and 101 are rectangular and are identical in shape).
Claims 9, 16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Lee (US 2016/0159608 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Han, or alternatively modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses wherein the mold elements are dividable in a direction parallel to filament ends placed in the filament negative mold (Fig. 1 and 4 depicts 102 having 104 and 101 having 103 are divided along in direction of 130, 131).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Han discloses blocks 101, 102 are mounted on the frame 110, 111 and filament to be welded is placed in the receiving groove 103, 104, after which the frame is closed (¶ [0059]).
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the mold elements are slidably dividable.
Lee further discloses the mold elements are slidably dividable in a direction parallel to filament ends placed in the filament negative mold (¶ [0034] – first body 110 and second body 120 are in closing state; FIG. 1 depicts the bodies are dividable in direction parallel to filament and are “slidably dividable” when assembled)
Lee FIG. 1
Han and Lee disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the assembly of filament fusing apparatus comprising the first and second body in Lee to the welding machine comprising the first and second blocks to put the first and second blocks in a closing state so as to fuse an overlap region of two filaments, so the two filaments are fused into a new bonded filament (¶ [0009]).
The limitation “slidably dividable” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses that the blocks are divided parallel to the receiving groove as depicted in Fig. 1 and 4 and are closed to weld the filament (¶ [0059]), the upper block and lower block are capable of performing the intended use of “slidably dividable” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the upper block and lower block in Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Han discloses a filament connector (¶ [0001] – a welding machine for connecting filaments) for connecting respective ends of filaments (¶ [0015] – filaments 130, 131) for the additive manufacture of a three-dimensional object in a fused filament fabrication (¶ [0001] – used in a 3D printer),
with at least two mold elements (¶ [0013-0014] – an upper block 102 and lower block 101) capable of being assembled (¶ [0052] – the blocks are combined face each other) and with a filament negative mold (¶ [0013-0014] – each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104) in which the respective ends of the filaments melted in a melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013-0014] – 103, 104 in which two filaments can be placed to connect the filaments) can be connected to each other (¶ [0013-0014] – a heat source for melting; ¶ [0015] – heat transfer member 120; 120 is installed near the receiving groove 103, 104) by solidification of the melt of the respective ends of the filaments (¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament),
wherein the filament negative mold forms the melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013] –102 and 101 each having 103, 104; ¶ [0015] – heat transferred by 120 is installed near 103, 104), within which the respective ends of the filaments can be melted by heat input (¶ [0037] – heating material 140 being heated in 120) and can be connected to each other by solidification of the respective melted filament ends (¶ [0036] – heat is transferred to both ends of 130, 131; ¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament).
Han discloses wherein the mold elements are dividable in a direction parallel to filament ends placed in the filament negative mold (Fig. 1 and 4 depicts 102 having 104 and 101 having 103 are divided along in direction of 130, 131).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Han discloses blocks 101, 102 are mounted on the frame 110, 111 and filament to be welded is placed in the receiving groove 103, 104, after which the frame is closed (¶ [0059]).
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein the mold elements are slidably dividable.
Analogous art Lee discloses a filament fusing apparatus for bonding two independent filaments so as to fuse the filaments into a new bonded filament (¶ [0031]). The apparatus includes a first body, a first heat conducting element, a second body, and a second heat conducting element (¶ [0031]). The first heat conducting element has a first connecting groove (¶ [0031]) and second heat conducting element has a second connecting groove (¶ [0032]). The filaments are to be disposed in the first connecting groove (¶ [0031]).
Lee further discloses the mold elements are slidably dividable in a direction parallel to filament ends placed in the filament negative mold (¶ [0034] – first body 110 and second body 120 are in closing state; FIG. 1 depicts the bodies are dividable in direction parallel to filament and are “slidably dividable” when assembled)
Lee FIG. 1
Han and Lee disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the assembly of filament fusing apparatus comprising the first and second body in Lee to the welding machine comprising the first and second blocks to put the first and second blocks in a closing state so as to fuse an overlap region of two filaments, so the two filaments are fused into a new bonded filament (¶ [0009]).
The limitation “slidably dividable” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses that the blocks are divided parallel to the receiving groove as depicted in Fig. 1 and 4 and are closed to weld the filament (¶ [0059]), the upper block and lower block are capable of performing the intended use of “slidably dividable” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the upper block and lower block in Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Cai (CN 108908931 A, a English machine translation was previously provided).
Regarding claim 20, Han discloses a filament connector (¶ [0001] – a welding machine for connecting filaments) for connecting respective ends of filaments (¶ [0015] – filaments 130, 131) for the additive manufacture of a three-dimensional object in a fused filament fabrication (¶ [0001] – used in a 3D printer),
with at least two mold elements (¶ [0013-0014] – an upper block 102 and lower block 101) capable of being assembled (¶ [0052] – the blocks are combined face each other)
a plurality of negative molds (¶ [0013-0014] – each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104) to receive filament ends having different diameters (¶ [0013-0014] – 103, 104 in which two filaments can be placed to connect the filaments; recites intended use, see below)
wherein the filament negative mold forms the melting region of the filament connector (¶ [0013] – 102 and 101 each having 103, 104; ¶ [0015] – heat transferred by 120 is installed near 103, 104), within which the respective ends of the filaments can be melted by heat input (¶ [0037] – heating material 140 being heated in 120) and can be connected to each other by solidification of the respective melted filament ends (¶ [0036] – heat is transferred to both ends of 130, 131; ¶ [0013-0014] - bonding the disconnected filament)
The limitation “to receive filament ends having different diameters” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han discloses each having storage/receiving groove 103, 104 (¶ [0013-0014]), the storage/receiving grooves are capable of performing the intended use of “to receive filament ends having different diameters.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the fixing openings/positioning grooves in Han and modified Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Han discloses a filament cross-section adjustment groove capable of uniformly adjusting the welding area of the welded filament (¶ [0076]). If the cross-sectional area of the welded filament is thickened, the filament can be inserted into the adjusting groove (¶ [0076]).
Han does not disclose the filament negative molds formed as insert parts that may be inserted into and removed from the mold elements.
Cai further discloses a first cooling block is provided in the first slot and provides a semicircular fist slide slot (¶ [0040]). A second cooling block is provided in the second slot and a semicircular second sliding slot is provided on the second cooling block (¶ [0040]). The first and second sliding slot/slide grooves are assembled into the first through groove through which the printing wire can pass (¶ [0040]). Similarly, a third cooling block with a semicircular third sliding slot is provided in the third slot and a fourth cooling block with a semicircular fourth slot is provided in the fourth slot (¶ [0041]). The third and fourth sliding slots/chutes are assembled into a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (¶ [0041]). The third cooling block and fourth cooling clock constituting the second through slot can increase the hardness of the wire entering the second through slot, so as to improve the transmission efficiency of the automatic wire feeding mechanism for the wire passing through the second through slot (¶ [0042]). Further, the first cooling block and second cooling block cools and shape the wire as it is pushed into the first through groove (¶ [0044]).
Han and Cai disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the first, second, third, and fourth cooling blocks provided the first, second, third, and fourth slots of the fixing and second fixing plates in Cai to the upper and lower block having filament receiving grooves in Han to increase the hardness of the wire entering the second through slot, so as to improve the transmission efficiency of the automatic wire feeding mechanism for the wire passing through the second through slot (¶ [0042]) and to cool and shape the wire as it is pushed into the first through groove (¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Han discloses the filament connector of claim 20.
Modified Han further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of negative molds (¶ [0014] – 102 and 101 each having storage/receiving groove) comprise partial shells dividable in an extension direction of the respective filament ends when the respective filament ends are placed in the negative mold (Fig. 1 and 4 depicts 102 having 104 and 101 having 103 are “partial shells” and are divided along in an extension direction of 130, 131).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Claim(s) 4-7 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) or, in the alternative, as obvious over Han in view of Lee (US 2016/0159608 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Cai (CN 108908931 A, a English machine translation was previously provided).
Regarding claim 4, Han, or alternatively modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the at least two mold elements of the filament connector can be assembled to each other by respective sliding guide elements (¶ [0021] – a frame 110, 111 having a structure in which the upper block and lower block are fixed and can be opened and closed; Fig. 1 and 3 depict openings on 102 and 101 where the openings of 102 overlap with the openings of 101 and a depicted protrusion/sliding guide element fixes the upper and lower block when closed)
Fig. 1 and 3 of Han
In arguendo, Han does not disclose the mold elements of the filament connector can be assembled to each other by respective sliding guide elements, analogous art Cai is applied.
Cai discloses a 3D printing wire welding device including a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate (¶ [0039]). The first fixing plate and second fixing plate are spliced and fixed together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (¶ [0039]). A heating mechanism for heating the connecting end of the printing wire is arranged between the first through groove and the second through groove (¶ [0039]). The overlapping ends of the wires are heated and melted in the heating mechanism (¶ [0039]). A first positioning rod and a first positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the first fixing plate facing the second fixing plate, and a second positioning rod and a second positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the second fixing plate facing the first fixing plate (¶ [0050]).
Cai further discloses the at least two mold elements of the filament connector can be assembled to each other by respective sliding guide elements (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove).
Han and Cai disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the first and second positioning rod and first and second positioning rod in Cai to the upper and lower block in Han to position and fix the upper and lower blocks together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (Cai ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 4.
Han discloses the respective sliding guide elements of the mold elements of the filament connector conically cooperate with each other upon assembling (the openings and protrusion “conically cooperate” as they are “conically-shaped”).
Fig. 4 of Han
Cai also discloses as depicted in Figs. 4-5, the positioning rods and positioning grooves “conically cooperate”.
Cai Fig. 4-5
In arguendo the Han and Cau do not disclose the respective sliding guide elements conically cooperate with each other upon assembling, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Regarding claim 6, Han or alternatively modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses the mold elements 102, 101 of the filament connector comprise respective fixing openings arranged at least in partial overlap to each other with at least two mold elements 102, 101, when assembled, into which a securing means can be inserted (Fig. 1 and 4 depict openings on the upper block 102 and lower block 101 where the fixing openings of the upper block overlap with the fixing openings of the lower block and a depicted securing means fixes the upper and lower block when closed).
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Cai also discloses the mold elements of the filament connector comprise respective fixing openings (¶ [0050] – first positioning groove provided on side of second fixing plate, second positioning groove provided on first fixing plate) arranged at least in partial overlap to each other with at least two mold elements, when assembled, into which a securing means can be inserted (¶ [0050] – first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove).
Regarding claim 7, modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 6.
Han discloses the mold elements 102, 101 of the filament connector comprise respective fixing openings arranged at least in partial overlap to each other with assembled mold elements 102, 101, into which a securing means can be inserted.
Although Han and Cai do not disclose the respective centers of the fixing openings cooperating with each other in the upper and lower block (corresponding mold elements) have an offset, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would understand that the upper and lower blocks would shift in the event the filaments expand or shift due to unintended operation or function, such as a clog or plug formed by the filament in the filament receiving groove due to overheating or underheating or unintended solidification. Therefore, Han and modified Han teaches the fixing openings of the upper and lower blocks would offset to each other.
The limitation “respective centers of the fixing openings cooperating with each other in the corresponding mold elements have an offset to each other” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As Han and modified Han discloses that upper and lower blocks comprise fixing openings (Han Fig. 1 and 4) or positioning grooves (Cai ¶ [0050]), the fixing openings/positioning grooves are capable of performing the intended use of “respective centers of the fixing openings … have an offset to each other.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the fixing openings/positioning grooves in Han and modified Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Han or alternatively modified Han, discloses the filament connector according to claim 1.
Han discloses a filament cross-section adjustment groove capable of uniformly adjusting the welding area of the welded filament (¶ [0076]). If the cross-sectional area of the welded filament is thickened, the filament can be inserted into the adjusting groove (¶ [0076]).
Han does not disclose the filament negative mold is formed as an insert part exchangeable in the filament connector.
Cai further discloses a first cooling block is provided in the first slot and provides a semicircular fist slide slot (¶ [0040]). A second cooling block is provided in the second slot and a semicircular second sliding slot is provided on the second cooling block (¶ [0040]). The first and second sliding slot/slide grooves are assembled into the first through groove through which the printing wire can pass (¶ [0040]). Similarly, a third cooling block with a semicircular third sliding slot is provided in the third slot and a fourth cooling block with a semicircular fourth slot is provided in the fourth slot (¶ [0041]). The third and fourth sliding slots/chutes are assembled into a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (¶ [0041]). The third cooling block and fourth cooling clock constituting the second through slot can increase the hardness of the wire entering the second through slot, so as to improve the transmission efficiency of the automatic wire feeding mechanism for the wire passing through the second through slot (¶ [0042]). Further, the first cooling block and second cooling block cools and shape the wire as it is pushed into the first through groove (¶ [0044]).
Han and Cai disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the first, second, third, and fourth cooling blocks provided the first, second, third, and fourth slots of the fixing and second fixing plates in Cai to the upper and lower block having filament receiving grooves in Han to increase the hardness of the wire entering the second through slot, so as to improve the transmission efficiency of the automatic wire feeding mechanism for the wire passing through the second through slot (¶ [0042]) and to cool and shape the wire as it is pushed into the first through groove (¶ [0044]).
The limitation “exchangeable in the filament connector” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114 (II).
As modified Han discloses that cooling blocks are provided in the slots of the fixing plates/upper and lower blocks and are assembled to form through slots for which printing wire passes through (Cai ¶ [0040-0041]), the cooling blocks are capable of performing the intended use of “exchangeable in the filament connector.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the cooling blocks in modified Han are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 4.
Han discloses wherein a first mold element 102 comprises stud-like guide elements, which provide with respect to a separate surface towards a second mold element 101 comprises recessed stud receptables for receiving the stud-like guide elements (Fig. 1 and 3 depict receptacles on the lower block 101 and a “stud-like guiding element” is in the upper block 102).
Fig. 1 and 3 of Han
Furthermore, Cai also discloses a first mold element comprises stud-like guide elements (¶ [0050] – first positioning rod on first fixing plate), which provide with respect to a separate surface towards a second mold element comprises recessed stud receptables for receiving the stud-like guide elements (¶ [0050] – first positioning groove provided on second fixing plate). The positioning grooves are receptacles and positioning rods are ”stud-like” shaped.
Regarding claim 12, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 11.
Han discloses the respective sliding guide elements and the respective stud receptacles of the at least two mold elements comprise respective guide and stop surfaces, along which the at least two mold elements can be positioned in relation to each other (Fig. 3-4 depicts openings/receptacles on the lower block 101 and the protrusions on the upper block 102 comprise respective guide and stop surfaces)
Han Fig. 3-4
Furthermore, Cai also discloses the respective sliding guide elements and the respective stud receptacles of the at least two mold elements comprise respective guide and stop surfaces, along which the at least two mold elements can be positioned in relation to each other (Fig. 4-5 depict the positioning grooves and the protrusions comprise respective guide and stop surfaces)
Regarding claim 13, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 11.
Han discloses wherein respective receiving openings for fixing means extending transversely to the separating surfaces of the at least two mold elements for mutually fixing the at least two mold elements are introduced into the respective mold elements, in which mechanical connecting elements are arranged (Fig. 3-4 depict the lower block 101 having receiving openings and the upper block 102 having a screw and nut for fixing).
Han Fig. 3
Furthermore, Cai also discloses wherein respective receiving openings for fixing means extending transversely to the separating surfaces of the at least two mold elements (¶ [0050] – first and second positioning grooves) for mutually fixing the at least two mold elements are introduced into the respective mold elements (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove), in which mechanical connecting elements are arranged (Fig. 4-5 depict the positioning grooves are receiving openings and rods are “mechanical connecting elements”)
Regarding claim 14, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 13.
Han discloses openings on the lower block 101 as depicted in Fig. 1 and 4.
Han does not disclose the receiving openings of the respective mold element are introduced on opposite sides of an associated groove.
Cai further discloses the receiving openings of the respective mold element are introduced on opposite sides of an associated groove (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove; the positioning grooves are receiving openings and are depicted on opposite sides of the slots of the fixing plates.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Lee (US 2016/0159608 A1), as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Hannan (US 2019/0291306 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 16.
Modified Han does not disclose wherein the mold elements are magnetized or comprise magnetic elements.
Analogous art Hannan discloses a system 1000 comprising a mold (¶ [0029]).
Hannan further discloses the mold elements are magnetized or comprise magnetic elements (¶ [0034] - the position indicating means can be a magnetic bond between the mold components). The magnetic attachment or coupling of the flanges provides a continuous surface of the mold, which is substantially free of crevices or gaps (Hannan ¶ [0036], line 1-3; Fig. 2). The uniform and continuous structure minimizes the surface area which resin is exposed to, and prevents undesired leakage or creep of resin into crevices/gaps associated with mechanical coupling mechanisms (Hannan ¶ [0036], line 3-7; Fig. 2). The magnetic flanges(s) can be removably attached to the main molds (Hannan ¶ [0040], line 1-3).
Han and Hannan disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to molds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the magnetic coupling of flanges in Hannan to the blocks in modified Han because the magnetic coupling provides a continuous surface free of crevices or gaps and prevents undesired leakage or creep of material into crevices/gap associated with mechanical coupling (¶ [0036]) and can be removably attached (¶ [0040]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Lee (US 2016/0159608 A1), as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Cai (CN 108908931 A, a English machine translation was previously provided).
Regarding claim 18, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 16.
Han discloses wherein there are two mold elements, with a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements (¶ [0021] – a frame 110, 111 having a structure in which the upper block and lower block are fixed and can be opened and closed; Fig. 1 and 3 depict openings on 102 and 101 where the openings of 102 overlap with the openings of 101 and a depicted protrusion/sliding guide element fixes the upper and lower block when closed; the openings and protrusion “conically cooperate” as they are “conically-shaped”)
Fig. 1 and 3-4 of Han
In arguendo, Han does not disclose a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements, analogous art Cai is applied.
Cai discloses a 3D printing wire welding device including a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate (¶ [0039]). The first fixing plate and second fixing plate are spliced and fixed together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (¶ [0039]). A heating mechanism for heating the connecting end of the printing wire is arranged between the first through groove and the second through groove (¶ [0039]). The overlapping ends of the wires are heated and melted in the heating mechanism (¶ [0039]). A first positioning rod and a first positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the first fixing plate facing the second fixing plate, and a second positioning rod and a second positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the second fixing plate facing the first fixing plate (¶ [0050]).
Cai further discloses the a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove; Figs. 4-5, the positioning rods and positioning grooves “conically cooperate”).
Cai Fig. 4-5
Han and Cai disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the first and second positioning rod and first and second positioning rod in Cai to the upper and lower block in Han to position and fix the upper and lower blocks together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (Cai ¶ [0039]).
In arguendo the Han and Cai do not disclose the respective sliding guide elements conically cooperate with each other upon assembling, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (KR 20170107714 A) in view of Lee (US 2016/0159608 A1), as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Hannan (US 2019/0291306 A1), as applied to claim 17 above, in further view of Cai (CN 108908931 A, a English machine translation was previously provided).
Regarding claim 19, modified Han discloses the filament connector according to claim 16.
Han discloses wherein there are two mold elements, with a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements (¶ [0021] – a frame 110, 111 having a structure in which the upper block and lower block are fixed and can be opened and closed; Fig. 1 and 3 depict openings on 102 and 101 where the openings of 102 overlap with the openings of 101 and a depicted protrusion/sliding guide element fixes the upper and lower block when closed; the openings and protrusion “conically cooperate” as they are “conically-shaped”)
Fig. 1 and 3-4 of Han
In arguendo, Han does not disclose a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements, analogous art Cai is applied.
Cai discloses a 3D printing wire welding device including a first fixing plate and a second fixing plate (¶ [0039]). The first fixing plate and second fixing plate are spliced and fixed together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (¶ [0039]). A heating mechanism for heating the connecting end of the printing wire is arranged between the first through groove and the second through groove (¶ [0039]). The overlapping ends of the wires are heated and melted in the heating mechanism (¶ [0039]). A first positioning rod and a first positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the first fixing plate facing the second fixing plate, and a second positioning rod and a second positioning groove are respectively provided on the side of the second fixing plate facing the first fixing plate (¶ [0050]).
Cai further discloses the a first mold element comprising conical or frustum-shaped sliding guide elements and a second mold element comprising receptacles for receiving the sliding guide elements (¶ [0050] - the first positioning rod is engaged with the second positioning groove, and the second positioning rod is engaged with the first positioning groove; Figs. 4-5, the positioning rods and positioning grooves “conically cooperate”).
Cai Fig. 4-5
Han and Cai disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the first and second positioning rod and first and second positioning rod in Cai to the upper and lower block in Han to position and fix the upper and lower blocks together to form a first through groove and a second through groove for the printing wire to pass through (Cai ¶ [0039]).
In arguendo the Han and Cai do not disclose the respective sliding guide elements conically cooperate with each other upon assembling, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 19, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Han does not teach “heating by direct contact” of claim 1 and teaches away.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “heating by direct contact”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Han discloses the filament negative mold 102, 101 is formed for heating by means of contact with a flame as the gas lighter or torch 140 contacts 120, which is in contact with 102 or 101, and therefore meets the limitation “the filament negative mold is formed for heating by means of contact with a flame”.
In regards to Han teaching away, "a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed." See MPEP 2145 (D)(1). Although Han teaches “when the heat transfer member and filament come into direct contact, the filament may stick to the surface of the heat transfer member, which may be inconvenient to use, so it is advantageous to avoid direct contact if possible” (¶ [0017]), the recitation is a general preference and the heat transfer member is still placed in proximity to the storage groove (¶ [0016]) and at a distance of approximately 1 to 2 mm (¶ [0018]) to melt and bond the disconnected filament (¶ [0014]).
In arguendo that the limitation recites a narrower limitation than interpreted (i.e., “heating by direct contact”) and that Han does not teach the recited limitation, Lee discloses as depicted in FIG. 1-2, the heating unit 130 is in direct contact to the first and second heating conducting elements 118, 128 having first connecting groove 118a and second connecting groove 128a.
Furthermore, it has been held that the rearrangement of parts and the particular placement of a contact to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues Han does not teach “the filament negative mold being formed of metal material” in claim 2.
The transfer member is inserted into the lower block, and is considered a part of “the negative mold”.
Furthermore, Lee discloses the first and second heat conducting elements are heat conducting material with high thermal conductivity such as metal (¶ [0034]).
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues Han does not teach “(mold elements) slidably dividable in a direction parallel to the filament ends placed in the filament negative mold” in claim 9 and 16.
The argument is addressed in the U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 9 over Han in view of Lee, necessitated by amendment.
The argument is addressed in the U.S.C. 103 rejection of newly added claim 16 over Han in view of Lee.
Applicant argues Han does not teach claim 20.
The argument is addressed in the U.S.C. 103 rejection of newly added claim 20 over Han in view of Cai.
Applicant argues Han teaches away from applying Cai.
In regards to Han teaching away, "a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed." See MPEP 2145 (D)(1). Although Han teaches “when the heat transfer member and filament come into direct contact, the filament may stick to the surface of the heat transfer member, which may be inconvenient to use, so it is advantageous to avoid direct contact if possible” (¶ [0017]), the recitation is a general preference and the heat transfer member is still placed in proximity to the storage groove (¶ [0016]) and at a distance of approximately 1 to 2 mm (¶ [0018]) to melt and bond the disconnected filament (¶ [0014]).
Applicant argues Han and Cai do not teach “at least two mold elements of the filament connector conically cooperate with each other upon assembling” and appear cylindrical.
Han discloses the respective sliding guide elements of the mold elements of the filament connector conically cooperate with each other upon assembling (the openings and protrusion “conically cooperate” as they are “conically-shaped”).
Cai also discloses as depicted in Figs. 4-5, the positioning rods and positioning grooves “conically cooperate”.
In arguendo the Han and Cau do not disclose the respective sliding guide elements conically cooperate with each other upon assembling, it has been held the specific shape of a claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Applicant argues Han does not disclose “fixing openings cooperating with each other in the at least two mold elements have an offset to each other” as the bolts are in-line and on the same side in claim 7.
The limitation recites an operation of misalignment, which is an intended use.
As depicted in Fig. 1 and 4 of Han, the bolts go through 102 through an opening and 103 has openings for the bolt. The bolt may slightly shift (offset) within the opening of 103 when the welding machine is closed, and the opening in 102 and the opening in 103 would “offset”, therefore would meet the limitation.
Fig. 1 and 4 of Han
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754