DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/31/206 has been entered. As directed by the amendment: claims 6, 8, 20 – 23 are cancelled. Claims 1- 5, 7, 9 – 19 and 24 – 25 are amended. Claim 26 is newly added. Thus, claims 1 – 5, 7, 9 – 19 and 24 – 26 are currently pending.
The amendments are sufficient to overcome the claim interpretations, the subject matter eligibility rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 and the indefiniteness rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the Non-Final Rejection on 02/13/2026. Thus, those rejections are withdrawn.
However, applicant’s argument regarding the anticipatory and obviousness rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 are not persuasive (see “Response to Arguments” section) and the following final Rejection is made herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 07/31/2026, see Remarks, page 7- 10, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that because Villalobos generates arc plasma between the electrodes through high current discharge to heat the fluid in the cell and generate steam, the applicant concludes that Villalobos does not teach a controller that is configured to reduce or stop applying a voltage to the electrode in the event that a change in current or a rate of change in current exceeds a threshold value.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because:
What is argued is not in the claims/amendments.
None of the amended claims broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) prevents neither the formation of arc plasma between the electrodes, nor the use of high current discharge to heat the fluid in the cell. Amended Claim 1 simply states applying voltage to an electrode in a cell that contains liquid and a controller configured to reduce or stop application of the voltage based on a threshold value. There is nothing in claim 1 that recites or limits the applied voltage to the electrode not to form plasma arc or high current discharge to heat the fluid of the cell, and the threshold value of the controller not to exceed a value that prevents the formation of arc plasma or high current discharge. To the contrary, the claim explicitly recites “…apply electrical energy to said fluid in the internal portion to generate one or more bubbles of plasma…”, see lines 8 – 9 of claim 1. In other words, no specific electrical energy, voltage, rate of change of current or threshold value is claimed, to support no “arc plasma” is formed, or no “high current” is discharged. Thus, the amendment failed to incorporate what is argued.
Villalobos discusses a controller limiting the electrical energy applied to the electrodes not to exceed a threshold range.
Villalobos further teaches electrical circuit 300 (a controller), connected at points H, C, P of the electrodes, please see Villalobos’s FIGS. 2 – 3 and ¶ (0140 – 0153), configured to monitor and regulate the application of voltage to the electrodes. For instance, Villalobos states, “electrode 200.2 is provided for a typical application with about 30 to 300 volts, at 200 amps. or greater depending on application”, Villalobos ¶ (0147). Therefore, Villalobos discloses a controller circuit 300 that is configured to limit the application of electrical energy (voltage and current) to the electrodes not to exceed a certain threshold value.
Thus, the examiner submits that Villalobos still teaches the amended claims, and the following rejections are made herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Sakaguchi et al. (US 2016/0358752 A1, recited in the IDS filed on 06/29/2026) and hereinafter “Sakaguchi”.
Regarding claim 1, Sakaguchi discloses a cell (a plasma generation device 100, see FIG.1) comprising:
a housing arranged to define an internal portion for receiving liquid to be heated (a reaction tank 106 into which a liquid 110 that is to be heated is introduced, (0041 and see FIG.1));
a plurality of electrodes including a first electrode configured to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion (a pair of electrodes 101 and 102 configured to apply electrical energy from a power source 104 to the fluid in the reaction tank 106, (0044 – 0045 and see FIG.1)); and
a controller (control circuit 119, see FIG.1);
wherein the cell is configured to: receive liquid, provide heating thereof, and output heated fluid (the plasma generation device 100 is configured to receive water in the reaction tank 106 from a treatment tank 107 pumped by pump 108 and heated by the electrodes thereof and from a plasma bubble to be pumped out of the reaction tank 106 through pipe 109, (0045 – 0047 and see FIG.1));
wherein the first electrode is configured to apply electrical energy to said fluid in the internal portion to generate one or more bubbles of plasma for releasing energy into said fluid in the internal portion and the housing to provide heating of the fluid in the internal portion (the Power source 104 is configured to apply a voltage between the pair of electrodes made up of the first metal electrode 101 and the second metal electrode 102 , wherein as a result of the energy being applied plasma 115 and gas bubbles 116 are s released in the reaction chamber 106, (0045 – 0046 and see FIG.1))
wherein the controller is configured to reduce or stop applying a voltage to the first electrode in the event that a change in current or a rate of change in current exceeds a threshold value (the control circuit 119 is configured to control the amount of voltage applied to the electrodes for plasma generation including the switching on and off current established between the electrodes, (0048, 0054, 0066 and see FIGS. 1 – 2)) .
Regarding claim 26, Sakaguchi discloses a cell (a plasma generation device 100, see FIG.1) comprising:
a housing arranged to define an internal portion for receiving liquid to be heated (a reaction tank 106 into which a liquid 110 that is to be heated is introduced, (0041 and see FIG.1));
a first electrode configured to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion (a pair of electrodes 101 and 102 configured to apply electrical energy from a power source 104 to the fluid in the reaction tank 106, (0044 – 0045 and see FIG.1)); and
a second electrode arranged capacitively with the first electrode (the pair of electrodes become a capacitive load when the liquid between at least one of the first metal electrode 101 and that second metal electrode 102 is a gas-phase space in the liquid, (0045 and see FIG.2));
wherein the cell is configured to: receive liquid, provide heating thereof, and output heated fluid (the plasma generation device 100 is configured to receive water in the reaction tank 106 from a treatment tank 107 pumped by pump 108 and heated by the electrodes thereof and from a plasma bubble to be pumped out of the reaction tank 106 through pipe 109, (0045 – 0047 and see FIG.1)); and
wherein the cell is configured to apply electrical energy to the first electrode to charge up the capacitor provided by the first and second electrodes to generate one or more bubbles of plasma in the fluid in the internal portion for releasing energy into said fluid in the internal portion and the housing to provide heating of the fluid in the internal portion (once water from treatment tank 107 is pumped into the reaction tank 106, voltage from the power source 104 is applied to the electrodes that act as a capacitive load (capacitor 24, see FIG2) to generate bubbles of plasma liquid in the reaction tank 106, (0045 – 0050 and see FIG.2)).
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7, 9 – 13, 15 – 19 and 24 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Villalobos (US 2006/0201157 A1) and hereinafter "Villalobos".
Regarding claim 1, Villalobos discloses a cell (a steam generation system comprising a vessel 100.6, see FIGS.1 – 2) comprising:
a housing arranged to define an internal portion for receiving liquid to be heated (the vessel 100.6 encompasses a housing configured to receive water from pump 100.6 via pipe 200.5 to be heated, (0120 – 0121 and see FIGS. 1 – 2));
a plurality of electrodes including a first electrode configured to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion (electrodes 200.2, 200.3 configured to apply electrical energy to the liquid mass 200.9, (0120, 0128 - 0129 and see FIG.2)); and
a controller (gap controller 200.8, electrical energy control circuit 300, see FIGS. 2 – 3);
wherein the cell is configured to: receive liquid, provide heating thereof, and output heated fluid (the vessel 100.6 of the steam generation device 100 is configured to receive water from a pump and provide heating and output steam via output pipe 200.6, (0120 - 0121 and see FIGS. 1and 2));
wherein the first electrode is configured to apply electrical energy to said fluid in the internal portion to generate one or more bubbles of plasma for releasing energy into said fluid in the internal portion and the housing to provide heating of the fluid in the internal portion (the electrodes utilizes electrical energy applied to the electrodes to ionize liquid mass 200.9 in the internal portion of the vessel housing to convert it into steam 200.10, (0120 and see FIG.2))
wherein the controller is configured to reduce or stop applying a voltage to the first electrode in the event that a change in current or a rate of change in current exceeds a threshold value (the control circuit 300 is configured to control the amount of voltage applied to the electrode 200.2 for plasma generation, electrode 200.2 is provided for a typical application with about 30 to 300 volts, at 200 amps, (0140 – 0153 and see FIGS. 2 – 3)).
Regarding claim 2, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: (i) receive a signal indicative of at least one operational parameter of the cell (the controller 200.8, receives pneumatic signal indicative of gap distaste between electrodes in the vessel, (0133 and FIG.2)), and (ii) control operation of the cell based on said operational parameter (the controller 200.8 automatically adjusts the gap based on the received signal, (0133 and FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 3, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the heating system cell so that heat and/or plasma generation in the cell is above a threshold level (the controller 200.8 automatically adjusts the gap of the arc- plasma point 200.1.1 to maintain the optimum gap to optimize the level of steam production by maintaining the most optimum energy of arc discharge for plasma generation, (0134 and FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 4, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 2, wherein controlling operation of the cell comprises controlling at least one of: (i) the supply of liquid to the cell by the liquid supply system (controlling valves 200.6.1 and pump 200.5 to permit the liquid mass 200.9 flow in optimal pressure, (0123 and see FIG. 1and 2)), and (ii) the electrical energy applied by the electrodes (controlling the electrical energy supplied from the electrical system is ideal for brisk arc-plasma activity, (0123, 0133 – 0135 )).
Regarding claim 5, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to control the supply of liquid to the cell and/or the electrical energy applied by the electrodes based on an obtained indication of demand for heating to be provided by the cell (the steam generation system pump 100.6 is controlled according to the parameters of the pressure setpoint as desired to the volume of steam demand, (0138 – 0139 )).
Regarding claim 7, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 2, wherein the signal indicative of at least one operational parameter comprises an indication of a quality and/or quantity of plasma generation within the cell (the controller 200.8 also receives electrical signal
feedback of how much the of electrical energy is used in arc discharge within the vessel, (0133 -
0134)); and
wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the cell so that the quality and/or quantity of plasma generation remains within a selected range (the controller 200.8 optimizes the electrical energy supplied as well as the liquid biomass transfer for optimum energy of arc discharge, (0133 – 0134)).
Regarding claim 9, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of: (i) the supply of liquid to the cell based on the electrical energy to be applied by the plurality of electrodes (controlling by increasing quantity of solution flow rate for an increased electrical energy applied to the electrodes, (0138)), and (ii) the electrical energy to be applied by the plurality of electrodes based on the supply of liquid to the cell (controlling by increasing electrical energy applied to the electrodes for an increased flow of steam produced, (0138)).
Regarding claim 10, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 2, wherein the signal indicative of at least one operational parameter comprises an indication of a temperature associated with at least one of: the cell, the fluid in the cell, and the fluid output from the cell (the steam generation system also includes temperature transducer 200.7.1 and pressure transducer 200.7 to monitor temperature and pressure, respectively, (0137)); and
wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of: (i) the electrical energy applied by the electrodes, (ii) the supply of liquid to the cell, and (iii) an external heater, to increase the temperature of the cell, the fluid in the cell, and/or the fluid output from the cell in the event that the indication of temperature is below a threshold level (the electrical energy applied by the electrodes and the quantity of solution and the rate of flow of steam is controlled based on the temperature and pressure feedback, (0136 - 0139)).
Regarding claim 11, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to increase the electrical energy applied by the electrodes to provide increased heating and/or decrease the flow rate of liquid through the cell in the event that the indication of temperature is below the threshold level (the electrical energy applied by the electrodes is controlled based on the temperature feedback from temperature transducer 200.7.1, (0137 – 0139 )).
Regarding claim 12, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein an internal surface of the housing of the cell comprises an electromagnetic energy-absorbing material arranged to convert incident photons into heat (the inside of the vessel housing is equipped with a reclaim grid 200.4 that collects electromagnetic energy and ceramic or borosilicate glass material that absorbs heat at high temperature, (0131 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 13, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the cell is configured to supply liquid to the internal portion under pressure (pump 100.6 configured to pump liquid to the vessel, (0120, see FIG.1 and 2)), and the cell is arranged to retain fluid in the housing under pressure (the vessel 200.11 is arranged to hold the liquid 200.9 and pressured steam 200.10 in the vessel, (0120 - 0121, see FIGS. 1and 2)).
Regarding claim 15, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises: (i) an anode (high voltage anode 200.2, see FIG.2) arranged to provide a conductive path for current to be applied to fluid in the internal portion (the high voltage anode 200.2 is arranged to provide a conductive path for high current applied into the fluid in the vessel, (0133 and FIG.2)), and (ii) a cathode arranged to provide a conductive path away from the internal portion for current received from the anode through the fluid in the internal portion (a low voltage anode 200.3 is arranged to provide a conductive path from the high current hot anode 200.2 through the fluid in the vessel, (0133 and FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 16, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 15 further comprising a balancing electrode (a collector electrode 200.4.2 of the reclaim grid 200.4, (0128, see FIG.2)) arranged to provide an additional conductive path towards or away from fluid in the internal portion (the collector electrode 200.4.2 provides additional path from the reclaim grid 200.4 in the vessel, (0128 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 17, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 16, wherein the balancing electrode is separated from the conductive path from the first electrode to the second electrode (the collector electrode 200.4.2 provides a separate path from the high and low anode electrodes 200.2, 200.3, (0128 and please see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 18, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 15, wherein the cell comprises a resistive element arranged between the anode and cathode (the PYREX ring 200.4.3 of the reclaim grid between high voltage anode 200.2 and low voltage anode 200.3, (please see FIG.2) is a resistive element of silicate glass material, (0131 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 19, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 15, wherein the anode and cathode are arranged concentrically with each other (high volage anodes 200.2 and the low voltage anode 200.3 are preferably coaxially aligned, wherein arc point is formed at the center, (0133 and FIG.2) thus, are concentrically arranged with each other).
Regarding claim 24, Villalobos discloses a method of controlling operation of a cell (controlling steam generation system comprising a vessel, (0123, FIGS. 1 and 2)), the cell comprising: (i) a housing arranged to define an internal portion for receiving liquid to be heated (the vessel 200.11 has a housing that define an internal portion for receiving liquid mass 200.9 to be heated, see FIG.2), and (ii) a plurality of electrodes including a first electrode configured to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion (electrodes 200.2, 200.3 configured to apply electrical energy to the liquid mass 200.9, (0120, 0128 - 0129 and see FIG.2)), the method comprising:
controlling operation of the first electrodes to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion to generate one or more bubbles of plasma for releasing energy from the plasma into the fluid in the internal portion and the housing to provide heating of the fluid in the internal portion (controlling the electrodes electrical energy to form an arc discharge at arc-plasma point for plasma generation, (0134 and FIG.2) and using the reclaim grid of the vessel to conductively heat the liquid mass in the internal portion of the vessel, (0131 and see FIG.2)); and
reducing or stopping the application of voltage to the first electrode in the event that a change in current or a rate of change in current exceeds a threshold value (controlling the amount of voltage applied to the electrode 200.2 for plasma generation, electrode 200.2 is provided for a typical application with about 30 to 300 volts, at 200 amps, (0140 – 0153 and see FIGS. 2 – 3)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villalobos in
view of Villalobos (US 2006/0042251 A1) and hereinafter "Villalobos'251".
Regarding claim 14, Villalobos discloses the cell of claim 1.
Villalobos does not explicitly teach that wherein the cell is configured to increase heating of liquid prior to supplying it to the internal portion of the cell in the event that heat and/or plasma generation of the cell is below a threshold level.
However, Villalobos'251 that relates to analogous scalable steam generator that generates steam energy through arc-hydrolysis of water (0002), also teaches the steam generation system having Pre-start solution heater 100.9 configured to heat the solution 200.9 prior to suppling it to the vessel 200.11, in the event to a temperature of the solution is at a certain temperature threshold to commence the steam producing process, (0056, see FIGS. 1and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cell of Villalobos to include an external heater for increasing the heating of the liquid prior being supplied to the vessel in order to control the temperature of the liquid supplied into the vessel to be of a certain threshold before entering the vessel as taught in Villalobos'251. POSITA apprised of Villalobos'251's teaching of controlling the temperature of liquid externally before being supplied to the vessel would be motivated to implement the same, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve better temperature control of the liquid mass supplied to the vessel as taught in Villalobos'251.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villalobos in
view of Redwine (US 2018/0062190 A1) and hereinafter "Redwine"
Regarding claim 25, Villalobos discloses the method of claim 24.
Villalobos does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer program product comprising computer program instructions configured to control processor to perform the method of claim 24.
However, Redwine that related to method includes applying super-heated steam across a catalyst surface within a catalyst chamber to generate ionized steam plasma (0009), also teaches the storing of the method steps as computer program instructions configured to control a processor in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium to perform the method steps, (0022, 0055 - 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating system of Villalobos to include a non-transitory computer program product comprising computer program instructions configured to control a processor to perform the method of claims 23 as storing steps/ instructions in a computer program product comprising computer program instructions configured to control a processor in a non- transitory computer readable storage medium an industry trend known in the art as taught in Redwine.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761