DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application Number: 18/034,354 filed on 4/27/23 has a total of 19 claims pending for examination; there is/are 1 independent claims and 18 dependent claims, all of which are examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119 (e) with reference to Application Number: 202110706662.0 filed on 6/24/21.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609.
Drawings
The drawing(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81 to 1.85.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 59, “two ladder legs” and “several steps” are both identified with number 10, but the drawings show the ladder leg elements being labeled 10 and the step elements being labeled 3. Applicant should be consistent with the numerical labeling of elements. Furthermore, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With regards to claim 1, line 3 recites “the pair of frame hinge assembly” which appears to have a typo. The phrase is interpreted as ---the pair of frame hinge assemblies---.
With regards to claim 1, line 4 recites “a balancing member are provided” which appears to have a typo. The phrase is interpreted as ---a balancing member is provided---.
With regards to claim 1, lines 4-5 recites “provided on the frame hinge assembly” which appears to have a typo. The phrase is interpreted as ---provided on the frame hinge assemblies---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner notes there may be other claim objections in dependent claims. The examiner has provided a number of examples of the claim objections above, however, the list of objections may not be all inclusive. Applicant is kindly asked to refer to these objections as examples of objections and should make all the necessary corrections to eliminate them and place the claims in a proper format.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, line 4 recites “the two ladder legs of the ladder frame” which renders the claim indefinite since it’s not clear which two ladder legs of which ladder frame the limitations is referring to. The claims recites two ladder frames, each ladder frame including two ladder legs (4 in total) in lines 1-2 so it’s not clear which frame out of the two (made up of two ladder legs) is being referred.
With regards to claim 1, lines 7-8 recite “the ladder leg” which renders the claim indefinite since it’s not clear which ladder leg out of four previously recited ladder legs the limitations is referring to. The claims recites two ladder frames, each ladder frame including two ladder legs (4 in total) in lines 1-2.
With regards to claims 2-19, due to their direct or indirect dependence from claim 1, they suffer from the same deficiencies and are thus rejected under the same rationale.
With further regards to claim 3, line 11 recites “a balancing member” which renders the claim indefinite since it’s not clear if it’s a new instance of a balancing member or if it’s supposed to be referring back to “a balancing member” already recited in line 4 of claim 1.
With further regards to claims 4 and 17, due to their direct or indirect dependence from claim 3, they also suffer from the same deficiencies and are thus rejected under the same rationale.
Due to the vagueness and a lack of clear definiteness in the claims, the claims have been treated on their merits as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6,866,119 to Zheng in view of US Patent No. 988,086 to Garraway.
With regards to claim 1, Zheng teaches a foldable ladder [figs 1-7], comprising
two ladder frames [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20] rotatably connected at the top [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown], and the ladder frames [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20] each include two ladder legs [figs 1-7 element 10 includes elements 11, element 20 includes elements 21] arranged in parallel [figs 1-7 elements 11 are parallel to one another and elements 21 are parallel to one another], and several steps [figs 1-7 elements 40 shown at different heights between elements 11 and shown at different heights between elements 21] are arranged between the two parallel ladder legs [figs 1-7 elements 40 shown at different heights between elements 11 and shown at different heights between elements 21];
wherein a pair of frame hinge assemblies [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37] are arranged between the two ladder frames [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20], and the pair of frame hinge assembly [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37] are relatively arranged on the two ladder legs [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37 – above ladder legs 11 and above ladder legs 21] of the ladder frame [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20];
each frame hinge assembly [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37] includes a frame hinge outer assembly (14A) and a frame hinge inner assembly (14B) connected to each other [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37 – the figures show an inner and an outer part for each of the hinges as shown];
Zheng teaches all of the above but is silent as to a balancing member (5) are provided on the frame hinge assembly (14), one end of the balancing member (5) is hinged with one frame hinge assembly (14), and the other end of the balancing member (5) is in locking connection with another frame hinge assembly (14); and the ladder leg (10) is further provided with a locking device for the balancing member (5).
However, Garraway teaches a balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] is provided on a frame hinge assembly [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14 shown above hinge(s) that allow two ladder frames pivot], one end of the balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] is hinged [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14 is hinged via elements 11-13 – lines 67-73] with one frame hinge assembly , and the other end [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14 ends at element 15] of the balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] is in locking connection [Garraway figs 1-3 element 15 locks via elements 16-18 – lines 73-84] with another frame hinge assembly; and the ladder leg [Garraway figs 1-3 elements 1-2] is further provided with a locking device [Garraway figs 1-3 element 22 locks slot element 27 of element 14] for the balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] for the benefit of providing a top ladder surface to rest on and to also provide a locking element to prevent the top ladder surface from rattling when folded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zheng and Garraway to have a balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] is provided on a frame hinge assembly [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14 shown above hinge(s) that allow two ladder frames pivot], one end of the balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] is hinged [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14 is hinged via elements 11-13 – lines 67-73] with one frame hinge assembly , and the other end [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14 ends at element 15] of the balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] is in locking connection [Garraway figs 1-3 element 15 locks via elements 16-18 – lines 73-84] with another frame hinge assembly; and the ladder leg [Garraway figs 1-3 elements 1-2] is further provided with a locking device [Garraway figs 1-3 element 22 locks slot element 27 of element 14] for the balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] for the benefit of providing a top ladder surface to rest on and to also provide a locking element to prevent the top ladder surface from rattling when folded.
Examiner notes that the word on, as used above, is being interpreted to indicate -- a position in close proximity with - as defined by the merriam-webster.com dictionary.
With regards to claim 2, Zheng teaches the foldable ladder according to claim 1, wherein the frame hinge outer assembly [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37] and the frame hinge inner assembly [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37] are rotatably connected [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37 – the figures show an inner and an outer part for each of the hinges as shown which rotate to open the ladder to form angle A or to close the ladder], and the frame hinge outer assembly and the frame hinge inner assembly are respectively arranged on two adjacent ladder legs [figs 1-3 show the top of elements 11 and 21 include hinge elements that connect to one another], so that the two adjacent ladder legs [figs 1-3 elements 11, 21] of the two ladder frames [figs 1-3 elements, 10, 20] are respectively connected to form a left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and a right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11]; each step [figs 1-3 elements 40] is formed by a left step section [figs 1-7 left elements 41] and a right step section [figs 1-7 right elements 41] hingedly connected with each other [figs 3A-3B show pin elements between left and right elements 41], and the ends of the left step section [figs 1-7 left elements 41] and the right step section [figs 1-7 right elements 41] are rotatably connected with the ladder legs [figs 1-7 show the left end of left element 41 and the right end of right element 41 coupled to ladder legs 11, 21].
With regards to claim 3, the combination of Zheng and Garraway teaches the foldable ladder according to claim 2, wherein the ladder legs [figs 1-7 elements 11, 21] have a plurality of support portions (8) at different heights [figs 1-7 show the left end of left element 41 and the right end of right element 41 coupled to ladder legs 11, 21 at pivot points which are support portions], and the two ends of each step (3) are respectively connected to the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11] on the corresponding support portions [figs 1-7 show the left end of left element 41 and the right end of right element 41 coupled to ladder legs 11, 21 at pivot points which are support portions]; wherein the lengths of at least two steps [figs 1-7 elements 40 as shown] are substantially the same [figs 1-7 elements 40 as shown] so that the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11] are arranged in parallel [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11 are parallel to figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11], and the middle part of each step (3) is provided with a bendable structure [figs 1-7 elements 40 bend at the middle when closed/folded];
the two ends of each step (3) are hinged with the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11] respectively [figs 1-7 show the left end of left element 41 and the right end of right element 41 coupled to ladder legs 11, 21 at pivot points which are support portions];
when the step [figs 1-7 elements 40] is in the unfolded state [figs 1, 3A, 6], the two ends of the step [figs 1-3 left side of left element 41 and right side of right element 41] are respectively abutted against the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11];
when the step [figs 1-7 elements 40] is in a folded state [figs 3B, 5, 7], the surfaces of the step [figs 1-7 elements 40] are respectively abutted against the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11];
the top of the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11] is provided with a balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] that is detachably connected to the top of the left leg frame [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14 as explained above in claim 1 – combined under the same rationale];
the middle of the steps [figs 1-7 elements 40] is provided with a step pivot shaft [figs 1-7 elements 55] connecting with the bendable structures of the steps [figs 1-3 right side of left element 41 and left side of right element 41].
With regards to claim 5, Zheng teaches the foldable ladder according to claim 2, wherein the step pivot shaft [figs 1-7 elements 55] connects all steps [figs 1-7 elements 40] on the same ladder frame [figs 1-7 elements 40 within element 10 and elements 40 within element 20], and the left step section [figs 1-7 left elements 41] and the right step section [figs 1-7 right elements 41] are provided with connected support shafts [figs 1-7, pin element on right side of left element 41 and on left side of right element 41 where it meets element 55], and the support shafts [figs 1-7, pin element on right side of left element 41 and on left side of right element 41 where it meets element 55] pass through the corresponding step pivot shaft [figs 1-7 elements 55].
Claim(s) 10, 14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6,866,119 to Zheng in view of US Patent No. 988,086 to Garraway in view of US Patent No. 11,505,994 to Foley et al. (hereinafter Foley).
With regards to claim 10, the combination of Zheng and Garraway teaches all of the above but is silent as to the foldable ladder according to claim 1, wherein the balancing member (5) is a tool tray, and the tool tray is formed with several small lattices and holes of different sizes and shapes.
However, Foley teaches a balancing member [Foley figs 1-10 element 102] is a tool tray [Foley figs 1-10 element 102 shown in detail in fig 7], and the tool tray is formed with several small lattices and holes of different sizes and shapes [Foley fig 7 element 102 as shown shows several small lattices and holes of different sizes and shapes – column 4 lines 37-63] for the benefit of providing a tool tray for multi-position ladders at the hinge in a step ladder position and a step at the hinge when the multi-position ladder is in an extension position [Foley column 1 lines 52-60].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zheng, Garraway and Foley to have the balancing member [Foley figs 1-10 element 102] is a tool tray [Foley figs 1-10 element 102 shown in detail in fig 7], and the tool tray is formed with several small lattices and holes of different sizes and shapes [Foley fig 7 element 102 as shown shows several small lattices and holes of different sizes and shapes – column 4 lines 37-63] for the benefit of providing a tool tray for multi-position ladders at the hinge in a step ladder position and a step at the hinge when the multi-position ladder is in an extension position [Foley column 1 lines 52-60].
With regards to claim 14, Zheng teaches the foldable ladder according to claim 10, wherein the frame hinge outer assembly [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37] and the frame hinge inner assembly [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37] are rotatably connected [figs 1-7 elements 10, 20 meet at top hinge elements as shown – column 4 lines 30-37 – the figures show an inner and an outer part for each of the hinges as shown which rotate to open the ladder to form angle A or to close the ladder], and the frame hinge outer assembly and the frame hinge inner assembly are respectively arranged on two adjacent ladder legs [figs 1-3 show the top of elements 11 and 21 include hinge elements that connect to one another], so that the two adjacent ladder legs [figs 1-3 elements 11, 21] of the two ladder frames [figs 1-3 elements, 10, 20] are respectively connected to form a left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and a right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11];
each step [figs 1-3 elements 40] is formed by a left step section [figs 1-7 left elements 41] and a right step section [figs 1-7 right elements 41] hingedly connected with each other [figs 3A-3B show pin elements between left and right elements 41], and the ends of the left step section [figs 1-7 left elements 41] and the right step section [figs 1-7 right elements 41] are rotatably connected with the ladder legs [figs 1-7 show the left end of left element 41 and the right end of right element 41 coupled to ladder legs 11, 21].
With regards to claim 16, the combination of Zheng, Garraway and Foley teaches the foldable ladder according to claim 14, wherein the ladder legs [figs 1-7 elements 11, 21] have a plurality of support portions (8) at different heights [figs 1-7 show the left end of left element 41 and the right end of right element 41 coupled to ladder legs 11, 21 at pivot points which are support portions], and the two ends of each step (3) are respectively connected to the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11] on the corresponding support portions [figs 1-7 show the left end of left element 41 and the right end of right element 41 coupled to ladder legs 11, 21 at pivot points which are support portions]; wherein the lengths of at least two steps [figs 1-7 elements 40 as shown] are substantially the same [figs 1-7 elements 40 as shown] so that the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11] are arranged in parallel [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11 are parallel to figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11], and the middle part of each step (3) is provided with a bendable structure [figs 1-7 elements 40 bend at the middle when closed/folded];
the two ends of each step (3) are hinged with the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11] respectively [figs 1-7 show the left end of left element 41 and the right end of right element 41 coupled to ladder legs 11, 21 at pivot points which are support portions];
when the step [figs 1-7 elements 40] is in the unfolded state [figs 1, 3A, 6], the two ends of the step [figs 1-3 left side of left element 41 and right side of right element 41] are respectively abutted against the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11];
when the step [figs 1-7 elements 40] is in a folded state [figs 3B, 5, 7], the surfaces of the step [figs 1-7 elements 40] are respectively abutted against the left leg frame [figs 1-3 left element 21 and left element 11] and the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11];
the top of the right leg frame [figs 1-3 right element 21 and right element 11] is provided with a balancing member [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14] that is detachably connected to the top of the left leg frame [Garraway figs 1-3 element 14 as explained above in claim 1 – combined under the same rationale];
the middle of the steps [figs 1-7 elements 40] is provided with a step pivot shaft [figs 1-7 elements 55] connecting with the bendable structures of the steps [figs 1-3 right side of left element 41 and left side of right element 41].
With regards to claim 18, Zheng teaches the foldable ladder according to claim 16, wherein the step pivot shaft [figs 1-7 elements 55] connects all steps [figs 1-7 elements 40] on the same ladder frame [figs 1-7 elements 40 within element 10 and elements 40 within element 20], and the left step section [figs 1-7 left elements 41] and the right step section [figs 1-7 right elements 41] are provided with connected support shafts [figs 1-7, pin element on right side of left element 41 and on left side of right element 41 where it meets element 55], and the support shafts [figs 1-7, pin element on right side of left element 41 and on left side of right element 41 where it meets element 55] pass through the corresponding step pivot shaft [figs 1-7 elements 55].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-9, 11-13, 15, 17 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 4, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the tops of both ends of the step are each formed with a snap-fit notch; the two step sections of each step are respectively rotatably connected with the corresponding support portions; when the step is in the unfolded state, the connection between the bottom of the snap-fit notch and the step is at the same level with the center of the adjacent support portion; and the extension lines of the two adjacent ladder legs of the left leg frame or the right leg frame are arranged crosswise, and the frame hinge assembly is arranged at the intersection of the two adjacent ladder legs, and between the adjacent ladder legs of both the left leg frame and the right leg frame are each provided with a limit pull rod with a bendable structure, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claim 6, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest, wherein the left step section and the right step section are each formed with a notch groove on one of the two side walls for easy rotation, and the top of the step pivot shaft is provided with a pull ring , the left leg frame and the right leg frame are each provided with a corresponding handle in the middle, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claim 7, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein one end of the balancing member is rotatably connected to a lock catch , the frame hinge assembly which is in locking connection with one end of the balancing member is provided with a matching double-diameter rivet shaft thereon, and the lock catch is matched with the frame hinge assembly, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claim 8, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the locking device comprises a press buckle, a spring and a third rivet shaft, the spring and the press buckle is sleeved on the third rivet shaft, and the spring is in contact with the outer side of the press buckle, and the ladder leg is formed with a connecting hole adapted to the third rivet shaft; the frame hinge outer assembly and the frame hinge inner assembly are rotatably connected by a double-diameter rivet shaft, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claim 9, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein downwardly protruding limit bars are oppositely provided under the balancing member, the top of each frame hinge assembly is provided with two raised limit stands, and the length of the limit bar is equal to the distance between the two limit stands on the frame hinge assembly, and the outer side of the limit bar is in contact with the inner side of the frame hinge assembly, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claim 11, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein two pivot brackets are formed alongside one end of the balancing member, and between the two pivot brackets are provided with a multi-axis hinge connected to the frame hinge assembly, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claims 12-13, due to their direct dependence from claim 11, they include allowable subject matter for at least the same reasons.
With regards to claim 15, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein downwardly protruding limit bars are oppositely provided under the balancing member, the top of each frame hinge assembly is provided with two raised limit stands, and the length of the limit bar is equal to the distance between the two limit stands on the frame hinge assembly, and the outer side of the limit bar is in contact with the inner side of the frame hinge assembly, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claim 17, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the tops of both ends of the step are formed with snap-fit notches; the two step sections of each step are respectively rotatably connected with the corresponding support portions; when the step is in the unfolded state, the connection between the bottom of the snap-fit notch and the step is at the same level with the center of the adjacent support portion, and the extension lines of the two adjacent ladder legs of the left leg frame or the right leg frame are arranged crosswise, and the frame hinge assembly is arranged at the intersection of the two adjacent ladder legs, and between the adjacent ladder legs of both the left leg frame and the right leg frame are each provided with a limit pull rod with a bendable structure, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
With regards to claim 19, the prior art of record alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein when the left step section and the right step section are in the unfolded state, adjacent ends abut against each other, and the adjacent ends of the left step section and the right step section are formed with fitting grooves which are adapted to the step pivot shaft; the left step section and the right step section are arranged alternately, and the left step section and the right step section are each formed with a notch groove on one of the two side walls for easy rotation; a pull ring is provided at the top of the step pivot shaft, and when the step is in use, the top of the step pivot shaft is flush with the surface of the uppermost step; the left leg frame and the right leg frame are each provided with a handle in the middle, in combination with the other limitations found in the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and teaches foldable ladders that fold at the mid-point of treads, foldable ladders and top caps/trays attached to the top of foldable ladders.
US Patent No. 5,158,151 to Chang.
US Patent No. 8,016,076 to Parker.
US Patent No. 9,097,063 to Parker.
US Patent No. 5,170,862 to Chang.
US Patent No. 4,428,458 to Fiore et al.
US Patent No. 11,187,037 to Rafii.
US Patent No. 2,981,364 to Webber.
US Patent No. 1,054,108 to Garraway.
US Patent No. 1,165,588 to Garraway.
US Patent No. 1,033,391 to Garraway.
US Patent No. 5,873,433 to Katz.
US Patent No. 6,443,260 to Katz et al.
US Patent No. 8,770,778 to Pereira et al.
DEM
/DAVID E MARTINEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634